We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Excelsior Hotel London

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Excelsior Hotel London
Excelsior Hotel London
Panoramas (8)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

372 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 283: English reviews
Corby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW via mobile

Booked a double room with en suite wet room. Room was very small with a king size bed. We room was tiny but functional. Room and wet room dusty but was comfortable and we had a good night's sleep. Ok for one night in the city and a good location for main train line services

Helpful?
Thank ddwild
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stayed here for two nights in September, chose this hotel over the park plaza as it was slightly cheaper and looked to be not too far off on quality. HOW I WAS WRONG!!! we were shoved into what looked like a little attic room with no iron/ironing board as promised. When confronted, hotel staff advised we would have to iron... More 

Helpful?
Thank Pete O

Travelers are raving about these London hotels

4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We booked for a double room, which when we got there was clean (quite dusty) but very small. The shutters were a nice addition but the windows were very old and rickety. The shower took a while to warm up, wasn't very powerful and small. We asked about a iron, which they said we couldn't take to our room, we... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lottie F
milan
Level Contributor
108 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

It is in a quiet place, not far from city center. Honest, really cheap price...but not, obviously a boutique hotel. You have for what you pay so, it is ok. Not for honeymoon but ok to stay a couple of nights without paying too much.

Helpful?
Thank AngeloMi
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2016

Warning!!!!!!!Don't ever show up there and rent a room. The Pictures are fooling you. The hotel are not what it seems on the Picture i is the worst i have every experience,. The rooms are dirty, and the hole hotel is smelling of bad sucks I don't know how they can live with this. toilet facilities where awful.

Helpful?
3 Thank Toni J
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2016

I booked and paid the full amount for the 2 bedroom apartment online 2 days before we arrived at the Excelsior Hotel.On arrival at the Hotel I was asked for my credit card to confirm the booking and assured this was just to check the booking details.A second payment was taken from my card I didn't realise this had been... More 

Helpful?
Thank _greenbank8
Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2016

We booked a travel cot but one was not provided. Staff said they would put one in our room whilst we were at dinner, but they did not. We complained and received a very rude response from the manager. Overall terrible experience.

Helpful?
Thank Oddratio
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2016 via mobile

On the 6th August I booked 3x double rooms, 1 X apartment and 1 X quadruple room. Only Upon arrival at 2pm we were informed that the apartment which was for myself 2 other adults and 2 toddlers was not available due to a suspected gas leak. We were instead stuffed into a room approximately 15x10 foot with 2 double... More 

Helpful?
Thank Carlirvine
Athens, Greece
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2016

Very good for the money they ask, really near Kings Cross. (5/5) Very small room, it was just the double bedroom (2/5). The room was clean (3/5). The (shared) bath was clean (5/5). Really nice and friendly personnel (4/5) Good Wi-Fi (4/5)

Helpful?
Thank kostthem
Leicester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2016 via mobile

When I looked online the 'hotel' looked great, lovely and modern. The photos showed a fresh clean, up-market hotel. I had booked a 2 bedroom apartment for my family of 5. When I arrived to check in, I was impressed by the reception and the staff were really polite and helpful. Then they showed us to our room and it... More 

Helpful?
Thank rachdyer2833
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

332 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (88)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (24)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (30)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (190)
Viewed
Amenities (12)
Viewed
Basic Room (19)
Viewed
Double Room (21)
Viewed
Quadruple Room (21)
Viewed
Quintuple Room (44)
Viewed
The Hotel (22)
Viewed
Two Bedroom Apartment (51)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (54)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (41)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Hotel Melville
Hotel Melville
#671 of 1,072 in London
3.5 of 5 stars 371 reviews
Bloomsbury
Albion House Hotel
Albion House Hotel
#901 of 1,072 in London
3.0 of 5 stars 236 reviews
Bloomsbury
Crestfield Hotel
Crestfield Hotel
#528 of 1,072 in London
3.5 of 5 stars 830 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Hotel Meridiana
Hotel Meridiana
#68 of 555 in London
3.5 of 5 stars 767 reviews
Bloomsbury
Fairway Hotel
Fairway Hotel
#56 of 555 in London
3.5 of 5 stars 515 reviews
Bloomsbury
Princess Hotel
Princess Hotel
#26 of 555 in London
4.0 of 5 stars 171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Bloomsbury

Neighborhood Profile
Bloomsbury
Snuggly nestled within Central London is academic and leafy Bloomsbury, an area that boasts walking distance access to many of London's most popular attractions. It is also home to some of Britain's most celebrated museums, including the must-see British Museum. Despite an understandable popularity with students, tourists and day trippers, vast sections of Bloomsbury retain a quiet, residential feel year round and throughout the week.
Explore this neighborhood
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Newly refurbished B&B budget hotel located in Kings Cross about two minutes from St Pancras International and Kings Cross station.En suite rooms and free wifi offered in the bedroooms. We offer most importantly clean and affordable rooms in the heart of London. A truly Modern B & B hotel. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Excelsior Hotel London

Address: 41 &42 Argyle Square, London WC1H 8AP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury , Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Price Range: $79 - $228 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Excelsior Hotel London 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Excelsior Hotel London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Excelsior Hotel London England
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay