We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

Journeys London King's Cross Hostel

54 - 58 Caledonian Road, London N1 9DP, England
Hotel amenities
Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Journeys London King\\
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

228 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 135: English reviews
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Where do I begin... First off, the cat Charlie is probably the best thing about the place. And. Karl who works on reception. Very helpful, well spoken, polite and tentative. He works extremely hard and definitely deserves a pay rise in my opionion. Also I'd like to praise the cleaners who did an amazing job and were always polite and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Maria5012
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I chose a 9 bed female only bedroom. Pros: Location, Tesco Metro and train station nearby. Each bed has a socket and light. Privacy blinds. There was a well lit mirror and wall-fan in our room. Shower was adequate. Small but functional. It was cleaned often. Even though there were only 3 showers on my 1st floor, I never had... More 

Helpful?
Thank GandyStreet
Rio de Janeiro, Brasil
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The worst hostel I've ever been. It's a freaking bunker, smelly and dirty. And it's not even the worst part! You have to pay for everything! What kind of hostel, community, family feeling is that?? I brought my own locker, but no! I had to pay if I wanted my belongings safe! "But its ok, you can put it in... More 

Helpful?
Thank Carolina C
Nick W, Manager at Journeys London King's Cross Hostel, responded to this review

Hi there, we are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay at our hostel. We have free luggage storage during your stay but after check out it costs £2 per bag as we are limited by space in our storage room. We believe that this is still a fairly good deal seeing as it costs £9 to... More 

Travelers are raving about these London hotels

Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2016 via mobile

I went with 2 off my friend,,,due to maybe miss-communication thought online booking we end up in mix bunker.we actually wanted a female room, but we make do wit the situation as there now available female room on tat day due to weekend, the receptionist are superbly helpful and friendly with charley the cat perking up the mood for the... More 

Helpful?
Thank ana k
journeyskingscross, Manager at Journeys London King's Cross Hostel, responded to this review

Hi there, thanks for taking the time to leave a review. We know that the rooms can feel a little cosy at times but in order to keep our prices so low (especially considering our fantastic location) we have to do the best we can with the space we have. We are glad that we could help you out on... More 

Aveiro, Portugal
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2016

We booked 2 beds in a 17 bed dormitory and we were put in a 9 bed dormitory. Everything awesome, so far. But when I saw that we were actually in the dungeon, I was quite disappointed. It was a tiny little room, with 3 towers of 3 beds each, in a room with some kind of window in the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Rita O
journeyskingscross, Manager at Journeys London King's Cross Hostel, responded to this review

Hi there! thanks for taking the time to leave a review, we are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our hostel. We know the rooms can feel quite cosy at times but in order to keep out prices so low (especially considering our fantastic location) we have to do the best we can with the space we... More 

rehoboth, delaware
Level Contributor
150 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2016 via mobile

First of all the location is perfect. King cross 5 minute walk away, grocery store 3 minutes, bars and restaurants on same road, bus stop as well. Reception was very nice and polite. WiFi was good for the most part, I lost connection occasionally in evenings. Bed was decent and I had no complaints about the bottom bunk of 3.... More 

Helpful?
Thank delaroma
journeyskingscross, Manager at Journeys London King's Cross Hostel, responded to this review

hi there1 thanks so much for leaving such a nice review. Hopefully we will see you next time you visit London! More 

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2016 via mobile

The perfect place to meet new people from all over the world. Everything is close and you can go anywhere by foot. Very cosy place and the staff is polite and friendly. Clean place, comfortable and after a month here feels like home.

Helpful?
Thank Dionisis M
journeyskingscross, Manager at Journeys London King's Cross Hostel, responded to this review

Hey there! thanks for the great review. So happy to hear that you enjoy our hostel so much :) More 

Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2016 via mobile

The reception is quite nice to me and that cat is very cute!!!! I dont really like they use password for the room access but it should be my personal feeling only. It needs some skills to open the door, say you should not open the door immediately after you key in the password, but you can't open it really... More 

Helpful?
Thank sophia920
journeyskingscross, Manager at Journeys London King's Cross Hostel, responded to this review

Hi Sophia, thanks for taking the time to leave a review. We are sorry that you felt that the beds weren't clean. If this is the case, please come and see us at reception and we will have the linen changed for you straight away. Hopefully we will see you next time you're in London :) More 

London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2016

Journeys is situated in a perfect location for sightseeing throughout London. The hostel has a great relaxed vibe, with friendly,helpful staff. The facilities are satisfactory but are always cleaned thoroughly. Although communal areas are small, it is a guarantee that you will strike up a conversation or get invited to a game of poker or a great night out! I... More 

Helpful?
Thank Carima N
journeyskingscross, Manager at Journeys London King's Cross Hostel, responded to this review

Hi Carima, thanks for taking the time to write such a lovely review. We try to do the best we can with the space we have and create a safe and friendly environment for all our guests. Looking forward to seeing you on your next trip to London :) More 

Longford, Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2016 via mobile

Not worth the money! Awful stay here. The location cannot be beaten, and say access to tube station as well as walking distance to Camden Town. Felt like I was in a prison cell in our dorm. Communal shower area was extremely pokey. Breakfast was sufficient. Lacking any real atmosphere

Helpful?
Thank atul191
journeyskingscross, shift manager at Journeys London King's Cross Hostel, responded to this review

Im sorry you feel this way about the hostel. Because of the location of the hostel, we try to use what space we have to keep the prices as low as we can. We also have double rooms available if one feel the need for more space and privacy. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

78 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (26)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (52)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (21)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (14)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Keystone House
#416 of 765 in London
3.0 of 5 stars 245 reviews
Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Clink261 Hostel
Clink261 Hostel
#52 of 765 in London
3.5 of 5 stars 513 reviews
Clerkenwell
Clink78
Clink78
#67 of 765 in London
3.5 of 5 stars 1,713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Station
#287 of 556 in London
3.5 of 5 stars 42 reviews
Paddington / Maida Vale
Equity Point London Hotel
Marylebone
Phoenix Hostel
Phoenix Hostel
#133 of 765 in London
3.5 of 5 stars 252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Breakfast
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Free Breakfast
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Stylish backpacker's accommodation located 1 minute from Kings Cross and a half an hour's walk along the beautiful Regent's canal to Camden's famous market, bars and nightclubs Our vibrant social areas are ideal for meeting like-minded travellers and enjoying our weekly free pancake nights and the occasional jam session. The kitchen's well equipped with FREE tea and coffee and the lounge is a relaxing chill-out space with a large TV, comfy sofas and a great library of books and DVDs all free of charge. Dorm beds each with their own power, light ,set of curtains and lockers are available for security . For more comfort and intimacy, our private double or twin rooms have a large, comfy double bed, desk, tea and coffee set ,flat screen TV\ DVD player and safe. FREE high speed WiFi is provided throughout the whole building as well as a great FREE breakfast. King's Cross station is 1 minute away providing fast connections around London and its airports and Eurostar Service.The British museum is a 20-minute walk away and Oxford street is just 10 minutes by tube ... more   less 

Additional Information about Journeys London King's Cross Hostel

Address: 54 - 58 Caledonian Road, London N1 9DP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Price Range: $24 - $108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Journeys London King's Cross Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo, Priceline, SpeedyBooker.com, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Journeys London King's Cross Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Journeys London King`s Cross Hotel London
Journeys London King's Cross Hostel England
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay