We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
See all Specialty Lodging in London

Halpin House

28 reviews
Save
Overview
  • Excellent48%
  • Very good25%
  • Average14%
  • Poor10%
  • Terrible3%
Travelers talk about
“place to stay”(2 reviews)
“chelsea”(3 reviews)
“kensington”(6 reviews)
Free Wifi
Non-Smoking Hotel
Air Conditioning
Pool
Restaurant
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (28)Write a Review
Filter reviews
25 results
Traveler rating
12
5
4
3
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
12
5
4
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsplace to staychelseakensingtonhostelfloor
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 25 reviews
Reviewed March 3, 2017

I have stayed 1 month at Halpin House in a dormitory. It was very affordable . The room was big and they don't have bunk bed there was 5 single beds. The building is old but well kept by a team of volunteer students. The...More

Thank quentina122017
Response from LHAL0nd0n, Halpin House Assistant-Manager at Halpin HouseResponded August 2, 2017

Dear Guest, Thank you for your comment, I'm glad to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. Halpin House is indeed a great opportunity for travellers to stay in zone 1 close to all the touristic places and a lot of local shops and...More

Reviewed February 14, 2017

I spent one month in Halpin House, and I was in a single room. The cost for the singe room is crazy compared to the services offered. The place is quite dirty, most of the people don't clean the kitchen after using it, and leave...More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Pietro B
Response from LHAL0nd0n, Manager at Halpin HouseResponded May 22, 2017

Dear Pietro, Thank you for your review. We are delighted that you like the location of Halpin House. We are sorry to hear that you have experienced some problems with one shower. We did fix the problem once you have reported the issue and we...More

Reviewed October 13, 2016

Overall Halpin is aiming to be a good place to stay, there is a greater need for staff, as there are so many living under one roof, the facilates are good mostly clean. Kitchen could do with some new equipment and ovens cleaned more often....More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank bpriorbyrne
Response from LHAL0nd0n, Manager at Halpin HouseResponded October 17, 2016

Thank you for your review. We appreciate your feedback and will use it to evaluate changes and make improvements in our hostel.

Reviewed September 22, 2016

Halpin House is a residence for long stay more than a youth hostel. It is located in the heart of Chelsea and surrounded by all the mains London's museum. A House for low budget in the middle of the expensive Kensington thanks to them. The...More

Thank charlesvdb2016
Response from LHAL0nd0n, Manager at Halpin HouseResponded October 17, 2016

Thank you for your review. We appreciate your feedback and will use it to evaluate changes and make improvements in our hostel.

Reviewed July 16, 2016

Stayed last summer for 3 weeks and i loved it so i came back this year the community of people there is quiet cool old and young Europeans and overseas students they all meet in the evening there is always something to celebrate. The hostel...More

Thank Steeve J
Response from LHAL0nd0n, Manager at Halpin HouseResponded October 17, 2016

Thank you for your review. We appreciate your feedback and will use it to evaluate changes and make improvements in our hostel.

View more reviews
PreviousNext
12345
About
Amenities
Top amenities
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Details
Price range
$33 - $80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Details
Price range
$33 - $80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Nearby
South Kensington
With its ivied mews, row upon row of Poppins-esque
white washed mansions, and placid garden squares, it's
easy to see the charms of South Kensington. And with
superb access to Hyde Park, Holland Park and
Kensington Gardens, as well as the largely
child-friendly and mostly free Museum Quarter (not to
mention more major attractions like Royal Albert Hall)
such charms are easy to make the most of. As welcoming
...More
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Halpin House staff and past guests.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Room Tips
"Go for twins or dormitories there is no bunk beds."
Read review
"Single Room"
Read review
"Sharing is not so bad."
Read review
"5 bed Sharing room"
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing
Map
Satellite