We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Cranley Hotel

Save
Share
10-12 Bina Gardens, London SW5 0LA England
Hotels.com
Expedia.com
Orbitz.com
eDreams
travelup.com
Booking.com
View all 11 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (630)
Room & Suite (438)
Dining (25)

About

#944 of 1,174 hotels in London
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Sitting quietly on an attractive South Ken side street, The Cranley Hotel in London is the perfect townhouse-from-home. With its mahogany antiques, Regency-period palette and prettily embroidered bedheads, it's an ideal base for a spot of Anglo-centric shopping, sightseeing and tea-taking.
Read more
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Baggage storage
Concierge
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Breakfast in the room
Non-smoking hotel
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Seating area
Telephone
VIP room facilities
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Boutique
Languages Spoken
English, Lithuanian
1230Reviews21Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 444
  • 276
  • 150
  • 117
  • 243
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Hannah B wrote a review Jun 2021
7 contributions
+1
For a lovely old building in Kensington this hotel should have been a wonderful stay for a weekend break - sadly, it was the opposite. There were huge stains on the fabric headboard (not what you want to be thinking about when you're trying to fall asleep) and the curtains were ripped (how?). They also had a long continuous stain along the bottom of them. There were biscuit pieces under the chest of drawers and old plastic cutlery in the wardrobe - there was nothing to suggest that the room had actually been cleaned before we arrived. In the bathroom, there was rust along the shower screen and we were supplied with a tiny shampoo sample and shower gel which were no bigger than a lip balm tube - their website says these are 'designer' toiletries but this is clearly just a blatant lie. The pedal bin didn't work and had no bin bag inside. Additionally, the door knob in to the room was hanging on for dear life which creates the risk of being locked out of your room with your belongings still inside. Despite this, the worst was yet to come. Above the fabric headboard was a canopy which we peaked over the top of. Not only did we find a thick layer of dust which had been the cause for us sneezing for the entire trip but we discovered a packet of crisps which had been left on top of the canopy by a previous guest. The best before date on the packet said 2019 - meaning that part of the room had not seen a duster or a wipe for two years. It made us feel sick to know we'd slept under that filth which the cleaning staff (if there even are any) hadn't given the time of day to for 24 months. This is absolutely unacceptable when this hotel is taking people's money to stay here and they are doing the absolute bare minimum to provide a good service. The continental breakfast was poor. A cup of tea in a paper cup, a carton of battery acid orange juice and one cheap brioche each in a plastic wrapper was delivered to our door. You expect a hotel to look after you when it comes to the food they serve and we we felt like we were a burden for even asking for the breakfast. It was in no way a four star breakfast (as the hotel claims to be a four star) and we wondered how on earth they can claim to be of that standard. We had to take what we were given and had no options whatsoever on what we could eat - it was either the brioche or nothing. the question if guests with dietary requirements would even be able to have anything to eat. It really is such a shame as the building itself is gorgeous with lovely art on the walls on the landings and in the room itself. The furniture in the room was really nice too but the glass top on one of the bedside tables was held on with blue tac. The staff were really friendly which is confusing in comparison to the poor quality of the rooms. We were really excited to stay here when we booked but we left feeling cheated out of what should have been a really relaxing weekend. We wouldn't recommend staying here and if you want to spend your money wisely, we would suggest avoiding this health hazard hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager , Guest Services / Front Office at The Cranley Hotel
Responded 4 weeks ago
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor for us and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay. Just to let you know we are currently refurbishing some areas of the hotel and updating the service and our facilities. We hope we will have an early opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel to show you we can do better
Read more
Gourmand wrote a review May 2021
Exeter, United Kingdom2 contributions
Stained headboards, rotten and stained curtains, shabby bashed up furniture, broken and unusable door catches and window latches, pitiful "continental" breakfast, dusty, stained carpets, 4 out of five ceiling lights not working, loose taps and plugs, missing legs on bed etc etc etc Not redecorated in 20 years I should think. One small sachet each of shampoo and shower gel. However, bathroom and beds and towels clean and comfy. Broken portable air conditioer in middle of room. Place falling apart, no maintenace, no investment. Staff change every day, but very friendly and professional as far as they are able. All very shabby, but was obviously charming in its heyday which was a very, very long time ago. Situation in SouthKen unbeatable and relatively cheap so "good value" but basically won't be long before it just falls down - website very misleading. Shame really.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Refuse rooms on top floor or at back
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager , Guest Services / Front Office at The Cranley Hotel
Responded 4 weeks ago
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor for us and we are sorry you were disappointed with your stay. Just to let you know we are currently refurbishing some areas of the hotel and updating our facilities. We hope we will have an early opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel to show you we can do better
Read more
xavier2419 wrote a review Apr 2021
Madrid, Spain4 contributions5 helpful votes
When do you charge the full amount of a stay upon check-in ??? Upon asking, was told that it was done because the booking was not refundable. Don't see what difference that makes ... You should still charge once the service is rendered, not before ! Continental breakfast : horrible orange juice and a brioche with tea or coffee. No more than that ... Room is not made during the weekend ... TV was disconnected And you don't get your 50GBP deposit back right away - upon check-out - 'because the system doesn't allow for that. 5 days after check out, still nothing received ... Bottom line is you get the sensation that they are out to extract everything they possibly can from you. Stay away
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager , Guest Services / Front Office at The Cranley Hotel
Responded 4 weeks ago
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor for us and we are sorry you were so disappointed with your stay. Just to let you know we are currently refurbishing some areas of the hotel and updating our facilities. It is standard procedure in hotels to charge on arrival so I was surprised to read your comment. We are offering a limited breakfast at the moment because of the current restrictions as is highlighted when bookings are made.
Read more
Amna H wrote a review Apr 2021
London, United Kingdom16 contributions9 helpful votes
I didn’t even stay here but was planning to. Right before booking I called the hotel to confirm if I could have a late check out. The gentleman on the phone was so rude that I was shocked. Clearly I would not be staying here if he couldn’t answer a simple question without giving me a severe attitude.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021
Helpful
Share
Mark W wrote a review Mar 2021
Middlewich4 contributions18 helpful votes
Do not waste your time or money with these jokers, read reviews here and on Booking.com...they’re all bad for reason. Ok, so together with friends we booked this hotel for VE Bank Holiday weekend May 2020, and paid in full-mistake. Along came the 1st government lockdown..we queried booking status and the hotel stated they were open to ‘key workers’ only, didn’t offer a refund or alternative, stating it was hard luck, there was nothing the could do. Eventually and begrudgingly they agreed to move the booking to November 2020 but at a higher rate, forcing us to pay out more in an attempt to recoup the original fully paid up costs. Along comes 2nd lockdown! And once again ‘key workers only’ and trying to get these people to answer phone or emails is near impossible, if the do speak to you it’s never anyone who is willing or knows how to help. So we tried to rebook a third date (still no refund offered-stated they could only amend and no refund)....made enquires re suitable dates, didn’t get any assistance.... then noticed (via credit card statement) these con artists had only gone and taken a completely new full cost booking off the original credit card details without any authority to do so, so now they had taken the full amount twice having still not honoured the initial May 2020 booking! Eventually we went sec75 on credit card for services not supplied, card refunded us in full, and then this hotel who find it impossible to return calls or emails etc challenged refund by telling credit card dispute services not only had we been offered alternative dates but also we had also offered an initial refund but declined it. It’s difficult to deal with liars, however all our unanswered emails were supplied to the card provider who once again provided a full refund, including the bogus second booking costs. In short (I know it’s not been-but there was so much more) DO NOT WASTE YOUR TIME & MONEY
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021Trip type: Traveled with friends
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$58 - $356 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
cranley hotel london
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandLondonEarls Court / South Kensington
NUMBER OF ROOMS
39
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Cranley Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to The Cranley Hotel?
Nearby attractions include South Kensington (0.3 miles), The Drayton Arms Theatre (0.05 miles), and Duke of Clarence (0.04 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The Cranley Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a lounge, and room service.
Which room amenities are available at The Cranley Hotel?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a desk.
What food & drink options are available at The Cranley Hotel?
Guests can enjoy a lounge during their stay.
What are some restaurants close to The Cranley Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Light of India, Town House, and Macellaio RC South Kensington.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Cranley Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at The Cranley Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Lithuanian.
Are there any historical sites close to The Cranley Hotel?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Churchill War Rooms (2.4 miles), Tower of London (4.8 miles), and Houses of Parliament (2.6 miles).