We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Grange Portland Hotel

avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveler (43)
Room & Suite (12)
Bathroom (6)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#677 of 1,131 hotels in London
Location
4.6
Cleanliness
4.2
Service
3.9
Value
3.9
Grange Portland is a boutique hotel, located close to Russell Square in the centre of Bloomsbury. The hotel features 18 self-contained studios that are fitted with modern conveniences, en-suite bathrooms, lounges and kitchenettes for complete independence. Breakfast is served daily in the Grange Clarendon Hotel breakfast room on the Ground floor. Guests wishing to have lunch or dinner in-house during their stay can dine at Grange Beauchamp or the Grange White Hall – sister hotels that are located just over the road on Bedford Street. Grange Portland Hotel is an excellent choice for travellers visiting London, offering a charming environment alongside many helpful amenities designed to enhance your stay. Nearby landmarks such as Churchill War Rooms (1.2 mi) and Big Ben (1.3 mi) make Portland Hotel a great place to stay when visiting London. The rooms offer a flat screen TV, a kitchenette, and a desk, and getting online is possible, as internet access is available, allowing you to rest and refresh with ease. Grange Portland Hotel features a 24 hour front desk, room service, and a concierge. In addition, as a valued Portland Hotel guest, you can enjoy an on-site restaurant that is available on-site. During your visit, be sure to check out one of London's popular fish and chips restaurants such as Sketch Gallery, The Ivy, and Rules Restaurant, all a short distance from Portland Hotel. Best of all, Grange Portland Hotel makes it easy to experience many great London attractions like The British Museum, V&A - Victoria and Albert Museum, and National Gallery, which are some popular art museums. Enjoy your stay in London!
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Wifi
Breakfast buffet
Babysitting
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Concierge
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Paid wifi
Breakfast in the room
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Shops
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Ironing service
Shoeshine
Show more
Room features
Allergy-free room
Desk
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
Kitchenette
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Telephone
Iron
Microwave
Refrigerator
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Quiet
Languages Spoken
English
216Reviews2Q+A46Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 65
  • 101
  • 32
  • 8
  • 10
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Elizabeth A wrote a review Dec 2023
Baden-Württemberg, Germany4 contributions
A very strange set up whereyou stay in one hotel but have to walk down the road to another one for breakfast. Nowhere near enough tables there for everyone from 2 hotels to eat in a 2 hour window. The 2 poor staff were rushed off their feet. Our bathroom badly needs upgrading, the bed itself has seen better days. Defo not a 4 star hotel. No atmosphere at all. Never again. A real rip off for the price.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Don't bother until they sort themselves out.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Sheridon Mascoll , Owner at Grange Portland Hotel
Responded Dec 19, 2023
Dear Lizzy2301, Your feedback is valuable and we appreciate the time you took to share your experience. We understand that having breakfast next doordid not meet your expectations. The Portland is sold as a self-catering unit and for guests who wish to have breakfast we offer this in our sister property. Please know that we strive to provide the best possible experience for our guests and your comments help us in this journey. We're sorry to hear that the price didn't match your expectations. We believe our rates are competitive and reflect the quality and service we offer and inline with other similar properties in the location, Thank you again for sharing your thoughts. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back and provide you with a more comfortable and satisfying stay. Assuring you of our best attention at all times.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Kevin F wrote a review Jun 2023
York, United Kingdom4 contributions
I booked the Grange Portland on Booking.com for my wife’s birthday and a trip to London. All was booked ion March payment wasn’t until a day or so before arriving. Payment was made and then after that I received an email form the Grange Portland saying that that we had too be accommodated in one of there other Bloomsbury properties which was the Grange Buckingham, were were offered a superior room and full English all though I booked the breakfast originally. We arrived at the Buckingham and to be fair the Hotel was clean tidy and the room was indeed a big room. The staff were very friendly so I couldn’t complain about them but the reason we were moved was the fact that the Grange Portland was being renovated. The Buckingham had no dining area or kitchen to speak of it had no Bar or restaurant which is really what I wanted from a 4 Star Hotel. At breakfast you were sat in a conservatory where you helped yourselves to continental breakfast tea and coffee was provided then you selected what hot breakfast you required on a form. This then was cooked at another of there hotels located in the same street and brought in. For this Hotel to be classed as a 4 Star it is not the case, I am disappointed that at the time of booking that I was not told about the works going on so I could have looked for another hotel that offered what I wanted. This hotel would be a very good 2-3 Star hotel and thus the cost would reflect this not to pay 4 star rates. While this did not diminish our stay in London if I had know I would not have chosen this hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: If booking the Grange Portland I would ring to check before hand that you are staying there and...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Sheridon Mascoll , Owner at Grange Portland Hotel
Responded Jun 20, 2023
Dear Kevin F, Thanks for taking the time to review your stay with us. We are sorry that the facilities did not match your expectations. We would like to mention that the Portland hotel that you origianally booked does not have a restaurant or bar if this is what you were looking for in a 4 star hotel. The Buckingham and Portland are both classified as 4* hotels with kitchenette facility. We are sorry that you were not advised sooner but as you booked via a third party the relocation notice is only generated when the payment is taken as up to that point the customer can still cancel without charge. Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts with us, which we do appreciate.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Julie Rhodes wrote a review Jan 2020
Pontesbury, United Kingdom15 contributions16 helpful votes
Amazingly helpful staff and brilliant room. Spacious, clean and had lovely touches, brilliant value for money :) concierge were amazing too although we felt bad as he clearly works across all of the hotels on the street!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from , Owner at Grange Portland Hotel
Responded Jun 22, 2020
Dear 19970Ajulier Thank you for the wonderful review. We are delighted that you found out staff helpful and the concierge amazing. We are pleased that you found our bedroom spacious, clean and with a difference. Next time you require accommodation please contact us directly and we will make sure we make you stay more better and comfortable. We have a lot to offer to our guest from picnic to afternoon tea in our garden. We appreciate your feedback and recommendation and will share your comments with the team. Thank you once again for all your lovely words. We look forward to welcome you back soon. Kind Regards Jebunnessa Hoq Customer Service Director
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Ashmo604 wrote a review Nov 2019
11 contributions14 helpful votes
This hotel had great ratings however I was displeased. I think it's because I was sequestered into the "basement". People talked about nice big rooms and mine was teeny tiny. I guess for the price of $175 Canadian I expected something better but London is quite expensive. The location was very good, being right by Russell Square and very close to tube and bus stop. The hotel had an elevator and the wifi was great, however the room was just dingy. It was clean but with the wall paper coming off on every wall it just seemed gross and dingy.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Ask to not be in the basement
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from , Owner at Grange Portland Hotel
Responded Jun 22, 2020
Dear Ashmo604 Thank you for your feedback. We are very sorry to see your stay with us was not the best due the above pointers. We appreciate your feedback as it helps us improve our services for all our future guest. Your comments have been taken on board and changes will be implemented wherever applicable. Once again thank you for your feedback and we look forward to another opportunity of welcoming you once again to Grange Hotels. Regards Jebunnessa Hoq
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
CalEsteve wrote a review Oct 2019
Gosol, Spain47 contributions40 helpful votes
Looking for something central and with bit more space than the usual London hotel bedrooms, be it a budget or an expensive hotel, we decided on the Grange Portland. The larger rooms here are not cheap but more than worth it for the huge amount of space, the enormous bed and curious self catering facilities - curious because breakfast is included in the tarriff, and who wants to cook on holiday. At booking, I indicated a preference for a room at the back and on an upper floor. On arrival, there was no mention of this request and we got a second floor room facing the road. Yes, it is noisy, but at night there is minimal traffic and wax ear plugs work wonders. All previous reviews commenting the need for maintenance are correct although much of what we saw was minor - a spot of paint, a bit of glue to stick the wallpaper back on, mould treatment in the bathroom - and the level of cleaning seemed high during our three day stay. Breakfast was excellent, varied and abundant. We paid extra for the cooked breakfast, which was huge (just avoid the vegetarian sausages). I would settle for the cold breakfast - even on a busy Sunday morning it was well stocked. If we could be sure of not being given a basement room, we would definitely consider coming back to the Portland.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
sstergianis wrote a review Sep 2019
Oshawa, Canada54 contributions53 helpful votes
Quaint hotel with Very friendly staff. Room was large and clean. The bathroom products are of very good quality. Located in a safe and central area of London, it’s so easy to walk to so many areas of the city. You are within 15 minutes of most major attractions. Right around the corner from the British museum. We would definitely stay here again when we return to London. How often can you find a hotel with a king size bed?
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from 123Grange, Guest Relations Manager at Grange Portland Hotel
Responded Sep 18, 2019
Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your wonderful experience at Grange Portland Hotel London, we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay very much. It is wonderful to know that you found our staff to offer a great service in a friendly and professional way. Thank you also for highlighting that you enjoyed the central and convenient location of the hotel. We appreciate your feedback that each detail has been thought about and will share your comments with the team. We very much look forward to welcoming you again. Kind Regards Grange Guest Relations Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
ozzy17767 wrote a review Sep 2019
Sturminster Marshall, United Kingdom9 contributions5 helpful votes
We stayed here for 1 night on 14 September 2019 at a cost of £ 194.35 expecting something reasonable for this price we were bitterly dissapointed. On arrival we were told our room was number 3, but no m,ention of which floor, after travelling up and down in the lift we eventually arrived in the basement to find room 3. The room was dark so light were required even at mid day, and with the light on anyone walking along the footpath outside could see into the room. To bathroom had a faint pefume of sewage the toilet seat was broken, and the bath had numerous chips in the enamal. Cleaning is obviously a problem for the staff, as lots of dark short hair was found within the room and bathroom, on one bedside table this was within a gelatinous matter, that you could not determine if it was a human secretion or not. Being directly under the reception area the noise level was totally unacceptable and I was awoken at 1.45 am by noisy foot fall on the floor above All of te fittings were tired badly worn or miss matched, but the worst problem was the leaking electric kettle which was positivly dangerous and my wife was close to being electricuted.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Choose another hotel
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from 123Grange, Guest Relations Manager at Grange Portland Hotel
Responded Sep 18, 2019
Dear Guest, I regret that your expectations were not entirely satisfied on this occasion. We are very disappointed that these issues have dampened your impression of the hotel, I would like to assure you that we are consistently and currently in the process of upgrading and improving all aspects of the Hotel. Your comments have been taken on board. I apologise for any inconvenience and embarrassment which may have been caused and we hope for another opportunity to welcome you back and exceed your expectations. Kind Regards Grange Guest Relations Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Rodw1997 wrote a review Sep 2019
Heathfield, United Kingdom255 contributions114 helpful votes
Whilst some of the furnishings may be a bit dated, the room was very spacious and well equipped. The room was reasonably quiet (despite the single-glazed sash windows) hotel and in a relatively low-traffic street that is not far from all the attractions and within easy reach of transport links.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from 123Grange, Public Relations Manager at Grange Portland Hotel
Responded Sep 18, 2019
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to complete an online review following your recent stay at the Grange Portland Hotel. It is great to hear you enjoyed all the benefits of our superb location and room. It is always a pleasure knowing that our guests are satisfied with our services and facilities. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again in the future. Kind Regards Grange Guest Relations Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Teresa H wrote a review Aug 2019
Worcester, United Kingdom2 contributions1 helpful vote
The room my family stayed in was huge, with a king sized bed, a double sofa bed, with a small separate dining room and kitchen. The room was really tastefully decorated, with period matching furniture and finishes. The bathroom was stylish to, quite large and exceptionally clean. Breakfast was included for the fab price of £198, and the selection was great: lots of cereals, fresh fruit in great condition, large selection of cheeses and meats and yoghurts. There were even fat free ones which was great for someone on a diet like me. The staff were all courteous and helpful, I really can’t find any faults. Great value for money, I will definitely be staying again!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2019
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: We were on the 3rd floor
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from 123Grange, Guest Relations Manager at Grange Portland Hotel
Responded Aug 22, 2019
Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your wonderful experience at Grange Portland Hotel London, we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay very much. It is wonderful to know that you found our staff to offer a great service in a friendly and professional way. Thank you also for highlighting that you enjoyed the central and convenient location of the hotel. We appreciate your feedback that each detail has been thought about and will share your comments with the team. We very much look forward to welcoming you again. Kind Regards Grange Guest Relations Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
MarcusChap wrote a review Jul 2019
Derby, United Kingdom9961 contributions306 helpful votes
Booked a cheap single at The Lancaster, I'd read the semi ensuite details (no WC in room) and for one night, it didn't bother me as the price was good. Reception/lounge area was pleasant but on climbing the stairs, it was the tiredest looking Grange Hotel I'd ever stayed in. Again for one night, bearable. However on entering my room it was clear it hadn't been serviced, back to reception and this is where any negative ends. As an apology I was upgraded to a fully en suite single in The Portland, just across the road. This was a much fresher, more cared for looking hotel. My room was in the basement but wasn't dark, had a nice, big window and being at the back of the building, was very quiet. Fixtures and fittings were of good quality though wallpaper was chipped and peeling in parts, so that let the room down a little. Still a vast improvement on the room I'd booked and generally very happy with the room. Breakfast was served in another sister hotel, The Clarendon. Again, pleasant experience with the staff, nice window table in the sunshine and a great continental buffet. I considered the reasonable upgrade for a cooked breakfast (£6) but the variety of cheeses, fruits, pastries, etc was so rich, I wouldn't have managed anymore. Great service and impressed with the way this issue was handled. Though the staff were great, I wouldn't book The Lancaster again but would happily stay in one of the other Grange hotels on this street (several to choose from, they own half the street!).
Read more
Date of stay: July 2019Trip type: Traveled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Nellie S, Guest Relations Manager at Grange Portland Hotel
Responded Jul 24, 2019
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to complete our online review following your recent stay at the Grange Portland Hotel. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay overall and thank you for your additional comments, which have been noted and passed to the relevant personnel. I apologise for any inconvenience and embarrassment which may have been caused. We highly value your patronage and genuinely hope you will afford us the opportunity look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind Regards Grange Guest Relations Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the London area.
PRICE RANGE
$170 - $287 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandLondonBloomsbury
NUMBER OF ROOMS
18
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

GRANGE PORTLAND HOTEL - Prices & Reviews (London, England)

Frequently Asked Questions about Grange Portland Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Grange Portland Hotel?
Nearby attractions include The British Museum (0.1 miles), Faulty Towers the Dining Experience (0.2 miles), and THATMuse,Treasure Hunt at the Museum (0.1 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Grange Portland Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include breakfast buffet, room service, and meeting rooms.
Which room amenities are available at Grange Portland Hotel?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What are some restaurants close to Grange Portland Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Uzumaki London, Bloomsbury Street Kitchen, and Drury 188-189.
Are any cleaning services offered at Grange Portland Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are there any historical sites close to Grange Portland Hotel?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Houses of Parliament (1.4 miles), Tower of London (2.2 miles), and Churchill War Rooms (1.3 miles).