We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
46 Blackfriars Road, London SE1 8NZ England
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Booking.com
$221
View deal
Expedia.com$220
Hotels.com$220
Travelocity$220
Novotel$220
Tripadvisor$220
ZenHotels.com$235
View all 20 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (978)
Room & Suite (435)
Dining (113)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Read more
Updated 11/16/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Novotel London Blackfriars
Updated 11/16/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#268 of 1,196 hotels in London
Location
4.5
Cleanliness
4.6
Service
4.4
Value
4.1
GreenLeaders Silver level
In line with local government restrictions, our restaurant, bar and leisure facilities are now reopen. Please kindly contact us to book a time slot for the pool. Novotel London Blackfriars is a beautifully designed contemporary and exciting hotel in a vibrant area of London, whether you are staying for business or pleasure. Located just minutes away from the City and London's famous Southbank, you will be within walking distance of Waterloo Station and some of the capital's most famous landmarks, including the London Eye, Tate Modern and St Pauls Cathedral. You can unwind in our Jamboree Foodfest & Bar, which celebrate flavours from around the world.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Kids stay free
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Taxi service
Wifi
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Fitness / spa locker rooms
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Kid-friendly buffet
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Baggage storage
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
Laptop safe
Minibar
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Modern
Languages Spoken
English

Location

Full view
100Great for walkers
Grade: 100 out of 100
167Restaurantswithin 0.3 miles
43Attractionswithin 0.3 miles
3376Reviews104Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 1,789
  • 1,212
  • 254
  • 76
  • 45
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
chickzone wrote a review Sep 17
Douglas, United Kingdom23 contributions5 helpful votes
We had the most perfect weekend - absolutely all of the staff were so professional and friendly. The standard of cleanliness and comfort in the hotel was exceptional and our room had everything that we needed with no noise or disturbance - we will be back.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Alberto Biollino, Guest Services / Front Office at Novotel London Blackfriars
Responded 1 week ago
Dear chickzone, Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay at the Novotel London Blackfriars and thank you for the 5 star rating. Thank you for your comments on our staff members and cleanliness; these are areas we are very truly proud of. We do hope to welcoming you back soon to London. With Kind Regards
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Joe Liu wrote a review Sep 15
1 contribution
Room air conditioning was not functioning and reception did nothing to help. Horrible service, reception was rude with her comment on the complain. Requested for a fan which was not delivered, dont even think the reception did her job of passing the message. Disappointed Novotel, this is not the expectation of a 4 star hotel
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Alberto Biollino, Guest Services / Front Office at Novotel London Blackfriars
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Joe Liu, Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Novotel London Blackfriars. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. In Regards to the Air conditioning incident I could see that when you have first reported the the A/C was not working our engineer was sent upstairs and fixed it. I am not entirely sure what happened afterwards: from our records a spare fan was provided as requested on the same day. At Novotel, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely, Alberto Biollino Assistant Front Office Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ed_Uyeshima wrote a review Sep 12
San Francisco, California2015 contributions533 helpful votes
+1
I don't know why, but I seem to veer toward Southwark when it comes to finding hotel accommodations in London. The last hotel we stayed at was the stylish CitizenM nearby. The general area doesn't feel as congested as anything north of the Thames, the hub tube stations like Southwark and Waterloo are conveniently close, and there are a lot of cool sights a stroll away like Borough Market and the Tate Modern. Novotel has a dozen hotels around town, but the one on Blackfriars Road seemed like the best location. For the three days Jamie W. and I were staying in London, that was indeed the case because walking distances to our various destinations were manageable even in the blistering heat. We reserved a Superior Queen room for $275. Accommodations were quite comfortable and service was quite attentive throughout, including scheduling a cab to Heathrow at an ungodly hour for us. The rate didn't include the breakfast buffet since I knew we didn't want to graze and knew we could find something at Borough Market. This one certainly belongs on our short list.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Alberto Biollino, Guest Services / Front Office at Novotel London Blackfriars
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Ed_Uyeshima, Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay at the Novotel London Blackfriars and thank you for the 4 star rating. Thank you for your comments on our staff members, there are areas we are very truly proud of. We do hope to welcoming you back soon to London. With Kind Regards
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Tess H wrote a review Sep 4
12 contributions9 helpful votes
Overall the stay was ok. The facility’s were good room was good. The staff however we’re rude and made us feel uncomfortable. Whenever we asked for something it seemed to inconvenience them. Asked for some fresh towels and they were rude about that. Also ordered a wine to the room which took 45 mins and the staff were awkward about bringing it up and were so rude to us. One of my friends was almost refused entering the hotel after simply leaving to go for a meal and was asked for id upon return even though they had seen us leave and return and knew we were guests. She almost had to Kip on the streets ! Also jacuzzi was ever so cold could of done with being a few degrees warmer my friend came out shivering she had to sit in the sauna for a good half hour to get back to normal temperature! Was very worrying as her hands were purple! The lockers in the changing rooms DO NOT WORK. I was worried constantly about my belongings and could not enjoy my swim. Stains on bed - see photo attached. Not happy with the treatment of me and my loyal pals x
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Alberto Biollino, Guest Services / Front Office at Novotel London Blackfriars
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Tess, Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Novotel London Blackfriars. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. Could I please ask for further details regarding your comments about our staff members? We take this matter very seriously and we would need to make sure this does not happen again. Please feel free to reach me at h7942-gr@accor.com; At Novotel, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely, Alberto Biollino Assistant Front Office Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Clarashea wrote a review Aug 2022
Amsterdam, The Netherlands22 contributions4 helpful votes
Our stay at Novotel London Blackfriars was perfect. Everything was good. We got upgraded to the Executive level. We love the room, the mattress was very comfortable, the air conditioning was perfect for the hot weather in London in August. All the staff are friendly and reacted quickly for any requests. Thank you very much for the outstanding service. Hope to see you next time.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Value
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Alberto Biollino, Guest Services / Front Office at Novotel London Blackfriars
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear Clarashea, Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay at the Novotel London Blackfriars and thank you for the 5 star rating. Thank you for your comments on our location and facilities, there are areas we are very truly proud of. We do hope to welcoming you back soon to London. With Kind Regards
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Wouldbegreat wrote a review Aug 2022
Marton, United Kingdom13 contributions5 helpful votes
+1
Room was on the first floor and was small and in need of an update with skirting coming away from the wall, dirty marks on the walls and stained carpet. The main bed was uncomfortably hard causing my wife and I some discomfort and back pain. Kids beds were made up like 2 camp beds from the sofa bed in the room. On arrival the curtains were drawn over the window, no wonder. The view was of an industrial door on a brick wall. Housekeeping was hit and miss, we had to request towels, toilet rolls and the other extras on several occasions during our stay. There was an intermittent random but loud humming noise that kept waking us up every night and smoke alarms went off one night. We had originally asked for a room change higher up with a view but were told the hotel was fully booked. We asked for the noise to be fixed but it never got resolved. The bathroom has a weird glass partition that can be see-through or obscured depending on the switch. Either way, anyone using the bathroom at night with the light on will illuminate the bedroom waking others up. The pool is small and the water is cold. Kids loved it but you could only book one hour a day and we missed out one of the days as it was fully booked. In one corner of the pool was a collection of old sticking plasters and other bits and bobs that had been left in the water. Gym was limited but clean and not busy at the times we used it. The water/shower in the bathroom frequently had power drops and was never hot. It wasn’t cold, it just wasn’t hot. The beer was cold and the food was good but a tad expensive. Breakfast time there was chaotic queues for drinks/ pancakes on occasion but otherwise ok. Food was tasty. Staff were pleasant but not overly friendly. The hotel is in a reasonable location not too far from the river and transport links. All in all I wish we had booked somewhere else and will not stay there again.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Alberto Biollino, Guest Services / Front Office at Novotel London Blackfriars
Responded 5 weeks ago
Dear Wouldbegreat, Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Novotel London Blackfriars. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At Novotel, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely,
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kathryn P wrote a review Aug 2022
Leeds, United Kingdom2 contributions1 helpful vote
Weekend away with husband and the Hotel was lovely - we were upgraded which was a lovely surprise and the staff were great, professional and friendly. The room was great and facilities in the hotel were of high standard.The Hotel is situated in a great place and within walking distance of the sights of London and would defiantly recommend.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Date of stay: August 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Alberto Biollino, Guest Services / Front Office at Novotel London Blackfriars
Responded Aug 19, 2022
Dear KSPeduzie, Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay at the Novotel London Blackfriars and thank you for the 5 star rating. Thank you for your comments on our location and facilities, there are areas we are very truly proud of. We do hope to welcoming you back soon to London. With Kind Regards
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Lesley O wrote a review Aug 2022
1 contribution
The ladies at the reception desk were very helpful when I asked them if I could get a page photocopied to attach to something I was taking to the next door post office. I was really relieved they agreed to help a stranger in need. Service with a smile 🙂
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Alberto Biollino, Guest Services / Front Office at Novotel London Blackfriars
Responded Aug 19, 2022
Dear 755lesleyo, Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay at the Novotel London Blackfriars and thank you for the 4 star rating. Thank you for your comments on our staff members, there are areas we are very truly proud of. We do hope to welcoming you back soon to London. With Kind Regards
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Avdo S wrote a review Aug 2022
Dublin, Ireland4 contributions2 helpful votes
Hotel is on good spot close to underground station.Walking distance to London Eye, Hotel staff friendly and very helpful, Nice swimming pool, good restaurant food, Breakfast excellent, Room moderate but carpet very very dirty stains all over the place, to management please check room 610 for deatels
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Date of stay: August 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Alberto Biollino, Guest Services / Front Office at Novotel London Blackfriars
Responded Aug 13, 2022
Dear aspahic, Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay at the Novotel London Blackfriars and thank you for the 4 star rating. Thank you for your comments on our location and facilities, there are areas we are very truly proud of. I have shared your valuable feedback to our colleagues in Housekeeping to prevent these things to be happening in the future. We do hope to welcoming you back soon to London. With Kind Regards
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ray S wrote a review Aug 2022
Letterkenny, Ireland8 contributions4 helpful votes
+1
Stayed with the family for 3 nights , What a lovely Hotel (Absolutely spotless ), nice comfortable double bed and two single beds ( No sofa beds Thank you) great restaurant , what a great breakfast experience, amazing fruit salad & fab food, nice attentive dining room staff , especially Rodney , also the ( Romanian )bar tender was really top class, nice safe swimming pool in the basement ( only 1.2 metre deep)
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Alberto Biollino, Guest Services / Front Office at Novotel London Blackfriars
Responded Aug 9, 2022
Dear B19101Qrays1, Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay at the Novotel London Blackfriars and thank you for the 5 star rating. Thank you for your comments on our location and facilities, there are areas we are very truly proud of. We do hope to welcoming you back soon to London. With Kind Regards
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$220 - $338 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandLondon
NUMBER OF ROOMS
182
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Novotel London Blackfriars
Which popular attractions are close to Novotel London Blackfriars?
Nearby attractions include Immersive Gamebox - Southbank (0.07 miles), Tonight Josephine Waterloo (0.3 miles), and The Old Vic (0.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Novotel London Blackfriars?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Novotel London Blackfriars?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Novotel London Blackfriars?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Novotel London Blackfriars?
Yes, parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Novotel London Blackfriars?
Conveniently located restaurants include Crust Bros, Lord Nelson, and Bala Baya.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Novotel London Blackfriars?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness center, and a sauna during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Novotel London Blackfriars?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Novotel London Blackfriars?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Novotel London Blackfriars offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to Novotel London Blackfriars?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Churchill War Rooms (1.1 miles), Tower of London (1.3 miles), and Houses of Parliament (0.9 miles).