We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Travelodge London Central Aldgate East

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Management photos
Travelodge London Central Aldgate East
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

322 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 299: English reviews
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Although this is tucked out of the way (maybe a sign at the end of the street would help) we arrived early and I had early check in for one room which was ready so luggage away and off we went sightseeing. On returning we got our other room and then went for our meal which was hot and tasty,... More 

Helpful?
Thank annestephenson59
Hastings, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

You cannot sleep whilst the DLR is running the noise will keep you awake if your room is on that side of the building. I think the DLR starts at 5am and stops at midnight! My room was tiny and bordering on claustrophobic!

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank 230alecl
TravelodgeUK, Shannon from the Social Media Team at Travelodge London Central Aldgate East, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We do apologise for the disappointment you encountered during your stay with us. We aim to provide the best experience possible to our guests and we will continue to do so by making the most of customer feedback such as yours. Please accept our apologies that on this occasion you did not receive the best... More 

Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We stopped for one night. I wasn't told until I arrived that the room was on the railway side and was alittle noisy.......it was actually VERY noisy. The other issue the air conditioning unit was broken and the room was like an oven.....really was not pleasant!!!!

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank lisalefteye443
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed here with a friend on Saturday night as we came for a quick break to London from Nottingham. We were greeted with a smile as we dropped our bags off early in the morning. The hotel is very close to Tower Bridge and the Tower of London. The room was OK, the bed was comfy and I had... More 

Helpful?
Thank adskin80
Taipei
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Breakfast is delicious and good. The room is comfortable and the room size is moderate. The staff are all very kind for us. The distance between hotel and subway is not too far, it may spent 10 minutes for walk.

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank r96548003
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

DON'T stay here unless you want to be woken early by tube trains within a few meters of your room. Stayed in room 101 which was next to a lift (noisy) as well as being the pokiest room i have stayed at in London. The room rattled as trains went by. The bedroom window was broken so didn't close properly.... More 

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
1 Thank Tony M
TravelodgeUK, Charlotte from The Social Media Team at Travelodge London Central Aldgate East, responded to this review

Thank you for submitting your review of our London Central Aldgate East Travelodge. We're so sorry to hear about your recent experience and would like to hear more about your stay. May we kindly request you contact us via our website with your review so our customer service team can investigate your visit with the hotel. Thank you again for... More 

Barnoldswick
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Basic hotel close to Tower Bridge. Staff very friendly, breakfast good value for money. Knew to expect external noise due to railway line, so took ear plugs. Strange smell of oil in the room at times. Air con did not work, so very hot, but fans did help.

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Helen S
TravelodgeUK, Shannon from the Social Media Team at Travelodge London Central Aldgate East, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are happy to learn you were pleased with the Hotels location, however we are sorry to hear of the noise and heat issues that impacted your stay. Your feedback is invaluable to us and we can confirm this will be used to improve the service we offer.... More 

Poznan, Poland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

+ The staff are friendly and helpful. + Free cold water bottles available at the front desk (not sure if that's only during the summer or because the A/C is dead). – There's no A/C. – Some rooms overlook a busy railroad junction. The two minuses above combine into one huge drawback: If it's warm outside (20+ degrees C), the... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Hiphoppanonymous
TravelodgeUK, Charlotte from The Social Media Team at Travelodge London Central Aldgate East, responded to this review

Thank you for submitting your review of our London Central Aldgate East Travelodge. We're so sorry to hear about your recent experience and would like to hear more about your stay. May we kindly request you contact us via our website with your review so our customer service team can investigate your visit with the hotel. Thank you again for... More 

Chesham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This was a cheap one night stopover but with too many issues to make it memorable for the right reasons. There is no air conditioning in the rooms! It simply does not work throughout the hotel, fans are provided instead!! The trains pass by regularly making it noisy. There are no lights by the bedside so you have to get... More 

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank paul l
TravelodgeUK, Shannon from the Social Media Team at Travelodge London Central Aldgate East, responded to this review

We appreciate the time you have taken to review our hotel. We are really sorry to hear that the room temperature and noise spoiled your stay with us. We strive to make our customers as comfortable as possible and we would like to apologise if on this occasion we were not able to offer you a good night's sleep. Thanks... More 

South Wales
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I have stayed in some bad hotels in my time, I have also stayed in some great ones. Unfortunately this doesn't even fall into the bad hotel as it is awful! How could anyone possibly think that this would be a good location for a hotel. It is right next to the main overground railway line and I mean RIGHT... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Pettster
TravelodgeUK, Charlotte from The Social Media Team at Travelodge London Central Aldgate East, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our London Central Aldgate East Travelodge. We are really sorry to hear that you had many issues during your stay with us. We strive to offer the best service possible for our guests so please accept our apologies that we did not succeed in doing so on this occasion. We have passed... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

34 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (24)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Whitechapel
Travelodge London Central Tower Bridge
Whitechapel
Premier Inn London City (Tower Hill) Hotel
Whitechapel
Premier Inn London City (Aldgate) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City of London
Travelodge London Liverpool Street
Whitechapel
Grange Tower Bridge Hotel
Grange Tower Bridge Hotel
#194 of 1,072 in London
4.5 of 5 stars 3,177 reviews
Shoreditch
Travelodge London Central City Road
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Whitechapel

Neighborhood Profile
Whitechapel
Whether you're here for its dynamic street life, world class galleries or famed curry houses, you're bound to be wowed by the uniquely cosmopolitan flavor of Whitechapel. Long gone are the days when Jack the Ripper stalked its streets. And despite his mysterious legacy bringing throngs of curiosity driven tour groups to its back alleys and otherwise serene garden squares, these days you're more likely to catch a cutting edge fashionista scurrying through its age old lanes than criminals of any sort.
Explore this neighborhood
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet

Additional Information about Travelodge London Central Aldgate East

Address: 6-13 Chamber Street, London E1 8BL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Whitechapel
Amenities:
Price Range: $89 - $220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Travelodge London Central Aldgate East 3*
Number of rooms: 69
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotel.de and TripOnline SA so you can book your Travelodge London Central Aldgate East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
London Aldgate East Travelodge Hotel London
Comfort Hotel Tower London
Travel Lodge London
Travelodge London Central Aldgate East England
London Travelodge
London Travel Lodge
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay