We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

BEST WESTERN The Cromwell

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
BEST WESTERN The Cromwell
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,166 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 850: English reviews
Fareham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed yesterday NEW

Not bad enough to complainbut would not stay here again. Large room,good bathroom. Nasty smell in room,air con noisy had to turn it off,bed side lights broken one side not working the other. One ceiling bulb not working. For a 4 star hotel breakfast very disappointing poor quality hot food like warm.Staff all very efficient.

Helpful?
Thank Debbie F
Italy
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I had a single room, which was terribly small and uncomfortable. I found hair in the bathroom. My room had just three small windows at the top of the roof. For sure it is not worthy the price. The location is good, but it does not compensate the price and the poorness of the room. Next time I would choose... More 

Helpful?
Thank lauranstn
Hotel-Manager-BW110, General Manager at BEST WESTERN The Cromwell, responded to this review

Dear Lauranstn, Thank you for taking the time to share with us your feedback on your last stay and accept my apologies for not achieving your expectation - We do have larger rooms (and offer complimentary upgrades) but unfortunately on this occasion we were unable to move you due to being fully occupied. Please accept my sincerest apologies and hoep... More 

Travelers are raving about these London hotels

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
120 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

An economical hotel quite centrally situated. Small but adequately sized room with great facilities. The hotel staff are friendly and accommodating. A cheap happy hour of house wines and beer - £2.50 for a pint and £3.00 for the wines. Would stay here again.

Helpful?
Thank HollyHin
Hotel-Manager-BW110, General Manager at BEST WESTERN The Cromwell, responded to this review

Dear HollyHin, I would like to thank you for taking the time to post your review online after your recent stay with us here at BEST WESTERN The Cromwell. It is great to see that you have enjoyed your short stay with us here and taken advantage of our central location. Once again I would like to thank you for... More 

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed here after trawling through all the last minute booking websites and were very pleasantly surprised by it. The room very small with only about a foot of space around the bed on all sides, a small wardrobe and dressing table - however this wasn't an issue. The bathroom was lovely, very clean, it had a good shower and... More 

Helpful?
Thank slacey81
Hotel-Manager-BW110, General Manager at BEST WESTERN The Cromwell, responded to this review

Dear Slacey81, I would like to thank you for taking the time to post your review online after your recent stay with us here at BEST WESTERN The Cromwell. It is great to see that you have enjoyed your short stay with us here and taken advantage of our central location. I apologise for the incident occuring with your use... More 

Cowbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Hotel was very clean and tidy especially the bathroom, but the room, even by London Hotel standards was tiny, barely larger than a cupboard. Definitely would not recommend this hotel to anyone especially foreign visitors and will never use for a stay in London again The service at the bar was very poor, we had to call for someone to... More 

Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Helpful?
Thank Brian W
Hotel-Manager-BW110, General Manager at BEST WESTERN The Cromwell, responded to this review

Dear Brian W, I apologise for the shortfall in service issues you encountered during your visit. I have today shared your feedback with the team and they also join me in apologising for the service issues you experienced. Thank you once again for bringing this to my attention and I hope that we will have an opportunity to show you... More 

1 review
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I'm one person staying in one room. The room was quite small and in the basement area near the pool and breakfast room. The bathroom only had one bar of soap. No other amenities provided. You would probably have to beg for shower gel. The reading lights on the bed really were duct taped to the wall. Now I can... More 

Helpful?
Thank Fatima N
Hotel-Manager-BW110, General Manager at BEST WESTERN The Cromwell, responded to this review

Dear Fatima N, I apologise for the shortfall in service issues you encountered during your visit. I have today shared your feedback with the team and they also join me in apologising for the service issues you experienced. The issue relating to the lack of hot water has now been rectified. Thank you once again for bringing this to my... More 

poole
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This is an area of London we like and have stayed in 2 other hotels around here in recent years. This was by far the weakest. It is a great location being very close to Gloucester Road tube and all the amenities of South Kensington.However our room was down in the basement, small with a blacked out window. It looked... More 

Helpful?
Thank jackie s
Hotel-Manager-BW110, General Manager at BEST WESTERN The Cromwell, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback which certainly helps us to monitor and improve our services. I apologise for the shortfall in service issues you encountered during your visit. I have today shared your feedback with the Maintenance Manager and the Front of House Manager and they also join me in apologising for the service issues you experienced. Thank you once... More 

Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We needed somewhere to stay for a concert at the Royal Albert Hall. We know the area quite well and have stayed in other local hotels for the same reason and booked this one as it was at a very reasonable price for this area. As it was just for one night we did not need too much and found... More 

Helpful?
Thank Andrew J
Hotel-Manager-BW110, General Manager at BEST WESTERN The Cromwell, responded to this review

I would like to thank you for taking the time to post your review online after your recent stay with us here at BEST WESTERN The Cromwell. It is great to see that you have enjoyed your short stay with us here and taken advantage of our central location. Once again I would like to thank you for sharing your... More 

Scotland, UK
Level Contributor
33 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

BW The Cromwell is a great choice of place to stay. It is well located for transport, attractions and restaurants. The rooms are very comfortable with good amenities. The hotel is safe and quiet. The staff are extremely caring and helpful. There is also a small bar area where residents gather for some refreshments and some nice chat.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Helpful?
Thank dsl_falkirk
Hotel-Manager-BW110, General Manager at BEST WESTERN The Cromwell, responded to this review

We appreciate your kind feedback and were really happy to read that you enjoyed your stay. I shall be passing on your comments to the staff. Thank you and we look forward to welcoming you back again. Kind Regards Hotel Manager More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The location is fabulous (we use to live in London in the same borough for a few years) but this hotel was pretty ghetto....as in, our window latch was broken and wouldn't shut so we had to stuff the opening area with windows and froze all night (I woke up with a cold...Yay) and one of our bedside lamps was... More 

Helpful?
Thank michster54
Hotel-Manager-BW110, General Manager at BEST WESTERN The Cromwell, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback which certainly helps us to monitor and improve our services. I am pleased in general that you enjoyed your stay. I apologise for the shortfall in service issues you encountered during your visit. I have today shared your feedback with the Maintenance Manager and he joins me in apologising for the service issues you experienced.... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

391 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (285)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (44)
Viewed
Room/Suite (82)
Viewed
Bathroom (38)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Other (102)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (105)
Viewed
Amenities (8)
Viewed
Double Room with Garden Terrace (24)
Viewed
Executive Room (21)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Standard Double Room (22)
Viewed
The Hotel (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
BEST WESTERN Seraphine Kensington Gardens Hotel
South Kensington
BEST WESTERN Burns Hotel Kensington
South Kensington
Park International Hotel
Park International Hotel
#419 of 1,078 in London
1,750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Earls Court
Best Western Boltons Hotel London Kensington
South Kensington
Rydges Kensington London
Rydges Kensington London
#334 of 1,078 in London
1,012 reviews
South Kensington
Radisson Blu Edwardian Vanderbilt
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in South Kensington

Neighborhood Profile
South Kensington
With its ivied mews, row upon row of Poppins-esque white washed mansions, and placid garden squares, it's easy to see the charms of South Kensington. And with superb access to Hyde Park, Holland Park and Kensington Gardens, as well as the largely child-friendly and mostly free Museum Quarter (not to mention more major attractions like Royal Albert Hall) such charms are easy to make the most of. As welcoming and cosmopolitan as it is reserved and residential, South Kensington is always a hit with visitors.
Explore this neighborhood
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Traditional 3 Star hotel rated 4 Star Guest Satisfaction through the AA scheme. Housed in 19th Century Victorian building less than 100m (1 minute walk) from Gloucester Rd Station. Excellent transportation links to Central London and London Heathrow, London Gatwick and City Airport as well as Stanstead. No more than 10 mins walk to the Victoria & Albert Museum as well as the Science and National History Museums and a 5 minute bus journey to the World Famous Harrods ... more   less 

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN The Cromwell

Address: 110-112 Cromwell Road, Kensington, London SW7 4ES, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington , Kensington and Hyde Park
Price Range: $104 - $222 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN The Cromwell 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and HotelTravel.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN The Cromwell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western The Cromwell Hotel London
Best Western London
London Best Western
BEST WESTERN The Cromwell London, England
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from BEST WESTERN The Cromwell staff and other travelers.
11 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (11)

Questions? Get answers from BEST WESTERN The Cromwell staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Even though we where on the main road we got a good nights sleep.”
 of 5 bubbles 314debbief, yesterday | Read review
“basement rooms have everyone walking passed to breakfast each morning and i imagine they are quite noisy”
 of 5 bubbles slacey81, 2 weeks ago | Read review
“At the back of the hotel, not facing on to the very busy Cromwell Road is certainly the quietest.”
 of 5 bubbles AndrewJ887, 3 weeks ago | Read review
“Room on the front side have good view.”
 of 5 bubbles Surend_traveller, 5 weeks ago | Read review
“Rooms at the back of the hotel would be quieter”
 of 5 bubbles alisongM6580HE, Oct 29, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay