We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
39 Buckingham Palace Road, London SW1W 0PS England
E-mail hotel
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotel direct offer!Book now, pay later
Booking.com
$342
View deal
Free cancellation until 10/14/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Expedia.com
Only 4 left at
$340
View deal
Free cancellation until 10/15/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Agoda.com
Only 1 left at
$318
View deal
Hotels.com$340
Travelocity$340
Trip.com$340
View all 18 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (2155)
Room & Suite (759)
Videos (2)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
  • Daily temperature and symptom checks for staff
  • Contactless check-in
Read more
Updated 04/12/22 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from The Rubens at the Palace
Updated 04/12/22 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#44 of 1,196 hotels in London
Location
4.8
Cleanliness
4.7
Service
4.7
Value
4.3
Travelers' Choice
GreenLeaders Bronze level
Our beautifully restored historic hotel is cared for by a team who take genuine pride in delivering impeccable service and exceeding expectations at every turn. Overlooking The Royal Mews of Buckingham Palace - the entrance used by the Royal family - The Rubens showcases exceptional dining journeys, and enriching and rewarding experiences, from the very first moment guests are greeted by our red-uniformed doormen...
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Valet parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Evening entertainment
Walking tours
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Kids club
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Kids' meals
Special diet menus
Taxi service
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Butler service
Doorperson
24-hour front desk
Private check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Flatscreen TV
Room types
City view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Classic
Charming
Languages Spoken
English, Italian
Hotel links
Special Offer:Book now, pay later

Location

Full view
100Great for walkers
Grade: 100 out of 100
186Restaurantswithin 0.3 miles
35Attractionswithin 0.3 miles
5600Reviews115Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 4,019
  • 1,130
  • 286
  • 121
  • 43
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
ConversationStarters wrote a review Oct 3
Gainesville, Georgia404 contributions71 helpful votes
This was our first trip to London, and Rubens at the Palace exceeded all expectations as to what we envisioned staying at a hotel right near the palace! The main gates to Buckingham are just a few minutes away. So is wonderful shopping and dining all around. The location is great, we walked to all sorts of attractions including The Eye to the Phoenix Theater in the West End to watch a play. The hotel staff is absolutely wonderful, so attentive to needs. We especially thank Affi, Aaron, Teo and Delbert. We spent 5 nights at The Rubens and cannot recommend it more highly. In the middle of EVERYTHING!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
Value
Cleanliness
Room Tip: First floor is best, easy to walk up as the lifts are quite small.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Malcolm Hendry, General Manager at The Rubens at the Palace
Responded 4 days ago
Dear ConversationsStarters, Thank you for sharing your fantastic review on Trip Advisor! I am delighted Affi, Aaron, Teo and Delbert made such an impact on your stay; they will be thrilled with your feedback. I am so pleased to read you could not recommend it highly! My best regards, Malcolm Hendry General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
rowly2015 wrote a review Nov 2021
Barnstaple, United Kingdom37 contributions56 helpful votes
Hotel's Favorite
We went for Afternoon Tea the day before both mine and the wife's birthday's and what is also our wedding Anniversary and the the whole experience was excellent. We booked it as the chefs had been on a TV programme that we had watched and their food looked superb. On arrival, we were a bit early, but quickly seated and given a very warm welcome and drinks poured. The food quickly came out and looked great and so it proved on eating!! As it was a special occasion, we had opted for the Bottomless Champagne Afternoon Tea and Ioana was tending our table and was an absolute star, always making sure we had a top up and that all was okay. Sue particularly enjoyed the chocolate moose crown!! Thanks to all the team - we had a lovely relaxed and enjoyable couple of hours.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
Value
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Malcolm Hendry, General Manager at The Rubens at the Palace
Responded Nov 3, 2021
Dear rowly2015, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us wonderful feedback online, following from your Afternoon Tea with us. I am delighted that you enjoyed the experience. I will make sure that all of my team hear your praise! Please do join us again soon! Warm regards, Malcolm Hendry General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Shabanama wrote a review Oct 1
Chigwell, United Kingdom264 contributions63 helpful votes
+1
This is a stunning hotel within an excellent location, I particularly gave it a 5* rating because the service was second to none. Huge thanks to the manager Vince who really took care of our party of 8, ensuring that we enjoyed my friends special birthday celebration. Special thanks to the doorman Pascal, what a lovely personable gentleman. Breakfast was fabulous, you will not go hungry and won’t want to eat again until much later! Thank you to all the staff for making our stay so special, we’ll definitely be back.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Malcolm Hendry, General Manager at The Rubens at the Palace
Responded 5 days ago
Dear Shabanamama2019, Thank you for sharing your fantastic feedback on Trip Advisor following your recent experience with us. I am so pleased you found the service second to none. I am delighted to hear Vince and Pascal were particularly helpful and I will pass your kind compliments on to them as well as the rest of my wonderful staff. We look forward to welcoming you back again. Warmest regards, Malcolm Hendry General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Catherine G wrote a review Sep 2022
Kells, Ireland23 contributions43 helpful votes
The best hotel we have ever stayed in . From the first moment we arrived till we checked out service unreal . We arrived very early and our room was ready the girls on reception are so efficient and always smiling and always say hello and are there to help with anything we asked. The breakfast was out of this world and again it’s the staff who make it such a joy . Food tasted unreal . There is nothing that anyone could fault about this hotel . Tony on the door so good with people . A special mention to MOHAMOUD he was so efficient and couldn’t do enough for us . He was always smiling and we noticed he was watching his guests all the time to help them with bags or door etc . He will go far in the company . We already booked to come back next year . Well done everyone at the Rubens
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Malcolm Hendry, General Manager at The Rubens at the Palace
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Catherine G, Thank you for taking the time to share your wonderful feedback on TripAdvisor. I was delighted to read about the unreal service, out of this world breakfast and how great you found the staff. I am thrilled you had an amazing experience with us, and have shared your review with my wonderful team. I will be sure to share Tony and Mohamoud in particular. We look forward to welcoming you back again next year! Warmest regards, Malcolm Hendry General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jim K wrote a review Sep 2022
Saskatoon, Canada5 contributions
+1
Our stays (twice between September 12 and 25) were both excellent. The Rubens at the Palace should be very proud of your staff and the facilities. The morning breakfast (food and service) were excellent. The rooms we stayed in were clean and well appointed. At every turn your staff was friendly, knowledgeable, kind and helpful. The location - beside Buckingham Palace and across from the Royal Mews - was fantastic. We truly enjoyed our time at The Rubens, and look forward to returning. Thanks again for a wonderful stay (x2) in London!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Malcolm Hendry, General Manager at The Rubens at the Palace
Responded 1 week ago
Dear jimkerby8, Thank you for sharing your fantastic feedback on TripAdvisor! I was thrilled reading your review this evening and I can confirm I am extremely proud of our amazing staff! I will share your comments with my team, who I am sure will be delighted to read. We are delighted you will be returning, and we look forward to welcoming you back after having the pleasure of twice in 1 month. Warmest regards, Malcolm Hendry General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Bobbie B wrote a review Sep 2022
Birmingham, Alabama8 contributions1 helpful vote
We were the royalty here. The staff were amazing! From check in to departure everyone was very helpful. Aaron the night manager booked excursions for us that were perfect. Beau got is dinner reservations. So hats off to the managers Sophie Georgiana Aaron The food was very very good too! The location is perfect for walking to all major attractions and the hotel itself is charming and lovely. We would love to plan a return and would certainly stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Malcolm Hendry, General Manager at The Rubens at the Palace
Responded 1 week ago
Dear bobbiebham, Thank you for sharing your fantastic feedback on Trip Advisor. I am so pleased you were impressed by our staff in particular, Aaron, Sophie and Georgiana. My team and I are so pleased to read we will be welcoming you back again! It was a pleasure to have hosted you on this occasion; we look forward to your return. My best regards, Malcolm Hendry General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Simon D wrote a review Sep 2022
1 contribution
We are long time patrons of the Reubens Hotel. Every time we are in London we only stay there because the Reubens Hotel goes above and beyond expectations from the time you approach the hotel to check in to the moment you checkout and you are on your way to your next destination. While all the staff are so friendly and knowledgable and I have not encountered any issues but I wanted to in particular comment on Mohamoud. He really went out of his way to ensure our stay was one of the best yet. He is always in an upbeat, friendly modd and if he sees you are in need, he springs in to action without us even having to ask. He is such a perfect asset to the already stellar service Reubens offers, he puts the cherry on top of the cake!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Traveled on business
Room Tip: Request high floor, room overlooking the palace.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Malcolm Hendry, General Manager at The Rubens at the Palace
Responded 1 week ago
Dear B13450Jsimond, Thank you for sharing your feedback on TripAdvisor. I would like to thank you for your continued business at The Rubens we are extremely grateful. I am thrilled you had an amazing experience with us, and found my team's friendly and knowledgeable. I will be sure to share with them in particular Mohamoud. We look forward to hopefully continuing to welcome you back again! Warmest regards, Malcolm Hendry General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
AlanStoneUK wrote a review Sep 2022
Morpeth, United Kingdom6 contributions9 helpful votes
The rooms are small but have everything you need and the beds are comfortable The big plus to our stay was the restaurant. We had the gourmet experience and that was just perfect in every way. The food was delicious and perfectly cooked and served. The sommelier picked the wines for us and they just worked perfectly. He had a lot of knowledge which he was more than happy to share and this all added to the evening. I can’t wait to go back. I would like to make a special mention of the Chef Adrian Bailey and our sommelier Tommaz but having said that everyone was great and looked after us in every way
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Value
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Malcolm Hendry, General Manager at The Rubens at the Palace
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Alan S, I wanted to take the opportunity to thank you very much for your great review. I am thrilled you enjoyed your time with us to celebrate your special birthday! I have shared your compliments with my team in particular Adrian and Tommaz. Your review has made us extremely proud today! It was a great pleasure to have hosted you during this trip to London and we look forward to hopefully welcoming you back to the Rubens at the Palace soon. Kind regards, Malcolm Hendry, General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
lederhosenMonaco wrote a review Sep 2022
Monaco76 contributions27 helpful votes
+1
Old fashioned style Hotel. Very polite doorman , reception efficient but not very welcoming slightly harassed. The elevator does it’s job. In the corridor there is a maze of doors and not very well signposted. This hotel needs refurbishment in the rooms. Gold tapestry on the walls, leather wrapped chairs , a chandelier over the bed with bulbs not working. Old paintings on the walls. No coffee machine. The soaps are in dispensers. No toothbrush or comb available. Definitely not what it should be for the price asked.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: If you want old fashioned then you found your place.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Malcolm Hendry, General Manager at The Rubens at the Palace
Responded 1 week ago
Dear lederhosenMonaco, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. I am so sorry to read of your disappointment and that you felt slightly harassed and that some features of the room were not as you had perhaps expected. I would really like the opportunity to learn more about your stay with us in order to investigate further. If you would have some time for me, I would be really appreciative if you were able to contact me on malcolmrb@rchmail.com We really do hope to get the opportunity to welcome you back again, and again my apologies for disappointment caused. Warm regards, Malcolm Hendry General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Maryana A wrote a review Sep 2022
5 contributions
The room is of the size of a closet. The only window overlooking dirty air conditioning units is not openable, so because of that and the size of the so -called room it is very hot. Air conditioning is horribly loud, so at night one has to keep turning it on to get some air, then off- to get some sleep. And so it goes every half an hour. Bathroom is of better size (comparatively to the room) with a very small sink with no place for vanity products. So window sill it is. Tea is complimentary but of the brand and quality of the American supermarket- and that’s in England! No place to put luggage so carry on piece is the only one that will fit onto that room. Positives: Reasonably good room-cleaning and evening turndown service. Decent bath robes. Good location.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Avoid this hotel all together if you want to get some sleep.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Malcolm Hendry, General Manager at The Rubens at the Palace
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Maryana, Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. I am so sorry to read of your disappointment and that you felt that the size of the room was like a closet and the air conditioning horribly loud. I would really like the opportunity to learn more about your stay with us in order to investigate further with my Executive Housekeeper and Director of Engineering. If you would have some time for me, I would be really appreciative if you were able to contact me on malcolmrb@rchmail.com We really do hope to get the opportunity to welcome you back again, and again my apologies for disappointment caused. Warm regards, Malcolm Hendry General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$274 - $464 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
the rubens at the palace hotel london, rubens at the palace london, rubens palace
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandLondonVictoria / Westminster
NUMBER OF ROOMS
173
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Rubens at the Palace
Which popular attractions are close to The Rubens at the Palace?
Nearby attractions include Buckingham Palace (0.2 miles), Billy Elliot The Musical (0.1 miles), and Victoria Palace Theatre (0.1 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The Rubens at the Palace?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at The Rubens at the Palace?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at The Rubens at the Palace?
Yes, valet parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Rubens at the Palace?
Conveniently located restaurants include The English Rose Cafe, Kona, and Bon Gusto.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Rubens at the Palace?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at The Rubens at the Palace?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does The Rubens at the Palace offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at The Rubens at the Palace?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Italian.
Are there any historical sites close to The Rubens at the Palace?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Churchill War Rooms (0.7 miles), Tower of London (3.0 miles), and Houses of Parliament (0.8 miles).
Does The Rubens at the Palace have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the city view available here.