We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Save money. We search 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices.
Save
Share
372 Strand, London WC2R 0JJ England
E-mail hotel
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
$237
View deal
Hotels.com
Expedia.com
$237
View deal
Booking.com$237
Priceline
Travelocity$237
View all 20 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (145)
Dining (29)
Videos (1)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
Read more
Updated 08/04/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Strand Palace
Updated 08/04/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#569 of 1,200 hotels in London
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travelers' Choice
GreenLeaders Gold level
Strand Palace is surrounded by the best London has to offer. Set in the heart of London, the hotel is mere moments from Covent Garden, Trafalgar Square and the Thames, making it the perfect location for discovering cultural icons and for those travelling on business. The hotel is home to 785 bedrooms and offers a guest service centre and gym for guest use. The hotel has recently launched its brand new in house restaurant and bar. Haxells Restaurant & Bar is the perfect place to enjoy great food, cocktails and more in the heart of London. Guests can enjoy modern British cuisine with modern art deco decor throughout the restaurant, bar, afternoon tearoom and private dining room. With so much to do right on the hotel’s doorstep and excellent transport connections to whisk you across the city or further afield, a stay at the Strand Palace puts you at the centre of the action. With that in mind, the recent multi-million-pound refurbishment across the entire hotel helps to ensure your downtime is as comfortable as possible.
Read more
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Taxi service
Business Center with Internet Access
Banquet room
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary instant cofffee
Complimentary tea
Snack bar
Special diet menus
Vending machine
Meeting rooms
Concierge
Currency exchange
Gift shop
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
ATM on site
Doorperson
Umbrella
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
Telephone
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Bath / shower
Wardrobe / closet
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Iron
Laptop safe
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Electric kettle
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located
Classic
Languages Spoken
English, French, Chinese, Estonian and 4 more
247Reviews9Q+A46Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 109
  • 54
  • 41
  • 21
  • 23
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
martin p wrote a review Yesterday
Dagenham, United Kingdom4 contributions1 helpful vote
We attended the Hotel for afternoon tea for my wife's birthday which I can easily say it was poor . After a long wait for service we had to keep asking for simple things like tea strainers. Then after we was served no one came near us for over an hour .I email the Hotel to Inform them of the birthday plus Inform our waiter . On my email I was told I could have extra sandwiches or cakes .Yet still no one came back to us I finally found someone after 2hours to ask if she waned money then that arrived promptly. We wanted extra food but was never given the option after the restaurant was aware after my email We eat in london a lot .and I can safely say this was the worse service I have had
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
NE123456789 wrote a review Jan 22
14 contributions3 helpful votes
Fantastic location, opposite the Savoy. The strand is home to all the theatres so perfect place to stay if that’s what you are doing, Covent Garden square with lots of pubs bars restaurant and shops just one street away maybe 1 minute walk. 2 minutes to the tube station for the Piccadilly line, 2 stops from kings cross. Hotel was very smart inside, very welcoming and quick check in. Room was ready at 12pm on a Friday. Toilets and room stocked with the White Company toiletries. Room was a standard double, small but very nice no complaints besides no remote for the tv and the shower was diabolical it was a few drips took ages to shower and rinse off shampoo they really need to address the power of the showers. No noise during the night, although hotel was busy as seen at breakfast. Breakfast was a good selection of hot and cold, I’d booked with Secret escapes for half the price of booking.com and included breakfast. 8/10 would happily stay again.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Strand Palace, Guest Services / Front Office at Strand Palace
Responded yesterday
Dear NE123456789, I was delighted to read that you enjoyed the hotels facilities and the service from the hotel team who work hard to provide the high standards of hospitality you experienced. I have shared your review with the team. Please do stay with us again when you are next planning a re-visit to London and I would be delighted to assist you with a reservation. Kind Regards Antoine Duty Manager
Read more
jonny g wrote a review Jan 22
2 contributions
Terrible stay which is really disappointing as I’ve stayed here before and had a lovely time. Check in was extremely long and painful which was odd as there were no customers checking in apart from me. At check in I was given mixed messages about my room and bed size. So for £20 I upgraded to a bigger room with a king bed. This was not a king bed. Also the toilet is so low and tucked behind the bathroom door I struggled to use it. I’m 5ft 10 and I was too tall for the shower so had to crouch down to wash. Even though we spent an hour at check in not one person mentioned about the low pressure in the room, when we got to the room there was a tiny sign saying low pressure due to low occupancy during covid. Last time I stayed this wasn’t an issue and it was in the height of covid so find this hard to believe. 4 things to top off an awful stay bed was uncomfortable, I found dirty underwear under the bed, I had dirty towels and I had to ask for spare towels as there was none in the wardrobe. Lastly we tried out the bar, there were 4 other customers in there. We were asked if we wanted food or drink so we asked for just drinks please. We sat down 10 minutes later we had to ask for a menu, 10 minutes later someone painfully took our order a Camden and an orange juice and lemonade and some chilli nuts. 20 minutes later the drinks came no nuts, shot of orange juice and a bottle of lemonade had to ask for nuts. Had to quickly drink and leave as we were going to be late. Had to get up and ask to pay for my bill where I was overcharged. Awful service, awful stay, awful rooms. Ruined my wedding anniversary weekend away. I hope I get a proper response and not a generic templated one.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Strand Palace, Guest Services / Front Office at Strand Palace
Responded yesterday
Dear Jonny, as we spoke together during your check out, i apologies again for all the issue regarding your stay, feel free to contact me for your future stay and i will make sure that it won't be like this Next time if you have other issue with any other hotel, please contact the manager and it will more easy to sort it out. Let me know for anything, you have my business card and i will be more than happy to welcome you back to the Strand Palace hotel Thank you Antoine - Duty Manager
Read more
Go548616 wrote a review Jan 20
18 contributions2 helpful votes
5 of us stayed ( 2 rooms) for an evening... It was an excellent stay. The staff were all friendly, helpful and welcoming. The rooms were spotlessly clean and were larger than I had expected ( based on stays elsewhere) The bed was very comfy. Breakfast was delicious. Downsides... Shower / water pressure but we were aware as there was a notice however managed quite fine and was able to shower ( just not really powerful) Would definitely stay again and look forward to a return visit 👍
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022Trip type: Traveled with friends
Helpful
Share
Response from Strand Palace, Guest Services / Front Office at Strand Palace
Responded 3 days ago
Good evening, Thank you for taking the time to review us ! We are glad to hear you enjoyed the time with us and I apologies if you did not have the best experience when it comes to shower facilities. The hotel has fitted water filters on all showers and taps to take away any risk resulting from the drop in water quality in the area. As a result of this, some rooms are experiencing lower pressure than usual. We are looking forward to welcoming you back at Strand Palace. Kind Regards, Cosmin
Read more
E T wrote a review Jan 18
Gdansk, Poland1 contribution1 helpful vote
Do not stay here. The shower is best described as a trickle at best. A woman would probably take 30 mins to wash their hair. I can’t begin to describe how bad the showers are. Do not stay here, you will regret it.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022Trip type: Traveled with friends
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Strand Palace, Guest Services / Front Office at Strand Palace
Responded 6 days ago
Dear 678et Thank you for taking the time to share your review. We are very sorry to learn of your disappointment with your recent stay. Please accept our sincere apologies for a less than satisfactory experience on this occasion. We always welcome feedback from our guests and we endeavour to use the information that you share to improve and enhance our guest experience. We appreciate the time you have taken to do so and we will certainly take all your comments on board. We hope to have another opportunity to welcome you back in the future so we may make it right. Kind regards, Antoine DRAX Duty Manager
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$183 - $312 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
strand palace hotel london, hotel strand palace, strand palace london, strand hotel london
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandLondonCovent Garden
NUMBER OF ROOMS
785
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Strand Palace
Which popular attractions are close to Strand Palace?
Nearby attractions include The Lion King (0.07 miles), Covent Garden (0.1 miles), and SANDEMANs NEW Europe - London (0.1 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Strand Palace?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Strand Palace?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
What are some restaurants close to Strand Palace?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Wine Place Covent Garden, Steak & Co. Garrick Street Covent Garden, and Frog By Adam Handling.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Strand Palace?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness center during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Strand Palace?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Strand Palace offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Strand Palace?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, French, German, Italian, Chinese, Greek, and Lithuanian.
Are there any historical sites close to Strand Palace?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Churchill War Rooms (0.7 miles), Tower of London (1.9 miles), and Houses of Parliament (0.8 miles).
Is Strand Palace accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.