We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Thistle Bloomsbury Park

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Thistle Bloomsbury Park
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

919 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 778: English reviews
Darlington, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Wrong information, cold breakfast on both mornings, complained, but not a lot of action taken, management not interested. Spoilt, mine and my friends weekend away.wouldn't recommend this hotel to anyone and would never stay at a thistle hotel again

 Report
Helpful?
Thank scholes18
Emma R, Manager at Thistle Bloomsbury Park, responded to this review

Dear Scholes18 Many Thanks for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay with us at the Thistle Bloomsbury Park, I am sorry on hear you do not wish to return to the hotel. Our rooms as mentioned to you are a combination of shower and bath options and I am sorry you were not made aware that...

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Location of hotel is good, with a choice of restaurants on the doorstep. Staff are very friendly. There are two tube stations close by,although we used taxis because of needing to take a wheelchair with us. Overall, a very good weekend and we would use the hotel again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jan H
Emma R, Manager at Thistle Bloomsbury Park, responded to this review

Dear Jan H Many Thanks for your feedback on your recent stay with us, I am glad that you found the team to be friendly and that you enjoyed the local areas. We hope to welcome you back in the near future. Many Thanks Emma

Worcestershire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

A well located hotel, easy to get to everything and walking distance from Euston if you don't mind a bit if a walk. Room was large if a little noisy as facing out onto Southampton Row. Ear plugs are provided. Clean and comfortable. It's an older hotel and in places that shows but all the staff were very friendly and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tracy W
Emma R, Manager at Thistle Bloomsbury Park, responded to this review

Dear Tracy W Many Thanks for your feedback on your recent stay with us, I am glad to hear that the team looked after you well, I am sorry to hear that the noise from the street disturbed you however I am glad to hear that the earplugs did help with this. I am sure you will be happy to...

Ipswich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Having booked a 'smart double' room we expected something a little larger than the tiny room on the very top floor which felt like the box room. A sign saying 'due to the traditional layout of our hotel hot water may take a minute to reach the taps'. Not quite the case - a lukewarm shower on Saturday wasn't pleasant...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alison P
Emma R, Manager at Thistle Bloomsbury Park, responded to this review

Dear Alison P Many Thanks for your feedback on your recent stay with us, I am sorry to hear that you did not find the room met your expectations. I am glad that you found the ear plugs to be useful however I am sure you will be glad to hear we will be putting in double glazing in the...

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

A welcoming reception. Rooms are basic but adequate. The bar closed at 11 not 12 as advertised. Best be early for breakfast or it will either be cold or dried up. Within easy walking distance of both Russell Square & holborn tube stations.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bevvy21
Emma R, Manager at Thistle Bloomsbury Park, responded to this review

Dear Bevvy21 Many Thanks for your feedback on your recent stay with us, I am sorry to hear the bar closed earlier than was advertised. Thanks for your feedback on the breakfast buffet, we do regularly keep the food refreshed and hot throughout the morning and Iam sorry to hear that you did not feel this was hot enough, I...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Absolutely rubbish service ; receptionist was more concerned about checking her phone rather then attending the guest . I had to wait about 15 minutes to be served and impolite. Wouldnt come here again .

 Report
Helpful?
Thank novlove24
Emma R, Manager at Thistle Bloomsbury Park, responded to this review

Dear Sajana C Many Thanks for your feedback on your recent stay with us, I am sorry to hear that you had a challenge at the front desk and that you had difficulty checking in. We do pride ourselves on providing excellence in customer service and obviously we have not been able to show this on your recent stay with...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Having stayed in central London hotels for probably 500 nights in the past 10 years, I M aware that London can be noisy. Every other hotel I have stayed in has handled this by installing double, secondary, or triple glazing. Never before, have I had to stay in a room with single glazing and ear plugs! Yes - earplugs 'with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Poorhotel287662
Emma R, Manager at Thistle Bloomsbury Park, responded to this review

Dear Poorhotel287662 Many Thanks for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay with us, I am sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations on your recent visit and that you found the room to be noisy. As you mentioned we do provide earplugs for guests to use if they wish due to our vibrant...

Krakow, Poland
Reviewed 1 week ago

I have spent two days at that lovely hotel . I enjoyed a really big room which rare in London.The receptionist was that kind that offered me a room to change as as I arrived too early . I have felt there really comfortably .

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Qlpaanna
Emma R, Manager at Thistle Bloomsbury Park, responded to this review

Dear Qlpaanna Many Thanks for your feedback on your recent stay with us I am glad you had an enjoyable visit. I look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future. Thanks Emma

Ely, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

We were on the 5th floor but as the lift was working not a problem, The room although small was clean and comfortable, We were at the front of the hotel overlooking the main road, The traffic noise was there but only in the background, Good nights sleep, The room could do with some decoration, Breakfast was good.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 398richcin
Emma R, Manager at Thistle Bloomsbury Park, responded to this review

Dear 398richcin Many Thanks for your feedback on your recent stay with us I am glad you had an enjoyable stay with us and I look forward to welcoming you back in due course. Thanks Emma

Woking, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We had booked this hotel for our trip to London on our anniversary. £160 for a double room to find when we arrived we were given two single beds! We asked to be moved to a room with a double bed as that's what we paid for but the hotel had no more rooms.. so they offered us drinks which...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank georgeemfc
Emma R, Manager at Thistle Bloomsbury Park, responded to this review

Dear Georgeemfc I am sorry to hear that you were not able to get the room you had booked at the Bloomsbury Park hotel, but I am happy to hear that the upgraded 4 star Charing Cross property that we arranged as an alternative enabled you to have a great night. Many Thanks Emma

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

198 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (149)
Viewed
Room/Suite (35)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (35)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Other (59)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (49)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Viewed
Room/Suite (20)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Mercure London Bloomsbury
Mercure London Bloomsbury
#318 of 1,077 in London
1,872 reviews
Bloomsbury
Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley
Bloomsbury
Grange Beauchamp Hotel
Grange Beauchamp Hotel
#270 of 1,077 in London
723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Holiday Inn London Bloomsbury
Bloomsbury
Grange Lancaster Hotel
Grange Lancaster Hotel
#672 of 1,077 in London
302 reviews
Bloomsbury
Grange Clarendon Hotel
Grange Clarendon Hotel
#467 of 1,077 in London
487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Bloomsbury

Neighborhood Profile
Bloomsbury
Snuggly nestled within Central London is academic and leafy Bloomsbury, an area that boasts walking distance access to many of London's most popular attractions. It is also home to some of Britain's most celebrated museums, including the must-see British Museum. Despite an understandable popularity with students, tourists and day trippers, vast sections of Bloomsbury retain a quiet, residential feel year round and throughout the week.
Explore this neighborhood
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Thistle Bloomsbury Park is the perfect base from which to explore this vibrant area of Central London, Within walking distance of The British Museum, Covent Garden and West End Theatres. Several famous formal squares and gardens are on our doorstep, with great transport links provided by Russell Square or Holborn Tube stations. Bloomsbury Park makes it home in a beautiful Edwardian building, and our comfortable rooms and friendly service will ensure a great stay in London. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Thistle Bloomsbury Park

Address: 126 Southampton Row, London WC1B 5AD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Price Range: $154 - $286 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Thistle Bloomsbury Park 3*
Number of rooms: 95
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Odigeo so you can book your Thistle Bloomsbury Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thistle Bloomsbury Park London, England
Hotel Style:
#326 Romantic Hotel in London
#328 Family Hotel in London
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Thistle Bloomsbury Park staff and other travelers.
14 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (14)

Questions? Get answers from Thistle Bloomsbury Park staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“If you have a room at the front of the hotel you will need the complimentary ear plugs because it is noisy!”
 of 5 bubbles janhF9892AU, 4 days ago | Read review
“Ask for an upper floor room.”
 of 5 bubbles tracywO6334GB, 5 days ago | Read review
“Maybe rooms not facing the main road are quitter.”
 of 5 bubbles 398richcin, 1 week ago | Read review
“Don't get a small double, upgrade if necessary”
 of 5 bubbles carolined754, Oct 19, 2016 | Read review
“Quiet rooms at the rear of the hotel”
 of 5 bubbles , Oct 18, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay