We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

YHA London Thameside

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
YHA London Thameside
YHA London Thameside
Panoramas (20)
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

258 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 186: English reviews
Start your review of YHA London Thameside
 Click to rate
Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewed yesterday NEW

I selected the YHA Thameside for a night's stay with my two children because it was convenient for something we were doing the following day. We didn't expect luxury and, no, we didn't get it. But the room (family room for 4) was fun, comfortable if a little hot, and clean. The reception staff were lovely and the food very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 910caroline
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Close to really good walks beside The Thames and easy access to The City, West End and stations. This is a purpose built block, some of the rooms are in a really poor state and really shouldn't be let to visitors. Some food pilfering. The staff are very helpful and the communal areas are in reasonable condition

Review collected in partnership with YHA (England & Wales)
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sunbaby284
thamesidemanager, Manager at YHA London Thameside, responded to this review

Hi Sunbaby284, Thank you for taking the time to review our hostel. We are glad you enjoy our location, we are by the river Thames so it's a very nice area to walk around to and in short time you can reach Tower bridge and some of London's main attractions. The building its indeed in need of some loving care...

Reviewed January 20, 2017 via mobile

Hey everybody,I sincerely hope that you don't choose here,the kitchen and washing machine are broken and they didn't let us know or post it on the Internet,the staff in the restaurant seems despise us,I got this feeling as we ate the breakfast more than 5 days,makes me feel disappointed and sick,my next location is Bath,please come and find me if...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Timmy T
thamesidemanager, Manager at YHA London Thameside, responded to this review

Dear Timmy, Thank you for taking the time to review our hostel. We are sorry you didn't enjoy your stay with us, at the moment some of our rooms and common areas like the self-catering kitchen, TV lounge and Launderette are shut due to a much needed refurbishment to upgrade the facilities so our guests can enjoy a much better...

Havant
Reviewed November 27, 2016 via mobile

Just returned from a weekend in London staying at YHA Thameside again. Welcoming staff who always greet you with a smile , lovely food, ideally placed, with only a short walk to the underground to get into central London. Rooms are slowly being upgraded, new beds, each having own plug socket and USB charging port.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tullulah1
thamesidemanager, Manager at YHA London Thameside, responded to this review

Hi Tullulah1 I loved reading your review. Thank you. The Team here are glowing from your praises. Great feedback on the beds which we changed this summer. The individual lights and usb are a hit. We are expecting our bigger upgrade in the new year. Looking forward to it. Thank you for being a repeat customer. It really does mean...

Bradford, United Kingdom
Reviewed November 11, 2016 via mobile

Average and reasonable place to stay with school children, catered to all our needs including full board catering and en-suites . The breakfast was great, packed lunches were really impressive and there was always something simple for the children at tea time. The only problem we had was that our school group was split up onto 3 different floors and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jen C
thamesidemanager, Manager at YHA London Thameside, responded to this review

Hi Jean C Thank you for reviewing us after your staff recently. I have passed your great comments on to the catering team . Good to know we are getting it right with the meals. Francesca does a great job to pick the souvenirs that are fun and reflect on a stay in London as well as very good prices...

Jakarta, Indonesia
Reviewed October 31, 2016

For YHA hostel, everything's remain the same... this one got 4th floor and they do have 2 lifts to go up and down... location is quite far from town center... it is about 10 minutes walking from Rotherhithe station... they have bar and restaurant.. there is a bar in 1 minute walking from this YHA ... but you have to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 10RISAL
thamesidemanager, Manager at YHA London Thameside, responded to this review

Hi 10RISAL You are so right it is about a 10 minute walk from Rotherhithe Station to the hostel. You can use this to link to Jubilee line at Canada Water or you can use the overground. As well we have the bus stop just by the hostel that the C10 and 381 uses. Good thing is 381 is also...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed October 30, 2016 via mobile

The hostel seems to be well located but in fact it is 15 minute walk from Canada Water station or 7 minute walk from Bermondsay, which is not really comfortable to walk at night - pretty dark and quiet. The hostel stays quite near the roads so it would be a bit of difficulty for anyone who are light sleepers....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Loan Thanh H
thamesidemanager, Manager at YHA London Thameside, responded to this review

Dear Loan, Thank you for taking the time to review our hostel. The closest station to the hostel is Rotherhithe Overground Station (5min walk) that links to the tube and can get you to Central London within 30min. There's also two buses (381(24h) & C10) going respectively to Trafalgar Square and Victoria, both stopping right outside our hostel. We are...

Hungerford, United Kingdom
Reviewed October 26, 2016

Whilst the rooms are a little tired and could do with some maintenance (broken window latches, tired bathroom furniture, poor showers), the hostel was clean and does what you expect from a YHA. Even though the hostel is not in central London, its very well connected via the overground/jubilee line, so its a great choice for a family or budget...

Review collected in partnership with YHA (England & Wales)
 Report
Helpful?
Thank parkesie2016
thamesidemanager, Manager at YHA London Thameside, responded to this review

Dear parkesie2016. Thank you for your honest review of your stay. The housekeepers work so hard to clean and clean and clean . We are all looking forward to the long awaiting refurbishment in the new year. You are so right we do have great transport links to all around London. It will be growing again when we the new...

Cardiff, Wales
Reviewed October 18, 2016

We stayed here for night of 17/10/16 as 2 adults - had a private room with ensuite. We were woken up at 5am by a large group of screaming children who were running up and down the corridor, shouting, swearing, literally screaming (I thought they were girls being murdered at first!) slamming the doors, kicking our door, kicking the walls...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank pinkspideruk
thamesidemanager, Manager at YHA London Thameside, responded to this review

Dear Pinkspideruk, I am sorry you was woken up at 5am due to a group being noisy our Night Team do do regular tours of the building during the night hours and talk to leaders of the groups if there is any problems and get them to keep them quiet. Maybe the excitement of the city and being away from...

Herefordshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed October 13, 2016

all was good except there was a huge school trip from America which made breakfast noisy and crowded. The rooms were a bit stuffy and they can use sheets on their bed as well as a quilt as the rooms were overly warm. Also they need paper towels in the bathrooms.

Review collected in partnership with YHA (England & Wales)
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kimpedler
thamesidemanager, Manager at YHA London Thameside, responded to this review

Dear kimpedler, We sometimes have groups from all over the world stay with us for different types of reasons mostly education. I can imagine that the noise from this group was probably excitement and eager to get their day started exploring the city. At this time of year tyhe weather can be warm to cold and our heating system is...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

246 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (76)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (51)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (160)
Viewed
Eight Bed Room (27)
Viewed
Four Bed Room (21)
Viewed
Dining (30)
Viewed
Six Bed Room (27)
Viewed
The Hotel (36)
Viewed
Two Bed Room (19)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near London
YHA London Lee Valley
#1 of 2 in Cheshunt
62 reviews
South Kensington
YHA London Earl's Court
YHA London Earl's Court
#68 of 820 in London
362 reviews
City of London
YHA London St Pauls
YHA London St Pauls
#45 of 820 in London
521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
YHA London St Pancras
YHA London St Pancras
#25 of 820 in London
627 reviews
Fitzrovia
YHA London Central
YHA London Central
#19 of 820 in London
1,087 reviews
YHA Eastbourne
#2 of 9 in Eastbourne
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Internet
  • Bar/Lounge
GreenPartner Learn More
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Internet
  • Free Internet
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
YHA London Thameside. Popular with School Groups from around the world as well as Individuals and families.All 70 rooms Ensuite .Easy to get to using Public Transport. Bus 380 and C10 outside of Hostel. Easy walk to either Canada Water undeground or Rotherhithe Overground. Great Breakfast, Snacks and evening meals available. Free WiFi with England & Wales Membership. Discounts on attractions and theatre shows. Really simple connections to Londons city centre and top attractions or just chill by the river Thames in SE16. Make Thameside part of your London memories. ... more   less 

Additional Information about YHA London Thameside

Address: 20 Salter Rd, London SE16 5PR, England (Formerly Rotherhithe Youth Hostel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Price Range: $17 - $97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — YHA London Thameside 2*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld and Hotels.com so you can book your YHA London Thameside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yha London Thameside Hotel London
YHA London Thameside England
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from YHA London Thameside staff and other travelers.
8 questions
Ask a question
Saint Louis, Missouri
4 months ago
2 months ago
Beijing, Beijing, China
over a year ago

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from YHA London Thameside staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“try to get on the 4th floor”
 of 5 bubbles 10RISAL, Oct 31, 2016 | Read review
“Ask to be placed in a room that isnt on a floor with a large group of children!”
 of 5 bubbles pinkspideruk, Oct 18, 2016 | Read review
“It was quite noisy on the street outside so bring earplugs.”
 of 5 bubbles ShroppieSaint, Sep 1, 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room on the upper levels and away from school parties if possible.”
 of 5 bubbles K2655KTjohnt, Sep 16, 2015 | Read review
“Female dorms were far better than the male dorms.”
 of 5 bubbles kathrynaj, Aug 24, 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question