We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
2/24 Kensington High Street, London W8 4PT England
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
$294
View deal
Expedia.com
$276
View deal
Hotels.com
$274
View deal
Travelocity$274
Official Site$292
travelup.com$323
View all 19 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (819)
Room & Suite (344)
Dining (133)

About

#213 of 1,196 hotels in London
Location
4.8
Cleanliness
4.7
Service
4.6
Value
4.2
Located in fashionable Kensington adjacent to the lush open spaces of Hyde Park and Kensington Palace, the five star Royal Garden Hotel is the perfect place to stay whether on business or exploring London. The hotel has 394 beautifully appointed bedrooms, 3 bars, 2 restaurants, including our award winning authentic Chinese restaurant Min Jiang, 10 conference & meeting rooms, a gym and 24 hour business centre.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid private parking on-site
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Board games / puzzles
Children's television networks
Kids' outdoor play equipment
Airport transportation
Secured parking
Wifi
Paid internet
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Kid-friendly buffet
Kids' meals
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Massage
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Doorperson
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Room service
Safe
Minibar
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
VIP room facilities
Laptop safe
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Park View
Great View
Languages Spoken
English, French, Russian, Spanish and 4 more

Location

Full view
100Great for walkers
Grade: 100 out of 100
99Restaurantswithin 0.3 miles
27Attractionswithin 0.3 miles
4805Reviews25Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 3,252
  • 1,024
  • 306
  • 128
  • 96
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
DWOO811 wrote a review Yesterday
Swansea, United Kingdom15 contributions3 helpful votes
We went as a family to celebrate my MUMS heavenly birthday here, she loved this hotel for many years, a firm family favourite, the staff were kind everywhere we went, lovely cake & champers left in both rooms, we had coffee in the Origin restaurant & the staff showed empathy, comfortable but small classic rooms although refurbished & new, lovely concierge, just everything was brilliant thank you for having us, keep up the great work 🌹
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Valentina F wrote a review Oct 1
Porto Palo, Italy16 contributions3 helpful votes
Found this hidden brand new gem in the heart of Kensington, the Origin restaurant, at the Royal Garden hotel - we had a blast! Out of this world cocktail - Reggie blew out mind. Amazing starters tickled our taste buds and we are satisfied. The head Chef, John, came out to see how we were going. What an excellent customer service! Crab cakes and the most delicious pork bites ever are worth a try. Friendly staff and relaxing atmosphere, we'll be back. Thank you, Origin Kensington!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Vladimir Susko, Guest Services / Front Office at Royal Garden Hotel
Responded 3 days ago
Dear Valentina, Thank you for your glowing review of Origin Kensington and for the super photographs! Chef John and the restaurant team will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed your dining experience. We pride ourselves on offering the very finest in authentic British seasonal produce sourced from outstanding, local and national producers. Please do recommend us to your friends and family and we hope that it won’t be too long before we are able to welcome you back. Kind regards, Vladimir Susko Rooms Division Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
mohamed sharkawi wrote a review Sep 2022
Canton of Geneva, Switzerland4 contributions4 helpful votes
Absolutely terrific stay. From checkin to checkout, the hotel epitomized hospitality at its finest. From the front office team to the gentleman at concierge, each individual went above and beyond in terms of hospitality. A very special thank you to Mr Juan Porcella, he truly made our stay an unforgettable one. A very elegant and genuine individual who helped make our stay that much better.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Vladimir Susko, Guest Services / Front Office at Royal Garden Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Mr Sharkawi, Thank you so much for your lovely review. It will be a pleasure to pass on your kind comments to Juan and the rest of the team, who will be thrilled to hear that you had such a wonderful stay. We hope to welcome you back on a future occasion. If I can be of any further assistance, please don’t hesitate to contact me. Warm regards, Vladimir Susko Rooms Division Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
KennedyBarry wrote a review Sep 2022
Shropshire, United Kingdom72 contributions85 helpful votes
We had no real welcome when we arrived, the receptionist kept moving us back from one desk to another and had little to no conversation. We have stayed here before a few times so didn’t ask about the restaurant, breakfast or the bar at check in. However, I was a little puzzled as the entrance where I thought the bar and restaurant was is now a wall. I asked about this at reception and they explained that the bar and restaurant were being refurbished. This was never mentioned on check in or when booking the hotel room. We fancied a drink and asked at reception where the bar was, only to be told there was no bar open at 3:30 pm and we’d have to wait till 5:30 pm which I think is very poor in a five star hotel. The bar that they’re using is very dark and dingy and I guess it’s for late night drinking rather than at 5:30 pm and is really not suitable for pre dinner drinks. The Aircon in the room was awful, just blowing out room temperature air which isn’t great given it’s quite warm at the moment. They are serving the breakfast in one of their conference rooms and the buffet breakfast was ok, but really not a five star hotel standard. At Check out, we are we’re asked how our stay was and I said not great, it was clear the receptionist wasn’t really listening to me and completely ignored what I had said. I doubt we will come back to this hotel following this visit as it’s not cheap which is okay if you are getting what you pay for, but at this hotel sadly it’s not the case anymore.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Vladimir Susko, Guest Services / Front Office at Royal Garden Hotel
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear Guest, Thank you for your review and for sharing details of your welcome experience, coupled with feedback on our hotel services. I’m very sorry that you were unable to dine in our ground floor restaurant, Origin Kensington during your visit. We apologise that your stay was impacted by a fault with our temperature control systems; the issue was resolved as swiftly as possible. We would love the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel and indeed to Origin Kensington and I would ask that you get in touch with me personally should you be planning a trip to London in the future. Warm regards, Vladimir Susko
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
david j wrote a review Aug 2022
19 contributions15 helpful votes
Dreadful 2day visit check in no greeting welcome or smile no air conditioning no volume on t v no fan for room Abysmal Gone downhill Regular guest for years but this visit with my daughter was awful Telephone to reception and housekeeping never answered Beyond Belief
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
Room Tip: Don’t visit
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Vladimir Susko, Guest Services / Front Office at Royal Garden Hotel
Responded Aug 24, 2022
Dear Guest, Thank you for your review. We appreciate the feedback. We understand that you had the opportunity to discuss your stay with our Duty Manager while you were with us. We would like to apologise for our shortcomings on this occasion. We sincerely hope we will have pleasure of welcoming you back in the future. If I can be of any assistance, please do not hesitate to contact me. Warm regards, Vladimir Susko
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ajmooseman wrote a review Aug 2022
Holmfirth, United Kingdom5 contributions2 helpful votes
I've said at the Royal garden a good few times, granted not for around 5 years but this place is not what it used to be, by that I mean special, stopping at RGH used to a real treat, no it's just an average London hotel. I understand the restaurant is being refurbed but that is no excuse for the breakfast that is being provided, I've had better service, comfort and food at motorway service station, the whole hotel is tied!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Vladimir Susko, Guest Services / Front Office at Royal Garden Hotel
Responded Aug 24, 2022
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post a review. Your feedback is very important to us. We were sorry to learn that this experience did not match up to previous stays. Your comments have been shared with the Management team for their review. We sincerely hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back on a future occasion. Please do contact me directly if I can be of any assistance at all. Warm regards, Vladimir Susko
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jenks wrote a review Aug 2022
Swansea, United Kingdom2 contributions1 helpful vote
Booked this hotel for two nights, Friday and Saturday. On check in the receptionist was ok, no conversation and was indifferent. We had a very, very small room and bed which was very uncomfortable but It was very clean, pillows lacked support and were paper thin. What I found strange was that we were able to walk into the hotel, off the street several times and on each occasion into the lift, past up to 10 members of staff and not one would acknowledge us or ask if we stayed at the hotel? Poor security and guest service! We chose not to go for the breakfast due to the price… there are plenty of places within walking distance of the hotel so this wasn’t an issue. The hotel is in a great location and perfect to walk around the park and Kensington High Street. Not sure if I’d stay again… I’m undecided. The lobby gave the impression that the hotel was grand, but the rooms weren’t.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Vladimir Susko, Guest Services / Front Office at Royal Garden Hotel
Responded Aug 18, 2022
Dear Guest, Thank you for your review. We appreciate your feedback. Your comments concerning team members have been brought to the attention of front of house Management. We pride ourselves on delivering warm and friendly service and we are sorry that we didn’t demonstrate this during your stay. We hope to welcome you back for a future stay. Please do contact me personally if I can be of any assistance. Warm regards, Vladimir Susko
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ton1n0 wrote a review Aug 2022
Chichester, United Kingdom41 contributions33 helpful votes
This hotel is wonderful. The staff are really attentive, especially the concierge team. Rooms were really nice, clean and comfortable. The pillows could be a little fuller as they disappear when you put your head down. A leisurely stroll through the park and we were in Oxford St ready for a days shopping. The only downside was we booked our rooms with garden views, my room got upgraded (slightly bigger room) but I lost my room with a view and our second room could just about see the gardens. We tend to have breakfast at Cafe Concerto just down the road so didn’t experience the restaurants. Unbeknown to us at the time, they charge for everything, even the dusty old bowl of nuts at the bar, don’t be shy is asking for a decent bowl as you’re paying £2.75 for them The only real issue, and it was a big problem, was the car park. Before I drove down there (underground car park), I was told it was a tight fit but really! Damaged a wheel so really not happy. Realised it was a real problem when there were only two other cars down there. If you stay here and drive anything other than a mini (I have a 4 series BMW) park somewhere else as the hotel will take no responsibility at all but will quickly demand £90 for two days for the privilege of using the car park. I heard stories of many other guests damaging wheels. Really poor design, tight turns and raised curbs that could easily be resolved with rubberised curbing. If not for the wheel I would have offered a 5 rating
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Rooms
Service
Room Tip: If you want the views you’ll have to pay
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Vladimir Susko, Guest Services / Front Office at Royal Garden Hotel
Responded Aug 18, 2022
Dear Guest, Thank you for your review. We were delighted to learn that you were happy with the service delivered by the team and singled out Concierge for a special mention. Your comments regarding the car park have been shared with Management for their consideration. We hope to welcome you back in the future. Warm regards, Vladimir Susko
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
deemah a wrote a review Aug 2022
1 contribution1 helpful vote
I have been staying at this hotel for years sadly to say that things have changed with management staff and service within the hotel. I booked a stay for 3 weeks in the hotel and since day one they had problems with the air conditioning That they were not able to fix or handle keep in mind this is a will know 5 star hotel, who should have someone on site to fix I have complained many time asking for a solution with fort desk and management. Their response was of you don’t like it leave the hotel when speaking to the manager he promised that the issues will be solved it has not yet been solved I asked to be moved to another room in the hotel where air conditioning was working they refused stating that you room is the cheapest stay within that category we can’t do anything. I was looking forward to my post COVID holiday in london and in the hotel however this hotel is just going under Part of the experience is service and service is bad here what kind of hotel would ask the gust to simply leave after the payment was payed in full for 3 weeks Simply disappointing
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Vladimir Susko, Guest Services / Front Office at Royal Garden Hotel
Responded Aug 12, 2022
Dear Guest, We apologise that your stay was impacted by a fault with our temperature control systems, due to the sustained heat we have experienced. We resolved the issue as quickly as we could, however some of our guests were impacted by this fault. Your comments regarding our team members have been bought to the attention of our management so that we can improve our services moving forward. As a regular customer we value your thoughts on our levels of service and hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future. Warm Regards, Vladimir Susko
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
DM wrote a review Aug 2022
Walt Disney World, Florida11 contributions2 helpful votes
We are experiencing the worst travel in summer 2022 with this hotel, everything is super BAD. The quality of the service, the rooms, the bathroom has a smell, they don't change the linen sheet of the bed daily, the internet is disconnected suddenly AND the most painful supersize that the AC went down and we stayed for 3 nights with no AC, no solution, no refund or any alternatives.. IT WAS THE MOST HORRIBLE STAY EVER IN MY ENTIRE LIFE. NOT recommend it at all
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Value
Rooms
Service
Room Tip: Some rooms are smaller than explained on booking, so not all deluxe rooms are deluxe size.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Vladimir Susko, Guest Services / Front Office at Royal Garden Hotel
Responded Aug 12, 2022
Dear Guest, We are very sorry that that you did not have an enjoyable experience. Due to the sustained heat we had a major fault with our temperature control systems, which we worked to fix as quickly as possible. Your comments have been bought to the attention of our management so that we can improve our services moving forward. Warm Regards, Vladimir Susko
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$247 - $383 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
royal garden london, hotel royal garden
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandLondonKensington and Hyde Park
NUMBER OF ROOMS
394
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Royal Garden Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Royal Garden Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Kensington (0.2 miles), Kensington High Street (0.2 miles), and Kensington Palace (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Royal Garden Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Royal Garden Hotel?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Royal Garden Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Royal Garden Hotel?
Yes, paid private parking on-site and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Royal Garden Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Launceston Place, Publiq., and Grato.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Royal Garden Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness center during their stay.
Does Royal Garden Hotel have airport transportation?
Yes, Royal Garden Hotel offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Royal Garden Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Royal Garden Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Royal Garden Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, German, Italian, Russian, and Arabic.