We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Generator London

Save
Share
37 Tavistock Place Russell Square, London WC1H 9SE England
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
eDreams
Orbitz.com
Official Site
View all 16 deals
Prices above are provided by partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and do not include all taxes and fees. Please see our partners for full details.
Traveler (746)
360
Panoramas (21)
Room & Suite (193)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Read more
Updated 08/20/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Generator London
Updated 08/20/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#161 of 2,133 Specialty lodging in London
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Generator London was the very first Generator and you’ll find it in the area of Russell Square in the heart of the West End. It’s the ideal spot to enjoy London from, everything you need to see is minutes away by tube. You’ll never run out of things to do in the UK’s capital. You just have to decide where to start and we can help you with that. When you have seen and done it all for the day head back to Generator and unwind. It’s a destination in its own right and a great place to socialise and reflect on your experiences of the day. Head to the bar and chill out areas to get yourself a well deserved drink or two. It’s lively, friendly and un-missable. We’ve also got great beds for sleepy heads and of course you’ll be enjoying London life in the most authentic surroundings. Choose from a great selection of rooms, from Dorms, to Quads, to Private rooms with innovative mod cons. Fast and free Wi-Fi is all yours too. To get the most out of your stay visit the travel shop and our city experts will help you devise an itinerary that will take you to all the hidden treasures this dynamic city has to offer. You’ll have to stay longer to fit it all in but you’ll not need convincing of that. We’ll see you there soon.
Read more
Property amenities
Free internet
Bar / lounge
Game room
Billiards
24-hour security
Baggage storage
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Wifi
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Vending machine
Evening entertainment
Karaoke
Board games / puzzles
Nightclub / DJ
Non-smoking hotel
Shared bathroom
Shared lounge / TV area
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Safe
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Trendy
Modern
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish

Location

Full view
100Great for walkers
Grade: 100 out of 100
155Restaurantswithin 0.3 miles
57Attractionswithin 0.3 miles
3575Reviews128Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 956
  • 1,331
  • 641
  • 313
  • 334
Traveler safety
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Alan wrote a review Sep 19
3 contributions
Hotel has normal rooms and you’d be forgiven when booking through hotels.com that these would be acceptable hotel room standard. Instead, they are just rooms as part of a grubby and smelly hostel that just happen to have a private bathroom. Would avoid unless you are solely looking for a hostel rather than a hotel. Staff were rude on check in.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: September 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Reception Team, Guest Services / Front Office at Generator London
Responded 3 days ago
Hello, We are disappointed by your feedback but thank you for providing this so this can be discussed with our team. We have done a full building walk around to investigate your comments regarding being 'grubby and smelly', we are unsure what this is referring to however our housekeeping team have increased their checks for the facilities and common areas. Kind regards, Generator London
Read more
sundevils96734 wrote a review Sep 12
Payson, Arizona1 contribution
Large yet discreet hostel located in a quiet neighborhood just a 10 min walk of Kings Cross Station. I stayed over the Bank Holiday weekend since since it was a great value compared to the ridiculously high prices for a hotel. I opted to stay in a private room which was quite comfortable considering it had a bunkbed. The hostel is pretty well hidden with little in the way of signage so just be aware that the entrance is off Travistock Pl and through a covered drive/ally that opens into a courtyard. The British Museum is a 10 min walk from the hostel. Waterstones Bookstore only 8 min walk as you turn right out of the hostel onto Travistock Pl. Along the way you pass a beautiful park at Gordons Square. There's a great fish and chip restaurant called North Sea just around the corner on Leigh Street.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: August 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Reception Team, Guest Services / Front Office at Generator London
Responded 3 days ago
Hey! Thanks for taking the time to share your feedback! We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, yes we are lucky to be in this area, with many facilities walking distance but also 3 underground stations closeby for getting further around the city. Hope to see you again in the future. Generator London
Read more
AdrianJF wrote a review Sep 9
Europe78 contributions77 helpful votes
Having stayed at hundreds of hostels, it's not often that I definitely would NOT return to one. This is one of those. The communal lounge/bar is closed until 5.30pm, which means there is NOWHERE to "hang out" other than lying in bed in your own, small, cramped room. I've NEVER stayed in a hostel where there isn't a communal lounge to relax in - whether you just want to rest after a few hours wandering around, gather your thoughts, check the internet quickly, or just chat to other people. You also can't bring in your own food. The room was small and CRAMPED. I mean, there is literally 60cm between bunk beds, so 2 people can't pass each other at the same time. I was on the second floor, and had to ask at reception where the nearest shower was, ( there isn't one, apparently, so I had to go to the 3rd floor and use one of the 4 showers there). As for the showers, there is only a hook outside the door to hang clothes, which means anyone can take it or go through your pockets, and there isn't a private area to dry off - so you have to stand in a puddle and try put dry clothes on! The staff were ok, but poorly trained. They didn't pass on information that's useful to know on arrival, and didn't seem to know the area when asked about nearby bars and restaurants. Lastly, at checkout, if you want to store your rucksack for a couple of hours, they charge £5!!! Most places are free in a secure storeroom or you can use your own lock. There are a LOT BETTER other places to stay in London, I'd go there instead. Very poor.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Reception Team, Guest Services / Front Office at Generator London
Responded 3 days ago
Hi AdrianJF, We are very disappointed by your feedback but thank you for giving us the time to address these points. Yes currently our cafe and common areas are open 5pm until 11.30pm daily, we hope as travelling becomes easier and we become busier we will be able to increase these times. We do have showers on the 2nd floor, they are located on each floor from 0 - 5 plus there are some rooms with a private bathroom inside, these rooms can be popular so we recommend pre booking to avoid disappointment. We apologise that you were unable to get help regarding local restaurants and bars, we have passed this feedback to our team and have ensured they know about the area. For safety we do not have a communal luggage room to store luggage, we have the lockers as this is the most secure storage way. The maximum for 24hours is £6 for the extra large locker. Kind regards, Generator London
Read more
chanju9 wrote a review Sep 2
Surrey, United Kingdom1 contribution
Stay at Generator, was worth for it value. Very good staff's service and facilities, quite and clean place. Including the mini bar. Excellent location close to British Library, Kings Cross and St. Pancras Station.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: August 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Reception Team, Guest Services / Front Office at Generator London
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. 😀 We appreciate your feedback and are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay. And thanks for pointing out our great location - we always try to be in the right place at the right time. We hope to see you again in Gen London or another of our great locations. Safe travels, Generator Team
Read more
kuntic62 wrote a review Sep 1
Reading, United Kingdom1 contribution
I like the place a lot and i will come back again in that place i like the atmosphere a lot i like the bar alot and the stuff been nice to us and kind i recomend its good place to stay and its good area
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: August 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Reception Team, Guest Services / Front Office at Generator London
Responded 2 weeks ago
Hi there, Wow! 10 out of 10! Thank you so much for such positive feedback. We're so happy that you've enjoyed your stay and our bar. And thanks for mentioning our staff, it's nice to know they're appreciated :) Hope to see you soon, Sending some #GenLove your way, Best, Generator Team
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$24 - $127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
generator hostel london hotel london
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandLondonBloomsbury / Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
NUMBER OF ROOMS
215
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Generator London
Which popular attractions are close to Generator London?
Nearby attractions include Agent November (0.2 miles), British Library (0.3 miles), and The Foundling Museum (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Generator London?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and laundry service.
What food & drink options are available at Generator London?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
What are some restaurants close to Generator London?
Conveniently located restaurants include Choppaluna, Yatri, and Albertini Restaurant.
Are any cleaning services offered at Generator London?
Yes, laundry service and self serve laundry are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Generator London?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.
Are there any historical sites close to Generator London?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Churchill War Rooms (1.7 miles), Tower of London (2.4 miles), and Houses of Parliament (1.9 miles).