We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Save money. We search 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices.

The Rochester by Blue Orchid

Save
Share
69 Vincent Square, London SW1P 2PA England
Update from hotel: This property has indicated that they are taking safety precautions against COVID-19.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
Travelocity
ZenHotels.com
$133
View deal
Hotels.com
Orbitz.com
eDreams
View all 18 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (357)
Room & Suite (118)
Dining (28)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
A note from The Rochester by Blue Orchid
Updated 05/20/20

About

#677 of 1,200 hotels in London
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Centrally located Hotel housed within building dating from 1922, in garden setting near Buckingham Palace & Houses of Parliament.
Read more
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Taxi service
Business Center with Internet Access
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Concierge
Wifi
Paid wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary tea
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Room service
Safe
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Classic
Languages Spoken
English, French, German
1237Reviews14Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 242
  • 533
  • 278
  • 106
  • 78
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
mrsraynor wrote a review Jan 2
Egremont, United Kingdom154 contributions69 helpful votes
+1
We booked a family room in this hotel as we we were visiting London with our 11 year old daughter who loves the theatre. We booked on the strength of some of the reviews and the closeness to the Victoria palace. After a five hour train trip we were keen to check in a relax. When we arrived at our room, our faces fell. We were given a small room with two single beds made up. The room was very dated & the bathroom …..OMG ….. tiny & dated with mould on the ceiling. I went down to reception to tell them we had a problem, only two beds for the three of us & in our opinion couldn’t of fit a third bed in that room without it resembling a trampoline park !! The receptionist (lovely) contacted the deputy manager & he was about to take a single bed up to our room (314). When the deputy manager arrived we told him we were not stopping in that small dark depressing room for three nights. He had two options :- Refund us and we were about to book somewhere else or find us a room in the hotel that would pass our inspection. To be fair he listened & did find us another room in the sister hotel next door. The difference was night & day. Spacious room still I little dated but passable & on first impression the bathroom was awesome. Huge in size with a bath & shower & a very impressive wet room with slate floor. However even though it looked clean on closer inspection it wasn’t immaculate. In the grout between the black smaller tiles under the shower, there grouting was a pinky colour which covered a vast area, roughly from floor around two feet up the tiles. This pink discolouration is actually body fat. I know this from professional experience. I didn’t want to appear a right pain in the arse so I bought a toothbrush & spray bleach and cleaned it myself. So if the hotel were wondering why these items were left in the bathroom, there for future use ….and I didn’t charge Overall Rochester I wouldn’t consider it but the wellington next door, yes I would as the staff were so lovely. But your rooms do need attention & your attention to cleaning
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
Helpful
Share
Anna-marie J wrote a review Dec 2021
1 contribution
I stayed here the other day, staff chatty and helpful. They rang taxis and kept my luggage safe so I could wander the next day. Plenty toiletries, nice shower. Reminded me of a hotel one would find in Paris … cosy and old fashioned but very very clean. The breakfast was amazing at the sister hotel a stone throw away. Plenty of delicious food. I would definatly stay again !
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Sarah Ermisch, General Manager at The Rochester by Blue Orchid
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Anna-marie J, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Rochester hotel by Blue Orchid Hotels. We are delighted that we fully satisfied your expectations and glad that you liked the services provided by the staff and found the food delicious. Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Until then, we remain With kind regards, Blue Orchid Guest Relations
Read more
Emma32Ireland wrote a review Dec 2021
Ireland34 contributions43 helpful votes
After reading so many negative reviews I nearly cancelled booking, however I was glad I did not. The reception/check in staff were lovely and professional. Lift was fast, never had to wait. My room was a bit on the small side with a single bed, this was my only fault with hotel. I would have preferred a double, just because I travelled alone should not mean I get the small room. However it was bright, warm and clean. The en suite was good with bath and shower and usual toiletries. The furniture in the room was well worn but still serviceable. Kettle and hairdryer in room. Wifi was very good. Location is great, only a 7 minute walk to Victoria Station and bus to Westfield Shopping Centre £2. The restaurant was closed in the hotel, but used its sister hotels restaurant for dinner and was delicious and a lovely hotel also next door. Nice bar area in the hotel, cosy. Everywhere was clean. All staff were friendly. I was quite happy. Hard to believe the negative reviews.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021
Helpful
Share
Response from Sarah Ermisch, General Manager at The Rochester by Blue Orchid
Responded Dec 1, 2021
Dear Emma32Ireland, We are very pleased to read your feedback and are delighted that we fully satisfied your expectations. Thank you for your kind words for the staff; the team puts in a lot of effort to ensure every guest has a comfortable stay. We take this opportunity to thank you for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Until then, we remain With kind regards, Blue Orchid Guest Relations
Read more
Emily H wrote a review Nov 2021
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom18 contributions11 helpful votes
I had the unfortunate experience of staying here for two nights. I was initially provided with a room directly opposite the bar with bed that pulls down out the wall and had a suspicious white mark on the bed throw, after speaking to reception I was offered the room next door which again had a bed that pulled down out of the wall which I declined. The beds were low and thin and not what I would expect from a "four star" hotel. I was then given a room on the 4th floor. I gave up after my 3rd room option and accepted but the bed was uncomfortable and can only be described as feeling like an overstuffed cardboard box. The room was cold and felt grubby. There was no iron or ironing board, furniture was dated and damaged and the bathroom was dirty and dated. Marks on switches and no plugs near the bedside. The rubber non-slip bath mats in the rooms I was put in were all yellow and perishing. The carpets throughout the rooms and hotel were old, stained and tired as was the decor. Lampshades along hallways were cracked and had burn stains. Breakfast was a joke, the one hot option was porridge and the cold options were very limited and of poor quality. I was offered toast which was cold and clearly cheap, thin bread. Coffee was dreadful I couldn't stomach more than a mouthful. The only edible option was an oat/yoghurt pot but not worth the additional cost. I've read reviews of the hotel claiming a return but that's been said since 2020 and we're now at the end of 2021 and the chain have clearly done nothing about the concerns which tells you all you need to know about their idea of customer service. I will not stay again, even if it was complimentary.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021Trip type: Traveled on business
Room Tip: Avoid the hotel
See more room tips
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Sarah Ermisch, General Manager at The Rochester by Blue Orchid
Responded Dec 16, 2021
Dear Emily, Thank you for taking the time to write to us following your recent stay at the Rochester hotel. Upon arrival at the hotel you were provided a Superior Double room in accordance with your reservation. The room has a fit for purpose bespoke bed enabling the room to occasionally be utilised as a syndicate room. When you expressed your disappointment with the room provided, we understand that the receptionist offered you an alternative Superior room. We regret however that your expectations were not fully satisfied on this occasion. Please accept our apologies for any inconvenience which may have been caused. Please note that all bathmats and mattress protectors were replaced in the past few weeks and new mattresses have also arrived this week. All rooms have been deep cleaned, including carpets. Continental breakfast consists of: Selection of fresh and dried fruits, selection of cold meats and cheeses, pots of Granola and fruit, yoghurts, boiled eggs, cereals, bread rolls, toast, croissants, pastries, tea, coffee and juices. Alternatively a hot English breakfast is served at the adjoining Wellington hotel at an additional cost. We regret any short comings at the restaurant; however, please be assured that all of your comments have been noted and escalated to our Talent and Training Management team, together with the Food and Beverage Manager for them to address internally in our constant endeavour to improve and enhance the service offered to our valued guests. We have subsequently communicated directly with you and we hope that we have resolved the situation to your satisfaction. Kind regards, Blue Orchid Guest Relations
Read more
Sophia A wrote a review Nov 2021
1 contribution2 helpful votes
There are thieves in the hotel, my money is gone!!!! What a shame !!!!!! You search customers' bags instead of doing your job. The day i arrived my room was not ready, il had to wait to have a cleaned room but to stole me you didn't waste time, did you!!! It's scandalous!!! Disgusting!!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021Trip type: Traveled on business
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Sarah Ermisch, General Manager at The Rochester by Blue Orchid
Responded Nov 14, 2021
Daer Q9646EJsophiaa, We regret to hear about your experience, however, we are unable to comment on your particular feedback as the details are unknown or verifiable. Please contact us on guestrelations@blueorchid.com in order that we may address your concerns personally and we assure you of our best attention. Kind regards, Blue Orchid Guest Relations
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$123 - $266 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
grange rochester london, hotel grange rochester
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandLondonWestminster
NUMBER OF ROOMS
76
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Rochester by Blue Orchid
Which popular attractions are close to The Rochester by Blue Orchid?
Nearby attractions include Westminster Cathedral (0.1 miles), Apollo Victoria Theatre (0.3 miles), and Wicked (0.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The Rochester by Blue Orchid?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at The Rochester by Blue Orchid?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and complimentary tea during their stay.
What are some restaurants close to The Rochester by Blue Orchid?
Conveniently located restaurants include Chez Antoinette Victoria, Mio Restaurant, and The Vincent Rooms Brasserie, Bar & Escoffier Restaurant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Rochester by Blue Orchid?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness center during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Rochester by Blue Orchid?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does The Rochester by Blue Orchid offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to a business center and meeting rooms during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at The Rochester by Blue Orchid?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, French, and German.
Are there any historical sites close to The Rochester by Blue Orchid?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Churchill War Rooms (0.6 miles), Tower of London (2.8 miles), and Houses of Parliament (0.6 miles).
Does The Rochester by Blue Orchid have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the park view available here.