We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Novotel London City South

Show Prices
#281 of 1,078 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Novotel London City South
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,917 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,090: English reviews
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

Excellent service and room. Service was excellent on check in/out and being seated at breakfast. All staff friendly and helpful at all times. The room was spotlessly clean and had all the amenities you would expect and the bed was very comfortable and the breakfast choice was huge and plentiful, would recommend and would definitely stay again.

Helpful?
Thank Andrew B
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW via mobile

I frequently visit this hotel on business and thoroughly recommend it. Rooms are comfortable with plenty of charging points and good wi-fi. The gym and sauna have plenty of equipment and space. Lots of choice at breakfast and the staff have always been very pleasant and helpful. The area around the hotel has undergone a transformation in recent years and... More 

Helpful?
Thank TravellingCG
Victoria P, Front Office Manager at Novotel London City South, responded to this review

Dear TravellingCG, Thank you for your kind comments and compliments – I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and I would like to thank you for your loyalty and the trust in our product. I look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards, Eric Lambert - Front Office Manager More 

1 review
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We were coming to London specifically to visit the Imperial War Museum and this hotel is located just a short (15 min) walk away. The staff are all very friendly, the car park was adequate but I cannot be sure that late arrivals would find spaces. The bar was busy at 5.30 when people were finishing work but quite quiet... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kate h
Victoria P, Front Office Manager at Novotel London City South, responded to this review

Dear Kate h, Thanks for your review. I am glad you had a good stay with us. I am delight that you had time to enjoy your visit in the city and the possibility to see the Imperial War Museum. I am happy that you enjoy our rooms and facilities. See you on your next trip hopefully! Kind regards, Eric... More 

Exeter, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed here for a weekend away for my boyfriends 20th, and I was very pleased with the hotel. I had told them it was my boyfriends birthday, and they left a little welcome gift in the room which was a lovely touch. The room was warm, comfortable, and very clean and modern, as was the bathroom. The location was... More 

Helpful?
Thank ciaraaa96
Victoria P, Front Office Manager at Novotel London City South, responded to this review

Dear ciaraaa96, Thank you very much for your kind review. It is much appreciated and I can assure you that my team will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay. I look forward to welcoming you back again very soon. Kind regards, Eric Lambert - Front Office Manager More 

Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here for one night and were pleasantly surprised by how nice the room was! It was a large room with a lovely bathroom, just what we needed for one night. The hotel is also in a great location. We wouldn't hesitate to come back if we were in the area again!

Helpful?
Thank StephA22
Victoria P, Front Office Manager at Novotel London City South, responded to this review

Dear StephA22, Thanks for your review. I am glad you had a good stay with us and happy that we surprised you and you had time to visit and enjoy our area. See you on your next trip hopefully! Kind regards, Eric Lambert - Front Office Manager More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

The bar at the novotel is perfectly fine for meetings. The place is bland but it is usually quiet. The coffee is OK but the cappuccino is a latter with a hint of foam. The TV is always on but is muted. It shows news with the subtitles.

Helpful?
Thank cmbe1
Victoria P, Guest Relations Manager at Novotel London City South, responded to this review

Dear cmbe1, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit. We will soon renovate all the ground floor including the bar to be on new design and more cosy for all our guests. I look forward to seeing you again in the near future. Eric Lambert - Guest relations More 

Level Contributor
53 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This was a very average hotel , I have stayed at Novotel chains before and this one the location was very good however, I didn't find reception particularly friendly, the rooms are modern and spacious which was nice. I decided to stay and have my dinner with some colleagues at your restaurant whilst we were there one of my colleagues... More 

Helpful?
Thank Charlaevans123
Victoria P, Guest Relations Manager at Novotel London City South, responded to this review

Dear Charlaevans123, Thank you for taking the time to give your feedback regarding your recent experience at the Novotel London City South. Firstly, I would like to offer my apologies for the shock you must have experienced at the sight of mouse in the restaurant. Whilst, the likelihood is that the mouse came as a result of building works taking... More 

Skipton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This hotel was very good. The cacilities were great. The room was fabulous. The staff were friendly. The food was good. But. The staff had not read the brochure. The brochure said food in bar until midnight. The staff said at 1030 room service only, no coffee. We were not the only guests looking for food at this time. They... More 

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank YorkshirePookie
Victoria P, Front Office Manager at Novotel London City South, responded to this review

Dear YorkshirePookie, Thank you very much for your kind review. It is much appreciated and I can assure you that my team will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We are currently organizing the new room directory that will be on at the beginning of December that we will have the right information. Be advice that the... More 

Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Extremely impressed with the hotel. Location was perfect and the hotel was modern and very clean! There was a desk where you can conduct business from which was extremely useful. I cannot fault the hotel and all the staff were pleasant in particular the bar staff. I am looking forward to returning.

Helpful?
Thank Jakebird
Victoria P, Front Office Manager at Novotel London City South, responded to this review

Dear Jakebird, Many thanks for your kind review. I am glad my team made your stay enjoyable. I am looking forward to welcome you back. Kind regards, Eric Lambert - Front Office Manager More 

Great Malvern, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Excellent location within walking distance of Waterloo, Covent Garden, Theatre land & the South Bank. Very clean modern hotel with on-site parking & a fitness centre, if you haven't walked too far! Relaxed bar to wind down in at the end of a busy evening.

Helpful?
Thank angelah44
Victoria P, Front Office Manager at Novotel London City South, responded to this review

Dear angelah44, Thanks for your review. I am glad you had a good stay with us. See you on your next trip hopefully! Kind regards, Eric Lambert - Front Office Manager More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

310 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (170)
Viewed
View from Room (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (51)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Other (73)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (96)
Viewed
Amenities (11)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Superior Room (56)
Viewed
The Hotel (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (44)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (6)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Southwark
Ibis Styles London Southwark Rose
London Bridge
Novotel London Blackfriars
Novotel London Blackfriars
#189 of 1,078 in London
1,850 reviews
Southwark
Mercure London Bridge
Mercure London Bridge
#314 of 1,078 in London
1,807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City of London
Novotel London Tower Bridge
Novotel London Tower Bridge
#239 of 1,078 in London
2,531 reviews
Novotel London Waterloo
#303 of 1,078 in London
2,534 reviews
Southwark
Premier Inn London Southwark (Borough Market) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Southwark

Neighborhood Profile
Southwark
Even before the arrival of the instantly iconic Shard, the riverside scene in Southwark had moved well beyond any up-and-coming phase of development. For quite some time, locals and out-of-towners alike have loved browsing the boutiques of Bermondsey High Street, foraging through the bounteous stalls at centuries old foodie haven Borough Market, and flocking to the banks of the Thames to enjoy some of Britain's biggest attractions such as Tate Modern and Shakespeare's Globe. Despite Southwark's many popular draws, instant calm can be achieved easily by turning down almost any side street. For more urban buzz, a quick stroll across famed bridges like the pedestrianized Millennium Bridge or the ever photogenic Tower Bridge yields access to the very core of Central London. And with London Bridge Station as this neighborhood's main transportation hub, getting across town (or to anywhere in England for that matter) is a relative breeze.
Explore this neighborhood
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
GreenLeadersSilver level
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Novotel London City South is an AA 4 star hotel ideal for a weekend or holiday in London. The Shard, Borough Market, London Eye, Tate Modern, Millennium Bridge, Shakespeares Globe Theatre, Vinopolis and St Pauls Cathedral are just minutes away, while a short tube ride will get you to the shopping, nightlife and theatres of the West End. Guests can enjoy our Elements Restaurant, Clinks Bar and rooftop leisure and fitness suite with gym, sauna and steam room. Free WiFi & internet, chargeable parking available. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Novotel London City South

Address: 53-61 Southwark Bridge Road, London SE1 9HH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Southwark , London Bridge
Price Range: $141 - $337 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel London City South 4*
Number of rooms: 182
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, ACCOR, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Novotel London City South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel London City South Hotel London
Accor London City South
London Novotel
Novotel London City South England
Hotel Style:
#28 Green Hotel in London
#205 Luxury Hotel in London
#244 Family Hotel in London
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Novotel London City South staff and other travelers.
24 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (24)

Questions? Get answers from Novotel London City South staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“7 floor facing the Shard”
 of 5 bubbles 461tarung, 3 weeks ago | Read review
“Superior Premium rooms seem to offer best price/size+quality deal”
 of 5 bubbles tomfD1AX, Oct 24, 2016 | Read review
“Join the Accor Club for possible upgrades”
 of 5 bubbles 229AndyG, Oct 20, 2016 | Read review
“Higher floor rooms will be quieter.”
  • Separate WC.
  • Bath tub, shower cubicle behind
  • Room on entering
  • Towards Southwark Bridge from 6th floor.
  • Mini bar and tea/coffee making.
  • Harsh lighting, not adjustable.
 of 5 bubbles C6631CHmartinw, Oct 4, 2016 | Read review
“level 3 great”
 of 5 bubbles teamrich0, Sep 22, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay