We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Novotel London City South

Travelers' Choice award winner
#275 of 1,088 Hotels in London
GreenLeadersSilver level
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Novotel London City South
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

2,043 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
  • More
There are newer reviews for Novotel London City South
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,165: English reviews
Bridlington, United Kingdom
Reviewed January 14, 2011

Once again we had a fantastic time at the hotel - we have been now 5 times over the past 7 years and I would honestly never book anywhere else - The hotel is always clean and tidy - We had to wait a short time for our room as we arived earlier than expected - It was no trouble...

Thank simone011
CitySouth, Manager at Novotel London City South, responded to this review

Thank you for your very kind words. They are very much appreciated and my team will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed yourselves at Novotel London City South. We do have a privilege scheme called A|Club. I look forward to welcoming you back at London and the Novotel London City South. Kind regards, Glenn Findlay, Operations Manager

Reviewed January 7, 2011

Personnel of the hotel was impolite, not willing to help, reactive! They messed the New Year Eve dinner reservation and one of the members of the stuff asked us how long we want to stay in the restaurant!!! The same dude was wearing noisy shoes in the restaurant. During breakfast I had to wait ages until somebody took the used...

Thank Alexhell77
CitySouth, Manager at Novotel London City South, responded to this review

I am sorry to hear that you didn’t find the service at our hotel, Novotel London City South up to your expectations. We pride ourselves on our staff training and presentation, so this is something I will be looking into personally. Please feel free contact me on my email, H3269-DM@accor.com to discuss further. Kind regards, Glenn Findlay, Operations Manager

An Accor traveler
1 review
Reviewed January 2, 2011

Thank An Accor traveler
CitySouth, Manager at Novotel London City South, responded to this review

A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
Reviewed December 21, 2010

Staff were helpful, polite and welcoming. Room was clean and tidy, although I was slightly cold when not under the covers. Once in the bed though, the quality of the bedding ensured I was very toasty. Breakfast was a bit greasy and service here wasn't amazing as felt we were ignored when waiting for a table. Otherwise though, a very...

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
CitySouth, Manager at Novotel London City South, responded to this review

I’m delighted you enjoyed your stay. Please rest assured that we will take note of your comments and the matter will be addressed. I hope we can welcome you back to the Novotel London City South very soon. Kind regards, Glenn Findlay, Operations Manager

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed December 17, 2010

the hotel is nice, but the problems are really to many, the tv dont work, was really could, one bedside lamp off, when i iron my shirt i make'i dirty-wit one stain, roomservice-food could....i was really dissapointed!!!!!

Thank emy1983
CitySouth, Manager at Novotel London City South, responded to this review

Many thanks for your feedback and I’m sorry that you were disappointed. I am personally looking into this and if you’d like to contact me, feel free to email me on H3269-DM@accor.com Kind regards, Glenn Findlay, Operations Manager

Reviewed December 10, 2010

Ive been staying at this hotel on my regular trips to London over the last 9 months as its within walking distance of our office. The hotel is in a good spot for Tate Modern and Borough Market. Good clean spacious rooms. Also i often check in at 9am before i go to the office to drop off my bags...

1Thank LeedsSimon
CitySouth, Manager at Novotel London City South, responded to this review

My team and I very much appreciate your kind words, and it’s great to receive feedback from one of our regular, Our Check in time is from 2pm however when possible we do always try to check in our guests when they arrive. We hope you have an enjoyable festive season and we look forward to welcoming you back to...

An Accor traveler
1 review
Reviewed December 6, 2010

Thank An Accor traveler
CitySouth, Manager at Novotel London City South, responded to this review

Reviewed December 1, 2010

My husband and I spend over 100 nights a year in hotels (on business). This was a family pleasure trip and we loved it. The front desk, our housekeeper, and the restaurant staff were polite and lovely and breakfast was great. The location was perfect for us, restaurants, Pubs, the River Thames and attractions near by were amazing!!!! I am...

Thank rodetriper
CitySouth, Manager at Novotel London City South, responded to this review

Many thanks for the review. We always welcome feedback and my team and I are glad that you enjoyed your stay with. We look forward to being part of your future travel plans To London. Kind regards, Glenn Findlay, Operations Manager

Modena, Italy
Reviewed November 30, 2010

Stayedd 3 nights between 25 and 27 November, 8 people. We had 3 double rooms on second floor and one on first (only 2 nights). 5 minutes walk from London Bridge Tube Station (easy to reach, follow Borough high street exit, turn left and walk 400mt), 200m from fantastic Borough market, 300m from Tate Modern and Millennium Bridge. Check in...

Thank zanzulli
Reviewed November 29, 2010

Thank suffolknick
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

372 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

All Traveler Photos (207)
Bathroom (18)
Dining (10)
View from Room (13)
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Room/Suite (56)
Other (95)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

All TripAdvisor Photos (96)
Amenities (11)
Dining (9)
Superior Room (56)
The Hotel (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All Management Photos (69)
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Room/Suite (18)
Bathroom (2)
View from Room (3)
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Business Center/Function Rooms (6)
Dining (7)
Other (20)

Staying in Southwark

Neighborhood Profile
Even before the arrival of the instantly iconic Shard, the riverside scene in Southwark had moved well beyond any up-and-coming phase of development. For quite some time, locals and out-of-towners alike have loved browsing the boutiques of Bermondsey High Street, foraging through the bounteous stalls at centuries old foodie haven Borough Market, and flocking to the banks of the Thames to enjoy some of Britain's biggest attractions such as Tate Modern and Shakespeare's Globe. Despite Southwark's many popular draws, instant calm can be achieved easily by turning down almost any side street. For more urban buzz, a quick stroll across famed bridges like the pedestrianized Millennium Bridge or the ever photogenic Tower Bridge yields access to the very core of Central London. And with London Bridge Station as this neighborhood's main transportation hub, getting across town (or to anywhere in England for that matter) is a relative breeze.
Explore this neighborhood
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question


  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
GreenLeadersSilver level
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Novotel London City South is an AA 4 star hotel ideal for a weekend or holiday in London. The Shard, Borough Market, London Eye, Tate Modern, Millennium Bridge, Shakespeares Globe Theatre, Vinopolis and St Pauls Cathedral are just minutes away, while a short tube ride will get you to the shopping, nightlife and theatres of the West End. Guests can enjoy our Elements Restaurant, Clinks Bar and rooftop leisure and fitness suite with gym, sauna and steam room. Free WiFi & internet, chargeable parking available. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Novotel London City South

Address: 53-61 Southwark Bridge Road, London SE1 9HH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Southwark , London Bridge
Price Range: $181 - $322 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel London City South 4*
Number of rooms: 182
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, ACCOR, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novotel London City South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel London City South Hotel London
Accor London City South
London Novotel
Novotel London City South England
Hotel Style:
#30 Green Hotel in London
#204 Luxury Hotel in London
#244 Family Hotel in London
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Novotel London City South staff and other travelers.
25 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (25)

Questions? Get answers from Novotel London City South staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“The odd numbered (east side) rooms on the fifth floor are quiet and provide a view of Southwark Cathedral”
W3782UJericp, 1 week ago | Read review
“If you have booked a free 5pm checkout then make sure you check this on your arrival as you won't be told that you can't have it. Very frustrating when you have planned a day out until 4pm on the day of your check out! ”
642vanessa2015, 4 weeks ago | Read review
“Floor one, odd numbered rooms face into the parking”
  • Room service breakfast.
SamuelR929, 4 weeks ago | Read review
“The sixth floor have recently been renovated but maybe priced slightly higher though.”
DiederikB, Mar 18, 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room facing either the carpark or the side street.”
JennaExe, Mar 14, 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question