We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Grosvenor Hotel

Traveler (1890)
360
Panoramas (20)
Videos (2)

About

#400 of 1,120 hotels in London
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Finding an ideal romantic hotel in London does not have to be difficult. Stay in four-star luxury at The Grosvenor Hotel London, for stunning settings, fantastic service and contemporary comfort. The Grosvenor Hotel is a great destination for tourists, within walking distance to some of London’s most popular landmarks, such as Buckingham Palace and St James’s Park. Rooms at The Grosvenor Hotel offer sumptuous Hypnos® beds, flat screen TVs, international plug sockets and fast, free WiFi.
Read more
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Nightclub / DJ
Car hire
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
24-hour security
Free internet
Wifi
Public wifi
Internet
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Room service
Safe
Telephone
Iron
Laptop safe
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Historic Hotel
Centrally Located
Languages Spoken
English, French, Russian, Spanish and 6 more
Hotel links
Visit hotel website
Hotel deals

Location

Full view
100Great for walkers
Grade: 100 out of 100
223Restaurantswithin 0.3 miles
24Attractionswithin 0.3 miles
Neighborhood
Pimlico
Time spent in Pimlico is a slower-paced affair than most other Central London neighborhoods. This largely residential area orderly arranged beside the Thames, is a treasure trove of quaint pubs, subtle architectural charms and local boutiques. Here, art lovers thrill at the chance to visit the world class Tate Britain gallery for its collection of British art from the 1500s to the present. For peace and quiet and some downtime spent along the Thames, Pimlico is highly recommended.
Read more
See all nearby hotels
5,717Reviews
153Q+A
100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 2,874
  • 1,804
  • 654
  • 251
  • 134
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More languages
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
. Rooms absolutely disgusting our mattress was so stained it needed burning all the bedding and pillows were stained. This us now 9pm after arriving from LA. Moved us to a deluxe room the bedding had to be changed as it was stained. Housekeeping changed it. Now a hole in the sheet. The greeting at reception was cold to say the least. I wouldn't even rate this hotel. It was the worst place I have ever stayed and the manager didn't really care only showed some concern after I was shouting out loud in reception. Talked to another couple who had a similar problem. Don't go here.
Read more
My daughter and I were recently in London for 4 nights and decided on this hotel because of it was right next to the Victoria Palace ( and we had tickets for Hamilton) plus Victoria station is next next door ( and we had planned to take train trips to places like Brighton). In addition this hotel is part of the Goaman hotel and we had the year before stayed at the Royal Horseguards another hotel run by Goaman which was absolutely fabulous. The pictures of the foyer of the Grosvenor looked impressive. The first problem was we arrived at the hotel to find steps were the only way up and given we had a lot of luggage this made things really difficult. We managed to get to the foyer and despite it not being busy ( we arrived about 11am) and both my daughter and clearly having a lot of luggage not one staff member even had the courtesy to ask if we needed a hand so not a great first impression given not easy access and unhelpful staff. The impression of not very client focus staff continued when I checked in- no real warmth. The room wasn’t ready ( which was fair enough given we were early) so we came back later and was served by someone else. One of the things I asked was where the gym was ( I happen to be one of those people who does a sweat session everyday and one of the prerequisites of any hotel is there is a gym which the website of the Grosvenor indicated it had). I was told the gym was under renovation - I did point out that this should have been noted on the website particularly as I am sure I am not unique in using guns while on holidays. When I expressed this view the person who had checked me said words to the effect “ it’s lovely weather so better to be outside”. That’s fine for someone like me who runs but would not be suitable for someone who did other forms of exercise like my daughter so I have We arrived with lots of luggage to find only steep stairs to to say I didn’t really appreciate the comment. The person the did offer reimbursement if I used a nearby gym. Anyway we got to our room ( again with no offer of help with our suitcases). To my dismay it was along the corridor with the hotels meeting rooms and the public toilet was just besides it. Given it was about 1.30ish and a lunch break there were people using the toilet and the possible noise from traffic from meetings certainly did not inspire a lot of confidence in me. In addition the toilet had not been properly cleaned and was not in the best state. In addition there was no hot water and my daughter was forced to have a cold shower- not very pleasant. She also mentioned there was only one towel hanging in the bathroom. I went down and spoke to the manager with concerns about the location and cleanliness of the room and lack of hot water who indicated that the hotel was full so she could not move me to that night but would get housekeeping to the room. She mentioned that there was some maintenance work going out and the hot water had been affected ( something not mentioned when we checked in). Someone did come and cleaned the toilet. We went out and came back later that evening ( about 6). There was still no hot water. In addition I actually noticed one of the pillows was stained. I stripped the pillow and took the case down to reception noting there was still no hot water. When we came back after seeing Hamilton and hoping to have a hot shower to our dismay there still was no hot water. I rang down noting this was the third time I had raised the issue ( the night manager said a couple of other rooms had had issues but these had been fixed so jorva whole building issue which was what I was told earlier). I waited for about 10 minutes- nothing happened so ended up ringing and saying I needed to go to bed as it was already close to 11. The problem was not fixed the next morning which meant a cold shower for me after a long run- a very unpleasant experience. By that stage I had enough and went downstairs pretty much wanting to move from the hotel because I had to deal with an unclean room cold showers and totally unhelpful staff( I had set out all that happened as the list would be too long) and waste a lot of my precious time dealing with issue after issue. I actually asked for a refund and to moved to the Royal Horseguards but unfortunately that hotel was full. They did at the end of this sorry saga move me to a recently renovated room and gave me access to the Executive lounge but I have the say the first 48 hours did little to inspire me to ever recommend this hotel. The only thing going for this hotel is its location. It might be fine if you get a decent room but don’t expect that or to get good friendly customer service.
Read more
Pleasant stay and would return. SO convenient for Victoria Station. Room excellent but bathroom a bit small. Food good. Ambience with those tall ceilings and chandeliers excellent. Would recommend, and come back again.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Response from NatashaL1745, General Manager at The Grosvenor Hotel
Responded 3 days ago
Dear Reviewer, Thanks for your post. We are delighted you had a pleasant experience with us; thank you for your recommendation. We hope you wont leave it too long to return. Kind regards, Natasha
Read more
Stayed there in December and the stay was great was disappointed this time as the rooms needed updating the TV was not clear and no one at the hotel tells us how to adjust the air conditioning and we were uncomfortable sleeping. However the location of the hotel is ideal this is why we return to this hotel
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Response from NatashaL1745, General Manager at The Grosvenor Hotel
Responded 3 days ago
Dear Reviewer, Thanks for your post. I was sorry to read that your recent stay was not great. We are actually in the process of upgrading all aspects of our hotel, which includes our televisions and our team are always available to assist with any enquiries. We hope you will return in the future and like our new updated rooms. Kind regards, Natasha
Read more
The staff gets 5 stars, the food 4 stars (great breakfast) but the technology gets a 1 star. The internet is weak and intermittent and not capable of streaming video. We were here 6 nights and the TV didn’t work and wasn’t repaired after 2 requests, just a note left saying there were ongoing maintenance issues. This was not a huge issue as we were sightseeing, but it was a bit surprising that it couldn’t be fixed in 6 days, I’ve stayed in a lot of hotels and never run into that before. If you like this central location, this hotel is good, but it is certainly not a 4 star hotel. I’ve seen a lot of recent reviews saying the same and I’m sure management is tired of responding to them.
Read more
Response from NatashaL1745, General Manager at The Grosvenor Hotel
Responded 3 days ago
Dear Reviewer, Thanks for sharing your experience and I am sorry that we did not live up to our reputation of offering high standards and service on this occasion. We have recently embarked on renovating all aspects of our hotel including upgrading our televisions and I apologise that we were unable to fix the fault for you. We are very excited about our current refurbishment works and hope you will return on another occasion. Kind regards, Natasha
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$212 - $452 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
the grosvenor, london hotel london, grosvenor hotel london, thistle victoria
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandLondonPimlico
NUMBER OF ROOMS
345
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing