We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Cumberland

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Cumberland
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

5,824 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Cumberland
See the most recent reviews
Showing 4,969: English reviews
Huddersfield, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed July 8, 2014 via mobile

Warmest of receptions on arrival, great staff, knowledgeable concierge and a clean,modern hotel, really good standard and clearly recently refurbished, Not too cheap mind but it's London and what a great location.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Glenn M
MeskeremA, General Manager at The Cumberland, responded to this review

Dear reviewer, Thank you for posting a review here on TripAdvisor, with regards to your recent stay with us at The Cumberland Hotel. I am pleased to read that your overall experience was an enjoyable one and that our team were able to make your time here with us as relaxing as possible. We sincerely appreciate your feedback and do...

Cambridge, Canada
Reviewed July 8, 2014

We arrived at our hotel 10am on Saturday and our room wasn't ready, they called housekeeping for us and said they put a rush on it. We asked what time we should come back...they said 3pm. So a rush is normal check in time??? So fine, we left our luggage and walked around Hyde Park, and went out for lunch....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nikechik
MeskeremA, General Manager at The Cumberland, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback on your recent stay. I am sorry for the shortfalls you experienced with our service at The Cumberland Hotel, all feedback given to us by our guests is passed on to my team on a daily basis. We do appreciate our guests feedback and take the necessary...

Calgary, Canada
Reviewed July 8, 2014

I have always heard about how small hotel rooms can be in London so I was cautious in what to expect at this hotel. The hotel has smaller rooms than we are used to in North America but has been newly modernized. Unfortunately, so much so that there was only a narrow ledge in the bathroom for toiletries. The bathroom...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Charlene Y
MeskeremA, General Manager at The Cumberland, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel and its services. We are glad you had a pleasant stay with us and that you were particularly happy with the location and the variety of choices we have for breakfast which fits your special dietary requirements. We will continue to strive to meet our guests’ expectations and...

Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewed July 8, 2014

We decided to spoil ourselves and stay in the Hendrix suite in the Cumberland, Hendrix lived there at the time of his death, and the suite is decorated in 60s decor with photos and a copy of Jimis Flying V on the wall, a bit expensive, but worthy every penny, epic room, great location, go on spoil yourself.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Steve C
MeskeremA, General Manager at The Cumberland, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for posting your review following your recent stay with us, we are very grateful for all the feedback we receive and appreciate the time you have taken to recognise our hotel. We hope that we can welcome you back to The Cumberland Hotel in the future. Kind regards, Ian L Peck General Manager

Houston, Texas
Reviewed July 6, 2014

We arrived by Tube and went directly into the Lobby of the hotel at the Marble Arch stop, super convenient! The location of the hotel is perfect; across the street from Hyde Park, literally next to the entrance of the Tube, and it has a grocery store and drug store within 2 blocks. It also has a bus stop and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Keyrat04
MeskeremA, General Manager at The Cumberland, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for the fantastic review. Of all the positive points you mentioned, needless to say the most rewarding to hear is the appraisal of the staff you encountered. Customer service is always the most important part of staying in a hotel and I'm happy to hear my team members went out of their way to assist you...

Vienna, Austria
Reviewed July 6, 2014

A great location, and the perfect London hotel for the tourist who wants to see the city and not spend much time in their rooms!! The Cumberland provides the perfect spot to drop off your bags and explore the city. It is well located, and when you return at night - the rooms are always clean and the beds comfortable....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Akbar K
MeskeremA, General Manager at The Cumberland, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, We always appreciate the positive comments left by all our guests. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that our staff have gone above and beyond in terms of service. Thank you again, and we look forward to seeing you and serving you in the near future. Kind regards, Ian L Peck General Manager

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewed July 6, 2014 via mobile

My friend and I stayed here for a girls weekend in July. We paid for an Exec room. Thinking we'd be provided with a few luxuries throughout our stay and have a lovely room. After the worst check in procedure ever experienced, our first room stank so were moved to another 'marginal' room. Staff friendly but a little useless other...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank CavMcV
MeskeremA, General Manager at The Cumberland, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, First of all, I would like to thank you for taking the time and giving us your feedback regarding your recent experience at The Cumberland Hotel. Feedback such as your own is crucial for us and of the highest importance in order to improve the level of service that we provide. On behalf of the team, I would...

mumbai
Reviewed July 6, 2014 via mobile

Staying right mow and for 2 days .our ropm has not been properly cleaned despite putting the clean room sign out at 10 am eaxh day and making half a dozen reminder calls, ots 3/15 pm currently and the last call was at 2/30. Pm Conveniently located but lacking in service

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jiten H
MeskeremA, General Manager at The Cumberland, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, I am very sorry for the inconvenience you experienced when housekeeping did not refresh your room. I will address your concerns with my Executive Housekeeper to ensure this situation is avoided in the future. During your next stay with us, please do not hesitate to call down to the front desk and inform them of the situation as...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed July 6, 2014 via mobile

Stayed for a couple of nights with my partner. Hotel ok but overpriced. Location good. My main concern was the staff. The lobby staff in particular were extremely rude and unhelpful. One of my friends was meeting me in the lobby (but wasn't staying at the hotel) and he was approached by a member of staff and quizzed on which...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank lisaSwebb
MeskeremA, General Manager at The Cumberland, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Many thanks for your review on your recent stay with us at The Cumberland Hotel. Please be assured that we take all our guest feedback to be of utmost importance to us, hence it would be very much appreciated if we can have the opportunity to speak with you personally and therefore kindly request you to contact us...

Singapore
Reviewed July 5, 2014

This hotel is conveniently located near Marble Arch and shopping starts just around the corner with the largest Marks & Spencer and Primark in London. The room is modern and clean without noise when it is facing a side street. The room price is not cheap but is fair for its hotel category. The service, however, could be improved for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank superdoggy
MeskeremA, General Manager at The Cumberland, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, I would like to thank you personally for taking the time to give us your positive and constructive feedback, it is through feedback such as yours that we can rise to the challenge of exceeding our guests expectations. Please accept my sincere apologies for the overall disappointments you experienced with our service, all my heads of department have...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

1,400 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (1189)
Viewed
Dining (37)
Viewed
View from Room (37)
Viewed
Room/Suite (310)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (190)
Viewed
Bathroom (128)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (486)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (96)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
Standard Double (47)
Viewed
The Hotel (35)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (115)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (31)
Viewed
Room/Suite (43)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Other (24)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Marylebone
Amba Hotel Marble Arch
Amba Hotel Marble Arch
#66 of 1,089 in London
1,355 reviews
Marylebone
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - Marble Arch
Marylebone
The Leonard Hotel
The Leonard Hotel
#327 of 1,089 in London
631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marylebone
Radisson Blu Edwardian Sussex Hotel
Mayfair
London Marriott Hotel Park Lane
Marylebone
The Marylebone
The Marylebone
#51 of 1,089 in London
3,323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Marylebone

Neighborhood Profile
Marylebone
Marylebone offers what so many London neighborhoods cannot: a village feel coupled with urban convenience. Much of its success rests in its location. Wedged between the northeastern corner of Hyde Park and the southern end of Regent's Park and with a number of Tube stations within easy reach, Marylebone is as pedestrian friendly as Central London gets. The bustling shopping mecca of Oxford Street separates it from Soho and Mayfair, exclusive Regent Street marks its border with Fitzrovia, and cosmopolitan Edgware Road serves as its western edge. Within this enviably situated quarter are an array of outstanding restaurants (from Michelin darlings to down and dirty cheeseburgers), an impressive assortment of independently owned shops, and some of the city's quietest and most pleasant nooks, crannies and cobbled lanes.
Explore this neighborhood
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Cumberland Hotel is one of London's most famous and finest four star hotels. Opposite Marble Arch, it is perfectly located with superb service and facilities. Its inspiring lobby exhibits inspirational original works of modern art, perfectly complimenting its contemporary style. A great hotel in a perfect location in one of the world's great cities! ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Cumberland

Address: Great Cumberland Place, London W1H 7DL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Marylebone
Price Range: $194 - $352 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Cumberland 4.5*
Number of rooms: 1019
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your The Cumberland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cumberland Hotel London
Cumberland Hotel London
Cumberland London
The Cumberland London, England
Hotel Style:
#248 Family Hotel in London
#271 Luxury Hotel in London
#292 Romantic Hotel in London
#342 Business Hotel in London
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from The Cumberland staff and other travelers.
38 questions
Ask a question
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma

See all questions (38)

Questions? Get answers from The Cumberland staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“looking over Marble arch”
 of 5 bubbles daddarioz, 2 days ago | Read review
“Just book another hotel - The park plaza is excellent”
 of 5 bubbles amberfletch, 1 week ago | Read review
“Executive Room”
 of 5 bubbles chardhut, 1 week ago | Read review
“Deluxe room”
 of 5 bubbles brianhP93XQ, 1 week ago | Read review
“All rooms we have stayed in have been very quiet ,some have views of Marble Arch and have”
 of 5 bubbles suebrianmatthews, 2 weeks ago | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question