We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Travelodge London Central Aldgate East

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Management photos
Travelodge London Central Aldgate East
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

366 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 339: English reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel is convenient to LDR, which makes it easily accessible from London City Airport. However, trains do make single rooms rather loud! Staff are extremely helpful, and really do go out of their way to address most requests from guests. I have used this hotel on several occasions. It is a good option if your interests are in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brian F
TravelodgeUK, Nicolas from the Social Media team at Travelodge London Central Aldgate East, responded to this review

We appreciate the time you have taken to review our London Central Aldgate East Travelodge and we thank you for sharing your helpful experience with us. We encourage all our staff to work hard towards providing the best experience possible for each guest, so we are delighted to hear that our team members were able to make your stay more...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Good points: location, staff and price. Less good, but not bad points: tired carpets and bathroom floors. Shower pressure/temp was not great, but usable (maybe because my room was on the top, 4th, floor).

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Friends_of_Furby
TravelodgeUK, Nicolas from the Social Media team at Travelodge London Central Aldgate East, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are so pleased to learn that you were happy with the overall experience due to the location, staff and the rate you received, although we would like to apologise that your experience was impacted by the condition of the floors in your room. We strive to give customers an...

Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

I have given the score, because the lady a reception was very helpful and friendly. I requested for an extra duvet and she provided with no hassle. Only problem is noise from trains passing your window.

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 841terencej
TravelodgeUK, Shannon from the Social Media Team at Travelodge London Central Aldgate East, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. Your comments are greatly appreciated. We are sorry to learn that external noise has affected the comfort of your stay at our London Central Aldgate East Travelodge. We do apologise that on this occasion you did not receive the best experience possible. Thank you again for writing your review, we value your feedback and hope...

Walsall, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Not one of the more expensive hotels, so expectations only average. At £149 per night basic room overlooked by railway (we were on the odd-numbered side) Regular trains meant sleep difficult. Try and book an even numbered room on north of building.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andrew M
TravelodgeUK, Remy from the Social Media Team at Travelodge London Central Aldgate East, responded to this review

We would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review. We’re sorry to hear that your experience with us at our London Central Aldgate East Travelodge was affected by noise. We strive to provide a comfortable night’s sleep for all of our customers, and we are sorry that on this occasion we did not meet our...

Guernsey, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Ultimately, you pay for what you get and I am no stranger to budget. However, the room was so loud that it sounded like the windows were open, the shower did not hold enough hot water to wash your hair and the aircon/heating was broken so the room had one of those fire hazard types of plug in heater. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Monica S
TravelodgeUK, Charlotte from The Social Media Team at Travelodge London Central Aldgate East, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with regards to your stay at our London Central Aldgate East Travelodge. We are pleased to learn you were happy with the Hotels location, however we would like to sincerely apologise for the issues that impacted your stay. Your feedback is extremely valuable to us as it allow us to...

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Having read the reviews I wasn't expecting much but was pleasantly surprised. No, it's not on lovely street. Yes, you can hear trains. No, it's not The Ritz. But it is close to the tube, on a bus route, close to Tower Bridge and The Tower of London. Close to Brick Lane for a curry. Walked back from there about...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Bamsmum
Farnborough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Good value family room, comfortable beds and one of the biggest family rooms I've stayed in. Bedroom recently recarpeted. Bathroom functional but could have done with a bit of tlc. Would definitely stay here again.

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 188vanessau
TravelodgeUK, Nicolas from the Social Media team at Travelodge London Central Aldgate East, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are pleased to hear that you found your room to be of great value and that your overall experience was a comfortable one. Feedback is invaluable and a copy of your comments will be forwarded to the Hotel Manager. Thank you once again and we do hope you will...

Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

All staff I came in to contact with were friendly, but the location of the hotel is awful, only metres from a busy train track and hard to find. The room was also pretty poor, with damp damage, a broken shower attachment and left over socks from a previous guest!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Catherine S
TravelodgeUK, Remy from the Social Media Team at Travelodge London Central Aldgate East, responded to this review

Many thanks for reviewing our London Central Aldgate East Travelodge and taking the time to share your experience with us. We are sorry to learn of your disappointment with your recent stay with us and we would like to look into this further for you. May we kindly request you contact us via our website with your review so our...

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Dear Whom it may concern, After a particularly long day at the office, I travelled up from Birmingham to attend an awards show that my team had entered for a project that we had been working on. I had booked one night at the Travelodge Aldgate East through our business account as usual and was expecting a pleasant experience as...

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank danniie801
TravelodgeUK, Shannon from the Social Media Team. at Travelodge London Central Aldgate East, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We are really sorry to hear of your experience. Please accept our sincerest apologies and we will pass your comments onto the hotel as this does not reflect Travelodge standards. If you wish to contact us directly to give us more feedback, please be aware that you can always contact our Customer Services team. Thank...

Glossop, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Myself and a work colleague arrived at 7PM having pre-booked and paid for a twin room 2 weeks before - Clearly stated on the booking confirmation TWIN ROOM, 2 ADULTS. Told by the receptionist - " I have given your twin to somebody else who needed it, you can have a double instead, we have nothing else so its either...

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Noisypenguin
TravelodgeUK, Shannon from the Social Media Team. at Travelodge London Central Aldgate East, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We are really sorry to hear of your experience. Please accept our sincerest apologies and we will pass your comments onto the hotel as this does not reflect Travelodge standards. If you wish to contact us directly to give us more feedback, please be aware that you can always contact our Customer Services team. Thank...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

39 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (29)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (19)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Whitechapel
Travelodge London Central Tower Bridge
Whitechapel
Premier Inn London City (Tower Hill) Hotel
Whitechapel
Premier Inn London City (Aldgate) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City of London
Travelodge London Liverpool Street
Whitechapel
Ibis London City-Shoreditch
Ibis London City-Shoreditch
#327 of 1,087 in London
3,687 reviews
Whitechapel
Grange Tower Bridge Hotel
Grange Tower Bridge Hotel
#204 of 1,087 in London
3,420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Whitechapel

Neighborhood Profile
Whitechapel
Whether you're here for its dynamic street life, world class galleries or famed curry houses, you're bound to be wowed by the uniquely cosmopolitan flavor of Whitechapel. Long gone are the days when Jack the Ripper stalked its streets. And despite his mysterious legacy bringing throngs of curiosity driven tour groups to its back alleys and otherwise serene garden squares, these days you're more likely to catch a cutting edge fashionista scurrying through its age old lanes than criminals of any sort.
Explore this neighborhood
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet

Additional Information about Travelodge London Central Aldgate East

Address: 6 - 13 Chamber Street, London E1 8BL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Whitechapel
Amenities:
Price Range: $72 - $210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Travelodge London Central Aldgate East 3*
Number of rooms: 69
Also Known As:
London Aldgate East Travelodge Hotel London
Comfort Hotel Tower London
Travel Lodge London
Travelodge London Central Aldgate East England
London Travelodge
London Travel Lodge
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Travelodge London Central Aldgate East staff and other travelers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Travelodge London Central Aldgate East staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Book an early check in room. The extra charge is worth it.”
 of 5 bubbles G9529FBbrianf, 1 week ago | Read review
“Avoid odd numbered rooms on rail side”
 of 5 bubbles G436GJandrewm, 1 week ago | Read review
“Ask for one on side away from railway line”
 of 5 bubbles marionk41, Dec 1, 2016 | Read review
“dont come, if you had to choose a room on the road side (more like a quiet alley)”
 of 5 bubbles nagindth, Nov 29, 2016 | Read review
“Facing onto the street away from the Tube station”
 of 5 bubbles tommymackmackin, Oct 17, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question