We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Royal National Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Expert photos
Royal National Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

7,131 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Royal National Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 3,244: English reviews
Durham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We travel on a works outing to London at least once a year from the North East and always stay in a Russell Square Hotel. Previously we have stayed in either the President or the Tavistock, it was our first time in the Royal National. We had a twin room , which was fine for the price we paid, it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank chrissypp
Tel Aviv, Israel
Reviewed 1 week ago

We have been there for 3 nights on November 2016 The room size was ok. We had twin room, and another room with extra bed. The rooms were clean. Small TV, but we didn’t need it.no refrigerator in the room, and my mom needed it for her insulin. So we made a request in the reception, and in one hour...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank IrisGefenShave
ImperialLondonHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Royal National Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Many thanks for your comments regarding your stay at our Royal National Hotel. We are delighted to note that overall you enjoyed your stay, found your room adequate and you appreciated our central location, with many means of transport located nearby. We would advise you to contact us directly in order to request a refrigerator, so that this...

Saint Louis, Missouri
Reviewed 1 week ago

Affordable, crowded rooms, not necessarily the cleanest. No one stays at this hotel because of its comfort level. If you are going to London to see London, this room will be just fine. Check out the pub on the main level!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kelleyaelliott
ImperialLondonHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Royal National Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at our Royal National Hotel. We are pleased to note that overall you enjoyed your stay, found your room adequate and you visited our popular London Pub. Equally, all our rooms are serviced daily and our housekeeping office is open from 8am to 10pm to address any concerns you may...

Easington, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The location of the hotel is very good. My room was very clean and well maintained. Because of its sheer size the corridors can be very confusing, but all floors are well serviced by modern lifts. The buffet breakfast has a wide variety of choice. As with most buffets the heat of the food could vary. At the walk in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Al R
ImperialLondonHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Royal National Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at our Royal National Hotel. We are pleased to note that overall you enjoyed your stay, our English breakfast, found our rooms are well maintained and you appreciated the cleanliness of our rooms. We hope to be able to welcome you back to our Royal National Hotel again in the...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The staff is not welcoming, arguing in front of customers and get annoyed when you ask questions. There was an elderly couple who didnt speak English as their native language. They lady at the desk told them to step out the line and make up their mind; they just wanted to check in The room is small and very dirty,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rune M
ImperialLondonHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Royal National Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at our Royal National Hotel. We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. All our rooms are serviced daily by our vigilant and thorough housekeeping staff and we were disappointed to learn of your feedback. As our rooms are serviced every day, we would...

Reviewed 1 week ago

Room okay, but for three people in one room there were only 2 plug points.otherwise clean and comfortable. But as for the breakfast. It was like a very noisy school canteen, queuing to get in, queing for food tea and coffee, queing to share tables. Breakfast was ok, but the tea and coffee were dreadful! As I said.......you get what...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Frances L
ImperialLondonHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Royal National Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at our Royal National Hotel. We are pleased to note that overall you enjoyed your stay, our English breakfast, found your room comfortable and you appreciated the cleanliness of our rooms. Equally, we will be sure to pass your feedback regarding our tea and coffee onto our purchasing department in...

Dundee, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We had stayed here before and had not been back in years. Then we decided on returning on a recent trip to London for a long weekend. The rooms are adequate and there are a lot of them to boot. However, lots of rooms mean lots of people. The breakfast room can't cope and there were queues every morning out...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sand M
ImperialLondonHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Royal National Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at our Royal National Hotel. We are pleased to note that overall you enjoyed your stay and you found your room adequate. Equally, we have reiterated the importance of our breakfast staff directing guests to one of our other three breakfast rooms, in order to minimise queues, so we apologise...

Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

I will Never never never stay here again. Had our 3 course evening meal in the Windsor Bar ! The staff were very aloof and very rude .Breakfast was a free for all bun fight! Not enough chairs and tables . Food was in short supply and I waited for 20mins for toast ! Next morning the queue was. Through...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Colin M
ImperialLondonHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Royal National Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at our Royal National Hotel. We are sorry to hear that overall you did not enjoy your stay. We are sorry to hear that our staff came across as dismissive, we have spoken to all breakfast staff to ensure they remain attentive and courteous to all our guests at all...

Sunderland, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

This is a hotel we have stayed in before as a family and has positives coupled with a few negatives and with my reviews give a very honest opinion warts and all. It is a hotel that is well placed for many attractions and a little cheaper than a lot of mainstream hotels. It is a pleasant 15 minute walk...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stewart B
ImperialLondonHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Royal National Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at our Royal National Hotel. We are pleased to note that overall you enjoyed your stay, our staff were attentive and courteous and you appreciated our value for money in such a central location, only a five minute walk to the British Museum, a ten minute walk to Camden Market...

Doncaster, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I didn't like this hotel at all. Yes, it's in great proximity to Kings Cross but it's horrible inside. For a start, there's a smell that lingers inside the lobby when you walk in, the queues for check in are always long & you are constantly being herded in one direction or another. It is my mistake to book this...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lissblissx
ImperialLondonHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Royal National Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at our Royal National Hotel. We are pleased to note that overall you appreciated our central location, within close proximity to Kings Cross Station and you found our rooms adequate. Equally, we advise our guests to upgrade to our popular English breakfast, if they would like more of a variety...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

1,334 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (1207)
Viewed
Bathroom (144)
Viewed
Room/Suite (312)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (252)
Viewed
View from Room (47)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (7)
Viewed
Dining (30)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (413)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (115)
Viewed
Amenities (5)
Viewed
Double Room (25)
Viewed
Dining (32)
Viewed
The Hotel (53)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
President Hotel
President Hotel
#528 of 1,078 in London
3,108 reviews
Bloomsbury
Tavistock Hotel
Tavistock Hotel
#557 of 1,078 in London
2,396 reviews
Bloomsbury
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#556 of 1,078 in London
1,841 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Holiday Inn London Bloomsbury
Notting Hill
La Suite West - Hyde Park
La Suite West - Hyde Park
#437 of 1,078 in London
568 reviews
Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Tune Hotel Kings Cross
Tune Hotel Kings Cross
#344 of 1,078 in London
3,071 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Bloomsbury

Neighborhood Profile
Bloomsbury
Snuggly nestled within Central London is academic and leafy Bloomsbury, an area that boasts walking distance access to many of London's most popular attractions. It is also home to some of Britain's most celebrated museums, including the must-see British Museum. Despite an understandable popularity with students, tourists and day trippers, vast sections of Bloomsbury retain a quiet, residential feel year round and throughout the week.
Explore this neighborhood
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A unique and lively hotel with unparalleled facilities and direct London Underground link with Heathrow Airport. The Royal National offers a variety of drinking and dining options including a pizzeria, carvery, pub, bar and a coffee shop. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Royal National Hotel

Address: 38-51 Bedford Way, London WC1H 0DG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Price Range: $84 - $154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal National Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 1630
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Travelocity and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Royal National Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal National London
Hotel Royal National
Hotel National Royal
National Hotel London
Royal National Hotel London, England
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Royal National Hotel staff and other travelers.
132 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (132)

Questions? Get answers from Royal National Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Request street facing room”
 of 5 bubbles ShabeerI, yesterday | Read review
“Book another. Hotel”
 of 5 bubbles colinm754, 1 week ago | Read review
“Pick the room far away from the main street”
 of 5 bubbles Kreikkafani, 3 weeks ago | Read review
“Have the full English breakfast”
 of 5 bubbles jennyf420, 4 weeks ago | Read review
“The higher the floor, the better the view”
 of 5 bubbles alexrJ5674LN, 4 weeks ago | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay