We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Arsenal Tavern Backpackers

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Arsenal Tavern Backpackers
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

162 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 90: English reviews
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Mainly a sports pub with backpackers accommodation above large nearly empty big screen lounge, with a bar across one side mainly a lager pub with a couple of Ales. We went last Sunday to watch Arsenal v Liverpool game not very crowded and unfortunately the signal wasn't very good and keep dropping out. So at half time we went to... More 

Helpful?
Thank Chris L
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I stayed for one night and was working the day before and the day after said night, on the street outside on a film production. The production had hired the common room of the hostel as a waiting/break space during these two days of filming and being a hot two days with only plastic benches (provided by our work) it... More 

Helpful?
Thank Amy D

Travelers are raving about these London hotels

Curridabat, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I would like to mention first that the staff is really cool and helpful. The highlight of the hostel definitely. The place is old, neglected and dark and the beds are tiny and uncomfortable. The walls were thin and you could hear the other rooms. The bathroom was dirty and you could not fit properly in the shower without bumping... More 

Helpful?
Thank stephko11
LondonHostels, Manager at Arsenal Tavern Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you for the review. We are sorry to read that you did not fully enjoy your stay here. We have a refurbishment planned for the near future and we hope you will come back to view the miraculous changes that will happen! Well done with the improvisation in the showers :) We don't have any posters warning people about... More 

Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I stayed just one night at the Arsenal Tavern Hostel as I needed somewhere to stay in London on a budget. Upon arrival at the hostel, I was given bed linen for the bed and made this. I noticed that the room was a little bit cluttered by other people's stuff.. No problems. I arrived back a little late but... More 

Helpful?
Thank William F
LondonHostels, General Manager at Arsenal Tavern Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you for the fair and honest review. We're very happy to read that you had a good time and we hope to see you again someday. More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2016

Have been very nice stay for two week at the Hostel Arsenal Tavern Backpacker because is a nice place, the staff is polite, the place is safe with good price and good service, so I can suggest this hostel to everybidy... Bye :-)

Helpful?
Thank Renzo T
LondonHostels, General Manager at Arsenal Tavern Backpackers, responded to this review

Yay! We love happy guests. Thank you for the excellent review and we wish you well on the rest of your travels. More 

2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2016 via mobile

We are making an eurotrip and we got this hostel aiming a good price but we found it a really good and organised hostel. We had a problem with the reservation but the staff solved it in 20 minutes while we were playing ping pong in such a nice atmosphere..

Helpful?
Thank Guilherme D
LondonHostels, General Manager at Arsenal Tavern Backpackers, responded to this review

Glad you enjoyed the free Ping Pong! I have passed on your wonderful comments to the team. Thank you and take care. More 

Musselburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2016 via mobile

A friend of mine is leaving for sunnier shores and we decided to celebrate with a few days in London. We chose the Arsenal Tavern for its proximity to some of our friends who live in London and it's well served by local transport - Arsenal underground station is less than ten minutes away by foot and there are plenty... More 

Helpful?
Thank Smuainteach
LondonHostels, General Manager at Arsenal Tavern Backpackers, responded to this review

I couldn't have written a more fair and accurate description of the hostel myself. Our beds are not the best but this will soon be resolved with a planned refurbishment at the end of the year. We hope you had a good weekend in London. More 

Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2016

For £9 a night, 5 minutes away from the tube station you aren't expecting to stay in the Ritz. They do explain this on their website, so if you haven't done your research and aren't happy.. what do you expect? The dorm rooms were average, I was graced with friendly, honest people thankfully. I dropped my phone down the (perhaps... More 

Helpful?
Thank Shannon D
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2016 via mobile

Place was very unclean. Common rooms furniture was all ripped up to shreds and uncomfortable and very dirty. Dorm rooms were worse than the common room. Holes in the wall and a bit of mold. Beds were the worst I've even slept on. Fridays they have a bunch of children come I to the common room for a weird gymnastics... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Steven H
ArsenalHostel, General Manager at Arsenal Tavern Backpackers, responded to this review

Hello Steven and thanks for the review. All of your comments have been noted. Admittedly cleaning standards did drop after some staff changes within the team, but we have addressed this now have a lot more cleaners working in the hostel. Its takes a little bit of time to get them trained up. Friday we have a private function in... More 

Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2016 via mobile

I must say, I have been to some budget hostels before, but this one is easily the worst I have ever witnessed. I'd like to point out that my review is about my overall experiences here, so it both describes the hostel and the guest circle as well. Let's start with the good things, the hostel is in a favorable... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Gábor J
ArsenalHostel, General Manager at Arsenal Tavern Backpackers, responded to this review

Hello Gabor Thank you for the review about our hostel. I'm not sure if you can class this as a review, perhaps a novella would be better suited! We make no secret of what we are on our website. Not to be dismissive, but I've responded to your review on Booking.com so will save my time here. As advised there,... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

97 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (79)
Viewed
Room/Suite (25)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (4)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (39)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Queen Elizabeth Chelsea
#207 of 774 in London
3.5 of 5 stars 134 reviews
No.8 Hostel Willesden
#202 of 774 in London
3.0 of 5 stars 197 reviews
London Backpackers
#252 of 774 in London
3.5 of 5 stars 105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Via Lewisham
#164 of 774 in London
4.5 of 5 stars 7 reviews
Marylebone
Phoenix Hostel
Phoenix Hostel
#126 of 774 in London
4.0 of 5 stars 256 reviews
Palmers Lodge Hillspring
#41 of 774 in London
4.0 of 5 stars 436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Internet
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Casino and Gambling
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to The Arsenal Tavern Backpackers From our location the best of London and all of its attractions are within easy reach. Getting around is quick and easy with both Arsenal Station & Finsbury Park Station within an easy 5 minute walk from the hostel. We are only 10 minutes from King’s Cross St Pancras station! Unique to the hostel, Stoke Newington and its huge amount of independent restaurants, pubs, shops and cafes serving the best coffee in London are only a 10 minute walk from the hostel. When you get bored of Shoreditch, come check out Stokey. We are not far from Dalston and Hoxton either. Arsenal Football Club and the Emirates Stadium are a very short walk away. Our bar and the hostel are a great place to be on match days. Clissold Park and Finsbury Park are 10 minutes walk from from the hostel. We do daily walking tours and pub crawls Our extra-large bar and common area are the heart and soul of the hostel. With a stage for live music, large cinema screen and pool tables you will never be bored. We also have free super fast Wi-Fi throughout the hostel. We love entertainers so get in touch if you want to perform on our stage. Got a talent or skill you want to share? Again get in touch with us. We are proud of our hostel and keeping the place clean and our facilities are cleaned and maintained 24/7. We are big on security and provide lockers free of charge, CCTV throughout the hostel and 24 hour reception ... more   less 

Additional Information about Arsenal Tavern Backpackers

Address: 175 Blackstock Road, London N4 2JS, England (Formerly Arsenal Tavern Hostel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Price Range: $14 - $56 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Arsenal Tavern Backpackers 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Arsenal Tavern Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arsenal Tavern Backpackers London, England
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay