We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Thistle Trafalgar Square, The Royal Trafalgar

Show Prices
#189 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Thistle Trafalgar Square, The Royal Trafalgar
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,396 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Thistle Trafalgar Square, The Royal Trafalgar
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,137: English reviews
Warsash, United Kingdom
Reviewed December 5, 2015 via mobile

Locations is great just behind Leicester Square and the price reflects this for the rooms which you would expect in London. Rooms are very cramped, you would do well to walk around keith sides of the bed in the room I had and faced on to a back street. Tv did not work properly either so bad not been checked.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank hughesg1978
Paul K, General Manager at Thistle Trafalgar Square, The Royal Trafalgar, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us at the Thistle Trafalgar Hotel. I was pleased to read that you had an enjoyable stay and that the team looked after you. I would be grateful if you could email me on the address below to advise which room you occupied so I can personally check...

Ipswich, United Kingdom
Reviewed December 5, 2015

We stayed here for one night. Easy walking distance to tubes, regent street, Piccadilly, Oxford street and of course all the theatres. The room was large enough and very quiet leading to a very comfortable and peaceful nights sleep. Our room had a shower, no bath but I prefer it that way! Staff were friendly and welcoming and room was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Emma B
Paul K, General Manager at Thistle Trafalgar Square, The Royal Trafalgar, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us at the Thistle Trafalgar Hotel. I was pleased to read that you had an enjoyable stay and that the team looked after you. I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future. For the best deals visit the offers page on our...

Reviewed December 4, 2015 via mobile

Amazing location close to Trafalgar Square at a comparatively affordable price. Very helpful staff. Clean small rooms. Good free wifi. Surprisingly good room service -serving pub food. But wouldn't recommend that you order coffee here - one of London's worst!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sanigma W
Paul K, General Manager at Thistle Trafalgar Square, The Royal Trafalgar, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us at the Thistle Trafalgar Hotel. I was pleased to read that you had an enjoyable stay and that the team looked after you. As you mention the hotel is in a great location with Leicester Square one side and Trafalgar Square the other. Thank you also for...

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed December 3, 2015 via mobile

A pleasant reception was followed by occupancy of a large airy junior suite with full windows on two sides. But . . . don't be hard of hearing in this hotel! Reporting that no subtitles were available on the TV brought a chaotic response: contradictory, dissembling and impassive. After three visits to our room by staff, a move to another...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank kenis201
Paul K, General Manager at Thistle Trafalgar Square, The Royal Trafalgar, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us at the Thistle Trafalgar Hotel. Please accept my sincere apologies with regards to the subtitles on the televisions, unfortunately our system is locked down so subtitles cannot be added to TV's at hotel level, however we have since managed to arrange for 2 channels to be set...

Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Reviewed December 2, 2015

Came here with friend for a one night stay. Lovely welcome from the Reception Staff & we were upgraded to an executive room. Room was nice, plenty of space with a couple of armchairs & we enjoyed the complimentary bottle of red! Thought the shower was fab & we both had a good nights sleep. Don't usually have hotel breakfasts...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ann B
Paul K, General Manager at Thistle Trafalgar Square, The Royal Trafalgar, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us at the Thistle Trafalgar Hotel. I was pleased to read that you had an enjoyable stay and that the team looked after you. I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future. For the best deals visit the offers page on our...

Auckland
Reviewed December 1, 2015

Two night stay for business and a very pleasant experience. Great reception staff, really nice room, great breakfast and a brilliant location. Ignore the rather Soviet-looking exterior as inside it's quite different. There is also free WiFi.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DLM48
Paul K, General Manager at Thistle Trafalgar Square, The Royal Trafalgar, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us at the Thistle Trafalgar Hotel. I was pleased to read that you had an enjoyable stay and that the team looked after you. I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future. For the best deals visit the offers page on our...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed November 26, 2015

Small for an executive room. Very easy to hear the next room. They wake us up two nights. The water was gone for 8 hours, towels for 1 person when we were 2... not this hotel next time. The best is the location....

Review collected in partnership with Low Cost Holidays
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ingvill D
Paul K, General Manager at Thistle Trafalgar Square, The Royal Trafalgar, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us at the Thistle Trafalgar Hotel. Please accept my sincere apologies for the issue with the water at the hotel during your stay which was caused by the hotel loosing a phaze of electricity into the building and therefore the water pumps failed. An electrician was on site...

Stevenage, United Kingdom
Reviewed November 23, 2015

We were welcomed by very friendly and professional staff on our arrival.We had an evening meal in the hotel restaurant ,my wife was able to choose options with this menu which made a nice change .Restaurant staff very helpful and pleasant .

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank richardkeogh55
Paul K, General Manager at Thistle Trafalgar Square, The Royal Trafalgar, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us at the Thistle Trafalgar Hotel. I was pleased to read that you had an enjoyable stay and that the team looked after you. I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future. For the best deals visit the offers page on our...

Dagenham
Reviewed November 23, 2015 via mobile

Welcome was lovely first night but only to find the room that was meant to be executive king was not great old style and bathroom could have been cleaner but we come to London for our honeymoon. So thought make good of it Saturday woke up to find hotel had no running water all morning and all night. So had...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Jaime L
Paul K, General Manager at Thistle Trafalgar Square, The Royal Trafalgar, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us at the Thistle Trafalgar Hotel. Please accept my sincere apologies for the issue with the water at the hotel during your stay which was caused by the hotel loosing a phaze of electricity into the building and therefore the water pumps failed. As a result we offered...

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed November 22, 2015 via mobile

I wanted a quiet hotel within walking distance of the shows and restaurants I had booked for our anniversary. This turned out to be the perfect choice. Friendly staff, quiet room nicely refurbished with bottle of wine, chocolates and a card for us on arrival. The only slight negative (hence four not five stars) is that I feel an executive...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank eyespy49
Paul K, General Manager at Thistle Trafalgar Square, The Royal Trafalgar, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us at the Thistle Trafalgar Hotel. I was pleased to read that you had an enjoyable stay and that the team looked after you. With regards to the bathrooms, in the majority of rooms we have removed baths to enable us to install high quality walk in showers,...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

293 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (190)
Viewed
Room/Suite (77)
Viewed
View from Room (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (18)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Other (54)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (82)
Viewed
Executive King Room (44)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
The Hotel (28)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (21)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
The Z Hotel Piccadilly
The Z Hotel Piccadilly
#186 of 1,089 in London
1,048 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
every hotel Piccadilly
every hotel Piccadilly
#86 of 1,089 in London
776 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Radisson Blu Edwardian Hampshire Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westminster
Club Quarters Hotel, Trafalgar Square
Westminster
The Grand at Trafalgar Square
Soho
Premier Inn London Leicester Square Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Trafalgar Square / Embankment

Neighborhood Profile
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
With its iconic Nelson’s Column, majestic oversized lions and brightly-lit fountains, Trafalgar Square is not just considered the heart of this bustling London hub, but the very core of the city itself. Beyond this esteemed gathering place are more famous icons, as well as a disproportionate numbers of the city’s most popular cultural attractions including the National Gallery and many West End theaters. Along the way to these major sites are quiet lanes and antiquated pubs to discover, as well as riverside vistas to enjoy on the embankment. With a calendar full of celebratory events, any time of year is a fine time to visit.
Explore this neighborhood
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
There aren’t many genuinely quiet streets right in the heart of London. But they do exist - and we’re on one of them. In fact, you might never guess that Piccadilly Circus and Leicester Square are within a few minutes’ walk. The Royal Trafalgar has the City on one side, Whitehall on the other and history everywhere you look. The National Gallery is literally next door, as is the square that shares our name. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Thistle Trafalgar Square, The Royal Trafalgar

Address: Whitcomb Street, London WC2H 7HG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Price Range: $229 - $383 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Thistle Trafalgar Square, The Royal Trafalgar 4*
Number of rooms: 108
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Thistle Trafalgar Square, The Royal Trafalgar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Trafalgar, London Hotel London
Royal Trafalgar By Thistle London
Thistle Trafalgar Square, The Royal Trafalgar London, England
Hotel Style:
#87 Romantic Hotel in London
#98 Business Hotel in London
#108 Family Hotel in London
#144 Luxury Hotel in London
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Thistle Trafalgar Square, The Royal Trafalgar staff and other travelers.
37 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (37)

Questions? Get answers from Thistle Trafalgar Square, The Royal Trafalgar staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“room 602 is on a corner so has double aspect”
 of 5 bubbles O9256TArobinw, 3 days ago | Read review
“5th floor south side very quiet”
 of 5 bubbles SCBexhill, 1 week ago | Read review
“Room was spacious, bed was huge. Plenty of wardrobe space, floor space and great amenities ”
 of 5 bubbles Lynneduff, 1 week ago | Read review
“I would ask for higher floors if you are a light sleeper, as this is a busy part of London day and night.”
 of 5 bubbles Al1Stockton_on_Tees, 1 week ago | Read review
“The hotel is on a quiet side street and though only two minutes from Trafalgar Square was very quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles zoggie, 1 week ago | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question