We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Hotel Columbus

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Hotel Columbus
View Map
{"widget":{"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","name":"ibex_photo_carousel"},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

413 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 252: English reviews
Farnborough, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

stayed in room 603 at the columbus hotel for one night.basic but really comfy bed.coffee and tea with chocolate available in room.lots of light in room but unusually hot and stuffy.there was a fan in the room so I think that is why as I had this on constant with the window open.apart from that it was a nice stay.the... More 

Helpful?
Thank matrix44
Surrey
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Small room & a little cramped however we had three comfortable beds & towels but very clean .The staff were very friendly & helpful and knew their job. We arrived early & the hotel looked kept our luggage before their check in time of 3pm( bit late we thought??). No air conditioning just a fan. Parking is limited & if... More 

Helpful?
Thank BourneMill
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stopped a night here due to husband being in St marys,great location for London, in a nice quiet area, receptionist were both lovely and helpful, I had a downstairs room a double just for me, very comfy bed, spacious room even if 2 of us had stayed, nice and quiet slept like a log,fan in room was great as got... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank L0uanne
Exeter, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Small room with more than enough to move. If you are n a break Rooms are usually there to sleep overnight and not to be in there throughout the day. Staff were friendly,helpful and methodical. We arrived early and the hotel looked after our luggage before our book in time. During summer could possible do with some form of air... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jay O
Yenny S, Supervisor at Hotel Columbus, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for reviewing our hotel after your recent stay with us. We are very pleased to read your comments and acknowledge you found the hotel to be in a good location, as well as founding the staff to be friendly, helpful and methodical. I would like to explain that unfortunately guests cannot book the car park. Nevertheless,... More 

Hurdal Municipality, Norway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had a family room for 4 at the top of the house. Very little space for our stuff, but ok for a couple of nights. The shower was very weak indeed, and went from hot to cold depending on others use of water in the house (not a thermostat shower). Friendly and helpfull staff and good location were plusses.

Helpful?
3 Thank bwarin
Yenny S, Supervisor at Hotel Columbus, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for reviewing our hotel after your recent stay with us. We are very pleased to read your comments and acknowledge you found the Staff to be friendly and helpful, as well as finding the hotel to be in a good location. Regarding the room, please note that our property is located in Central London and, as... More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The location of the hotel is perfect and the staff were amazing.. Very helpful and hospitable 💐💐💐. However, room was very small for 3 people. But we only stayed one night Eve tough.. The hospitability of the staff made us feel home All the best

Helpful?
1 Thank Nash R
Yenny S, Supervisor at Hotel Columbus, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for taking time to review our hotel. We are glad to read your comments and acknowledge you liked the location of the property. On behalf of all the team I would like to thank you very much for your compliments towards the Staff, it is our aim to make every single guest feel at home. As... More 

Rome, Italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I spent a week end at Columbus with my daughter; the Hotel is very well located, close to Hyde Park and Paddington Station, clean and comfortable. The staff are very nice, breakfast was included and nice as well. Booking through Tripadvisor gave us the opportunity to take the room at a good price.

Helpful?
1 Thank Francesco2001
Yenny S, Supervisor at Hotel Columbus, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for reviewing our hotel. We are very pleased to read your comments and acknowledge you found everything to be clean and comfortable , as well as finding the property to be in a great location. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future. Best regards, Alessandra Basso Supervisor More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This hotel, though nicely located in Central London, is very basic for a quite high price. The corridor to the room was smelling and some water was leaking both in the corridor and the bathroom. Moreover the hosting was quite disappointing, quite cold and not very honest (an error on booking.com cancelled the reservation, the room was still free but... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank MaxouilleLF
Yenny S, Supervisor at Hotel Columbus, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for reviewing our hotel. We are glad to hear you found the hotel to be in a good location. Concerning the smell and the leaking, I will pass this information onto our maintenance person to investigate the matter. I apologize for any inconveniences caused. Regarding the cancellation, as per our policy 5 days before the arrival... More 

Travelers are raving about these London hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We didn`t go to London to stay in our room, so we didn`t mind a small room and a tiny bathroom. It was clean and the standard quite all right. The staff were really friendly and helpful - the hotel seemed a bit short staffed though - managing breakfast and the reception/checkouts at the same time caused waiting... A nice... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Ellen R
Yenny S, General Manager at Hotel Columbus, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. It is really nice to hear you think the Staff was friendly and helpful. We are glad we could help. I would like to clarify that during your stay we were not short of personnel. We only have one receptionist working during the morning and one in the... More 

Bromsgrove, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I got an excellent deal through Booking.com, so I have no complaints whatsoever. The hotel is very well situated, being very close to Paddington and Hyde park and set-back off the main road. It is clean and well presented, with friendly staff. Our room was more than adequate for an over-night stay. We were very grateful for the fan provided,... More 

Helpful?
Thank AJN65
Yenny S, General Manager at Hotel Columbus, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for reviewing our hotel after your recent stay with us. I would like to inform you that we put a standard amount of tea and coffee in each room, but if our guests need some extra, they just need to request it at the reception. We are happy to hear about your thoughts regarding the cleanliness... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

101 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (91)
Viewed
Bathroom (17)
Viewed
Room/Suite (22)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Other (26)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Rhodes Hotel
#303 of 1,070 in London
4.0 of 5 stars 1,237 reviews
The Darlington Hyde Park
#197 of 1,070 in London
4.5 of 5 stars 1,934 reviews
Paddington / Maida Vale
BEST WESTERN PLUS Delmere Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Paddington / Maida Vale
Days Inn London Hyde Park
Days Inn London Hyde Park
#390 of 1,070 in London
3.5 of 5 stars 940 reviews
Stylotel
#496 of 1,070 in London
3.5 of 5 stars 672 reviews
The Omega Hotel
#610 of 1,070 in London
4.0 of 5 stars 108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hotel Columbus, a Bed & Breakfast hotel can be found in the heart of central London, situated on a leafy tree lined avenue in Paddington just a few minutes walk from the Underground and main line station. Hotel Columbus offers comfortable en-suite rooms with some being suitable for families or friends as they can accommodate 3, and 4 persons. A free continental breakfast is provided. All rooms have flat screen TV and free tea and coffee facilities. Next time you visit London, why not stay at Hotel Columbus which offers all the comforts and convenience that you would need for your stay in London. Location is one of our key benefits. Paddington Station with the Heathrow Express is just a few minutes away, providing a quick 15 min transfer from Heathrow Airport. Attractions such as Oxford Street, Hyde Park, Madam Tussauds & Harrods are all within walking distance from the hotel. Jump on the tube (400Mtrs) and within minutes you will find The Houses of Parliament, Big Ben, London Eye, Portobello Market, Camden Market and for rainy days, Westfield Shopping Centre only a few stops away. There are also numerous bus routes leaving from Paddington. Our Values Our aim is simple - we want to make your stay as comfortable & enjoyable as possible ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Columbus

Address: 141 Sussex Gardens | Hyde Park, London W2 2RX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Price Range: $110 - $196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Columbus 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, Travelocity, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Columbus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Columbus Hotel London
Hotel Columbus London, England
Hotel Style:
#281 Business Hotel in London
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay