We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sea Containers London

Save
Share
20 Upper Ground, London SE1 9PD England
7 people are viewing this hotel
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Booking.com$289
Trip.com$257
Tripadvisor$254
Agoda.com$289
eDreams$289
Travelocity$254
View all 17 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (2466)
360
Panoramas (11)
Room & Suite (771)

About

#144 of 1,154 hotels in London
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travelers' Choice
Set within the Sea Containers building - originally designed by acclaimed American architect Warren Platner - on London’s South Bank, the hotel boasts 359 guest rooms and suites, Sea Containers restaurant serving up fresh modern cuisine, an award-winning experimental cocktail bar spearheaded by master mixologist Ryan Chetiyawardana, and an exclusive rooftop bar with panoramic views over the River Thames. Designed by Design Research Studio under the creative direction of visionary Tom Dixon, Sea Containers London is also home to a maritime-inspired 56-seat cinema and spa. Inspired by the golden age of ocean cruising, a time when exotic ingredients were introduced to the world, and an abundance of fresh local produce was celebrated, the three distinctive food and drink venues each offer a dynamic experience. Flavourful dishes range from nourishing to hearty at Sea Containers Restaurant, which is perfect for an al fresco lunch by the river, sunset cocktails or an atmospheric dinner. Experience innovative cocktails in the award-winning Lyaness, voted as one of the top 50 World’s Best Bars, featuring a signature electric blue seating as well as the original sweeping green marble bar. Take in panoramic views of the London skyline from our rooftop bar 12th Knot, with its beautifully appointed lounge and outdoor terrace for unrivalled views over the River Thames.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Paid private parking on-site
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Taxi service
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Spa
Secured parking
Wifi
Fitness / spa locker rooms
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary instant cofffee
Special diet menus
Rooftop bar
Meeting rooms
Full body massage
Hammam
Hand massage
Head massage
Manicure
Massage
Neck massage
Pedicure
Steam room
Waxing services
Rooftop terrace
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Butler service
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Soundproof rooms
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
VIP room facilities
Laptop safe
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
See more room details
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
River View
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish
4,990Reviews118Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 3,606
  • 976
  • 263
  • 84
  • 62
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Khalid Omari wrote a review Yesterday
London, United Kingdom23 contributions
Best steak 🥩 ever. I didn’t drip drip the sauce because I didn’t have to, it was juicy and flavoursome. . . . 1 x Cerviche Tacos 🌮 1 x Dry Aged Boston Rib 🥩 (for 2+) [served medium] 1 x Sea Container Fries 🍟 (w/ Lobster Oil, Grated Caviar) 1 x Chica-Cherry Old Fashioned 🍹 1 x Sea Co Spritz 🍹 . . . Rating: 5/5 . . . Highlight: Being seated and served in less than 5mins on a Friday evening with no reservation. Staff recommendations for food and drinks.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Hannah wrote a review Sep 21
London, United Kingdom110 contributions2 helpful votes
+1
Stayed here in a river view deluxe for a special occasion and it was lovely. Room was so spacious and the views of the Thames were great. The bed has to be one of the comfiest I’ve ever slept in. It’s like a cloud. Staff were super attentive and provided anything we needed such as water for the room and extra pillows. The shower was incredible and so powerful. Down points: - They require a room damage deposit of £100 per night. I really thought this was excessive amount and not everyone has this sort of money. I understand its held and not taken but you still need to have the availability on your card for the transaction. - Our TV remote was terrible and only worked pointing it in a certain way. - The TV said welcome name of a guest staying before and the Chrome Cast only worked one and then was down for most of our stay. Note: Reception staff didn’t tell us on checking in but the entrance to the hotel is at the back. When we arrived, we came through the restaurant way but that evening we turned up to locked doors and walked around the back and eventually found the entrance. On arrival, your temperature is taken each time. Would stay here again and recommend to friends and family.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Sergio Leandro, General Manager at Sea Containers London
Responded 2 days ago
Dear MrsSunflower19 - Thank you for your wonderful review and comments. We are so pleased you had a wonderful time and really appreciate your kind words regarding our team and facilities. We are so sorry that some elements impacted your stay and we have give this feedback to the relevant parties so all aspects are addressed and communication is improved. For any person arriving at the hotel, we recommend using our address on GPS of 20 Upper Ground and this will ensure you come to the correct entry point. We hope to welcome you again soon. Warm regards, Sergio Leandro
Read more
Karen C wrote a review Sep 21
Windsor, England, United Kingdom73 contributions41 helpful votes
We stayed one night with dinner in the restaurant for my husbands birthday and could not fault it. Room was fabulous and had a little outdoor terrace which was great. Staff were excellent from entry through to breakfast the next morning. We had drinks in the bar before and after our meal in the restaurant and the food was delicious, a little slow with service for breakfast but we weren't really in a hurry. Would love to stay again
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Sergio Leandro, General Manager at Sea Containers London
Responded 2 days ago
Dear Karen C, Thank you so much for your delightful comments, the team are thrilled you both had a wonderful stay. It is great that you were able to enjoy so many of our newly opened facilities and really appreciate your kind comments. We hope to welcome you again soon to Sea Containers London. Warm regards, Sergio Leandro
Read more
thecashens wrote a review Sep 20
London, United Kingdom1 contribution
The hotel is great. 10 min walk to lots of great restaurants and bars in the borough area . The view of the Thames is great and we had a balcony to sit on and enjoy the view with champagne. Was a great stay
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: September 2020
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Sergio Leandro, General Manager at Sea Containers London
Responded 2 days ago
Dear thecashens, Thank you so much for your lovely review! We are delighted you had such a wonderful time, the views from our River Balcony suites are pretty special, especially when the weather has been as lovely as the last couple of weeks. We hope to welcome you back again soon. Warm regards, Sergio Leandro
Read more
Amir H wrote a review Sep 20
1 contribution
Booked a loft suite for 2 nights. Suite was large sized but atmosphere was terrible. Felt more like a dungeon. Completely empty, barren, dark, and unwelcoming room. Never going to book again. Not worth the money!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Sergio Leandro, General Manager at Sea Containers London
Responded 2 days ago
Dear Amir0512, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave your feedback. We are very sorry the room was not to your liking, we have removed several elements to be in line with the new health and safety guidelines. They are however all available on demand and we are so sorry this was not made clear to you on arrival. We hope to welcome you again soon, if so, please do let us know so that we can do whatever possible to make sure you are comfortable. Warm regards, Sergio Leandro
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$215 - $373 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandLondonSouthbank
NUMBER OF ROOMS
359
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Sea Containers London
Which popular attractions are close to Sea Containers London?
Nearby attractions include The Queen's Walk (0.2 miles), The Grid (0.2 miles), and Victoria Embankment Gardens (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Sea Containers London?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a rooftop bar, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Sea Containers London?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Sea Containers London?
Guests can enjoy a rooftop bar, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Sea Containers London?
Yes, paid private parking on-site, paid private parking nearby, and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Sea Containers London?
Conveniently located restaurants include Kama Sushi @ Sticky Mango, Pieminister, and Tibita.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Sea Containers London?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness center and locker rooms available in the fitness center during their stay.
Is Sea Containers London located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.9 miles away from the center of London.
Are any cleaning services offered at Sea Containers London?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Sea Containers London offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Sea Containers London?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.