We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Tophams Hotel Belgravia

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The Tophams Hotel Belgravia
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,289 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,107: English reviews
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

for my life, I have never reviewed the hotel, however, I write down the review for the other customers. location is good close to victoria station but that's all. employees working in reception is unfriendly and they think they are king or queen, the way they talk is like ordering something to customer who paid for the room and service....

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank pauljwon24h
GM159, Manager at The Tophams Hotel Belgravia, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and I am sorry you were so disappointed with your stay. I will speak to the reception team about their attitude as you did not experience the sort of service that you quite rightly expected and I will also discuss breakfast service with our Food and Beverage manager as it quite clearly needs to improve...

United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed at the Tophams Hotel in August last year and to be honest I was very disappointed. The location was perfect for my needs hence the reason I booked a room, and I was expecting more (considering I paid about £500 for two nights, room only). The staff at the check in desks were friendly but very slow with...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank RossyCains
GM159, Manager at The Tophams Hotel Belgravia, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and I am sorry you were so disappointed with your stay. I am a bit mystified as to why you posted a review in January from your stay in August? Having said that the hotel is under new management and I hope we can welcome you back to show you we can do better

Bath, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Reception area looks welcoming. Our room very tired, bed seriously uncomfortable, cracked paintwork and cracked tiles in the bathroom, headboard seriously damaged, very noisy with guests walking around in there rooms above. Continental breakfast very poor, waitress staff grumpy overall very unwelcoming. I have stayed in 4 star hotels this hotel does not come close.

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank _marsharead
GM159, Manager at The Tophams Hotel Belgravia, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and I am sorry you were so disappointed with your stay. I would hope we may have an opportunity to welcome you back to show you we can do better. If you would like to contact me directly I can address your concerns and discuss a future stay

Brecon Beacons National Park, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A client actually paid £352 per night for what they thought was a quality hotel, alas they had only seen the reception which was plush! The actual room was some 5 houses down and can only be described as a slum! Filthy carpets, huge water stain on the ceiling from a leak above, window didn't close never mind lock, shelf...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Breconscouser
GM159, Manager at The Tophams Hotel Belgravia, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and I am sorry you were so disappointed with your clients stay. We certainly did not meet the standards you quite rightly expected in any aspects of your guests visit If you would like to contact me directly I can address your concerns and we would welcome an early opportunity to demonstrate to you that...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

What a lovely afternoon. I booked a Wowcher Afternoon Tea at Tophams and was a little concerned as the reviews for it in 2012 were not great. HOWEVER, It was a lovely afternoon. The food was excellent and the service was first class. The staff were very kind and very friendly. We had the restaurant to ourselves for most of...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Beverlee H
GM159, Manager at The Tophams Hotel Belgravia, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and I was delighted that you were so happy with your afternoon tea at the hotel I hope we can welcome you back in the near future

england
Reviewed December 15, 2016 via mobile

Arrived on Monday 12th December having got married on 10th. Was given a bottle of champagne. Room was large clean and well decorated. Spacious bathroom. Staff very friendly and professional. Could not fault it. Would definitely stay here again. Thank you all Garry and Freda Shaw

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bridgeythediver
GM159, Manager at The Tophams Hotel Belgravia, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you very much for your lovely review of your stay at The Tophams Hotel. I am thrilled to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us and many congratulations on your wedding. Once again, thank you very much for your review. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Tophams Hotel in the hopefully near...

Reviewed December 4, 2016 via mobile

Very near Victoria coach and train station. Our room was pleasant clean, bed comfortable. Staff were friendly and helpful. Breakfast on first day, staff appeared a bit stretched with number of guests. Great location with bars, restaurants nearby. 30 min walk to Hyde Park and other places of interest. Would be happy to stay there again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lynette H
GM159, Manager at The Tophams Hotel Belgravia, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you very much for your lovely review of your stay at The Tophams Hotel. I am thrilled to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us and that you found my staff incredibly friendly and helpful. I do have a great team who is all very passionate about providing only the very best service at all...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed November 23, 2016

We recently stayed in this hotel for a night. It was excellent experience. This hotel looks tired and little old but well decorated and clean. We got a room with a huge big bathroom. Hotel staff was very helpful and welcoming. We got our room very early in the morning. We made a booking for Double room shared bathroom by...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Chrystal H
GM159, Manager at The Tophams Hotel Belgravia, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write this wonderful 5 star review of your recent stay at Tophams I was delighted to read that we were able to exceed you enjoyed your stay so much. We hpe to welcome you back in the near future.

Middlesbrough
Reviewed November 19, 2016

We recently stayed here for a night in London for my partner's birthday and could not fault the accommodation or customer service. We found the reception staff very welcoming and our room modern and comfortable with everything we needed for our stay. Within minutes of our arrival we were pleasantly surprised by a knock on our room door from one...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Deborah S
GM159, Manager at The Tophams Hotel Belgravia, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write this wonderful review of your recent stay at Tophams and I was very happy that we were able to help you celebrate your birthday in style. The cakes and treats are all made by us in house We hope to be able to welcome you back in the near future.

Reviewed November 15, 2016

Definitely not a 4 star hotel as it pretend to be, furniture are old, not well maintained and not well cleaned. Our room was small, just the bed and a narrow space to move. Breakfast was poor. But we booked using a coupon and we stayed in the hotel just for sleeping, so we enjoied the very good position and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Luca M
GM159, Manager at The Tophams Hotel Belgravia, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor and I am sorry that you were so disappointed with your stay Hopefully we will be able to welcome you back to Tophams to show you we can do better

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

706 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (406)
Viewed
Room/Suite (146)
Viewed
Bathroom (76)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (24)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
View from Room (11)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
0:26
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (137)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (288)
Viewed
Amenities (3)
Viewed
Deluxe Double Room (33)
Viewed
Deluxe Twin Room (38)
Viewed
Family Suite (55)
Viewed
Junior Suite (34)
Viewed
Dining (33)
Viewed
Standard Double Room (38)
Viewed
The Hotel (54)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Belgravia
The Z Hotel Victoria
The Z Hotel Victoria
#313 of 1,080 in London
1,429 reviews
Pimlico
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - Victoria
Pimlico
The Grosvenor Hotel
The Grosvenor Hotel
#200 of 1,080 in London
3,507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pimlico
Park Plaza Victoria London
Park Plaza Victoria London
#224 of 1,080 in London
3,886 reviews
Pimlico
Comfort Inn London - Victoria
Comfort Inn London - Victoria
#659 of 1,080 in London
844 reviews
Pimlico
BEST WESTERN Victoria Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Belgravia

Neighborhood Profile
Belgravia
Home to the vast majority of embassies and diplomatic residences in London, sophisticated and upscale Belgravia also boasts a wealth of luxury hotels, fine dining restaurants, and some of the city’s most stroll worthy lanes. While the prices here are high, taking a leisurely stroll through the streets of picturesque and elegant white stucco houses is free. Hyde Park and the Buckingham Palace Gardens are only a stone's throw away to the north, and some of Europe’s best shopping is nearby as well.
Explore this neighborhood
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
One of the few remaining independent, boutique hotels, modern burlesque in style across five elegant stucco Victorian buildings. The 50 bedroom luxury hotel situated in the heart of Belgravia, one of the most exclusive and historic residential areas in London, is just minutes away from Victoria Station. Close to Buckingham Palace among many other top attractions, and with many restaurants and great shopping areas nearby, Tophams is London's best kept secret. Our breakfast room offers a selection of ham, cheese, breads and croissant, yoghurts, fresh fruit and a selection of fruit juices in a relaxing setting, which benefits from air conditioning and natural daylight; a perfect way to start your day in the City. Renowned for an excellent setting for a traditional English afternoon tea, we have a warm and welcoming, highly personalised style of service, in one of the very finest locations in London. We enjoy a truly international business and leisure clientele. Indeed, with a number of public transport services available close by, from double decker buses to Victoria tube/subway, travel arrangements literally open up the City for trips to the City centre, Theatreland and top tourist attractions. Open top bus tours can be arranged to thirty two tourist attractions and we highly recommend touring by cruising the River Thames along to The Tower of London and Greenwich. International visitors will be pleased to note Victoria station for connections to London Gatwick is just a few minutes' walk away and we are well positioned for car transfers to London Heathrow International airport. Our team can also readily assist with your transport arrangements to London City, London Luton and London Stansted airports, as well as anything else to ensure you the most pleasant stay. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Tophams Hotel Belgravia

Address: 28 Ebury Street, London SW1W 0LU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Belgravia
Price Range: $89 - $262 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Tophams Hotel Belgravia 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Tophams Hotel Belgravia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tophams Hotel London
The Tophams Hotel Belgravia London, England
Hotel Style:
#387 Luxury Hotel in London
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from The Tophams Hotel Belgravia staff and other travelers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Alexandria, Virginia
11 months ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from The Tophams Hotel Belgravia staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Overhead and next door noise”
 of 5 bubbles _marsharead, 2 weeks ago | Read review
“Look elsewhere!”
  • Non standard door width into 'bathroom', in fact the door didn't even close!
  • Huge water stain and drooping plaster
  • Plywood shower and hole filled with Polyfilla
  • Filthy carpets and paintwork, skirting board hanging off the wall!
  • 'Wardrobe' and window that wouldn't lock
 of 5 bubbles Breconscouser, 2 weeks ago | Read review
“try to catch an offer”
 of 5 bubbles LucaM465, Nov 15, 2016 | Read review
“Make sure you ask for a decent size double - ours was a single with a small double bed”
 of 5 bubbles PhillippaWC, Nov 13, 2016 | Read review
“Best tip - stay somewhere else.”
 of 5 bubbles 680stevanj, Oct 29, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay