We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Phoenix Heights by BridgeStreet

Save
Share
4 Mastmaker Road, London E14 9AJ England
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
eDreams
Travelocity
Snaptravel
Orbitz.com
View all 13 deals
Prices above are provided by partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and do not include all taxes and fees. Please see our partners for full details.
Traveler (24)
Room & Suite (21)
Dining (5)
Travel safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Paid stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Read more
Updated 06/24/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Phoenix Heights by BridgeStreet
Updated 06/24/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#190 of 2,058 Specialty lodging in London
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
BridgeStreet's Phoenix Heights enjoys a fantastic location in the heart of Canary Wharf. It's hard to think of a more exciting place to live. These modern apartments are beautifully formed inside and out. With modern kitchens and quality fittings throughout. Many have balconies and some have large terraces. There are also some 2 bed triplex apartments on the higher floors. This landmark development is within walking distance of Canary Wharf's great shopping, colourful nightlife and superb travel links. It's also two and a half miles from the City.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Paid wifi
Airport transportation
Non-smoking hotel
Laundry service
Washing machine
Room features
Safe
Seating area
Separate living room
Sofa
Coffee / tea maker
Kitchenette
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Telephone
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Dishwasher
Microwave
Refrigerator
Kitchenware
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Modern
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish, Italian, Lithuanian and 1 more
36Reviews6Q+A5Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 13
  • 18
  • 3
  • 2
  • 0
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sandra D wrote a review Sep 2019
Oakville, Canada2 contributions
This is my second time staying at Phoenix Heights. First time we were placed on the south side of the hotel. We had a view of the London towers to the right. It was great. This time was awful. We were placed on the 9th floor on the east side of the building. All the machinery that was hidden behind closed doors made the elevator lobby unbearably hot to stand and even wait two minutes for the elevator. The LRT (above ground subway/tube train) that ran every three minutes gave off unbearable noise from 5.30am till 1.am. Right outside our window. It was also so hot in the apartment (there’s no air con) that our apartment did not drop below 26 degrees. We were stuck in a catch. Open the windows and be deafened by the train track. Close the windows and die of heat. We asked to move rooms. Reception did not even try to accommodate our request. Just awful customer service. Although the apartment was huge by London standards it would only translate to a 3 star in my North American comparison. It was pretty basic and showing many signs of age. Definitely do not stay here in the summertime. If I have to stay there again I would only stay in the winter on the south side of the building. But after that experience I will not return. Another important note. It was advertised on the internet for 2300 per week. Through my timeshare I paid 3000. Couldn’t cancel. It was a non refundable booking much to my dismay.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019Trip type: Traveled with family
Helpful
Share
Declan G wrote a review Apr 2018
Glen Waverley, Australia18 contributions17 helpful votes
We stayed here for a week in April with a family of 5. The first thing prospective visitors should realise is that you need to collect the key from an apartment complex nearly a km away and then navigate through roadworks with suitcases to the building. First impressions last and they were not good. The floor was warped and the "parquetry" was broken in places and jutting out of the floor. The beds had dormitory comfort, being thin and unsupportive and the beds are small (double beds). The also tended to make you both sag towards the middle. The furniture was straight out an Ikea catalogue. It was clear that little maintenance/updating had been done in this circa late 90s apartment. Don't be deceived by the photos. The most displeasing feature was the intermittent hot water supply. This seemed to be contingent on the use of other apartments as it would be rare to get hot water during the morning or evenings. I called the manager and the polite receptionist told me she would return my call....this didn't happen. The building is centrally heated with a local controller for the apartment. The building's heat would permeate the apartment and the heating element would rattle all night making sleep uncomfortable. Windows wouldn't stay open sufficiently to allow some ventilation. It would also have been lovely to see out the windows, but the amount of grime on them leads me to believe they haven't been cleaned in many years. The only plus side is the location with excellent transport and shopping options. Aside from this, we paid a premium expecting a quality apartment and responsive management. We received neither. Perhaps we were naive in believing in staying with a branded apartment company, a certain standard would be maintained. I would never recommend these apartments. If you are staying in Canary Wharf, there are plenty of options.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2018
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled with family
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Kathleen C, General Manager at Phoenix Heights by BridgeStreet
Responded Apr 20, 2018
We are sorry that this happened whilst you stayed with us. We shall look into all of the things that you have mentioned and take the necessary steps to ensure improvements. Our team are usually very responsive and we do our best to assist all of our guests, we did not do that on this occasion and I shall address that. Should you choose to come back to London, perhaps we could accommodate you in a different property. Please do get in touch.
Read more
Mark201105 wrote a review Mar 2018
Bristol, United Kingdom112 contributions88 helpful votes
As commented by others check in is a faff because its away from the flat. I have been to the area a few times but I still had to phone to find the office which is ten minutes or so walk from apartment block. In view of construction walk think it easier to walk over the footbridge to get to flat rather than the more obvious looking route on a map. They must operate several apartments and so this is of course only a review of the particluar one we were allocated. The view from the 19th floor is amazing with Canary Wharf in one direction and the City in another direction and somewhat further. First impressions very good and appeared generally well equipped. However........ After first day we had very sporadic hot water. To be fair on complaining we were offered to move to another flat with a taxi fare paid but we declined due to amazing view. Bathroom sink didn't drain properly and toilet flush was pretty ineffective. Couldn't get dishwasher to work, but that may have been me. Internet was free and quick but kept losing connection. Given there is a minimum booking length (we had 4 nights for 3 people) the amount of toilet paper and shower toileteries (not especially a problem in view of lack of hot water!) is obviously not adequate. They may have brought more if asked I don't know. Didnt find anything wrong with beds or mattress though. Good for Tube and DLR, very nice restaurant on ground floor of apartment block.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2018
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled with family
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Kathleen C, General Manager at Phoenix Heights by BridgeStreet
Responded Mar 16, 2018
Thank you for your review and we are very pleased that you liked the location and the view, from some of the apartments you can see The Shard and The London Eye - sunsets can be spectacular. I am sorry you found some issues in your apartment and we shall address those, we do our best to ensure that things are in working order and I appreciate that you acknowledged that the team offered alternatives promptly. Your fair review is appreciated and the team and I hope you will return to stay with us in the future.
Read more
Bevan C wrote a review Mar 2018
Texas56 contributions15 helpful votes
Let’s start from the check in process. We booked through Interval. How to get here. Don’t take the Tube if you have Any Large American type luggage. The Tube is faster...maybe...but you have to LUG the luggage up and down and over here and there. We took the Heathrow Express to Paddington and booked an Uber. However, you Can Not Catch Uber at the Hilton Paddington anymore, The Uber pick for Paddington Station is now .5 miles away from the Station across the canal on Wharf street. We did not try another address close to Paddington Station, say down the street by Paddington Park. You could try that. Now it’s going to take you an hour in a taxi to go the 9 miles in a taxi, it will be about 55-60 pounds. Check in......pain in the butt. The directions to the check in office we not clear at all. The check in office is 1/2 a mile away at the Circus Apartments on the TOP level of the round about. That point is key as our directions did not state and we drove around the bottom level twice. You have to take the top level and go through Security then almost all the way around the roundabout to entrance to Canary Riverside Plaza hotel. The circus apartments are at the end of the drive by the entrance to Eaton House. You can not safely walk from check in to the apartment. Construction....lots of construction. Now for the apartment. Building is nice from outside. Apartment was clean and nice with the usual dated UK furniture. Beds are terrible, ours sagged in the middle. Hopefully, they won’t they won’t replace it with some rock hard bed. We had no hot water for the first two nights. The UK washer/dryer is a joke. You can wash 2 towels and 2 wash clothes. The dryer function takes Forever. They waste more energy with these tiny combo units in the UK because it takes too damn long to do laundry. Kitchen and bathroom are nice, no complaints there. Tesco Express is a 4-5 min walk for groceries. You will need to buy extra toilet tissue and paper towels. Canary Wharf tube is a 10 min walk. It’s below a very nice mall w restaurants.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2018Trip type: Traveled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Kathleen C, General Manager at Phoenix Heights by BridgeStreet
Responded Apr 20, 2018
Thank you for your response, we appreciate that you took the time to give us a review.
Read more
Safiya M wrote a review Feb 2018
Johannesburg, South Africa110 contributions65 helpful votes
Spent a week here via Interval International. Apartment is close to Canary Wharf and underground. Lots of places to eat and an excellent Waitrose close by in canary wharf. Used Just Park app for parking close by which was very reasonable. We had an apartment on 15th floor. 2 Bedrooms, 1bathroom, lounge, dining area and a fully equipped kitchen. The apartment was clean and we were given a midweek cleanup. The beds are terrible. The mattress is soft and uneven which caused me a lot of back pain. For the price we paid and for London with a family of 5 it was great value. But will I stay here again. I doubt it.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2017Trip type: Traveled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Kathleen C, General Manager at Phoenix Heights by BridgeStreet
Responded Feb 8, 2018
Many thanks for your review, we appreciate your feedback and really value the detail. It helps us to improve things going forward. We shall definitely investigate and action the mattress change - we are glad you enjoyed the rest of your stay.
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$151 - $285 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandLondonDocklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
NUMBER OF ROOMS
57
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Phoenix Heights by BridgeStreet
Which popular attractions are close to Phoenix Heights by BridgeStreet?
Nearby attractions include Canary Wharf (0.2 miles), Ship Wreck at Salen Beach (0.2 miles), and Sir John McDougall Gardens (0.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Phoenix Heights by BridgeStreet?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, airport transportation, and laundry service.
Which room amenities are available at Phoenix Heights by BridgeStreet?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What are some restaurants close to Phoenix Heights by BridgeStreet?
Conveniently located restaurants include Capeesh, Goodman Canary Wharf, and Amerigo Vespucci.
Does Phoenix Heights by BridgeStreet have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Phoenix Heights by BridgeStreet offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Phoenix Heights by BridgeStreet?
Yes, laundry service and a washing machine are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Phoenix Heights by BridgeStreet?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, Italian, Polish, and Lithuanian.
Are there any historical sites close to Phoenix Heights by BridgeStreet?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Churchill War Rooms (4.7 miles), Tower of London (2.4 miles), and Houses of Parliament (4.5 miles).