We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Sanctuary House Hotel

3 people are viewing this hotel
Check In— / — / —
Check Out— / — / —
Guests1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
Traveler (503)
360
Panoramas (6)
Videos (1)
Certificate of Excellence

About

#207 of 1,120 hotels in London
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Certificate of Excellence
In the heart of Westminster stands the Sanctuary House - our grand hotel and Ale & Pie pub that offers fine food, warm hospitality and top class accommodation. You’ll find all the comforts of home, from our beautifully-appointed bedrooms to Fuller’s proper pies and pints. All our stylish bedrooms are available with en suite bathrooms, flatscreen TVs and little luxuries to help you enjoy a special stay in Westminster. As a Fuller’s Ale & Pie House, we are famous for our fantastic homemade pies - an authentic taste of London. There's chef's specials too, and an ever-changing bar menu. One of the best hotels near Big Ben, the Sanctuary House is just a couple of minutes walk away. The most famous sight in Britain, virtually on our doorstep.
Read more
Property amenities
Restaurant
Room service
Bar/Lounge
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Dry Cleaning
Laundry Service
Non-smoking hotel
Wheelchair access
Room features
Air conditioning
Non-smoking rooms
Smoking rooms available
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Charming
Classic
Hotel links
Visit hotel website

Location

Full view
100Great for walkers
Grade: 100 out of 100
110Restaurantswithin 0.3 miles
47Attractionswithin 0.3 miles
Neighborhood
Westminster
If you only had an afternoon to experience London on a grand scale, Westminster would be a wise place to start. The ornate Houses of Parliament and Westminster Abbey sit adjacent at a corner of Parliament Square, and a short stroll along The Mall leads to Buckingham Palace. Trafalgar Square and Nelson's Column are just up the road as well. As captivating as the architecture is, the wonders of Mother Nature are highlights of the area too. St James's Park (arguably London's loveliest), the expansive Green Park, and pedestrian friendly tree lined paths along the river showcase the exquisite manicure provided by English gardeners. Just beyond the landmarks and the gorgeous outdoor spaces, quiet residential squares and age old local pubs offer a more subdued take on this global seat of power in the heart of London.
Read more
See all nearby hotels
1,701Reviews
27Q+A
100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 865
  • 651
  • 119
  • 44
  • 23
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More languages
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
We stayed only one night but we know that we will come back! Nice hotel, excellent location, fantastic staff! The beds were so comfortables :) And the real english breakfast was the best. Highly recommended!
Read more
Response from SanctuaryHouseHotel, Reception Manager at The Sanctuary House Hotel
Responded yesterday
Dear ZsuzsannaBauer, thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, every feedback from our guests is highly appreciated, and we are glad we made your stay so nice to give us a full score. We are really happy you enjoyed the style of the hotel and the staff and we are looking forward to welcoming you to our hotel once again. Kind regards, Valentina Guscioni, Reception Manager
Read more
Perfect & quite location. Incredibly clean room,towels&sheets. Hosbitable,helpful& smiling personel.Wonderful & fresh breakfast. The hotel perfectly meets a family's all needs. Certainly come again. (Room number is 106)
Read more
Response from SanctuaryHouseHotel, Reception Manager at The Sanctuary House Hotel
Responded 5 days ago
Dear alinonar, Thank you so much for such an amazing review, it is always a pleasure to help our customers in any way we can to make their stay pleasant and convenient We are glad you enjoyed your time at The Sanctuary House, thank you for all the nice comments we will be happy to give the feedback to our team. Looking forward to welcoming you to our hotel once again. Kind regards, Valentina Guscioni, Reception Manager
Read more
Positives: We stayed here for a night when attending Celine Dion concert in Hyde Park. Location wise it was perfect as was a short, straight walk to the venue and was also an easy walk from train station. No noise at night time. Room nice and clean, bed comfy and free use of Nespresso machine and capsules and a beer in the fridge was a nice touch. The negatives: 1) upon checking in the receptionist didn't say a word to us apart from to tell us what room number we were in and what time breakfast was. Not a friendly welcome at all. Overall the staff were not v friendly. We noticed from the signs that breakfast wasn't until 8am, but the receptionist confirmed it was 7am - perfect as 8am was too late for train home. We confirmed 7am and she said yes. When we checked out at 7am we were told breakfast was at 8am. When we explained what the receptionist told us the day before the girl told us it wasn't possible and that the signs said 8 and asked if we were sure we heard right. She wouldn't believe us when we told her the receptionist gave us wrong info. So we got up extra early for a breakfast that wasn't on. Disappointed. 2) the milk in the fridge was in date but smelt very off. The maintenance man replaced it straight away for us so can't complain, but just check your milk first. 3) there were 2 shower heads, one of them when turned on literally sprayed the room like a loose hose, flooding the room. So the shower was interrupted by having to wipe the pool of water on the floor - also not great if you don't want to wet your hair... Soaked.
Read more
Response from SanctuaryHouseHotel, Reception Manager at The Sanctuary House Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Ashley, Thank you for taking the time to review us and bring this to my attention. First of all, please accept our sincerest apologies that you were not able to enjoy your stay as much as we hoped you would. Regarding the breakfast time I will be looking into your comments with the front desk team and make sure that it does not happen again. Please be reassured that I will talk to the housekeeping and maintenance team regarding the milk and shower head. Here at the Sanctuary House we welcome all guest critique as this allows us to focus our attentions on areas that require improvement when refurbishing our product, the services and facilities we introduce and the training we implement for the team so thank you again for your feedback. Kind regards, Valentina Guscioni, Reception Manager
Read more
Spent one night here as we were attending a concert at the Brixton Academy, and this hotel is pretty close. Check in was really easy , as was check out. The room was fine, although the bathroom was rather small, and I found the shower quite difficult to negotiate and ended up with lots of water on the floor ! But it was ok for one nights stay. Breakfast is served in the pub downstairs, a good buffet selection, and hot items cooked fresh to order. I had eggs benedict, lovely soft poached eggs, but the sauce was reminiscent of salad cream? Had to pay extra for a cappuccino, but filter coffee was free. I’d stay here again, but probably skip Breakfast and eat out.
Read more
Response from SanctuaryHouseHotel, Reception Manager at The Sanctuary House Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear 625teresa, Thank you for your good review. First of all, please accept our sincerest apologies that you were not able to enjoy your breakfast as much as we hoped you would. Please be reassured that I will be looking into your comments with the kitchen team. I do hope you return to give our chefs a second chance to show you what their service is capable of. Thank you again for your feedback. Kind regards, Valentina Guscioni, Reception Manager
Read more
Good location. Great food and so handy to have hotel downstairs and tube up the road. Upon arrival, and every interaction with desk staff, was terrible. They were cold and unhelpful. We had to ask a dozen questions to get the answers we needed. The shift managers don’t seem to communicate with each other. Looking forward to a new hotel next visit.
Read more
Response from SanctuaryHouseHotel, Reception Manager at The Sanctuary House Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Anne, Thank you for your review. First of all, please accept our sincerest apologies that you were not able to enjoy your stay as much as we hoped you would. Our customer service is mostly very much appreciated therefore it is disappointing to read that in this occasion we were unable to deliver the Sanctuary House Hotel’s high standards. Please accept my sincerest apologies for any problems you may have encountered during your stay and please be reassured that I will be looking into your comments with the team. Kind Regards Valentina Guscioni, Reception Manager
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$211 - $314 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
sanctuary hotel london, the sanctuary hotel
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandLondonWestminster
NUMBER OF ROOMS
34
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing