We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

St George Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
St George Hotel
St George Hotel
Panoramas (7)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

172 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for St George Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 126: English reviews
Tel Aviv, Israel
Reviewed June 13, 2010

Not at all similar to the pictures in this site. dirty hotel with small room in the Arab section of London. the manager was quite nice and they bring you breakfast to the room but still...tiny and dirty bathroom, dirty carpet, dirty everything...luck it was only for one night.

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank EliNisan
stgeorgehotelnet, General Manager at St George Hotel, responded to this review

Upon reading your review I had to conclude that unfortunately, you have posted your review to the wrong hotel.We are based near Marble Arch, at 49 Gloucester Place. We have been mistaken with another hotel, because of the name similarity. There are four St George hotels in London and the one you are talking about is most likely the one...

london
Reviewed November 28, 2009

Was on a short biz trip to london and Stayed here for one night, great location next to marble arch, very high standard for a small hotel. There was a sign which read that the hotel won a award from the aa, can see why and will stay here again s...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank northwoodien
Reviewed November 20, 2009

It was warmer than usual in London for the time of year and the hotel staff didn't seem to consider that when setting the temperature in the hotel. Rooms came with either an AC unit or a fan and we had a room with a fan. It did little to relieve the stuffiness and heat in the room and the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank HTudor1509
apbush4
Reviewed October 20, 2009

What a lovely hotel, very nice room, freindly helpful staff, great location, breakfast was every thing you would want. Tip go the restaurant called, The canteen for a meal, near to hotel. Splendid food.

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Amanda B
Winnipeg
Reviewed July 21, 2009

We found the St George to be a wonderful little gem, except for not having an elevator (our rooms were on the 4th & 5th floors -tight winding staircase). Staff was helpful, immediately offering to carry bags up to rooms, book London Eye tickets, give directions. It has a nice little conservatory with a flat screen tv and computer, which...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank rickfinn
London
Reviewed May 25, 2009

From the confusing map to the Tesco-value inspired "continental" breakfast, this was a very disappointing experience. We were told that our room would be " double ensuite", but in fact we were given a room with a shared bathroom, which was in the basement, hardly the lap of luxury. The hot water is temperamental and the shower was like standing...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Jamie R
San Clemente, CA
Reviewed May 4, 2009

My husband and I stayed in May 2009 for a week. We got a great package deal with airfare from Expedia. The room was about $110 dollars per night, which is great in London. The hotel is an eight minute walk in either direction to two different subway (tube) stops and the bus stop is right ouside the hotel. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tjbeaches
Bristol
Reviewed January 19, 2009

It was my Girlfriends birthday and our 1 year anniversary so I took her to London for a weekend - we needed somewhere to stay that was near to oxford street and found this place. I have to admit away from all the huge multiroomed chains of hotels, this little hotel was spot on. We had a room that was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kal_el84
Vallejo, California
Reviewed October 30, 2007

Located ideally for best walking tours, I booked this for a triple en suite expecting good if not exceptional accommodations. We found our triple room to be extremely cramped, located on the first floor next to the front desk, so we heard all the hallway traffic/conversations as well as the traffic outside. The hotel conservatory is about eight feet wide...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Helga53
huntingdon
Reviewed September 13, 2007

The hotel is clean and the staff friendly. Fire regulations wont allow irons in rooms so have to iron in the dining room down in the basement. We had the double room at the top of the building which included climbing 65 windy stairs. Builders are in a few doors down and they start work pretty early, so can be...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank gissyHuntingdon
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

196 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (51)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (22)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Other (18)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (131)
Viewed
Basic Queen Room (13)
Viewed
Basic Single Room (15)
Viewed
Deluxe Double Room (25)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
Standard Double Room (25)
Viewed
The Hotel (38)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Fitzrovia
Saint Georges Hotel
Saint Georges Hotel
#716 of 1,089 in London
619 reviews
Marylebone
Z at Gloucester Place
Z at Gloucester Place
#305 of 1,089 in London
146 reviews
Marylebone
Blandford Hotel
Blandford Hotel
#407 of 1,089 in London
656 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marylebone
Nottingham Place Hotel London
Nottingham Place Hotel London
#624 of 1,089 in London
272 reviews
Marylebone
Montagu Place Hotel
Montagu Place Hotel
#65 of 1,089 in London
483 reviews
Marylebone
The Leonard Hotel
The Leonard Hotel
#334 of 1,089 in London
639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Marylebone

Neighborhood Profile
Marylebone
Marylebone offers what so many London neighborhoods cannot: a village feel coupled with urban convenience. Much of its success rests in its location. Wedged between the northeastern corner of Hyde Park and the southern end of Regent's Park and with a number of Tube stations within easy reach, Marylebone is as pedestrian friendly as Central London gets. The bustling shopping mecca of Oxford Street separates it from Soho and Mayfair, exclusive Regent Street marks its border with Fitzrovia, and cosmopolitan Edgware Road serves as its western edge. Within this enviably situated quarter are an array of outstanding restaurants (from Michelin darlings to down and dirty cheeseburgers), an impressive assortment of independently owned shops, and some of the city's quietest and most pleasant nooks, crannies and cobbled lanes.
Explore this neighborhood
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The St George Hotel is a beautiful grade II listed Town House with 19 bedrooms (en suite bathrooms and WIFI) in London's West End -a short walk to Oxford St. shopping and near Paddington's Heathrow Express. A traditional "bed and breakfast," we offer delicious food in our Breakfast Room. The Conservatory Lounge is perfect for meetings or a coffee break. With the service of a 4 star hotel, we were recently awarded the sparkling Diamond award for housekeeping by the RAC and runner up of London B&B Of The Year, awarded by the AA. This is a gem on the famous Gloucester Place. ... more   less 

Additional Information about St George Hotel

Address: 49 Gloucester Place | Marble Arch, London W1U 8JE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Marylebone
Price Range: $121 - $198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — St George Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your St George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St George London
Hotel St George
St George Hotel London, England
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from St George Hotel staff and other travelers.
5 questions
Ask a question
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
over a year ago
Phoenix, Arizona
over a year ago

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from St George Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Not sure about the other rooms”
caroledenny, 1 week ago | Read review
“Shop about first”
O783OWstevenm, Aug 22, 2016 | Read review
“if you don't like stairs choose a room on a lower floor”
Sanders3, May 31, 2016 | Read review
“We stayed in 16 noisy at night and difficult to reach if you have a mobility issue. Difficult if you do not.”
867sianh, May 29, 2016 | Read review
“Every room is superb”
louiseh347, May 2, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question