We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Staunton Hotel

#543 of 1,066 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Staunton Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

307 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 248: English reviews
Malmo, Sweden
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

This was a very cosy and nice hotel room! It's hard to find a hotel with the "London charm" theese days, when all hotels look the same all over the world but this was genuine London, yet clean and fresh. I got a room at the top, a lot of stairs, so maybe not for the lazy ones. The room... More 

Helpful?
Thank Tjoh
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

We enjoyed our 2 night stay in quadruple room. Very close to the British Museum and easy 20 minute walk to Convent Garden and the West End. A great cafe serving espresso and some nice restaurants just around the corner. Beds were very comfortable after tiring over night flight. Room was clean. Breakfast was very good (full English with fresh... More 

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Arlington Heights, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
75 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I was a bit disappointed after such glowing Trip Advisor reports. First of all, our party of 3 (me, husband and 14-yr-old grandson on very first overseas trip) arrived at 1 am after an overseas flight, and the gentleman on the front desk barely said hello, much less welcome. Nor did he offer to help us with our bags -... More 

Helpful?
Thank Pat A
Gower S, Manager at Staunton Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Madam, I am truly sorry you didn't find this Hotel entirely satisfactory, it is a shame you did not find the nearest Underground Stations Goodge Street, Tottenham Court Road Station or Euston Square Station which are a five minute walk away.. Our Reception are here to help and give any information you need. I do apologise about the man... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

My friends and i had a lovely visit. We found the rooms to be very clean and comfortable. The beds are comfortable and the showeroom was spotless. The staff were extremely helpful and polite and the breakfast was delicious. Would definately book again 😆

Helpful?
Thank elaine k
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I was given 3 days' notice for a breakfast meeting in Covent Garden. As a result I was limited for choice based on price and location but based on the reviews this seemed a good compromise. When I got there (9pm) the receptionist greeted me and I checked in with minimal fuss. However my room was in the basement which... More 

Helpful?
Thank thehorse23
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This cozy hotel provided the perfect location for our all too brief stay in London. It is a two minute walk to the British Museum and we actually never used public transport our first day in London due to the central location of the hotel. Breakfasts were very nice and I must really praise the attention of the hotel staff.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Avi W
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed just the one night. The hotel on the whole is very pleasant. Nice welcome. Room wasn't ready which was a little disappointing as we where only twenty minutes early. Anyway left bags and went exploring. Hotel is in a great location and you can get to all the main sites on foot. We had a top floor room which... More 

Helpful?
Thank billy1830
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2016 via mobile

We really liked this hotel. Great value for money. Clean rooms and very comfortable. Also close to lots of restaurants/bars/grocery stores/public transport options. And central to museums and great neighbourhoods. Staff were very helpful and breakfast was great. We'll be back to be sure.

Helpful?
Thank Deeds B
Renia K, Manager at Staunton Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your kind remarks, we look forward to welcoming you again to the Staunton Hotel. Thank you once again. More 

Chippenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
193 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2016

Stayed one night whilst visiting show at Shaftesbury Theatre. Hotel located close to underground station. Good check in, allowed to access room early. Had G1 on ground floor, nice room with a seperate hallway so seemed quite spacious. This could also had been the mirrors as we had 6 mirrors in the room. Good bathroom with lots of toiletries and... More 

Helpful?
Thank valandroy
Renia K, Manager at Staunton Hotel, responded to this review

I appreciate it very much for the advice you have written, Breakfast should be a comfortable and relaxing time for everyone, I will make sure that my staff will not be doing this again. I apologise. More 

Hunstanton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2016

Arrived here quite late met by night porter and was asked for our credit card , even though we had paid before for bed and breakfast and there was no bar or restaurant, had asked in the special requests beforehand not to have a basement room. We were given a basement room. The second night we could not stay as... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Gillian B
Renia K, Manager at Staunton Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Gillian Baggott, I am very sorry that you are disappointed with us but when we received your booking from Expedia nothing was mentioned to us about a special request (not basement room) if this was the case we would have made sure that you would not be downstairs (basement). Asking for a card number when you checked in is... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

91 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (73)
Viewed
Bathroom (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (28)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
0:18
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (16)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (13)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Regency House Hotel
Regency House Hotel
#600 of 1,066 in London
3.5 of 5 stars 262 reviews
Bloomsbury
The Academy
The Academy
#477 of 1,066 in London
3.5 of 5 stars 645 reviews
Bloomsbury
Gower House Hotel
Gower House Hotel
#627 of 1,066 in London
3.5 of 5 stars 178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Garth Hotel
Garth Hotel
#633 of 1,066 in London
4.0 of 5 stars 23 reviews
Bloomsbury
My Bloomsbury
My Bloomsbury
#334 of 1,066 in London
4.0 of 5 stars 812 reviews
Bloomsbury
Arosfa
Arosfa
#94 of 1,066 in London
4.5 of 5 stars 1,565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Bloomsbury

Neighborhood Profile
Bloomsbury
Snuggly nestled within Central London is academic and leafy Bloomsbury, an area that boasts walking distance access to many of London's most popular attractions. It is also home to some of Britain's most celebrated museums, including the must-see British Museum. Despite an understandable popularity with students, tourists and day trippers, vast sections of Bloomsbury retain a quiet, residential feel year round and throughout the week.
Explore this neighborhood
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Staunton Hotel

Address: 13-15 Gower Street, London WC1E 6HE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Price Range: $164 - $263 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Staunton Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Staunton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Staunton Hotel London, England
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay