We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Thistle Bloomsbury Park

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Thistle Bloomsbury Park
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

880 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 747: English reviews
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

Lovely hotel, nice and quite for a couples weekend! Clean and rooms are quite spacious. Location is perfect we managed to get every where without a problem. Situated inbetween two undergrounds. Very easy to find would recommend to friend and family and return ourselves.

Helpful?
Thank Eleanor B
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

Great stay, given a complimentary upgrade on arrival very spacious rooms including a sitting room. Excellent location. Staff exceptionally helpful. High standard breakfast. Couple of minor issues, air-conditioning would have been good. Bathroom would benefit from an exhaust fan & a hair dryer power point. But these didn't detract too much from an otherwise excellent stay.

Helpful?
Thank Meryl R
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I stayed 2 nights in this very basic hotel, which was not very good quality. The room was small and everything was worn out. Interior was very very basic - reminds me of the cheapest possible materials and furniture you can get - the bed was better in quality though. Of course you can cope with basic too but do... More 

Helpful?
Thank Liamola
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

Stayed here for one night. Well presented and arrived to a glass of prosecco and was asked for room preferences. Got a big, clean room with comfy bed and bedding. Did not eat here but the restaurant looked nice. Very good location!! Easy to get to all main attractions.

Helpful?
Thank diggertip
Emma R, Manager at Thistle Bloomsbury Park, responded to this review

Dear Diggertip Many Thanks for providing feedback on your recent stay, I am glad you enjoyed the stay and the glass of prosecco went down well!! I hope we can welcome you back to the hotel in the future. Many Thanks Emma More 

Aberdeenshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Basic hotel in the heart of London. Clean but very dingy throughout and room allocated very small. No air conditioning but a very noisy fan supplied. Back room look out onto a lane with a noisy pub. Not a hotel I would return to in a hurry.

Helpful?
Thank charlesandrhona
Emma R, Manager at Thistle Bloomsbury Park, responded to this review

Dear CharlesandRhona I am sorry to read you did not enjoyed the stay at the hotel, I am sure you will be happy to learn we will be upgrading the hotel in the new year to install air conditioning and to improve all ameneties within the bedroom. It would be wonderful if you would be able to come and visit... More 

Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

The biggest plus of this hotel is just perfect location. From here you can basically walk eveywhere and dont need oyster card (bikeshare is the best). The service was nice as well. We didnt have breakfast though. The only problem we had was with housekeeping. One day they cleaned perfectly everything and gave us a chocolate but the other they... More 

Helpful?
Thank crankCZ
Emma R, Manager at Thistle Bloomsbury Park, responded to this review

Dear CrankCZ Many Thanks for providing feedback on your recent stay within the hotel. I am glad to hear that overall you had an enjoyable stay. I am however concerned that your room was not cleaned to the same standard e very day. I will address this with the housekeeping team. It could be down to a training issue. Many... More 

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The room did not have airconditioning and it was impossible to open the windows fully. The alternative was a very loud fan or an equally loud mobile airco. I was not able to sleep as a result and for the price I paid (£290) this was a total mismatch of quality and price.

Helpful?
Thank Jeroen T
Emma R, Manager at Thistle Bloomsbury Park, responded to this review

Dear Jeroen T Many Thanks for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay with us, I am sorry to learn that you did not feel the hotel was good value for money. As your rightly point out we do not have air-conditioning in the hotel. However this is something we are installing in the new year, along... More 

Southport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This hotel charged £250 + per night and it simply does not warrant it. It's dated, there no air conditioning and very little service offered. It took an hour to get room service, 40 minutes to call reception and the house keeping was very mediocre - in fact it was hard to tell the room had been serviced at all!

Helpful?
1 Thank Marto29
Emma R, Manager at Thistle Bloomsbury Park, responded to this review

Dear Marto29 Many Thanks for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay at the hotel, I am sorry to learn that you did not enjoy the stay with us and you did not believe you received value for money. I am sure you will be happy to hear the hotel will be implementing Air conditioning in the... More 

Auckland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Breakfast variety was excellent tho if you arrived late the hot food was luke warm to cold. Was our first time in UK and was surprised to find no top sheet and a thick duvee just what you don't want in Summer and also no face cloths. Room was average but no where to put 2 large cases fine if... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon N
Emma R, Manager at Thistle Bloomsbury Park, responded to this review

Dear Sharon N Many Thanks for providing feedback on your recent stay with us! I am glad that you enjoed the location of the hotel. I am sorry to hear that you found the temperature of the food to be only luke warm, I will address this with the chef along with the comments you made in reference to the... More 

Hythe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed here for 1 Night (3 Sept ) and found the hotel clean tidy with very friendly staff. Arrived just after 12 pm on the Saturday lunch time and was given an early check in by the most helpful of reception staff. The room 308 was small and a bit dated but was very clean with a very comfortable king... More 

Helpful?
Thank bruce f
Emma R, Manager at Thistle Bloomsbury Park, responded to this review

Dear Bruce F Many Thanks for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay with us, I am glad that you found the facilities and the location of the hotel to a good standard. As you may have read already we will be updating our bedroom offering in the new year and I do hope we will have... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

187 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (138)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (35)
Viewed
Room/Suite (32)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Other (51)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (49)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Viewed
Room/Suite (20)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Mercure London Bloomsbury
Mercure London Bloomsbury
#306 of 1,072 in London
4.0 of 5 stars 1,800 reviews
Bloomsbury
Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley
Bloomsbury
Holiday Inn London Bloomsbury
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Grange Beauchamp Hotel
Grange Beauchamp Hotel
#270 of 1,072 in London
4.0 of 5 stars 700 reviews
Bloomsbury
Grange Clarendon Hotel
Grange Clarendon Hotel
#431 of 1,072 in London
4.0 of 5 stars 477 reviews
Bloomsbury
Morton Hotel
Morton Hotel
#49 of 1,072 in London
4.5 of 5 stars 290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Bloomsbury

Neighborhood Profile
Bloomsbury
Snuggly nestled within Central London is academic and leafy Bloomsbury, an area that boasts walking distance access to many of London's most popular attractions. It is also home to some of Britain's most celebrated museums, including the must-see British Museum. Despite an understandable popularity with students, tourists and day trippers, vast sections of Bloomsbury retain a quiet, residential feel year round and throughout the week.
Explore this neighborhood
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Center with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Thistle Bloomsbury Park is the perfect base from which to explore this vibrant area of Central London, Within walking distance of The British Museum, Covent Garden and West End Theatres. Several famous formal squares and gardens are on our doorstep, with great transport links provided by Russell Square or Holborn Tube stations. Bloomsbury Park makes it home in a beautiful Edwardian building, and our comfortable rooms and friendly service will ensure a great stay in London. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Thistle Bloomsbury Park

Address: 126 Southampton Row, London WC1B 5AD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Price Range: $157 - $317 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Thistle Bloomsbury Park 3*
Number of rooms: 95
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Thistle Bloomsbury Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thistle Bloomsbury Park London, England
Hotel Style:
#327 Romantic Hotel in London
#329 Family Hotel in London
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay