We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Astor Queensway Hostel

Booking.com$51*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
06/11/2017 06/12/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Astor Queensway Hostel
Panoramas (8)
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

235 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 128: English reviews
Start your review of Astor Queensway Hostel
 Click to rate
Reviewed April 19, 2017

If you appreciate the atmosphere a small hostel can give you then you've found it here at Astor Queensway. They seem to have selected some of the best people from all around the world and put them into a little corner of the big city of London to make your stay feel completely at home. With a charity breakfast spread...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Amber B
AstorMark, Manager at Astor Queensway Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your amazing review! We are very happy you enjoyed your time in our wonderful hostel! We actively try and find the happiest, friendliest people with not only the knowledge, but the love of this amazing city to work for us and we are glad you felt that vibe. We work very hard to ensure our...

Reviewed March 30, 2017 via mobile

Hostel is ok. Like many hostel in Bayswater area, old building with many floors and no elevator. My room was in the sixth floor. Staff was very friendly. Decent breakfast for 1£. Kitchen, common hall, laundry, very faat wifi. Few bathrooms per floor, so if you do not book an ensuite, you might have the queue. The worst point that...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank wachsl
AstorMark, Manager at Astor Queensway Hostel, responded to this review

Hey thank you for your review! We are very happy you enjoyed our amazing staff, breakfast and facilities! We are sorry about the group we had in! We have a policy in place to have no underage groups to ensure the best atmosphere, but this was a one off accident which will not occur again! We hope to see you...

Reviewed March 8, 2017

The location is great, i the west of zone 1, only 5 minutes walk from the nearest tube station. The dorms are pretty small for the amount of people that stay, but as you generally spent more time exploring the city, it's okay. The breakfast is simple and good, and on top of that it's based on a donation, that...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TravelWorldSteph
AstorMark, Manager at Astor Queensway Hostel, responded to this review

Hey, thank you for your review! We are super happy you enjoyed your time at our hostel! Not only are we a short walk from the tube station, Hyde Park is literally down the road! Our charity breakfast is the best way to start the day! Not only giving you the energy to explore the city, but you get to...

Herndon, Virginia
Reviewed February 16, 2017

My stay was OK - this hostel isn't bad per se and for £22 you can't really beat the price. I just really didn't like being on the top bunk (my own personal problem, I guess) and stressing on if a shower/toilet would be free when I woke up so after two nights I ended up going to a hotel...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Noelle B
AstorMark, Manager at Astor Queensway Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are happy you enjoyed our daily activities and our friendly helpful staff. Most of the rooms in our hostel are ensuite so toilets and showers will be shared by six people max, and there are additional toilets and showers in the corridors to ensure there are plenty for every guest, we are very sorry...

Cologne, Germany
Reviewed February 13, 2017

As every thing in life, this hostel has positive and negative points. I will present you them according to my point of view and you are able to decide whether this hostel is for you or not. Positive points are the location and staff. On maximal 5 minute walking distance you can take Central line from Queensway and Circle and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Beatriz M
AstorMark, Manager at Astor Queensway Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking your time to write a review. We are very happy you enjoyed our amazing location, being a stone throw from Hyde Park is really amazing particularly now that Sprint is blooming! The local scene in Queensway is also great and a short walk away from Notting Hill! We are sorry if there were noisy guests on...

Reviewed February 6, 2017

I really appreciated my coming there!! It was for one night. The staff is adorable, the room and common spaces were clean. The breakfast was super nice (different breads and jams, peanut butter, coffee, tea...) and the money for the breakfast is collected for some charity which is amazing !!! The only sad thing is that there are not enough...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PollyChibiMoon
AstorMark, Manager at Astor Queensway Hostel, responded to this review

Hey! Thank you so much for your review. We are super happy you had an amazing time! It is our mission for everyone to come through our doors leave with a big smile and having made some new friends. Our breakfast is without a doubt the best way to fill up your stomach and help a good cause for only...

Reviewed December 10, 2016 via mobile

I forgot new boots in my room which I had just bought for over £300. Asked Astor via mail if they found them. They did. I would have picked them up on occasion but Astor even offered to ship them to me. Very nice, right?Despite several mails and some waiting that never happened. Why? "Change of management. Now we can't...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank vanaik
Reviewed November 15, 2016

I had a fantastic stay with Astor during my time in London. The hostel is super clean, great wifi, comfy beds and has all the things you need for a very comfortable stay. It's also in a well-connected location and right next to Hyde Park. But what makes Astor stand out from many other hostels I've stayed in over the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dave O
Alexa K, Guest Relations Manager at Astor Queensway Hostel, responded to this review

We can't thank you enough for this shiny review, it makes us very happy! Thank you very much for acknowledging all our efforts and the hard work of our staff, we want our guests to feel that they can communicate absolutely anything they need with the team at any time. We also appreciate your contribution towards our charity breakfast, thanks...

India
Reviewed October 24, 2016

the staff was really nice and supportive but the kind of stay we had was really a bad one. we had booked a double room for 4 nights. it had bunk beds and was on 6th floor. we had to drag all our luggage to the 6th floor just to know that the key of that room wasnt working. Everytime...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nids2711
AstorMark, Manager at Astor Queensway Hostel, responded to this review

Hey thank you for your feedback, we are sorry you did not have an amazing time with us and you feel this way about your stay. We did everything in our power to try and get a replacement door mechanism, but as it was over the weekend we could not have it sent through in time, which is why we...

Ireland
Reviewed October 23, 2016

This was a good hostel, it is a good place to meet people and the staff are friendly. It has a good atmosphere. There was an organised walking tour for Astor Only hostels which is a great way to meet other people. Great location. I already wrote a review on Hostelworld, but why not write another here...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Conor M
AstorMark, Manager at Astor Queensway Hostel, responded to this review

Heeey! Thank you so much for your double feedback! We are super super happy you had a great time staying with us and embraced the spirit of the hostel and met some nice people! Looking forward to seeing you on your next visit to this amazing city! Lots of love, the Astor Family!

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

182 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (28)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (10)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (143)
Viewed
Amenities (24)
Viewed
Four Person Dorm (20)
Viewed
Dining (29)
Viewed
Six Person Dorm (24)
Viewed
The Hotel (28)
Viewed
Twin Private Room (18)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
06/11/2017 06/12/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Troy Hotel
#590 of 1,063 in London
534 reviews
Comfort Inn Hyde Park
#500 of 1,063 in London
547 reviews
The Byron Hotel
#519 of 1,063 in London
863 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
Astor Hyde Park Hostel
Astor Hyde Park Hostel
#41 of 824 in London
345 reviews
Notting Hill
Gallery Hyde Park Hostel
Gallery Hyde Park Hostel
#490 of 824 in London
99 reviews
MStay Hotel 43
#107 of 556 in London
392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Formerly Astor Quest, a boutique budget hostel located in the bustling neighbourhood of Bayswater. With 100 beds, this hostel is charming and welcoming and set is in a quiet street minutes from Hyde Park. The Astor Queensway is one of the best low budget hotels, and the staff will keep you staying with a smile on your face throughout your stay. Welcoming backpackers through it's doors for over 20 years, this has the feel of a guesthouse. A short bus or tube ride takes you into the centre of town and all the sights including Oxford Circus, Trafalgar Square and Covent Garden. With a tranquil kitchen and dining room to converse with fellow travellers, 24-hour reception and clean comfortable beds, with breakfast included, the team at the Astor Queensway present much more than just a low cost room. Please note that we only allow guests between the ages of 18 and 35 years old as we are a backpackers hostel. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Astor Queensway Hostel

Address: 45 Queensborough Terrace | Bayswater, London W2 3SY, England (Formerly Astor Quest Hostel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Price Range: $29 - $122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Astor Queensway Hostel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and Booking.com so you can book your Astor Queensway Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astor Queensway Hostel London, England
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Astor Queensway Hostel staff and other travelers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Orlando, Florida
over a year ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Astor Queensway Hostel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“It's a beautiful old English building so be prepared to appreciate that beauty!”
amberbG7387DP, Apr 19, 2017 | Read review
“all the rooms have a bunk bed so doesn't really matter whether u take a private room o stay in the dorm”
nids2711, Oct 24, 2016 | Read review
“Rooms lower to the ground floor are cooler in the summer heat and easily accessible”
MeowBatmanSymbol, Jul 24, 2016 | Read review
“It is a 6-floor walk-up, so be wary with your luggage.”
849robp, Feb 9, 2016 | Read review
“There isn't a lift but the staff will help you carry your things up the steps.”
562evelynt, Dec 11, 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Booking.com
$51* /night
View Deal
Hostelworld.com$62
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates