We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Goring

avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveler (767)
Room & Suite (546)
Videos (2)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#112 of 3,039 hotels in London
Location
4.8
Cleanliness
4.9
Service
4.8
Value
4.4
Travelers' Choice
Impeccably English and perfectly individual, The Goring features 69 sumptuous suites and rooms, each uniquely decorated with the finest furnishings. As the last remaining family-owned luxury hotel in London, it is renowned for its warm, intimate atmosphere and personalised service. Located in Belgravia - one of the most exclusive and elegant areas in central London - it is perfectly placed for spectacular sights and style. The iconic walls of Buckingham Palace border the district and nearby Knightsbridge, Mayfair and Sloane Street make for a fashionable stay.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid public parking on-site
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Babysitting
Airport transportation
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Parking
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast in the room
Taxi service
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Butler service
Doorperson
24-hour front desk
Private check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Shoeshine
Show more
Room features
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Telephone
Flatscreen TV
Bottled water
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Romantic
Historic Hotel
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish, German and 1 more
1877Reviews24Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 1,624
  • 168
  • 48
  • 24
  • 13
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
30Bumblebee wrote a review Nov 2023
Huddersfield, United Kingdom48 contributions12 helpful votes
+1
Most wonderful Afternoon Tea for 2 in the Veranda overlooking the private garden and lovely Christmas decorations . The sandwiches were devine and the scones just perfection . The service was impeccable too We then headed into the Bar for cocktails which were perfect ! When we were leaving the roads were gridlocked . The porters tried to establish if they could get us a Taxi . But that would have meant we would most likely have missed our Train So a Porter kindly helped us with our bags to a point where we could see the underground, he showed us the route and gave us a map , explained how many stops to Kings Cross and kindly gave us an umbrella as it was raining heavily. Thank you for such a wonderful Afternoon Tea , great cocktail’s and fabulous kind assistance on our way home . We will stay with you next time 🐝
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Michael Voigt, General Manager at The Goring
Responded 1 week ago
Dear 30Bumblebee (love the name), It was very kind of you to share your wonderful feedback about your recent experience here at The Goring on TripAdvisor. I am thrilled you had a good time and that afternoon tea went well and that you enjoyed our cocktail bar afterwards. I am so glad our team on the door took the time to walk you around the corner of the hotel to point you towards the station. Thank you again for the time and trouble you have taken to post your comments and thank you very much for your support. With warmest personal regards, Michael
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Matt wrote a review Aug 2022
Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA3 contributions5 helpful votes
Hotel's Favorite
My wife and I had rather lofty expectations of The Goring based upon their reputation, and the service and charm fully exceeded them. Despite being nervous about the British formality we might encounter at The Goring, we could not have felt more at home from check-in to check-out at The Goring. The staff does an exceptional job at truly making you feel special during your stay. This is no more evident than being greeted by name when departing for the day and when arriving back in the evening, and when to retrieve our room key from concierge (this is no regular room key, which added to the charm). We enjoyed breakfast on multiple occasions in the beautiful dining area where the service and also the meal were outstanding. A must when staying at The Goring (or in London) is afternoon tea, which was a great experience. For those wondering (as I was prior to our visit), the dress code is smart casual. Two things that were more our personal preference than outright complaints were that our bed did appear rather firm (unsure if this is standard for all rooms), and the first night the room was fairly warm (we were there during a warm time in London), although it didn't appear to be as much an an issue during the rest of our stay. Overall, if you're looking for a traditional, timeless, and charming stay in London with absolutely exceptional service, a stay at The Goring should be on your (bucket) list. After all, if it is good enough for royalty, it should be good enough for the rest of us! Thank you again to the staff at The Goring for our memorable stay, hope to see you again.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Michael Voigt, General Manager at The Goring
Responded Aug 26, 2022
Dear umnuctec09, Thank you for this most wonderful feedback on your recent stay with us here at The Goring. The team and I are delighted you enjoyed the friendly atmosphere of our family run hotel. Please do let me know personally whenever you are planning to return, I would be delighted to assist you with whatever that might be. With warmest regards, Michael
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
EP71616 wrote a review Nov 2023
New York City, New York7 contributions2 helpful votes
We have just returned from a four night stay at The Goring. What a superb stay we had. We were there for my husband's 40th birthday without our children and wanted a special hotel to celebrate. The Goring was the perfect place. It is understated and elegant. It was perfectly positioned within the lovely neighborhood of Belgravia. We were never more than a 20 min walk or 10 minute cab from any place we wanted to go to. It was a calm respite from the buzz of London. At times, we felt like we were outside the city, that is how tranquil The Goring can be! We spent a cozy afternoon having a bottle of wine and lite bites in their cocktail room by the fire. Our first night at The Goring we ate in their dining room. Outstanding meal and the beef wellington is one of the most delicious meals we have ever had. From the moment we arrived until the moment we departed, my husband and I felt well taken care of. We would not hesitate to stay at The Goring again in the future. Many thanks to the team at The Goring for a memorable 40th birthday stay!!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Get the Beef Wellington!
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Michael Voigt, General Manager at The Goring
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear EP71616, Oh thank you for that most wonderful review of your recent "Special occasion" visit to the Goring. The time and trouble you have taken to write is noted and much appreciated. The team and I are delighted you enjoyed your visit. I would agree with your comment regarding the Beef Wellington, it must be the best in the world (if I may say so myself). Please come back soon to stay and do let me know personally if I can assist you or your husband in any way in the future. With kind regards, Michael
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
AstridCB wrote a review Nov 2023
Totton, United Kingdom526 contributions157 helpful votes
My friend and I regularly meet in London for afternoon tea and decided to give The Goring Hotel a try. Afterwards we agreed that it is the best one we have had! The Goring is a beautiful, understated hotel in a lovely part of London with excellent service and a wonderful afternoon tea. We had a very nice glass of Bollinger Champagne, a delicious selection of sandwiches (with incredibly fresh bread), fruit and plain scones and some sublime mini pastries. Staff were friendly and helpful, bringing us fresh tea and additional sandwiches. The best part was the fact we didn't feel rushed in any way and, on being served fresh tea (after spending 2 hours at our table) and us paying the bill the waiting staff took our tea to the lounge where we sat and we continued to enjoy the relaxed ambience (and an additional biscuit!). Thank you for a wonderful experience, we both thoroughly recommend a visit here.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Michael Voigt, General Manager at The Goring
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear AstridCB, Thank you for having taken the time and trouble to write such wonderful feedback on your recent afternoon tea experience here at The Goring. The team and I are delighted you enjoyed it so much and hopefully you will be back on another occasion. Please do let me know personally if I can be of assistance in the future. Thank you for your support. Michael
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
BarbaraCartland wrote a review Oct 2023
Colwall, United Kingdom57 contributions58 helpful votes
We enjoyed a lovely, late lunch here with friends. Super wines, delicious food. The service is fabulous and it is like a wonderful, discrete country hotel, but in the centre of London. This is British hospitality at its best. Thank you for a lovely experience, we would happily return.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Michael Voigt, General Manager at The Goring
Responded Oct 8, 2023
Dear BarbaraCartland, Thank you for that wonderful review. The team and I are delighted you had fantastic time. Please come back soon and thank you for your support. With warmest personal regards, Michael
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Shmoo wrote a review Oct 2023
5 contributions3 helpful votes
This hotel claims to be give star and I don’t know how they get away with it. To say it’s basic is an understatement - no kettle, mini bar, snacks, iron, toothbrush. We usually stay at the Kimpton in Bloomsbury which is outstanding, but we had a very early appointment at the Embassy, so thought we’d try a closer hotel. Big mistake - more expensive for way less and the rooms look ropey - they need some tlc. Not even a separate bath/shower. Staff were pleasant but not as warm and kind as Kimpton - the bar is too high.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023Trip type: Traveled with family
Room Tip: Not luxury, just basic.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Michael Voigt, General Manager at The Goring
Responded Oct 8, 2023
Dear DEF12, Thank you for your feedback and sorry for the frustration we have caused you during your visit. We do in fact provide all of the above amenities on request. Perhaps you could let me know personally whenever you are planning to return to London. I know exactly what it takes to make your next visit memorable for all the right reasons. With warmest regards, Michael
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Jill22 wrote a review Oct 2023
11 contributions7 helpful votes
This is our 3 time at the Goring Hotel. Unfortunately the service, (except for Peter and others members at front door, ) it did change a lot. Inattentive and not so experienced personal a the reception , which don't even know your name even after 4 days! A Tall men NOT in uniform at the front door, did NOT even great us when living ( he even closed the door of our taxi and said Nothing) we were quite shocked if u think a room cost 1000 pounds per night, you do expect certain amount of attention... It's really a shame, because this used to be my favourite Hotel in London. It is quite sad.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Michael Voigt, General Manager at The Goring
Responded Oct 4, 2023
Dear 24905, Thank you for having taken the time and trouble to share your feedback about your recent stay. I am genuinely sorry for the frustration we have caused you and can promise you that what you have experienced does not represent our normally high standards. Unlike a lot of hotels we have managed to retain most of our team, even with the pandemic, and I am genuinely sorry that you did not feel the usual genuine care and warmth we are so well known for. I have addressed your comments with the team, especially the front door, and can promise you that your next visit will be memorable for all the right reasons. Perhaps you could call me directly to discuss your experience or whenever you consider to return to London. We would very much like to have you staying with us again and make up for the shortcomings you experienced this time. With warmest regards, Michael
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Miranda F wrote a review Sep 2023
1 contribution
I went to The Goring with my Aunty for my birthday, for Afternoon Tea, and it was the most wonderful experience. The food was of such a high standard and absolutely delicious, and so beautiful to look at, as the presentation was incredible. And l simply adore the yellow china they had on the crisp white linen tablecloths. It looked fabulous, and so beautifully presented on the tables. The service we had there from all the staff was excellent, from the minute we walked in to the hotel and were greeted by a very friendly face, to the impeccable service of our tea at our table. From start to finish, the whole experience made my birthday such a special day. And to top it all, l received a delightful miniature birthday cake, which was absolutely superb. Thankyou for making my birthday such a very special day.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Michael Voigt, General Manager at The Goring
Responded Sep 27, 2023
Dear mirandaf576, Its so kind of you to have taken the time and trouble to post such a magnificent review about your recent afternoon tea experience here at The Goring and many many belated congratulations on your birthday from us all. Probably best to make your visit an annual occasion (at least) and if I can assist in any way please do let me know. With warmest personal regards, Michael
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
John M wrote a review Sep 2023
Fort Lau191 contributions102 helpful votes
We absolutely love The Goring! This visit was our second time at the hotel and we had a room with the garden view. The rooms are impeccably clean and appointed. We really enjoy the lounge area for both Tea and evening cocktails. We enjoyed the Michelin star restaurant every evening, never venturing any other place. The Goring is a destination unto itself! It is conveniently located to Buckingham Palace and nearby shops. We can't wait to return!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled with family
Room Tip: Choose the garden view rooms!
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Michael Voigt, General Manager at The Goring
Responded Sep 28, 2023
Dear 140JohnM, Such a pleasure to hear your return visit went well. You are a wonderful ambassador to us and the time and trouble you have taken to post your feedback is very much appreciated. Thank you and yes please, do come back again soon. With warmest regards, Michael
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Leeder47 wrote a review Aug 2023
Duffield, United Kingdom460 contributions202 helpful votes
+1
We booked a weekend stay for our wedding anniversary. The hotel was chosen because of its close proximity to The Chelsea Flower Show. This was our first time at The Goring and I am pleased that it managed to surpass all expectations. Our room was very well appointed, with a separate bath and monsoon shower. As is often the case with 5 star in London, there was a phone in the bathroom but no tea & coffee making facilities! Our evening meal in the restaurant was beautiful, with an excellent selection of wine choices. The breakfast was equally well prepared. The bar area was excellent for cocktails, the garden (rare in the centre of London) was beautiful for an after dinner walk. Afternoon tea in the garden room was also spectacular. The staff were impeccable and had no problem in catering for a gluten free diet. We would definitely recommend The Goring for a very special stay.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Michael Voigt, General Manager at The Goring
Responded Aug 29, 2023
Dear Leeder47, Thank you for that lovely feedback on your May hotel stay. The team and I are delighted you enjoyed the service of the Hotel, the design of the rooms and comfortable feeling all across The Goring. Regarding the tea making facilities, we provide these on request and with our compliments so please let me know whenever you are planning to return, everything will be ready waiting for you in your room upon your arrival. Thank you again for you support and with warmest personal regards, Michael
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the London area.
PRICE RANGE
$671 - $927 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
the goring hotel london, goring london
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandLondonWestminster
NUMBER OF ROOMS
69
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THE GORING - Updated 2023 Prices & Hotel Reviews (London, England)

Frequently Asked Questions about The Goring
Which popular attractions are close to The Goring?
Nearby attractions include Royal Mews (0.1 miles), Victoria Palace Theatre (0.1 miles), and Apollo Victoria Theatre (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The Goring?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at The Goring?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at The Goring?
Yes, paid public parking on-site is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Goring?
Conveniently located restaurants include Le Signore, The English Rose Cafe, and The Curry Room.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Goring?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness center during their stay.
Does The Goring have airport transportation?
Yes, The Goring offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Goring?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does The Goring offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at The Goring?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, German, and Italian.
Are there any historical sites close to The Goring?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Houses of Parliament (0.9 miles), Churchill War Rooms (0.8 miles), and Tower of London (3.1 miles).