We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Cranley Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Cranley Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

680 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 566: English reviews
New Jersey
Level Contributor
58 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We stayed here for 10 nights and it was great! The staff was very helpful in making suggestions about the area. However, when we saw the size of the room, I asked for an upgrade and was refused due to the fact that I did not make the reservation directly. The bed was very comfortable and the bathroom was very... More 

Helpful?
Thank thegangof4inNJ
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

We enjoyed our single night stay. We were upgraded to a four poster room which was very spacious and we both slept like logs. The bathroom was a little tired and would benefit from being freshened up. Breakfast came when we asked and was pleasant.

Helpful?
Thank Chris L
GMCRNLY, Manager at Cranley Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write this nice review of your recent stay at The Cranley Hotel and I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay. It was good to read your constructive criticism and please be assured we are updating many areas of the hotel We hope we will have an early opportunity to welcome you back... More 

West Sussex
Level Contributor
82 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Just come back from 1 night stay at this hotel. The hotel is a small hotel in a lovely quiet street. Lovely size rooms that are very clean and with nice linen but very tired with cracks in the walls. Air conditioning was not working and there was a portable unit that was extremely noisy with a hose that had... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank A&JEngland
GMCRNLY, Manager at Cranley Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor and i was disappointed we did not meet your expectations. We currently are undergoing a refurbishment program and we are painting a lot of our rooms. We have just had a company complete a full survey completed a survey on our air conditioning as we do have some... More 

North Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We arrived in the middle of a heat wave. I was worried whether the Cranley would be cool enough based on some reviews. We had a fantastic room at the back of the hotel: cool and very quiet! The room was very small...but cute. We had a king bed and it was incredibly comfortable. As well, the staff were helpful... More 

Helpful?
Thank EllenF F
GMCRNLY, Manager at Cranley Hotel, responded to this review

It fills me with great pride to learn of your great experience here at The Cranley Hotel. It is indeed in a perfect location; minutes walk from the Royal Kensington Gardens, Hyde Park and a very short walk to the Royal Albert Hall. I am delighted to learn that you consider all of the team to be very helpful, friendly... More 

Southampton
Level Contributor
48 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We went on a Groupon offer. Nearly £200 a night for bed and continental breakfast. The room (ground floor) was nice. Bathroom a bit tired, but ok. The problem was the heat. The AC was ineffective. Our friends had been put in a very poor room in the roof and were in an even worse situation. None of us slept.... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank soton2
GMCRNLY, Manager at Cranley Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your feedback following your recent stay with us at the Cranley Hotel. Please accept my sincere apologies for the lack of care in allocating your room and the delay in breakfast delivery to the room. Please rest assured that each point you've raised has been discussed in detail with my... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Plus: -The location -A nice view over the rooftops of Kensington from our window. -Breakfast in bed. Minus: -Huge stains on bouth the head of the bed and on the curtains. Not so fresch carpets. -The showehead was old and really hard to use. -The AC was broken (?). We had some kind of temporary installment with a huge (and... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Mirjam W
GMCRNLY, Manager at Cranley Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking the opportunity to share your review of your recent stay at the Cranley. I am pleased to note that you enjoyed our central location which provides a perfect start for your shopping trek and selection of excellent eateries but I am hugely concerned and disappointed that you did not have the overall experience of the Cranley... More 

Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
97 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Very well located boutique hotel. The idea is good, and the rooms are nice and well decorated. Very British in style. However they look old and carpets and curtains are old and dirty. The bed is very uncomfortable. There is no bar so you are suggested to have your breakfast in your room, or otherwise the lobby.

Helpful?
1 Thank Javitxus
GMCRNLY, Manager at Cranley Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your feedback following your recent stay with us at the Cranley Hotel. I'm delighted you appreciated our central location, and mentioned the beautiful decor that we take great pride of. Please rest assured that each point you've raised has been discussed in detail with my management team and we are... More 

Waterlooville, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed here for just one night and found the hotel very relaxing and comfortable. The room had all the amenities we wanted including robes, slippers, a safe, fridge, TV. We were offered tea on our arrival which was very welcome. For the price of a the room, in London, I think is was good value and would certainly recommend it... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank bennySouthend
GMCRNLY, Manager at Cranley Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your recent stay with us here at The Cranley Hotel. I was thrilled to learn that you enjoyed your experience with us and that my team were very welcoming and personable during your stay. Once again, thank you for your feedback and I look forward to welcoming you and your friends back in the very near... More 

Birmingham, Michigan
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2016

This charming hotel is just a few minutes away from the Gloucester Road underground station on the Picadilly Line. The price was very fair for London, and the room was elegant and beautifully decorated. There is a beautiful front room area where they serve prosecco and appetizers from 7-8 pm. Restaurants in the area vary from fast food (KFC and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Love2Travel984
GMCRNLY, Manager at Cranley Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking your time to review your recent stay with us at The Cranley Hotel. We take great pride in our personalized service and I’m thrilled to learn that my staff did everything possible to make your stay a memorable one. Indeed our location is excellent, perfect pit stop to pick up some gifts for family and friends... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2016

Three Spaniards arriving for three days to London, half business half leisure, staying at the Cranley. Everything was just so pleasant. The hotel staff were friendly and only too happy to help with transport and touristic advice. Even though some of us spoke English well and we all understood it, concierges spoke to us in Spanish at all times. Not... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jorge C
GMCRNLY, Manager at Cranley Hotel, responded to this review

I was so pleased to learn of your fantastic review of The Cranley Hotel. We pride ourselves on our personalised service, so it is always brilliant to read such wonderful comments about my team and I will be sure to share your very kind words with the whole of the team. I am also very happy to know that you... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

181 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (161)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (20)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (45)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Other (72)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
The Bailey's Hotel London
The Bailey's Hotel London
#146 of 1,069 in London
4.5 of 5 stars 222 reviews
South Kensington
Hotel Xenia
Hotel Xenia
#84 of 1,069 in London
4.5 of 5 stars 1,061 reviews
South Kensington
Ashburn Hotel
Ashburn Hotel
#176 of 1,069 in London
4.5 of 5 stars 836 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
The Ampersand Hotel
The Ampersand Hotel
#52 of 1,069 in London
4.5 of 5 stars 2,563 reviews
South Kensington
The Kensington
The Kensington
#41 of 1,069 in London
4.5 of 5 stars 2,353 reviews
South Kensington
The Rockwell
The Rockwell
#367 of 1,069 in London
4.0 of 5 stars 524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in South Kensington

Neighborhood Profile
South Kensington
With its ivied mews, row upon row of Poppins-esque white washed mansions, and placid garden squares, it's easy to see the charms of South Kensington. And with superb access to Hyde Park, Holland Park and Kensington Gardens, as well as the largely child-friendly and mostly free Museum Quarter (not to mention more major attractions like Royal Albert Hall) such charms are easy to make the most of. As welcoming and cosmopolitan as it is reserved and residential, South Kensington is always a hit with visitors.
Explore this neighborhood
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Room Service
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Sitting quietly on an attractive South Ken side street, The Cranley Hotel in London is the perfect townhouse-from-home. With its mahogany antiques, Regency-period palette and prettily embroidered bedheads, it's an ideal base for a spot of Anglo-centric shopping, sightseeing and tea-taking. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Cranley Hotel

Address: 10-12 Bina Gardens | South Kensington, London SW5 0LA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington , Earls Court
Price Range: $159 - $371 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cranley Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, SpeedyBooker.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Cranley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cranley Hotel London, England
Hotel Style:
#287 Romantic Hotel in London
#292 Business Hotel in London
#294 Family Hotel in London
#295 Luxury Hotel in London
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay