We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Generator Hostel London

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Generator Hostel London
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,909 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 978: English reviews
California, USA
Level Contributor
36 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Great staff that was able to accommodate a room for my party of 6. We all booked at different times and was able to get a room for just us six females. I felt safe. We were able to do laundry here and enjoy wine and ale at the same time. Great for solo travel. Wished they served food later... More 

Helpful?
Thank PnkRaeNjEr
Genlon, Manager at Generator Hostel London, responded to this review

Hi Cali23female, We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us but are extremely disappointed to read that there may have been an incident with one of our bar team members. This has been shared with our food and beverage manager and we would also be happy to discuss this further with you if you would like to contact... More 

San Jose, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The hostel was pretty rad, we met a lot of really cool people in the hostel, and having the bar in hostel was nice for meeting people. Staff was pretty friendly, one of the bartenders was always distracted and did not seemed to stoked to help anyone out. Food was just alright, but overall pretty good stay.

Helpful?
Thank daltonvdbh
Genlon, Manager at Generator Hostel London, responded to this review

Hi daltonvdbh, It is great that overall you enjoyed your stay but we are disappointed you felt one of our team members was distracted. Your feedback has been shared with our food and beverage manager to look into and discuss with his team. Best wishes, Generator London More 

New York City, New York
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

I'm a big Generator fan. Having stayed at Gen Venice, Barcelona, Paris, and Hamburg, I have to say that my worst nights were in Gen London. Don't get me wrong, the atmosphere and the decor are fantastic. It wasn't the party night that was bad, it was the actual "sleep time". I am currently writing this review from the bar... More 

Helpful?
Thank ggekko42
Genlon, Manager at Generator Hostel London, responded to this review

Hello ggekko42, We are disappointed that we did not live up to your expectations after staying in some of our other Generators. It is true that we only have a few truly hot humid days a year and it has definitely been this was lately. We hope that there was a fan in your room as we can place these... More 

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I've stayed at 3 Generator hostels, and London was really disappointing compared to the others. I arrived at the hostel fresh off a 24 hour flight at 10am and check in wasn't til 2. The staff simply told me they wouldn't help me til then. I asked if I could store my luggage somewhere at least and they pointed me... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank sarahceili
Genlon, Manager at Generator Hostel London, responded to this review

Hello sarahceili, Please rest assured that we do take all reviews seriously and all our managers in London see each review that is posted. Your feedback has also been shared and discussed with our reception team to ensure they are providing all the necessary information to guests upon arrival and check in. Unfortunately if we are fully booked the night... More 

Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

London can be very expensive for accommodation so when we stumbled upon generator hostel my friend and I were delighted. We had a private twin room with ensuite, although the room was very very small it was fine for the amount of time we spent there. The room, linen and bathroom were all clean. I would definitely stay here again,... More 

Helpful?
Thank nmrmcs
Genlon, Manager at Generator Hostel London, responded to this review

Hey nmrmcs, Thanks for your wonderful feedback! Yes we are lucky to be in our location, not too far to walk from public transport. All your feedback has been shared with our team here in London who are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future. Best wishes,... More 

Gothenburg, Sweden
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

After staying here two times in just four months (ten nights) I am VERY pleased with everything and I won't even think of staying anywhere else, as long as I am travel alone to London. Booking through Agoda gives me a remarkable price (about 18 pounds/night) and I can not think of a better or more fun place to stay.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank stefan66eriksson
Genlon, Manager at Generator Hostel London, responded to this review

Hey stefan66eriksson, It is great to hear from you after your stays! We are thrilled that you enjoyed both trips and will choose us again in the future for your solo London trips. Look forward to seeing you again. Best wishes, Generator London. More 

Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

good hostel, bar serving food and drinks all day, clean rooms and showers, luggage room, secure at night, security guard on site and you need to show your key to get in, closest station is russell square on the piccadilly line(leicester square/covent garden) but also walkable to/from Euston/Kings Cross/St Pancras, I didnt sleep well but mainly cos of the weather,... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank shanemb78
Genlon, Manager at Generator Hostel London, responded to this review

Hey shanemb78, Thanks for taking the time to share your thoughts and feedback with us. Safety for our guests is very important to us and it is great to read that you felt safe with our security system. Best wishes, Generator London. More 

Singapore, Singapore
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Location was good and pretty near King's Cross and Russell Square station. The hostel has a restaurant within which sells decent food, although the choices are rather limited. Room-wise, there is no air-conditioning which made my stay there terrible (especially since it is summer now and hence the room was very hot), and the rooms are very small (I slept... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 103tch
Genlon, Manager at Generator Hostel London, responded to this review

Hi 103tch, It is disappointing to read that we did not meet your expectations in regards to the room and showers. Yes the hook for the showers is just outside the curtain as we found that guests clothes were getting wet when it was inside, all our showers should also have a rack on the inside for your toiletries. We... More 

Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The room was dirty. They don't give you towels, so we bought them, but they were damp and smelled moldy. The location is central and that' good point. Breakfast isn't unforgettable. Dear Generators, you can do much better! I wouldn't recommend this hostel to my friends.

Helpful?
Thank PublioTerenzio
Genlon, Manager at Generator Hostel London, responded to this review

Hello PublioTerenzio, We are disappointed that we did not meet your expectations but thank you for letting us know the areas we can look at improving. We are unsure what the situation was with your towels as the towels we sell are new, they come out of a packet and have not been used before. This feedback has been shared... More 

Singapore
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Need to be attentive to look out for the entrance route to the hostel. A vibrant place for young people to hang out and meet new people. Check in time is strictly from 2pm onwards but there is locker available for rental to store your belongings. Could be noisy if people are hanging out on the street.

Review collected in partnership with Amoma.com

Helpful?
Thank Nancy L
Genlon, Manager at Generator Hostel London, responded to this review

Hi Nancy L, Our check in time is 2pm, we do try to have rooms ready earlier but when we are fully booked this can sometimes be difficult. Hopefully the lockers worked out well for you. At night time we do have security guards who try to keep the guests hanging out outside a little bit quiet to not to... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

545 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (410)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (9)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Dining (48)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (73)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (29)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (19)
Viewed
1:40
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (214)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (110)
Viewed
Quad Non-Ensuite (12)
Viewed
Dining (20)
Viewed
Six Bed Ensuite (18)
Viewed
The Hotel (31)
Viewed
Twin Ensuite (14)
Viewed
Twin Non-Ensuite (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (16)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Tune Hotel Kings Cross
Tune Hotel Kings Cross
#335 of 1,070 in London
4.0 of 5 stars 2,869 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Notting Hill
La Suite West - Hyde Park
La Suite West - Hyde Park
#418 of 1,070 in London
4.0 of 5 stars 524 reviews
Paddington / Maida Vale
Tune Hotel - Paddington
Tune Hotel - Paddington
#290 of 1,070 in London
4.0 of 5 stars 1,735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Bloomsbury

Neighborhood Profile
Bloomsbury
Snuggly nestled within Central London is academic and leafy Bloomsbury, an area that boasts walking distance access to many of London's most popular attractions. It is also home to some of Britain's most celebrated museums, including the must-see British Museum. Despite an understandable popularity with students, tourists and day trippers, vast sections of Bloomsbury retain a quiet, residential feel year round and throughout the week.
Explore this neighborhood
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Generator London was the very first Generator and you’ll find it in the area of Russell Square in the heart of the West End. It’s the ideal spot to enjoy London from, everything you need to see is minutes away by tube. You’ll never run out of things to do in the UK’s capital. You just have to decide where to start and we can help you with that. When you have seen and done it all for the day head back to Generator and unwind. It’s a destination in its own right and a great place to socialise and reflect on your experiences of the day. Head to the bar and chill out areas to get yourself a well deserved drink or two. It’s lively, friendly and un-missable. We’ve also got great beds for sleepy heads and of course you’ll be enjoying London life in the most authentic surroundings. Choose from a great selection of rooms, from Dorms, to Quads, to Private rooms with innovative mod cons. Fast and free Wi-Fi is all yours too. To get the most out of your stay visit the travel shop and our city experts will help you devise an itinerary that will take you to all the hidden treasures this dynamic city has to offer. You’ll have to stay longer to fit it all in but you’ll not need convincing of that. We’ll see you there soon. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Generator Hostel London

Address: 37 Tavistock Place | Russell Square, London WC1H 9SE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury , Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Price Range: $32 - $163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Generator Hostel London 3*
Number of rooms: 214
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, getaroom.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Generator Hostel London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Generator Hostel London Hotel London
Generator Hostel London England
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay