We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

RestUp London

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
RestUp London
RestUp London
Panoramas (7)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

392 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 195: English reviews
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My, my partner and two sons (17 &14) booked a quadruple here for our site-seeing weekend in London. When we arrived we were told that there had been a mix up with the rooms and we were instantly worried what we had walked into. However, we were delighted to find out that we had been upgraded to 2 double rooms,... More 

Helpful?
Thank Tiff W
RestUp_London, Manager at RestUp London, responded to this review

Hi Tiff! Thanks for the comments :) I'm glad you had a good stay with us, and that you were happy with the two twin rooms. The story is indeed interesting, there's a lot of information about the building online. If you ever come back to visit London we hope to see you again. Best regards, Johan Duty Manager More 

Level Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I stayed here 3 nights with my boyfriend. We asked for a double room and we got a room with bunk beds. That was bummer number one. The room was su-per-small. There was 1 meter between the beds and the bathroom door. The bathroom was also very small, but that didn't really bother us. It was rather clean. The breakfast... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Jessie M
RestUp_London, Manager at RestUp London, responded to this review

Hi Jessie! I double checked your booking with the booking agency and you did in fact book a private twin room with bunk beds, not a double room. I'm sorry for the misunderstanding. We have a large, professional kitchen to help cater for the breakfast needs. We offer two options: the continental breakfast which consists of the basic buffet on... More 

Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Staff lacked personality and were quite unfriendly when we first arrived. However a couple of the guys were helpful on the last day. Twin room was much smaller than we expected but was very clean. Not terrible but not the fun experience I expected in the heart of London. Garden area was very nice on a positive note.

Helpful?
Thank Adam C
RestUp_London, Public Relations Manager at RestUp London, responded to this review

Hello Adam, First of all thank you for staying with us at Restup , and for taking the time to review us. We are very sorry that you felt this way about our staff , we can assure you that they always give their best and try and to be helpful to every guest. Thanks again for staying with us!... More 

Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2016

for the 5 star traveller keep scrolling. for the backpackers and get through the UK on a budget travellers look no further. Rooms are small but perfect size for a few nights. bedding is supplied which is nice, most rooms are bunkbeds and come with a sink, some rooms have own bathrooms (I've heard). Towels cost 5 pounds but you... More 

Helpful?
Thank NickM0909
RestUp_London, Guest Relations Manager at RestUp London, responded to this review

Hi Nick! Thank you for staying with us at Restup and for the positive review. We cater towards backpackers, so we are happy that we met your expectations. We hope to welcome you back again some day! Best regards, Enis @ reception More 

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2016

The room was tiny and the window only opened about 3 inches making it very warm and uncomfortable during the night, but the price was cheap so I guess I cannot complain! I ended up leaving my phone charger in the socket (my own fault I know) and realised about 1 hour later when I had got on the train... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sean H
RestUp_London, Manager at RestUp London, responded to this review

Hi Sean! I am very sorry about your experience. I have double checked with our housekeeping team who have a lost & found area, as well as with my colleagues at reception, but I'm afraid your charger is nowhere to be found. We are usually very proud of our professional staff and high service level which is why I regret... More 

Cambridge, Canada
Level Contributor
88 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2016

This hostel was very nice. The rooms were a little small and cramped but enough if your just staying a few nights.The staff down stairs were so friendly and offered to help me with everything from planning how to get to attractions to booking things to do.My only complaint would be that the bathrooms were constantly DISGUSTING. The location was... More 

Helpful?
Thank allison z
RestUp_London, Manager at RestUp London, responded to this review

Hello Allison! Thanks for your review. I'm pleased you had an overall good stay with us and that you were happy with our service. We are proud of our central location, and as you say we're not far from the tube station and buses stop right outside our main gate. I'm sorry that you had a bad experience with the... More 

Hong Kong, null, Hong Kong
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2016 via mobile

I stayed in a eight beds dorm and had shared bathrooms and toilets. The beding was clean and the double deck bed was a bit old so everytime I sat down on my bed made a noisy sound. My roommates were quiet so I was a bit awkward. There was a window but my first night was too warm and... More 

Helpful?
Thank sau suet W
RestUp_London, Manager at RestUp London, responded to this review

Hello! Thanks for your great review. I'm pleased you seem to have had an overall good stay. I'm sorry about the heat during your stay, it was an unusually hot week in London and we are aware of the issue. Regarding the breakfast, we also offer a Full English option which you can upgrade to at reception, in which case... More 

San Lorenzo de El Escorial, Spain
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2016 via mobile

I spent one night in London on my way back home. I shared the individual room with a friend. The hostel is close to a bus stop from which there are several options to move around London. The check in process was quick and we could even get a room earlier than the official check in time. You have to... More 

Helpful?
Thank Rick28200
RestUp_London, Reception at RestUp London, responded to this review

Dear Rick28200, Thank you for your honest review. We do pride ourselves on our location and connectivity with all major attractions in London. We are also pleased to hear that our services were speedy and that we were able to check you in earlier than the standard check-in time of 3pm. Regarding the noise in the hallways we have both... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2016

Good Staff - But this hostel lets you know it's a business - huge commercial - wouldn't recommend to the real travelers, it's more of a place for high-school groups and foreign workers. Pick wisely!!!

Helpful?
1 Thank JONO5K1
Aabybro, Denmark
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2016

The beds were so hard that we had to find another place to the the third night. My back was killing me. The personal were kind and helpfull.The place was clean. There could have been more spaces where you could bring your own food.

Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces

Helpful?
Thank Lena B
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

360 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (115)
Viewed
Room/Suite (30)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (32)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (4)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Other (23)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (229)
Viewed
Amenities (14)
Viewed
Eight Person Ensuite Room (24)
Viewed
Ensuite Double Room (21)
Viewed
Four Person Room (17)
Viewed
Dining (37)
Viewed
Six Person Room (21)
Viewed
The Hotel (74)
Viewed
Twenty Person Room (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Venture Hostels
#662 of 1,072 in London
3.0 of 5 stars 113 reviews
Bloomsbury
Generator Hostel London
Generator Hostel London
#35 of 786 in London
4.0 of 5 stars 1,967 reviews
Palmers Lodge Hillspring
#41 of 786 in London
4.0 of 5 stars 442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Paddington / Maida Vale
Atlas Hostels
Atlas Hostels
#131 of 786 in London
3.5 of 5 stars 116 reviews
No.8 Hostel Willesden
#172 of 786 in London
3.0 of 5 stars 209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Internet
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
REST UP hostel in London has been established within Driscoll House, a unique pre-WWI baroque style listed building, unlike any other in the surrounding suburb of Elephant & Castle. We have a century old history of being a hostel, a claim that we are very proud of, originally just for women and children however now open to all. With an original exterior, the interior has been brought up to date with modern common areas perfect for relaxing and zoning out of reality and into the cyber world with our FREE WIFI. Our TV room and terrace are both great places to enjoy some snacks and laze around in the brightly coloured chairs/ bean bags and soak up the sunlight (on the rare occasions when London’s weather decides to shine). English not your mother tongue? That’s not a problem! We have multi-lingual staff that are here to help you. A hostel unlike any other hostel; with the hustle and bustle of central London on our doorstep complimented by the great array of guests within (young and old from all around the world) as well as friendly staff and delicious meals available throughout the day it’s the perfect place to make new friends, relax and REST UP at Driscoll House Hostel. ... more   less 

Additional Information about RestUp London

Address: 172 New Kent Road | Driscoll House, London SE1 4YT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Price Range: $20 - $99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — RestUp London 2*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your RestUp London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
RestUp London England
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay