We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

St George Hotel

Agoda.com$103*
View Deal
06/04/2017 06/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
St George Hotel
St George Hotel
Panoramas (7)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

174 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 127: English reviews
Start your review of St George Hotel
 Click to rate
Jersey, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights. On arrival, there was an issue with the double glazing in our room. I called down to reception and was immediately offered an alternative room which was superb, nicely furnished, huge bed and good bathroom. The hotel is in a beautiful location, very quiet and excellent value for money. We highly recommend...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jkhd
Preston, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I needed a cheap place to stay in London. St George hotel was advertised as a hostel, but with a single room and shared bathroom. Well it wasn't a hostel, but a bed and breakfasts hotel. My room was small but had everything i needed , it had wash basin,tv, tea/coffee making equipment, hair dryer,radiator and of course wardrobe,bed etc....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank caroledenny
Bredons Hardwick, United Kingdom
Reviewed March 23, 2017 via mobile

Booked the deluxe room through hotels.com and it looked really nice from the photos. The location is good; close to Baker Street, Mayfair and Oxford Street, with good bus connections right outside the door. The 'deluxe' room turned out to be on the ground floor, beside receptions, with grey bet curtains overlooking the walls of neighbouring buildings. It was a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Simon G
New York City, New York
Reviewed March 14, 2017

Very nice Hotel, in the heart of London, very close to the tube and very comfortable. Great service and they even serve the English tea. I had a small room at the top of the hotel, right under the roof. It was lovely and I could see the sky from my bed.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Laura C
clipstone
Reviewed February 7, 2017 via mobile

£160 for a family room that could sleep 2 adults & 2 kids✅ Free & fast Wifi that is perfect for streaming Netflix✅ Great central location yet just off the main drag so not mental✅ Room is a bit dated but has aircon and TV's in both with a seated area & standard bathroom✅ Next cheapest place is way over...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank wardmeister
Coventry, United Kingdom
Reviewed November 28, 2016

Messed up a booking for a family room for 2 adults and 2 different sex teenagers and offered 2 double rooms in separate areas instead! Receptionist couldn't care less and said don't stay then! Late on a busy Saturday night in London we were left looking for alternative accommodation.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank donnaleighton
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed October 7, 2016

This hotel looks lovely from the outside. There is no lift however so beware of walking up and down lots of steps with luggage. The room was a great size and the bathroom was acceptable. Slightly dated colour scheme however that was the least of our worries. The room was boiling hot and even with all the windows open. Worst...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Liberty S
stgeorgehotelnet, General Manager at St George Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Liberty S, Thank you for your email. Are you sure you have written the review about the correct hotel? We are the St George Hotel, 49 Gloucester Place, W1U 8JE, and we do not have wall paper in any rooms whatsoever.

Reviewed October 7, 2016 via mobile

Had a Black Tie do at the Raddison Blu just around the corner, at a quarter of the price this tidy little hotel served me well. An excellent location on Glos Place makes it walking distance to a lot of the historic sights around the city. Only let down was confusion over my breakfast, no iron in the room and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Easty79
Surrey
Reviewed September 26, 2016

This is a simple, no frills hotel - even the reception is in a cupboard - but it has everything you need for an overnight stay. It is exceptionally clean and we found it quiet as well. The location is great, 5 minutes walk from Paddington stations and about 15 minutes to Hyde Park. Lots of pubs and ethnic restaurants...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Phil C
Austin, Texas
Reviewed September 23, 2016 via mobile

We were stuck in room 18 and barely slept. Whenever an adjacent room flushes the toilet, it sounds like the sink is overflowing in the bathroom and we were awoken at 6AM to the cooks preparing breakfast. The room is dirty (see the attached photos), the wifi is slow, the renovations look 30 years old and the shower is barely...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank thechaddington
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

196 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (51)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (22)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Other (18)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (131)
Viewed
Basic Queen Room (13)
Viewed
Basic Single Room (15)
Viewed
Deluxe Double Room (25)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
Standard Double Room (25)
Viewed
The Hotel (38)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
06/04/2017 06/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Fitzrovia
Saint Georges Hotel
Saint Georges Hotel
#734 of 1,063 in London
627 reviews
Marylebone
Z at Gloucester Place
Z at Gloucester Place
#304 of 1,063 in London
158 reviews
Marylebone
Blandford Hotel
Blandford Hotel
#416 of 1,063 in London
658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marylebone
Nottingham Place Hotel London
Nottingham Place Hotel London
#623 of 1,063 in London
274 reviews
Marylebone
Montagu Place Hotel
Montagu Place Hotel
#55 of 1,063 in London
488 reviews
Marylebone
The Leonard Hotel
The Leonard Hotel
#314 of 1,063 in London
648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Marylebone

Neighborhood Profile
Marylebone
Marylebone offers what so many London neighborhoods cannot: a village feel coupled with urban convenience. Much of its success rests in its location. Wedged between the northeastern corner of Hyde Park and the southern end of Regent's Park and with a number of Tube stations within easy reach, Marylebone is as pedestrian friendly as Central London gets. The bustling shopping mecca of Oxford Street separates it from Soho and Mayfair, exclusive Regent Street marks its border with Fitzrovia, and cosmopolitan Edgware Road serves as its western edge. Within this enviably situated quarter are an array of outstanding restaurants (from Michelin darlings to down and dirty cheeseburgers), an impressive assortment of independently owned shops, and some of the city's quietest and most pleasant nooks, crannies and cobbled lanes.
Explore this neighborhood
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The St George Hotel is a beautiful grade II listed Town House with 19 bedrooms (en suite bathrooms and WIFI) in London's West End -a short walk to Oxford St. shopping and near Paddington's Heathrow Express. A traditional "bed and breakfast," we offer delicious food in our Breakfast Room. The Conservatory Lounge is perfect for meetings or a coffee break. With the service of a 4 star hotel, we were recently awarded the sparkling Diamond award for housekeeping by the RAC and runner up of London B&B Of The Year, awarded by the AA. This is a gem on the famous Gloucester Place. ... more   less 

Additional Information about St George Hotel

Address: 49 Gloucester Place | Marble Arch, London W1U 8JE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Marylebone
Price Range: $119 - $210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — St George Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your St George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St George London
Hotel St George
St George Hotel London, England
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from St George Hotel staff and other travelers.
5 questions
Ask a question
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
over a year ago
Phoenix, Arizona
over a year ago

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from St George Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Not sure about the other rooms”
caroledenny, 4 weeks ago | Read review
“Shop about first”
O783OWstevenm, Aug 22, 2016 | Read review
“if you don't like stairs choose a room on a lower floor”
Sanders3, May 31, 2016 | Read review
“We stayed in 16 noisy at night and difficult to reach if you have a mobility issue. Difficult if you do not.”
867sianh, May 29, 2016 | Read review
“Every room is superb”
louiseh347, May 2, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Agoda.com
$103* /night
View Deal
Booking.com$103
Expedia.com
Travelocity
View all 7 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates