We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Smart Camden Inn Hostel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Smart Camden Inn Hostel
Smart Camden Inn Hostel
Panoramas (8)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

229 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 108: English reviews
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I stayed at this hostel primarily because it was 5 minutes walk from the venue I was going to a gig at (Koko). I booked in a 6 bunk room, which was relatively quiet, but the room was tiny. Bedding provided was clean, but the bed was nothing special. Locker space was available for a small fee. I didn't use... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kat Y
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2016

good hostel to stay in in london staff are very helpful and have multiple languages good for backpackers and a place to lay your head. very close to all amenities and train stations and getting around London

Helpful?
Thank john C
Smart Hostels L, Guest Relations Manager at Smart Camden Inn Hostel, responded to this review

Good Morning and thank you for taking your time to write us such an amazing review! We are happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to seeing you again in our hostels! Kind regards from The Smart Hostels Team More 

Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2016 via mobile

This hostel is so small and difficult to navigate. Only one person can fit on the stairwells and in the hallways at any one time. It is near impossible to move luggage around. The rooms were so tiny, there was barely room for all four of us to be in there at the same time. The door opened onto a... More 

Helpful?
Thank ToriAlex91

Travelers are raving about these London hotels

Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2016

Having been to 100s of hostels, I can confidently say that this one is the worst I have ever been to and that includes 3rd world countries. Horrible place, bugs, dirty all over, dark, stuffy, broken windows, terrible atmosphere, rude and threatening staff, no place to enjoy the social aspects of staying in a hostel.

Helpful?
Thank pieush2015
Smart Hostels L, Guest Relations Manager at Smart Camden Inn Hostel, responded to this review

We are sorry to hear that you didn’t enjoy your stay. Your feedback will be taken into account in order to improve our services and to make sure that you will have a better stay the next time you choose our hostel. Thank you very much and happy future travels, Smart Hostels Team More 

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2016

Stayed here lots. Always cheap. Friendly and helpful staff. Beds are comfy enough with plug sockets near buy. Room for suitcases. Vending machines and dining/living area downstairs with TV. Bathrooms are ok. Location is very good just few mins from Camden Town station.

Helpful?
Thank BartSid
Smart Hostels L, Guest Relations Manager at Smart Camden Inn Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. We are happy to hear that you had a good stay with us. We hope to see you again soon :) Best wishes from Smart Hostels Team More 

London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2016

As so many people have said, the only redeeming quality about this hostel is the location. I've stayed here twice and both times it's been incredibly dirty, overcrowded, and the staff have been incredibly rude. Do yourself a favour and go somewhere else.

Helpful?
Thank bluebirds11
Smart Hostels L, Guest Relations Manager at Smart Camden Inn Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you for your valuable review. We will take your feedback into consideration to improve all our services. We are sorry to hear that your stay didn’t live up to your expectations, we have three more hostels in Central London, maybe next time you would feel comfortable staying in one of them or trying a different dorm types. Kind Regards,... More 

Sofia, Bulgaria
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2016 via mobile

If you want a cheap place to put your head down for a night, this place is fine. The rooms, corridors & toilets / showers are teeny tiny. If your petite there won't be issues. If you're regular sized, maybe don't take a lot of luggage nor expect room in the shower enough to do more than a quick wash.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Fiona C
Smart Hostels L, Guest Relations Manager at Smart Camden Inn Hostel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, thank you very much for your feedback, much appreciated! I hope we'll see again very soon in our hostels :). Kind regards and happy travels from Smart Hostels Team More 

Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2016 via mobile

Stayed here while in London and booked due to the cheap price despite bad reviews. Hostel rooms are extremely small as are bathrooms which are also not particularly clean. Common room basically non-existent and there is no hostel vibe or atmosphere to speak of whatsoever. This place is good for a bed only for cheaper than anything else you will... More 

Helpful?
Thank Melissa L
Smart Hostels L, Guest Relations Manager at Smart Camden Inn Hostel, responded to this review

Hello! Thank you for your feedback and review, much appreciated. Kind regards and happy travels from Smart Hostels Team More 

Melbourne, Australia
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2016

The only positive thing I can say about this place is the location but thats where it already ends... This has got to be the worst hostel I have every stayed at. The room was supposed to be for 6 people but you could hardly fit 3 in at the same time. No room to store any of the luggage... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jaqui R
Smart Hostels L, Guest Relations Manager at Smart Camden Inn Hostel, responded to this review

Hello! Thank you very much for your valuable feedback. Your feedback will be taken into account in order to improve our services and we look forward to welcoming you again in our hostel. Best regards from Smart Hostels Team More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2016

So yeah much like alot of london this place is a bit of a rip off. On paper it looks good but actually you will have to pay alot in extras like your locker which is £1.50 a day, the towel which you have to buy is £5, you have to give a deposit of £10 for the key card... More 

Helpful?
Thank BB87R
Smart Hostels L, Guest Relations Manager at Smart Camden Inn Hostel, responded to this review

Hello! Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback about the hostel. We are aware of the fact that some of our rooms can seem too small and overcrowded due to the many guests who can be allocated in those dorms. However we offer a wide variety of different dorms, which range from 14 beds to the... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

148 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (18)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (12)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (120)
Viewed
Amenities (3)
Viewed
Dining (17)
Viewed
Second Six Person Dorm with Shower (18)
Viewed
Second Six Person Ensuite Dorm (19)
Viewed
Six Person Dorm with Shower (10)
Viewed
Six Person Ensuite Dorm (17)
Viewed
The Hotel (36)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near London
Britannia Inn
#5 of 12 in Ilford
3.5 of 5 stars 131 reviews
Camden
Holiday Inn London - Camden Lock
Viking Hotel
#729 of 1,072 in London
3.5 of 5 stars 544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Camden
St Christopher's Inn Camden
Camden
No photo provided
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Camden

Neighborhood Profile
Camden
Famous for its sprawling cluster of markets and shops as well as for an embrace of all things counter culture, Camden offers a concentrated version of London street life. From bargain shopping and people watching to rubbing elbows in its abundance of pubs and bars, Camden is the place to be for many a Londoner. It is also home to some of the hottest live music venues in Europe. As packed as Camden High Street and its tributaries can get during the weekends, this neighborhood is right next to some of the city's most beloved outdoor spaces, namely Regent's Park and Primrose Hill.
Explore this neighborhood
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Less than 547 yrd from Camden Market, the Smart Camden Inn is located in Camden's pubs and clubs district. Camden Town Underground Station is a 5-minute walk away and provides direct access to London city center. A 24-hour front desk is provided and there are no curfews or lock-out times. Tourist information and assistance is provided 24-hours and discount tickets for major attractions are also available. Free luggage storage is available for early check-ins. The Jewish Museum, Regents Park and central London are all within 15 minutes' walk. London Zoo is less than a 20-minute walk from the Smart Camden. A large TV features in the common room and a shared kitchen with a refrigerator is also available. Self-service laundry facilities are offered on site. All rooms are mixed-sex or female-only dormitories. Linens are provided and security lockers are available in all rooms. Shower and bathroom facilities are shared. Camden is a great choice for travelers interested in Theater, Museums and Culture. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Smart Camden Inn Hostel

Address: 55-57 Bayham Street, London NW1 0AA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Camden
Price Range: $18 - $77 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Smart Camden Inn Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travelocity, SpeedyBooker.com and Hotwire so you can book your Smart Camden Inn Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Smart Camden Hotel London
Smart Camden Inn Hostel London, England
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay