We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

RestUp London

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
RestUp London
RestUp London
Panoramas (7)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

443 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 218: English reviews
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewed yesterday NEW

Central location, but not really a hostel. Lot of elderly people, children and also people living and working in London staying there. No internet in the rooms and wifi in communal area very poor and weak. Communal area not big enough for all the people and people sitting on tables and standing just to use the internet. No atmosphere. Would...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Globetrotter898
Uxbridge
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

We were at a Christmas party so needed somewhere for the night that was reasonably priced as London hotels are over the top expensive. This place was ok. Did what it said on the tin. Accommodation clean & comfortable but basic. Handy location for Underground and buses. The cooked breakfast was very good at £5.50/person.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank maggiemay361
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

A good price for a budget hotel. Is enormous and has a cosy atmosphere. If you're gonna stay for a short time it's great but not for longer periods. I suggest to bring a sleep mask and earplugs for a good night sleep. Otherwise it's hard. It's annoying that there's no contact sockets in the rooms but only in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LillaLadyn
RestUp_London, Manager at RestUp London, responded to this review

Thank you for the review! Most of our rooms have individual sockets for each bed or a few to share throughout the room. I'm sorry if you were unlucky enough to end up in one of the few ones with no sockets. I'm glad you liked the location and I hope you had a good overall stay. Johan, Duty manager

New York City, New York
Reviewed 1 week ago

Pros: 1) This hostel has a fairly good location. Multiple buses stop right in front of it, and it's only about 7 minutes walk to Elephant and Castle underground. I was able to get anywhere I wanted (Leicester Square, Camden Market, Buckingham Palace, Oxford Street, etc) within 15-30 minutes. 2) The bathrooms and showers are very clean which is nice....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 648mmm
RestUp_London, Manager at RestUp London, responded to this review

Hi! Thanks for the review! It sounds like you had a great stay overall and saw a lot of London. I'm really happy that you found the staff friendly and liked our building. The wifi is something we are currently working on. Installing it has taken longer than we'd like, but it's coming :) The dirty bed sounds very odd...

Toruń
Reviewed 1 week ago

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 604paulinac
RestUp_London, Manager at RestUp London, responded to this review

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The staff was friendly and pleasant, the place was clean as well as the amenities but I don't get why they advertise that they offer wifi when it doesn't work. I could understand if I was trying to stream or download movies but I was trying to book a bus ticket for more than two hours! The internet kept chipping...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nicolette B
RestUp_London, Manager at RestUp London, responded to this review

Hi Nicolette, Thank you for your review. I'm so sorry about your wifi experience! This is something we have noticed happens during the busy evening hours, when everyone is in the building. We are currently working on getting much more reliable wifi, and hopefully throughout the building and not just the reception area. I hope you had a good stay...

Forcalquier, France
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

After a comfortable night I set out to journey back to France and it wasn't till I was at Stansted airport before I realized I had forgotten my precious hearing aids on the window sill by my bed ! I rang the hostel in a bit of a panic. The kind Lia at the reception desk sent them to my...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank andreasmuller
RestUp_London, Manager at RestUp London, responded to this review

Hi Andreas, Thanks for the great review! I have passed it on to Lia. I'm very happy that it all worked out and that you are now back to hearing. Hope to see you back here again! After all, France is only a short train ride away. Johan Duty Manager

Rossendale, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We stayed here as a family of 4, with a family room. The room was small, just as you would expect, but clean, and with beds we found comfortable. Bathroom was shared (again, as expected) but modern and clean. There was some road noise from New Kent Road, but not a big issue (and we are used to a quiet...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank happyclayton
RestUp_London, Manager at RestUp London, responded to this review

Hello! Thank you for the great review. It sounds like you had a great stay with us, which makes me happy. We have a newly installed heating system which is automatic and temperature based. We are still tweaking the temperatures so thanks for the feedback. I hope to see you back with us again in the future. Best regards, Johan

Reviewed October 6, 2016

We booked a 4 person room with bathroom or at least not co-educated bathroom..but we got a co-educated bathroom in the corridor, it was very dirty however they cleaned it at least twice a day but still for that many people it was just very busy and had to wait a lot to get in, the breakfast was awful, really..OMG...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 717szilvias
RestUp_London, Manager at RestUp London, responded to this review

Hello! I'm sorry to hear your stay wasn't as expected. I'm curious what website you used to book your stay, because we don't have any four bed rooms with private bathroom and I can't find any such information anywhere. If there's wrong information somewhere we would of course like to fix that :) You are right that the bathrooms are...

Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewed October 2, 2016

this place is big and convenient , full of young noisy people , cheap and i suppose a little cheerful . you pay , you stay . rest up and go ... no frills , a few bugs too ... eastern european bolt hole ,. only serves a purpose . I'm not dissing the place but there are a lot...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Wizardwisper
RestUp_London, Manager at RestUp London, responded to this review

Hi! Thanks for taking the time to leave a review. Big and convenient is a good summery, considering our excellent location :) With our newly refurbished (and super nice, if we may say so ourselves) common areas, and our friendly staff, I'm sorry to hear that you didn't have a better experience. I can only hope that you give us...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

565 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (138)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
Room/Suite (40)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (32)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (4)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Other (33)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (411)
Viewed
Amenities (30)
Viewed
Double Room (16)
Viewed
Eight Bed with Bathroom (32)
Viewed
Eight Person Ensuite Room (24)
Viewed
Ensuite Double Room (21)
Viewed
Four Person Room (17)
Viewed
Quad Room (13)
Viewed
Dining (68)
Viewed
Showers and Toilets (14)
Viewed
Six Person Room (21)
Viewed
The Hotel (134)
Viewed
Twenty Person Room (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Palmers Lodge Hillspring
#42 of 791 in London
469 reviews
Bloomsbury
Generator Hostel London
Generator Hostel London
#38 of 791 in London
2,143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Whitechapel
Wombat's City Hostel London
London Backpackers
#198 of 791 in London
116 reviews
Paddington / Maida Vale
Atlas Hostels
Atlas Hostels
#147 of 791 in London
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Internet
  • Bar/Lounge
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
REST UP hostel in London has been established within Driscoll House, a unique pre-WWI baroque style listed building, unlike any other in the surrounding suburb of Elephant & Castle. We have a century old history of being a hostel, a claim that we are very proud of, originally just for women and children however now open to all. With an original exterior, the interior has been brought up to date with modern common areas perfect for relaxing and zoning out of reality and into the cyber world with our FREE WIFI. Our TV room and terrace are both great places to enjoy some snacks and laze around in the brightly coloured chairs/ bean bags and soak up the sunlight (on the rare occasions when London’s weather decides to shine). English not your mother tongue? That’s not a problem! We have multi-lingual staff that are here to help you. A hostel unlike any other hostel; with the hustle and bustle of central London on our doorstep complimented by the great array of guests within (young and old from all around the world) as well as friendly staff and delicious meals available throughout the day it’s the perfect place to make new friends, relax and REST UP at Driscoll House Hostel. ... more   less 

Additional Information about RestUp London

Address: 172 New Kent Road | Driscoll House, London SE1 4YT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Price Range: $19 - $102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — RestUp London 2*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelsClick, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your RestUp London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
RestUp London England
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from RestUp London staff and other travelers.
26 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (26)

Questions? Get answers from RestUp London staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Front of the building gets some road noise, but also good views of the Shard on the skyline.”
  • The shard from a 3rd floor room.
 of 5 bubbles happyclayton, 5 weeks ago | Read review
“find love and get high together .”
 of 5 bubbles Wizardwisper, Oct 2, 2016 | Read review
“Rooms are very small so think before booking the absolute budget ones!”
 of 5 bubbles 787tiffw, Sep 23, 2016 | Read review
“Is alway a surprise I guess”
 of 5 bubbles CatalinCristian, Jun 29, 2016 | Read review
“Run for your life!”
 of 5 bubbles R172EZmarianac, Jun 28, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay