We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Pickwick Hall

#545 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Expert photos
Pickwick Hall
Pickwick Hall
Panoramas (7)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

133 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 92: English reviews
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Three of us stayed 4 nights at Pickwick Hall during the London leg of our European trip. Check in was hassle-free, receiving our keys and being ushered into our rooms immediately, giving us plenty of time to get out and explore the city. The building is quite old, built in early 1800 as shown by the twin maps of the... More 

Helpful?
Thank scott g
Lyon, France
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Yes I walked into the street called Bedford Place and thought I was in the wrong direction..The street is perfect, so high-class that you know you're going to walk into a great hostel when you get there..and that's exactly what happened! Great GREAT living room amazing BED ROOM (Yes, even though it was a 4-people dorm, we all had real... More 

Helpful?
Thank CarinaTakia
ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed in Pickwick Hall recently when we traveled to London for the Harry Potter play in the West End. Having spent a lot of money on the play tickets and flights our hotel budget was fairly small so we booked Pickwick Hall on the recommendation of a friend who had stayed there previously. We had a double room with... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank shoppergal
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2016

Ridiculously cheap for a central, safe, attractive location in Bloomsbury, near the British Museum. Extremely basic, with a shared bath, but for the price paid, it was a clean, uncrowded, quiet place. But, what more do you need when London is at your doorstep?! Very close to two tube stations: Holburn and Russel Square and only one stop from St.... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Nicole_Higgins
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2016 via mobile

We stayed here for three nights on our trip of Europe. This is in an excellent location, close to tube underground - Holborn station. The rooms are clean and tidy. Fresh clean sheets. We had a double with shared bathroom. The bed was a queen size and there were two toilets and one shower on our floor which was of... More 

Helpful?
Thank ambowden
Brisbane
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2016 via mobile

It was a pretty average place. Quite cheap but you get what you pay for. Beds were absolutely terrible with springs in them that I just felt all up my back. The showers weren't very good as well. There were two showers on my level that were both broken partly and annoying to use. Beside the annoying bathrooms and bed,... More 

Helpful?
Thank conc995
Patrick H, Owner at Pickwick Hall, responded to this review

I am very sorry that you did not have a comfortable sleep. We replaced most beds and mattresses last year to hotel quality and we will change the rest this year. The ones not changed last year appeared to us not to requre changing at that time: your experience shows that we made a mistake and I am sorry for... More 

stanwood, wa
Level Contributor
71 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2016

Very nice hostel a block away from the British Museum. Very quiet, seems to cater more to couples and small groups. Patrick was very kind and helpful. Easy walk to the theater district. We stayed in a three bed room and had plenty of space. Serves a continental breakfast included in price. A very cheap way to stay in central... More 

Helpful?
Thank 209tomh
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2016

My daughters and I stayed here in June 2016. It was our second visit and again we found it clean, comfortable, great value for money and so convenient. Patrick was a very welcoming and gracious host and made us feel right at home. However,I cannot say the same for the young lady on reception the day we left. We left... More 

Helpful?
Thank dflester
Celbridge, Ireland
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2016 via mobile

Booked into a three person private ensuite room in this hostel with two my friends last week. We arrived at 10.30 to the hostel, paid our remaining balance, unpacked our bags and left the room eager to explore London. On return to the room around 4pm, we found ants had vacated it and were everywhere to be found - in... More 

Helpful?
Thank neeev123
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
68 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2016

I chose this hostel because it was reasonably priced, close to the British Museum, and has a kitchen that you can use. There was excellent communication prior to our arrival. The location is very close to two tube stations and a neighborhood Tesco. We had a room downstairs with four beds, an ensuite, and a mini fridge. If you are... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jill v
Patrick H, Owner at Pickwick Hall, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. Yes, we do not have a lift (elevator) between floors. I am intrigued that we waken your memories of Enid Blyton's stories! More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

202 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (43)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Other (12)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (159)
Viewed
Quad Ensuite (33)
Viewed
Dining (17)
Viewed
Single with Shared Bathroom (20)
Viewed
The Hotel (42)
Viewed
Triple Ensuite (28)
Viewed
Twin with Shared Bathroom (19)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Venture Hostels
#676 of 1,069 in London
3.0 of 5 stars 110 reviews
East End / East London
Ruskin Hotel
Ruskin Hotel
#518 of 1,069 in London
4.0 of 5 stars 464 reviews
Clerkenwell
LSE Rosebery Hall Residence
LSE Rosebery Hall Residence
#666 of 1,069 in London
3.5 of 5 stars 152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Ridgemount Hotel
Ridgemount Hotel
#140 of 1,069 in London
4.5 of 5 stars 1,036 reviews
Premier Inn London Sidcup
#458 of 1,069 in London
4.5 of 5 stars 79 reviews
Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Tune Hotel Kings Cross
Tune Hotel Kings Cross
#330 of 1,069 in London
4.0 of 5 stars 2,852 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Bloomsbury

Neighborhood Profile
Bloomsbury
Snuggly nestled within Central London is academic and leafy Bloomsbury, an area that boasts walking distance access to many of London's most popular attractions. It is also home to some of Britain's most celebrated museums, including the must-see British Museum. Despite an understandable popularity with students, tourists and day trippers, vast sections of Bloomsbury retain a quiet, residential feel year round and throughout the week.
Explore this neighborhood
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Breakfast
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Services
  • Free Breakfast

Additional Information about Pickwick Hall

Address: 7 Bedford Place, London WC1B 5JE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Price Range: $35 - $111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and SpeedyBooker.com so you can book your Pickwick Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pickwick Hall London, England
Pickwick Hall Hotel London
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in London
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay