We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Novotel London City South

Show Prices
#277 of 1,070 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Novotel London City South
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,829 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Novotel London City South
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,031: English reviews
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2010

the hotel is nice, but the problems are really to many, the tv dont work, was really could, one bedside lamp off, when i iron my shirt i make'i dirty-wit one stain, roomservice-food could....i was really dissapointed!!!!!

Helpful?
Thank emy1983
CitySouth, Manager at Novotel London City South, responded to this review

Many thanks for your feedback and I’m sorry that you were disappointed. I am personally looking into this and if you’d like to contact me, feel free to email me on H3269-DM@accor.com Kind regards, Glenn Findlay, Operations Manager More 

Leeds
Level Contributor
33 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2010

Ive been staying at this hotel on my regular trips to London over the last 9 months as its within walking distance of our office. The hotel is in a good spot for Tate Modern and Borough Market. Good clean spacious rooms. Also i often check in at 9am before i go to the office to drop off my bags... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank LeedsSimon
CitySouth, Manager at Novotel London City South, responded to this review

My team and I very much appreciate your kind words, and it’s great to receive feedback from one of our regular, Our Check in time is from 2pm however when possible we do always try to check in our guests when they arrive. We hope you have an enjoyable festive season and we look forward to welcoming you back to... More 

Denver
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2010

My husband and I spend over 100 nights a year in hotels (on business). This was a family pleasure trip and we loved it. The front desk, our housekeeper, and the restaurant staff were polite and lovely and breakfast was great. The location was perfect for us, restaurants, Pubs, the River Thames and attractions near by were amazing!!!! I am... More 

Helpful?
Thank rodetriper
CitySouth, Manager at Novotel London City South, responded to this review

Many thanks for the review. We always welcome feedback and my team and I are glad that you enjoyed your stay with. We look forward to being part of your future travel plans To London. Kind regards, Glenn Findlay, Operations Manager More 

Modena, Italy
Level Contributor
70 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2010

Stayedd 3 nights between 25 and 27 November, 8 people. We had 3 double rooms on second floor and one on first (only 2 nights). 5 minutes walk from London Bridge Tube Station (easy to reach, follow Borough high street exit, turn left and walk 400mt), 200m from fantastic Borough market, 300m from Tate Modern and Millennium Bridge. Check in... More 

Helpful?
Thank zanzulli
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2010

A friend & I booked a London weekend coach tour primarily to attend the Christmas fair at Olympia. The Novotel London City South was a great location for us, close to London Bridge Tube station so the city was accessible! The hotel was very clean & presentable, breakfast choice was very good although the tea was always luke warm, never... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jules186460
CitySouth, Manager at Novotel London City South, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments, it is important to us that all our guest enjoy a good night’s sleep so we do have restrictions on when our deliveries and collections can take place and I have spoken to the company involved as they have clearly flouted these restrictions and I am assured this will not happen in the future. I... More 

Narva, Estonia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2010

The location of the hotel is good, and the room was clean. In fact, everything in the hotel was of Novotel quality except for two things: a very bad bathroom and unfriendly staff. In the bathroom the shower was leaking due to poor isolation of the shower door, so the floor was flooded. Sinks almost did not drain, and the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Dog_in_the_fog
CitySouth, Manager at Novotel London City South, responded to this review

Our apologies that on this occasion you were disappointed with your stay at Novotel London City South. We do pride ourselves with our customer service and I will be spending time with our Team to share your comments and refocus our team on delivering the service that we normally deliver. Additionally I am working with our Maintenance team to ensure... More 

London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2010

Very, very expensive for what you get - barely worth half this price. No air conditioning: air 'cooling' doesn't work, so room was 20C+ at night in November with windows 'open' - too hot to sleep in. Rooms are showing signs of being constructed cheaply, e.g. many sinks don't drain properly. Pillows cheap and tacky and only 2 provided. Very... More 

Helpful?
Thank thewelshmidget
CitySouth, Manager at Novotel London City South, responded to this review

I’m so sorry that you were disappointed by your experience staying with us at Novotel London City South. We appreciate the feedback and rest assured that we take all comments very seriously and I’m saddened that our team did not ownership and resolve your issue. Please feel free to contact h3269-dm@accor.com to discuss this further. Kind regards, Glenn Findlay Operations... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

222 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (151)
Viewed
View from Room (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (45)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Other (70)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (71)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (6)
Viewed
Other (21)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
London Bridge
Novotel London Blackfriars
Novotel London Blackfriars
#173 of 1,070 in London
4.5 of 5 stars 1,725 reviews
Southwark
Ibis Styles London Southwark Rose
City of London
Novotel London Tower Bridge
Novotel London Tower Bridge
#238 of 1,070 in London
4.0 of 5 stars 2,421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Novotel London Waterloo
#281 of 1,070 in London
4.0 of 5 stars 2,392 reviews
Southwark
Mercure London Bridge
Mercure London Bridge
#332 of 1,070 in London
4.0 of 5 stars 1,698 reviews
Southwark
Premier Inn London Southwark (Borough Market) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Southwark

Neighborhood Profile
Southwark
Even before the arrival of the instantly iconic Shard, the riverside scene in Southwark had moved well beyond any up-and-coming phase of development. For quite some time, locals and out-of-towners alike have loved browsing the boutiques of Bermondsey High Street, foraging through the bounteous stalls at centuries old foodie haven Borough Market, and flocking to the banks of the Thames to enjoy some of Britain's biggest attractions such as Tate Modern and Shakespeare's Globe. Despite Southwark's many popular draws, instant calm can be achieved easily by turning down almost any side street. For more urban buzz, a quick stroll across famed bridges like the pedestrianized Millennium Bridge or the ever photogenic Tower Bridge yields access to the very core of Central London. And with London Bridge Station as this neighborhood's main transportation hub, getting across town (or to anywhere in England for that matter) is a relative breeze.
Explore this neighborhood
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
GreenLeadersSilver level
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Novotel London City South is an AA 4 star hotel ideal for a weekend or holiday in London. The Shard, Borough Market, London Eye, Tate Modern, Millennium Bridge, Shakespeares Globe Theatre, Vinopolis and St Pauls Cathedral are just minutes away, while a short tube ride will get you to the shopping, nightlife and theatres of the West End. Guests can enjoy our Elements Restaurant, Clinks Bar and rooftop leisure and fitness suite with gym, sauna and steam room. Free WiFi & internet, chargeable parking available. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Novotel London City South

Address: 53-61 Southwark Bridge Road, London SE1 9HH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Southwark , London Bridge
Price Range: $170 - $346 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel London City South 4*
Number of rooms: 182
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, HotelTravel.com, ACCOR, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Novotel London City South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel London City South Hotel London
Accor London City South
London Novotel
Novotel London City South England
Hotel Style:
#27 Green Hotel in London
#203 Luxury Hotel in London
#245 Family Hotel in London
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay