We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

Central Hotel

16-18 Argyle Street, Kings Cross, London WC1H 8EG, England
Hotel amenities
Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Central Hotel
Central Hotel
Panoramas (6)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

485 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 327: English reviews
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
45 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The hotel is very well located in Kings Cross, just a couple of minutes walk from Kings Cross station where you'll find a number shops, bars and restaurants. We were in room 31 which was very small and was quite stuffy; the bathroom had an awful chemical smell and the water did not drain well in the shower stall. It's... More 

Helpful?
Thank llyrvak
CentralHotelLondon, Public Relations Manager at Central Hotel, responded to this review

Hello, First of all thank you very much for taking your time to write the review. We are sorry you did not have the stay which we would like you to have had. About the bad points you´ve mentioned: -Smell in the toilet (we have no record of this issue but we will take a look as soon as possible... More 

Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Needed a hotel at late notice for one night to catch a train from kings cross the following day. Thankfully they had a room available at a reasonable price. Location perfect, stones throw away from the station. Staff friendly and welcoming at check in. Got a 3 bed room on the ground floor which was excellent, could not fault it.... More 

Helpful?
Thank mp1411
Central_Hotel_London, Public Relations Manager at Central Hotel, responded to this review

Hello, First of all thank you very much for your Kindness, we really appreciate this words. We are glad you had a perfect stay and hope to see you soon As well do not forget you can get discounts for coming for the second time Kind regards Brandon More 

Barberton, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2016

Really, really nice staff. Tiny, cramped room and tiny, cramped bathroom. Both were very clean, though. Excellent location close to two major train stations. Breakfasts were not very good, though the breakfast staff was sweet and nice. Not enough room in the breakfast area for all the lodgers. I'd stay again just because of the people and the location.

Helpful?
Thank davidwxyz
Central_Hotel_London, Public Relations Manager at Central Hotel, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for writing this review As you said some things were not perfect but we are already improving and moving forward. Breakfast is something which we already have changed in the past few weeks Hope to see you soon in Central Hotel Kind regards Brandon More 

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2016 via mobile

Hotel located within stones throw of kings cross station,staff helpful and friendly, wifi works well, quality of hotel poor- small rooms, not ensuite, shower stops working half way through due to ( presumably) pressure issues ( was on the 3rd floor),dining room quite small and guests have to sit on round tables together rather than separately. All a bit cramped.

Helpful?
Thank Toml1981
Central_Hotel_London, Public Relations Manager at Central Hotel, responded to this review

Hello, First of all thank you very much for taking your time to write this review We are sorry that your stay It was not as perfect as We would like it to be One of the big points which we are proud of It's the Staff who work with us About the negative points you have mentioned We are... More 

Travelers are raving about these London hotels

Widnes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2016 via mobile

Stayed one night the photos do not show the rooms they have. Stayed in a superior twin shower did not work was very small could not turn around in the bathroom the room was small not a lot of room to move around. Very noisy outside as well. There are better hotel rooms around euston with better facilities from talking... More 

Helpful?
Thank Julie A
Central_Hotel_London, Public Relations Manager at Central Hotel, responded to this review

Hello, First of all thank you for taking your time to write the review We are really sorry you feel this way about the Hotel The photos which we have on our Website belong to the ones in the rooms but anyway we will check them just to make sure About the space in the room, we have made it... More 

Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2016

We had ants in our very small room. Too small for two. Also, odor in hall was terrible. Breakfast was basic and prepared as each person arrives, twice I was served toast with mold. The last night there was no hot water. I would recommend staying elsewhere, especially in the summer. No air. Also, very narrow staircase that curves which... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lantz7
Central_Hotel_London, Public Relations Manager at Central Hotel, responded to this review

Hello, First of all thank you very much for taking your time to write this review We are really sorry about all the issues you had in the Hotel: -Room too small (Because we were fully booked at that time we could not change you into another bigger room, Sorry). -Smell in the Hall (We have no record of this... More 

Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2016

Excellent location just across the road from kings cross station. Room a little on the small side but clean and comfortable non the less. Tea and coffee making facilities in the room. Small en suite bathroom with shower. Plenty of hot water. Adequate breakfast. Polite welcoming staff especially Brandon on the desk who sorted out our minor problems quickly and... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank piggydm51
Central_Hotel_London, Public Relations Manager at Central Hotel, responded to this review

Hello, First of all thank you very much for taking your time to write this review We are happy you enjoyed our Hotel and Staff We really appreciate it As well thank you for the nice words about our Receptionists We would love to have you back in our Hotel Please if you want to come back in the future... More 

Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2016

I paid £80.00 for a single room with breakfast for London reasonable. I checked in 30 mins early with no problem found staff throughout to be polite and friendly was given room 27 on the 3rd floor. The room was clean and tidy and good free WiFi access. The room was small with a single bed draw unit and wardrobe... More 

Helpful?
Thank Neil B
Central_Hotel_London, Public Relations Manager at Central Hotel, responded to this review

Hello, Central Hotel is really glad you had a good stay with us. About the points of improvement we have to say thank you for telling us. Right now we find ourselves fixing those ones which we need to change -Sorry about the window issue, we have already taken care of it. -Breakfast as well we will change soon the... More 

Tampere, Finland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2016

We stayed here for two nights with my co-worker while on a business trip in London. The experience was one of the worst I've had in any hotel ever. I had checked the overall score here in Tripadvisor before booking, so I wasn't expecting too much, and I don't really require much on a business trip – Being able to... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank wempu
Central_Hotel_London, Public Relations Manager at Central Hotel, responded to this review

Hello, First of all thank you very much for taking your time to write the review We will like to say sorry for all the issues which you have mentioned: -Weird Smell in the room/bathroom/toilet (This issue was caused for pipe problems which we fixed right away, we put that spray because we used strong/smelly product to clean the pipes)... More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2016 via mobile

I would highly recommend this hotel especially when going to London for a short stay. First off, the location is amazing, secondly the breakfast is very good, hotel is clean, beds are comfortable and staff are very nice too. Just right! Not to mention that the price is reasonable too :)

Helpful?
2 Thank Donna A
Central_Hotel_London, Public Relations Manager at Central Hotel, responded to this review

Hello, Central Hotel and Staff appreciate that you have taken the time to write this review. We are glad you had a wonderful stay and we will like to see you again soon. That's why if you want to come back to our Hotel please just send us a Private E-Mail to get into a Special Deal. Kind regards Brandon More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

341 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (163)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (25)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (57)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (32)
Viewed
Other (37)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (151)
Viewed
Amenities (13)
Viewed
Standard Single Room (16)
Viewed
Superior Double Room (18)
Viewed
Superior Family Room (18)
Viewed
Superior Single Room (19)
Viewed
Superior Triple Room (20)
Viewed
Superior Twin Room (20)
Viewed
The Hotel (27)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (27)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Crestfield Hotel
Crestfield Hotel
#533 of 1,066 in London
3.5 of 5 stars 806 reviews
Bloomsbury
Alhambra Hotel
Alhambra Hotel
#242 of 1,066 in London
4.0 of 5 stars 1,745 reviews
Bloomsbury
Jesmond Dene Hotel
Jesmond Dene Hotel
#233 of 1,066 in London
4.5 of 5 stars 1,648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
The California
The California
#410 of 1,066 in London
3.5 of 5 stars 990 reviews
Bloomsbury
Fairway Hotel
Fairway Hotel
#66 of 556 in London
3.5 of 5 stars 498 reviews
Bloomsbury
Princess Hotel
Princess Hotel
#16 of 556 in London
4.5 of 5 stars 152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Bloomsbury

Neighborhood Profile
Bloomsbury
Snuggly nestled within Central London is academic and leafy Bloomsbury, an area that boasts walking distance access to many of London's most popular attractions. It is also home to some of Britain's most celebrated museums, including the must-see British Museum. Despite an understandable popularity with students, tourists and day trippers, vast sections of Bloomsbury retain a quiet, residential feel year round and throughout the week.
Explore this neighborhood
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Central hotel is a family run bed and breakfast conveniently located in the heart of central London offering superb value for money accommodation. The hotel is situated barely a minutes walk from Kings Cross Tube Station, St Pancras international and offers easy access to all of London's tourist sights, shopping districts and theaters. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Central Hotel

Address: 16-18 Argyle Street, Kings Cross, London WC1H 8EG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury , Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Price Range: $77 - $174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Central Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Agoda, Odigeo, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Central Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Central Hotel London, England
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay