We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Save money. We search 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices.

Crowne Plaza London - Kings Cross , an IHG hotel

Save
Share
1 King's Cross Road, London WC1X 9HX England
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
ZenHotels.com
$211
View deal
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
eDreams
View all 18 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (798)
Room & Suite (428)
Dining (54)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Updated 11/20/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Crowne Plaza London - Kings Cross , an IHG hotel
Updated 11/20/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#627 of 1,200 hotels in London
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
The Crowne Plaza London Kings Cross is a central London hotel situated between the City of London and London's West End. Kings Cross, Farringdon and Russell Square underground stations are all within easy walking distance. The New Eurostar terminal at St Pancras is within 15 mins walk. The Crowne Plaza London Kings Cross provides easy access to key tourist attractions such as Oxford Street, Covent Garden, The British Museum, St Pauls Cathedral and Sadlers Wells Theatre. The Crowne Plaza London Kings Cross has 429 air conditioned bedrooms with high speed internet access all with one queen or two double sized beds. Two exciting restaurants to choose from, Belgo serves traditional Belgian mussels, steaks, burgers, rotisserie chicken and selection of 62 Belgian beers, or Bloom Kitchen and Bar specialises in gin cocktails and serves bar snacks. Meeting rooms can accommodate up to 250 delegates.
Read more
Property amenities
Paid private parking on-site
Free internet
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Car hire
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Parking
Wifi
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Fitness / spa locker rooms
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary instant cofffee
Kid-friendly buffet
Taxi service
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Massage
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
Laptop safe
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish, Italian, Polish and 1 more

Location

Full view
100Great for walkers
Grade: 100 out of 100
120Restaurantswithin 0.3 miles
21Attractionswithin 0.3 miles
3997Reviews171Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 916
  • 1,657
  • 921
  • 312
  • 191
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Robin_K wrote a review Jan 11
Accrington, United Kingdom2228 contributions591 helpful votes
In November I had the unpleasant experience of having a reservation cancelled as the company chose to accept a lucrative government contract to operate as a quarantine hotel for the government, As a result I was left high and dry with zero support. I took this up with IHG and they made a token gesture and I was influenced to renew my reservation in December under favourable terms. Fast forward to December and the very same thing happened again! This time I had only days notice and again received no support or assistance from the hotel. This is totally unacceptable and no way to do business, especially with a status member of IHG. Again there was no communication other than a cancellation notice. I booked a replacement hotel at double the cost due to the short notice. I again approached IHG and they were mortified and again made a token gesture. I have no issue with IHG as I totally understand that CP Kings Cross is a franchise however I do hold Firoka Group and General Manager Craig Penry-Parish totally responsible for what amounts to negligence and incompetence. I am a travel critic and hospitality assessor. I have written to Firoka to formally complain and seek recompense but, not unsurprisingly, they haven't responded. The entire company is a disgrace and the management team of CPKK a shambles. This hotel should be avoided at all costs and I am amazed that IHG hasn't disenfranchised it.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021
Value
Rooms
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Roberto Rossetti, Guest Services / Front Office at Crowne Plaza London - Kings Cross , an IHG hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Robin Knowles, first of all thank you for being a loyal IHG Rewards Club Elite Member. I sincerely apologize for these unfortunate events that caused you so much inconvenience. The requisition process occurred at very short notice on both occasions and we had no choice than cancel all reservations during the time affected. I have escalated your feedback to our Directors and we contact you privately. Thank you again for your loyal patronage to the hotel and the brand. Best regards Roberto Rossetti Rooms Manager
Read more
John H wrote a review Dec 2021
Sutton, United Kingdom54 contributions12 helpful votes
+1
Booked a weekend for a family getaway, 2 nights. Arrived, found the hotel was closed and become a Covid hotel for quarantined travellers. Reservation canceled, wouldn't it be nice to think that in emergencies like this, they would contact you and make sure they made alternative arrangements rather than let you arrive and walk into a potential covid infected area, just to be told you cannot stay and reservations are all canceled ? Left on the street without a place to stay, at night. Hospital staff chased us out and told us we had to find somewhere else to stay. Phoned IHG 6 times, wasting an hour, without finding us alternative accommodation. In the end we spent £50 on storing luggage, 90 minutes extra travelling, missed theatre all trying to find a new hotel to stay at… first night of a weekend ruined, child traumatised and crying. My 19 years loyalty to IHG is worthless. Spire elite is worthless. They don't care. I complained via twitter, no one called. Several promises made all ignored. Ive given 10 chances for them to discuss with me..so now it is appropriate to share my experience. Dont risk your life with an IHG reservation its meaningless.. they don't care, they abandoned my family to our fate on the streets of London. I wasn’t the only one.. in the pictures, that taxi.. was another guest arriving to the same fate ! As for this hotel, when it reopens, remember… its last purpose was for covid quarantined potential omicron risk visitors..and as demonstrated they just don't care.. think about that before you book.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Find another hotel
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Roberto Rossetti, Guest Services / Front Office at Crowne Plaza London - Kings Cross , an IHG hotel
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear ALotOfAirmiles, that you for posting your feedback. I am really sorry to hear that you were not aware of the hotel temporary closure. IHG contacted all guests who booked via our website, while our revenue team informed all our business partners. As TripAdvisor is anonymous, I cannot verify your reservation source. Please be free to contact me directly, if you wish to discuss your experience further. Best regards Roberto Rossetti Rooms Manager
Read more
Alisa Y wrote a review Dec 2021
2 contributions2 helpful votes
Was booked for a long term stay for work (2 weeks). The stay was really pleasant, clean rooms, decent front desk service, good location... until the night of 7 December when me and my colleagues received a letter perched at our room doors, saying we had to check out the next morning because the government is requisitioning the hotel and it had to be closed. Never mind the very last minute notice, but we were switched to Holiday Inn Bloomsbury, a marked downgrade for the same price, with no compensation or any kind of arrangement to bridge the gap other than a taxi ride to Holiday Inn (which I had to share with a colleague... with huge suitcases in tow). The huge time gap between check-out and check-in time at holiday inn (3pm!) with no room was a huge inconvenience. I tried seeking recourse through the feedback form on the IHG website but there has been no response. This is really a slap to our face and I've had to advise my company's travel agent against booking this hotel next time.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled on business
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Roberto Rossetti, Guest Services / Front Office at Crowne Plaza London - Kings Cross , an IHG hotel
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Aliyapa, thank you for reaching out to us. We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience this situation has caused you. The hotel has been requisitioned by the Government for exclusive use at a very short notice. We did our best to relocate all our residents at the closest possible locations. I am sorry to hear that you were not pleased by the alternative destination hotel and you felt downgraded. Please feel free to contact me directly, if you wish to discuss your experience further. Best regards Roberto Rossetti Rooms Manager
Read more
SARJ R wrote a review Dec 2021
Nottingham4 contributions7 helpful votes
To Keith Barr CEO IHG Hotels & Resorts & Joanna Kurowska MD IHG Hotels & Resorts UK & Ireland I hope that this review is seen by the above Senior Managers of the IHG Group. I will be writing to them directly too. Whenever I call to make a booking, I am constantly thanked for being an IHG reward member which I have been for many years, yet you have accepted a profitable Government contact for your hotel to be used as a Covid-19 Quarantine Hotel over your loyal customers & canceled our confirmed booking! After receiving our confirmation, we booked our train tickets & our theatre tickets at a considerable expense. Last night we received an email stating that our reservation has been cancelled. I have spent three hours on the phone today, called 3 different numbers & spoken to several different people including a senior case manager by the name of Marietta, but they still can’t find me a replacement hotel without me having to pay out another £116 to stay in an inferior hotel than the one we booked which is also a lot further away from where we need to be! Absolutely shocking service & not a care about how this has affected customers plans for the holidays.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
Room Tip: How long will the virus hand around in the hotel once all the travellers with confirmed cases of...
See more room tips
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from IHG Service, Owner at Crowne Plaza London - Kings Cross , an IHG hotel
Responded 4 weeks ago
Hello SARJ R, We take your reservations very seriously, and it saddens me to see your reservation was canceled. Rest assured, we will investigate what happened and reach out to you as soon as possible. I have sent you a private message to assist you further, and I hope you can accept my apology. Thank you for your IHG Rewards membership and for choosing us once more for your stay. I hope you can give us another chance to show you we can do better. Alejandro G. Case Manager IHGService
Read more
Andrew wrote a review Dec 2021
1 contribution3 helpful votes
We’d booked 3 nights for the weekend before Christmas to then receive an email with 10 days notice cancelling our stay and advising that we would be refunded. This stay had been booked 9 months ago and no reasons we’re given for the cancellation. Having spent 2 hrs on the phone to IHG reservations and complaint’s department there was no resolution offered other than we would have to pay significantly more at an alternative hotel that was much further away and accept a room where two of us would now have to sleep on a sofa bed. At the very least we would have expected you to offer an alternative hotel and to absorb the additional costs. Is this how you treat all of your Spire Elite IHG members? This is without doubt the worst customer service we have ever received!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from IHG Service, Owner at Crowne Plaza London - Kings Cross , an IHG hotel
Responded 4 weeks ago
Hi andrewlO8973NB, Thank you for posting a candid review. I was very concerned to read your comments regarding the reservation cancellation and customer service. I understand your dismay and I am sorry. This is not the way we help our guests recharge and be inspired. I will make sure to share your comments with our team for the necessary improvements needed on our end. Your loyalty as an IHG Rewards Spire Elite member means a lot to us and I still hope you would give us another chance in the future. Orlando A. Case Manager IHGService
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$131 - $254 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
holiday inn london - kings cross / bloomsbury hotel london, london holiday inn
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandLondonClerkenwell / Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
NUMBER OF ROOMS
429
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Crowne Plaza London - Kings Cross , an IHG hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Crowne Plaza London - Kings Cross , an IHG hotel?
Nearby attractions include PimpShuei (0.2 miles), Charles Dickens Museum (0.2 miles), and The Postal Museum (0.1 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Crowne Plaza London - Kings Cross , an IHG hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Crowne Plaza London - Kings Cross , an IHG hotel?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Crowne Plaza London - Kings Cross , an IHG hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Crowne Plaza London - Kings Cross , an IHG hotel?
Yes, paid private parking on-site is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Crowne Plaza London - Kings Cross , an IHG hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Chamisse, Union Tavern, and The Wilmington.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Crowne Plaza London - Kings Cross , an IHG hotel?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness center, and a sauna during their stay.
Is Crowne Plaza London - Kings Cross , an IHG hotel located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.9 miles away from the center of London.
Are any cleaning services offered at Crowne Plaza London - Kings Cross , an IHG hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Crowne Plaza London - Kings Cross , an IHG hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Crowne Plaza London - Kings Cross , an IHG hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, Italian, Polish, and Romanian.