We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
39-40 Bedford Place, London WC1B 5JT England
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Traveler (73)
Room & Suite (50)
Dining (3)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
Read more
Updated 08/19/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Grange Buckingham Hotel
Updated 08/19/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#686 of 1,196 hotels in London
Location
4.5
Cleanliness
4.2
Service
3.9
Value
3.6
Grange Buckingham is a 4-Star hotel in the Grange Hotels boutique collection, snugly located near the British Museum in the heart of Bloomsbury. The hotel features 17 comfortable, self-contained studio bedrooms that are fitted with en-suite bathrooms, kitchenettes and a range of modern conveniences. Breakfast is served daily in the breakfast room on the Ground floor. Guests wishing to have lunch or dinner can dine at sister hotels Grange Beauchamp and the Grange White Hall, located just across the road on Bedford Street. Internet access is offered to guests, and rooms at Grange Buckingham Hotel offer a flat screen TV, a kitchenette, and a desk. During your stay, take advantage of some of the amenities offered, including a 24 hour front desk, a concierge, and room service. Guests of Grange Buckingham Hotel are also welcome to enjoy an on-site restaurant. Close to some of London's most popular landmarks, such as Big Ben (1.3 mi) and Westminster Abbey (1.4 mi), Grange Buckingham Hotel is a great destination for tourists. When you’re feeling hungry, be sure to check out Peggy Porschen Cakes, The Breakfast Club, and Regency Cafe, which are some cafes that are popular with locals and out-of-towners alike. London is also known for some great art galleries, including Graffik Gallery, Guildhall Art Gallery, and Dulwich Picture Gallery, which are not too far from Grange Buckingham Hotel. We’re sure you’ll enjoy your stay at Grange Buckingham Hotel as you experience everything London has to offer.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Parking
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Babysitting
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Baggage storage
Newspaper
24-hour front desk
Paid wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Non-smoking hotel
Shops
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Shoeshine
Show more
Room features
Allergy-free room
Desk
Room service
Safe
Telephone
Microwave
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Iron
Refrigerator
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Residential Neighborhood
Quiet
Languages Spoken
English
220Reviews5Q+A44Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 67
  • 82
  • 39
  • 17
  • 15
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
JonH69 wrote a review Mar 2022
Marlow, United Kingdom99 contributions53 helpful votes
Perfect hotel for my wife's birthday weekend treat and only 10 minutes walk from the Phoenix theatre and Soho nightlife and 5 minutes walk from Imperial Car park. Really quiet and comfortable bedroom suite too. Staff really helpful and breakfast just the job too. Perfect, many thanks.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Park at the Imperial Car Park. Just £24 for 24 hours, and get in there before 12noon on a...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Sheridon Mascoll , Owner at Grange Buckingham Hotel
Responded Apr 11, 2022
DearJonH69, Thank you for this glowing 5* review, we really appreciate you taking the time to share your experience. We hope to welcome you back soon!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
PerTheCat wrote a review Mar 2022
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom354 contributions167 helpful votes
Excellent location on a quiet street near the British Museum. It was a large room, with super king bed, sofa and sitting area. The room has a kitchenette with sink, microwave, kettle and mini fridge. The hotel also provided some crockery and cutlery. Decor wasn’t perfect but it didn’t look like it had been repainted not too long ago, definitely not shabby. Staff were very polite and efficient, and even though they had to open the door to everyone as you don’t get a key, they were always very prompt (this additional security did make it seem very safe). We left our cases with them before and after checking in/out. We were there for three nights and it was pretty quiet throughout our stay, we weren’t aware of any other guests in the place. There are plenty of restaurants in the area, Euston station is walkable and there’s tube and bus stops nearby. Would definitely stay again.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Nip to supermarket round the corner for something for breakfast - as there’s a kitchenette you...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Sheridon Mascoll , Guest Services / Front Office at Grange Buckingham Hotel
Responded Apr 11, 2022
DearPerTheCat, thank you for taking the time to share your experience following your recent visit. We are delighted that you had a great stay and enjoyed the hotel, it's facilites and location. We are very proud of our dedicated hotel teams who, in our opinion, provide a warm and friendly service that is second to none. We hope to welcome you back very soon.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The Walsh Family🇬🇧 wrote a review Mar 2022
Portsmouth, United Kingdom3369 contributions1039 helpful votes
+1
We stayed here for one night for a commitment at the Shaftesbury Theatre and its proximity to that location was the deciding factor. On this basis we were happy with our decision. Checkin was smooth and as you have to buzz the door bell every time you need to enter the hotel - it comes with a feeling like you are entering someone’s home over a hotel. It’s probably a valid security reason for this (read into that what you will) and wasn’t that much as an inconvenience as the door was always opened promptly. It wasn’t the cheapest hotel rate for a night’s stay but it certainly wasn’t the most expensive. London hotels of this vintage often come with very small rooms but we were pleasantly surprised when we opened the room door to be greeted by 3 floor to ceiling windows and a high ceiling it was too. Our room felt very spacious with a separate kitchenette which had a fridge, microwave, sink, kettle, biscuits, milk (provided in the fridge) and tea bags (provided in the draws). Bathroom was a good size with a full bath and hot decent pressured shower. The bed was king size but boy was it like sleeping on a bit of ply wood - it was that straight and that hard. The room does look dated and there is a little rough around some edges but it was still fully functional and of a good standard.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
Room Tip: Room 104 is front facing and very spacious. Ideal for a family room.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Sheridon Mascoll , Guest Services / Front Office at Grange Buckingham Hotel
Responded Apr 11, 2022
DearWalshyFamilyTravels, thank you so much for providig us with feedback from your recent visit. We are truly delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are very fortunate with the wonderful and central location we have in London and our hotels do benefit from having extremly spacious rooms. We will of course address your comments about the bed. Thank you for bringing it to our attention. We hope to welcome you back in the future.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Paul T wrote a review Mar 2022
York, United Kingdom2 contributions
This must be a self assessment when it comes to the award of stars. I'm not saying it's terrible however not what you expect at 4 star and £160 a night. The shower head was broken, the carpet was threadbare in places and although they provide a kettle you need to take your own coffee and tea as it's not part of the price. The breakfast is average at best, not a great selection unfortunately and at £18 per head, way overpriced. There's lots of local cafe's / bars to get a lot better value for money. It's not terrible, it's just not what you expect at 4 star rating and £160 a night. There better for less out there!!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Sheridon Mascoll , Guest Services / Front Office at Grange Buckingham Hotel
Responded Apr 12, 2022
Dear 568thec, thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us, we do apprecaite the feedback. Sorry you were not entirely satisfied with your stay. Just to let you know, you dont need to bring your own tea/cofee, it's all in the room. Some of the rooms have a Tea box fitted on the wall which contains the crockery and all the supplies. We will ensure the staff point these out so no-one else misses them :) We do believe our breakfast represents good value for money and most customers agree. Let us know what else you would like to see us include . We hope to welcome you in the future.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Lee P wrote a review Feb 2022
1 contribution
Breakfast is in the hotel next door, which you’re not told. The rooms are tired, dated and not the cleanest. As mentioned in the title the hotel is spacious and centrally located but it simply isn’t a 4 star hotel based on experience. It served its purpose but it’s underwhelming and depressing. It’s not a dump but I’d rather in stay in a premier inn or a Jurys.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Sheridon Mascoll , Guest Services / Front Office at Grange Buckingham Hotel
Responded Apr 12, 2022
Dear Lee P, Thank you for providing us with some feedback following your stay. We appreciate your time. Our hotels are part of a group , located within minutes of each other (some are literally the next building) . We are experiencing high levels of staff shortages across the industry and took the decision to only have breakfasts in some of the properties. This allows us to staff properly and provide a better service to our customers. We hope that once things improve we will be able to reopen all of our breakfast rooms. Thank you again for your time. We hope to welcome you again.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
jujuizzy wrote a review Feb 2022
Norwich, United Kingdom46 contributions19 helpful votes
We booked the Portland, but was emailed a few days before arriving that we would be at the Buckingham, that was not a problem as all in the same street. Very friendly staff, room on second floor at the back. Very quiet, spacious and clean. Some parts of the room were a little tired, but it didn’t affect our stay. A handy kitchenette behind doors, the room was serviced after the first night. Ideal location, behind the British museum, a minutes walk from Russell Square park with a cafe. Underground very close by and 10-15 minute walk to West end and Oxford street. would definitely stay again.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Sheridon Mascoll , Guest Services / Front Office at Grange Buckingham Hotel
Responded Apr 12, 2022
Dear jujuizzy, Thank you for your kind review, we appreciate you taking the time to share your experience. All of our hotels benefit from fantastic, central location. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed a lovely break in London and look-forward to welcoming you back soon.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
AnnatVentnor wrote a review Feb 2022
7 contributions9 helpful votes
Booked for two nights theatre break . Very convenient locality. Staff were very good and friendly. We had to go to the hotel next door for breakfast which meant that at times it was very crowded but the breakfast was very good . The hotel needs a major refurbishment. As shown in the pictures taken it is very shoddy for the price charged and the location. It needs a major overhaul urgently . Would not book this hotel again .
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Sheridon Mascoll , Guest Services / Front Office at Grange Buckingham Hotel
Responded Apr 12, 2022
Dear AnnatVentnor, Thank you for taking the time to review your recdent stay. We are sorry to hear you were not satisfied with your stay but thank you for your kind comments about our wonderful staff. Due to staff shortages which are happening industry wide, we have had to close some of our breakfast rooms to allow us to staff properly and be able to offer a better overall service. In the current climate we do not have any plans yet for a refurbishement as we work to ensure we can protect the jobs of all of our staff.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
fatandfrantic wrote a review Jan 2022
Derby, United Kingdom437 contributions167 helpful votes
Booked two rooms for a family theatre break. Great location for the West End Soho and Covent Garden within easy walking distance. Located equidistant to Holborn and Russell Square Underground stations. Our rooms were spacious, extremely clean and despite being advised that housekeeping would only be every 3 days, our rooms were serviced during a 2 night stay. The beds were quite hard and could do with extra pillows. The staff were friendly and a available if required. Breakfast was served at the sister hotel next door, good continental included in the room rate, extra for a cooked breakfast but good value. Was a good stay and would revisit.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Sheridon Mascoll , Guest Services / Front Office at Grange Buckingham Hotel
Responded Apr 12, 2022
Dear Carol A, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us, we apprecaite you sharing your experience. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your break in London, it's such a fantastic city and we love sharing it with our visitors. We hope to be able to welcome you back in the future.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
taylorchris10 wrote a review Dec 2021
Leicester, United Kingdom1 contribution
Room size was good but tv did not work and had to establish myself that scart lead was not plugged in. Very poor, not to have working tv in a hotel that is supposed to be 4 star. Given the choice, I would not stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Sheridon Mascoll , Guest Services / Front Office at Grange Buckingham Hotel
Responded Apr 13, 2022
Dear taylorchris10, thank you for taking the time to share your experience, we use feedback to improve our services. We are sorry to hear the TV was not working, please accept our apologies as it should have been picked up & resolved by the team prior to you checking in. We are happy to see that the only issue was the faulty TV and sorry you felt the hotel deserved such a low score for this. Thank you for your time, we really do appreciate the feedback.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Donna T wrote a review Nov 2021
4 contributions3 helpful votes
Our stay was a weekend break. On arrival we upgraded our room so we could have twin beds.. This room was definitely not executive. The sofa was so stained it looked like a crime scene. No bins were emptied or any housekeeping because of Covid, we didn't know this so had dirty linen and overflowing bins. You also aren't told that if there are greedy guests at breakfast then items aren't replaced but you can have a smile and a shrug of the shoulders. Unfortunately they aren't the same satisfaction as a croissant. I gave this feedback to reception, another lovely smile ,filled in a feedback form and sent an email. No response 2 weeks later ,I'm not expecting much,maybe another smile and a shrug. I wouldn't stay again, I think there is better value for money. Shame as it's a good location.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Sheridon Mascoll , Guest Services / Front Office at Grange Buckingham Hotel
Responded Apr 13, 2022
Dear F3059TQdonnat, Thank you for taking the time to share your expereince. We appreciate the time you have spent in doing so. During the Pandemic hotels were given a list of advisories to reduce the risk of infection, not servicing guests bedrooms until departure was one of the measures the hotel had to follow. We are sorry to hear items were not replinished at breakfast as this is not our policy or usual standard. Please accept our sincere apologies for falling below your expectations.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$156 - $234 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
buckingham hotel london
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandLondonBloomsbury
NUMBER OF ROOMS
17
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Grange Buckingham Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Grange Buckingham Hotel?
Nearby attractions include The British Museum (0.1 miles), Memphis the Musical (0.3 miles), and THATMuse,Treasure Hunt at the Museum (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Grange Buckingham Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast buffet.
Which room amenities are available at Grange Buckingham Hotel?
Top room amenities include a flat screen TV, a refrigerator, and a desk.
What food & drink options are available at Grange Buckingham Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Grange Buckingham Hotel?
Yes, parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Grange Buckingham Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Shell, Drury 188-189, and Cafe de Provence.
Are any cleaning services offered at Grange Buckingham Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Grange Buckingham Hotel?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Are there any historical sites close to Grange Buckingham Hotel?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Churchill War Rooms (1.2 miles), Tower of London (2.2 miles), and Houses of Parliament (1.4 miles).
Is Grange Buckingham Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and facilities for disabled guests. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.