We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Darlington Hyde Park

Save
Share
111-117 Sussex Gardens Paddington, London W2 2RU England
Update from hotel: This property has indicated that they are taking safety precautions against COVID-19 and is temporarily closed until 01/31/2021.Read more
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Snaptravel
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
Booking.com
View all 12 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (518)
Room & Suite (212)
Dining (41)
Travel safe during COVID-19
A note from The Darlington Hyde Park
Updated 05/15/20

About

#251 of 1,154 hotels in London
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travelers' Choice
The Darlington Hyde Park is located in the Paddington Hyde Park area of London, less than a 5-minute walk from the Heathrow Express terminal at Paddington station. This 40-bedroom former stately Victorian terraced town house conversion offers high standard accommodation with modern facilities, which ensure that the expectations of both business and leisure travellers alike are fully met. The Darlington Hyde Park prides itself on being a strictly non-smoking establishment. Our aim is to make your stay with us as enjoyable as possible and to be helpful in making your visit to London memorable. The cleanliness of our rooms and facilities is also very important to us, and we know that it is also essential to our guests, many of who have returned to stay with us over the years.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Taxi service
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Self-serve laundry
Wifi
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary instant cofffee
Complimentary tea
Show more
Room features
Desk
Housekeeping
Safe
Telephone
Coffee / tea maker
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Value
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish, Czech, Hungarian and 2 more
2,488Reviews42Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 1,166
  • 1,043
  • 216
  • 44
  • 19
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
DGS2002 wrote a review Apr 2020
104 contributions75 helpful votes
Our family of four stayed here in a quad room. We stayed in the large quad with one queen and two single beds. It was perfect. The bathroom was a little on the small side, but the room was large enough. The location of the hotel was great, easy walk to Paddington Station (5 minutes). The street itself is very nice and felt safe. There are restaurants nearby. The breakfast included was quite good, the only complaint there may be that service wasn't always super speedy so you just needed to work that into your schedule.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2019
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Dominika G, Manager at The Darlington Hyde Park
Responded Apr 29, 2020
Dear DGS2002, Thank you very much for choosing The Darlington Hyde Park and for taking the time to share your feedback on Trip Advisor. We were very pleased to read that you and your family enjoyed your stay in one of our quadruple rooms. We were delighted that you found the hotel and the room comfortable, in a good location and with good breakfast. Thank you for your comments regarding the service- we will take them on board and work with our team on improvement. We appreciate all the comments from our guests as they really help us to improve our service and amenities. Thank you again for ythis lovely review and please do not hesitate to contact us directly in the future when planning a trip to London. Stay safe! My kindest regards, Dominika Gozdzik, Hotel Manager
Read more
Maureen N wrote a review Mar 2020
Abbotsford, Canada2 contributions3 helpful votes
We would definitely stay here again. Our room was very clean and comfortable. The included breakfast was excellent - a nice hot breakfast and a variety of continental breakfast items on the breakfast bar. You can't beat the location. It's quiet yet only a 5 minutes walk to the Paddington Underground station and Paddington train station. Great value for the money.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: February 2020
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Dominika G, Manager at The Darlington Hyde Park
Responded Mar 20, 2020
Dear Maureen N, Thank you very much for writing such a lovely review here on Trip Advisor. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us including our cleanliness, breakfast and location. Your recommendation of The Darlington Hyde Park to others is greatly appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you back in The Darlington on your next visit. Do not hesitate to contact us directly for the availability and best discounted rates. Best regards, Dominika Gozdzik, Hotel Manager
Read more
rwessru73 wrote a review Mar 2020
Winston Salem, North Carolina18 contributions38 helpful votes
This is my fourth stay at the Darlington and was all I expected. Hotel is convenient to Paddington station and tube to all london sites. Hospitable staff and clean rooms. Substantial breakfast included. If you are looking for good value at a convenient location this is your place.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Traveled with friends
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Dominika G, Manager at The Darlington Hyde Park
Responded Mar 20, 2020
Dear rwessru73, Thank you very much for coming back to The Darlington Hyde Park fourth time and for writing such a lovely review on Trip Advisor. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us again including our convenient location, cleanliness, service provided by the team and breakfast. Thank you for recommending our property to others, it is greatly appreciated. We hope to see you again soon! Kind regards, Dominika Gozdzik, Hotel Manager
Read more
FrostieTromso_Norway wrote a review Mar 2020
Tromso, Norway199 contributions101 helpful votes
This is a really wonderful small and cosy hotel! The breakfast was very good. We could order what we wanted from the english breakfast menu. The staff was great! The location is very good in Paddington. Near Hyde park and Paddington. Highly recommended.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019Trip type: Traveled with family
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Dominika G, Manager at The Darlington Hyde Park
Responded Mar 8, 2020
Dear FrostieTromso_Norway, I am so delighted to read your recent review on your stay in The Darlington Hyde Park Hotel. The positive feedback like yours encourages the management and operation team to even harder work which is appreciated by our guests. I hope we will have an opportunity to welcome you back to The Darlington Hyde Park on your return to London. Please contact us directly for availability and the best rates. Warm regards, Dominika Gozdzik, Hotel Manager
Read more
Brenda D wrote a review Feb 2020
6 contributions1 helpful vote
TOXIC FUMES ABOUD! Not only was the state of this hotel one that I would not wish upon anyone, but the customer service was deplorable. There are toxic paint fumes in the rooms. So bad in fact, that I could not even sleep. I had the bathroom fan on, a room fan, and the windows open. Seeing a rat trap outside of the window made me quickly close the window though. As I was meant to stay another two nights, I asked to be put in another room. They were resistant but agreed. I asked if it TOO had been recently painted, they said that yes it had- about a month ago, the same as the room I had the first night. Not wanting to inhale more toxic fumes and go without sleep, I asked to cancel my (prepaid) booking. They only refunded one of the two nights, which they said they did not even have to do. I insisted that they refund both and they grew increasingly more inconsiderate. Stay elsewhere.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled on business
Room Tip: None- they are filled with toxic paint fumes!
See more room tips
1 Repost
Helpful
Share
Response from Dominika G, Manager at The Darlington Hyde Park
Responded Mar 4, 2020
Dear Ms Delany, Thank you for taking time to post review of The Darlington Hyde Park Hotel on Trip Advisor, Google and Facebook. I am most grateful for your feedback which is a valuable source of information for us, regardless of whether it is good or bad. It helps us monitor the service we provide. I was saddened to learn that your stay with us was such a disappointment. Your first booking was for 1 night in a double room and when you arrived you were given an early check-in as the room was ready however after a few minutes in the room you approached the reception saying the room was too near the lift and asked for a change of room which we were able to arrange. However the next morning you stated that you couldn’t sleep and you felt sick from the paint smell but as you had not made any complaints till the next morning there was nothing we could have done to alleviate the situation. Your second booking was for a twin room booked under the non- refundable offer (for the 2nd & 3rd night). This room was on another floor and had been painted before January 2020 and many guests had already stayed in it without complaint of it smelling of paint. You stated that you didn’t want to stay with us for the other 2 nights without even bothering to test the twin room for any smell of paint. We were sorry to hear that and reminded you that this room was booked under the non-refundable conditions and it had been already charged and couldn’t be cancelled with no good reason. You asked if we could cancel and refund the money to you otherwise you will have to leave a bad review for the hotel. After a discussion, we agreed on a compromise to refund 1 night and reassured you that you have the right to leave a review following your stay with us whether good or bad. Once again, my sincere apologies for your disappointment after your recent stay with us and we very much hope that you could give The Darlington Hyde Park the opportunity in the future to restore your faith in the hotel and us. Kind regards, Dominika Gozdzik, Hotel Manager
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$120 - $229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
the darlington hyde park hotel london, darlington hyde park london
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandLondon
NUMBER OF ROOMS
40
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Darlington Hyde Park
Which popular attractions are close to The Darlington Hyde Park?
Nearby attractions include Paddington Station (0.2 miles), Diana Princess of Wales Memorial Fountain (0.2 miles), and Serpentine Boating Lake (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The Darlington Hyde Park?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and breakfast buffet.
Which room amenities are available at The Darlington Hyde Park?
Top room amenities include a flat screen TV, a refrigerator, and a desk.
What food & drink options are available at The Darlington Hyde Park?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, complimentary tea, and free instant coffee during their stay.
What are some restaurants close to The Darlington Hyde Park?
Conveniently located restaurants include Lord Wargrave, The Victoria, and Mihbaj Cafe & Kitchen.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at The Darlington Hyde Park?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, Italian, Polish, Czech, and Hungarian.
Are there any historical sites close to The Darlington Hyde Park?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Churchill War Rooms (2.0 miles), Tower of London (4.1 miles), and Houses of Parliament (2.3 miles).