We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
45 St. Martin's Lane, London WC2N 4HX England
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Booking.com
$447
View deal
Expedia.com$453
Hotels.com$453
Travelocity$452
Priceline$447
Trip.com$449
Lol.travel$542
View all 19 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (1076)
360
Panoramas (11)
Room & Suite (628)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
Updated 02/21/22 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Updated 02/21/22 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#126 of 1,195 hotels in London
Location
4.9
Cleanliness
4.7
Service
4.5
Value
4.0
Travelers' Choice
Located in the bustling Theatre district in London’s Covent Garden, St Martins Lane London is a dramatic and daring evolution on English luxury. This boutique hotel retains all the youthful, unexpected charm of a London hideaway, at the very heart of the art-loving, energetic West End. St Martins Lane is truly a hidden gem with a lobby that welcomes guests into high-concept design with the sophistication of a modern museum and the joy of a carnival light show. Guests can begin their journey in the Den, a modern gathering place and decompression zone. Situated just off the lobby, The Den is the perfect place to enjoy Afternoon Tea, play a game of backgammon or sip on a Gin & Tonic. The decor is warm and sophisticated with a tongue-in-cheek British flair – even the art on the walls is irreverent, animating the space with larger-than-life portraits and visual puns. For those sunnier days, step out into the tropics of The Den Terrace and enjoy our exclusive food pairings accompanied by a glass of Champagne. At night, guests will find a hidden entrance to Blind Spot London, an innovative cocktail bar, behind the tea counter’s posh facade. Blind Spot London is a golden cocktail sanctuary designed like a modern hunting lodge and inspired by the colours and aromas of exotic tea leaves. Light and colour continue to enhance the guest experience in every corner of St Martins Lane London - interactive light displays brighten each room, transforming them into spaces of youthful excitement and changing mosaics of colour. Special garden rooms offer private patios and floor-to-ceiling windows that invite the vibrancy of the city into every room. Residents can also explore the delights of London’s hottest fitness experience at Gymbox Covent Garden. At any time of day, enjoy the gym’s facilities, fitness classes (subject to availability) and complimentary gym kit laundering.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid public parking on-site
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Evening entertainment
Board games / puzzles
Babysitting
Children's television networks
Parking garage
Wifi
Fitness / spa locker rooms
Fitness classes
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Kids' meals
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Highchairs available
Taxi service
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Newspaper
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
Coffee / tea maker
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Telephone
Bottled water
Iron
Tile / marble floor
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Electric kettle
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Modern
Trendy
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish, Italian
3429Reviews40Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 2,238
  • 823
  • 230
  • 89
  • 49
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
TorontoLady46 wrote a review Sep 25
Toronto36 contributions22 helpful votes
Our daughter and son-in-law recommended this hotel for our stay in London. It was an outstanding hotel. The staff were excellent.....very professional, very helpful and very friendly. The hotel is well located just above Trafalgar Square which made walking everywhere very easy. The rooms are very well lit and spotless. The people at the front desk were excellent and quickly figured out your needs. All of the staff were excellent, but a few people stood out as going over and above to make our stay a great experience. A few names that we would like to mention are: Phillip, Patrick, Jemma and Ilidio. Thanks to everyone at St. Martins Hotel for making our stay a memorable one. We hope to be back again soon.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Every view is a good one due to the numbers of windows
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Natasha Hargan, Owner at St Martins Lane London
Responded 4 days ago
Dear Toronto Lady, I am delighted to see that you had such a wonderful time and that the team were able to make your stay so memorable. I will be sure to share your praise with Phillip, Patrick, Jemma, Ilidio and the greater team. I know they will all be thrilled with your response. Thank you for taking the time to post your much appreciated review and for your gracious feedback. I hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you back again soon. Kind regards, Natasha and Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jessica B wrote a review Sep 24
1 contribution
My partner and I stayed at St Martins Lane in August and had a really nice stay! The location was perfect, 5min walk from the Leicester square and covenant garden, and the street was not too busy so you wouldn’t hear a lot of noise at night. The staff were very polite, and the concierge was helpful in giving us directions/tips on places to visit and popular restaurants. The room was very spacious and clean, with probably one of the most comfortable beds I’ve slept on! My partner and I really enjoyed the gym that all hotel visitors could make use of. We will definitely be staying here again! Thanks for having us.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Natasha Hargan, Owner at St Martins Lane London
Responded 4 days ago
Dear Jessica, I am so pleased to see that you had such a lovely time staying with us and that you have enjoyed everything we have to offer. I will be sure to share your praise with the greater team, I know they will be happy to hear that you had such a great time. We appreciate you taking the time to post your feedback. I hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you back again soon. Kind regards, Natasha and Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
corey s wrote a review Sep 24
2 contributions
This was a great hotel and well worth the price. The Hotel Staff was very friendly and always willing to help if you had a question. They gave great advice on where to go in town and where to eat. When you ask for a taxi at a certain time, the staff is outside waiting for you at that time to ensure that you get in the correct taxi. The rooms were also great. Plenty of USB ports for your electronics if you are a foreign traveler like myself and plenty of electrical sockets for you to use as well. The beds were comfortable and the bathroom was large. The water pressure on the shower was outstanding as well, and got hot within seconds. The location is in the theater district so if you want to catch a show, there are literally dozens within walking distance. It is also not far from the city center and also very close to the Tube if you want to move around the city. I would stay here again in a heartbeat. This hotel along with the staff made our trip that much better. Book today!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Value
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Natasha Hargan, Owner at St Martins Lane London
Responded 4 days ago
Dear Drew, I am delighted to see that you had such a wonderful time and that the team were able to make your stay so memorable. Our location is perfect for theatre lovers and I am happy to see that you made the most of our London Neighbourhood. We are so greatful to you for taking the time to post you lovely review. I will be sure to share your feedback with the greater team, I know they will be thrilled. I hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you back again soon. Warm regards, Natasha and Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Laura S wrote a review Sep 21
Richmond, Virginia5 contributions1 helpful vote
I cannot say anything but amazing things about St. Martin’s. The staff is absolutely fabulous - the whole staff! Everyone was so helpful, kind, funny, all going above and beyond they were simply superb! The hotel is in a great location, it is very clean, the rooms have several USB outlets, the showers are lovely and the beds are comfortable. I would stay here again and again. Thank you to all the staff at St. Martin’s Ln you made our crazy holiday perfect.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Natasha Hargan, Owner at St Martins Lane London
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Laura, I am so pleased to see that you had such a wonderful time staying with us and that the team took such good care of you. I will be sure to share your feedback with the broader team they will be thrilled with your feedback. I am very happy that you enjoyed the room and that you enjoyed our neighbourhood of London. Thank you for taking the time to post your much appreciated review and I hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you back again soon. Kind regards, Natasha and Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
drew533 wrote a review Sep 12
Liverpool, United Kingdom14 contributions14 helpful votes
We stayed here for three nights over the weekend and it was perfect for our needs. It is in a fantastic location with easy access to Covent Garden, Leicester Square and Soho. Lots of bars, pubs and restaurants within a 30 second walk. It also has 2 tube stations within a 5 minute walk and if coming from Euston it is only 4 stops away without the need to change lines. Very convenient! We found the bed to be super comfy with great pillows and mattress. The air conditioning worked really well and the shower had great water pressure. The bars downstairs was a great place to hang out and have a few drinks. It had a very cool vibe with low lighting and comfy seats. They had a DJ playing some good music and the cocktail making was top class. We would stay here again and would recommend to others.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Natasha Hargan, Owner at St Martins Lane London
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Drew, I am delighted to see that you had such a wonderful experience and that you were able to make to most of our neighbouring area. I will be sure to share you praise with the greater team, I know they will be thrilled with your feedback. I can certainly agree that the Blind Spot is the perfect place to soak up some delicious cocktails and great music. Thank you for taking the time to post our much appreciated review. I hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you back again soon. Warm regards, Natasha and Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Mariam wrote a review Sep 4
1 contribution
I loved this hotel since like forever… the staff is so helpful that you’ll fell in loved you walked in. Thank you Jennifer for arranging all our out Bday Celebrations! She is indeed the sweetest girl I meet! Monika in the breakfast was just superb every morning, greeting us every morning with such a smile! What a Joy! Thank you also to Phil, he went over the moon as always and make our life easier every morning! We will definitely be back soon, I love my home away from London, in such a treasured location!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Natasha Hargan, Owner at St Martins Lane London
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear 599miryamq, I am delighted to see that you had such a fantastic time and that you had such a wonderful birthday celebration with us here at St Martins Lane London. . Thank you for taking the time to post your much appreciated review, we value your feedback. I am so pleased that the team has made your stay so memorable. I will be sure to share your praise with Jennifer, Monika, Phil and the greater team, I know they will be thrilled knowing that you had such a lovely stay. I hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you back again soon, it is our pleasure to be your home away from home. Warm regards, Natasha and Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Isabel G wrote a review Sep 1
Ann Arbor, Michigan, United States2 contributions2 helpful votes
Amazing afternoon tea! Lovely ambiance, delicious (and filling!) treats and tea, and all-star service from our wonderful hostess Monika. Highly recommend this afternoon tea service for any occasion!!!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Natasha Hargan, Owner at St Martins Lane London
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear Isabel, I am so delighted to see that you had such a wonderful time at Afternoon tea and that Monika and the team took such good care of you. It is so lovely to see that the team's hard work and efforts are noticed and enjoyed. I will be sure to share your praise with the greater team, I know they will be thrilled with your feedback. Thank you for taking the time to post your much appreciated review. I hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you back again soon. Warm regards, Natasha and Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Janice H wrote a review Aug 2022
Berkeley, California65 contributions24 helpful votes
Rooms are well appointed: spotlessly clean, fluffy pilllows, unique lighting, temperature controlled (a blessing when London stays at 80+ degrees.). No individual amenities but shared shampoo, conditioner and body lotion all of high caliber. Rooms are quiet even though hotel located in a noisy area. Elevators are secure and efficient. Staff is very helpful. The location is central to West End Theatres and to the National Museum & Trafalgar Square. The modern, quirky lobby is looking a bit dated but was clean & comfortable. We did have a significant kerfuffle over rooms but management worked hard to solve problem even though first floor not our requested location.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
Room Tip: Standard rooms are relatively small. Select a higher category if you can. Upper floors have...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Natasha Hargan, Owner at St Martins Lane London
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear Janice, Thank you for taking the time to post your much appreciated review, we value your feedback and your comments have been shared with the relevant departments to help ameliorate our services. I am delighted to see that your enjoyed what we have to offer, even our larger Malin & Goets amenity dispensers that help us be a eco friendly hotel. I am pleased to see that the team looked after you so well. I will be sure to share your praise with the greater team, they will all be thrilled with your response and I hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you back again soon. Kind regards, Natasha and Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Harriet S wrote a review Aug 2022
1 contribution
Love coming back to St Martins Lane Hotel, the staff are amazing. In particular this trip was Nick on the front desk - massive smile, remembered my room requirements and helped me resolve something really quickly. Thank you Nick. The hotel is the perfect place to rest and restore, its beautiful, clean, quiet and central, it feels pure luxury, and people like Nick make it even more special. Thanks again, Starling
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Natasha Hargan, Owner at St Martins Lane London
Responded Aug 24, 2022
Dear Starling, I am so please to see that you had such a fantastic time staying with us once more and that Nick took such good care of you, I will be sure to share your praise with Nick, I know he will be thrilled. Thank you for taking the time to post your review, we are very greatful to you. I hope we get to welcome you back again soon. Warm regards, Natasha and Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
hootie1233 wrote a review Aug 2022
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom33 contributions28 helpful votes
The hotel was good but not 5 star. The room was small and air conditioning was not the best. Tv was not working so had to mess around with cables to get it on. Some of the furniture was chipped. The breakfast was okay one day, the next two mornings were hit and miss. Cold beans, lukewarm scrambled eggs and also hard fried eggs. I would expect better from a 5 star environment. Overall the hotel location was very good and the bed and servicing of the room was good. The room amenities were poor. Teabags(4) No flavoured teas, no biscuits, no hot chocolate sachets and a coffee machine with (4) pods and a metre electric cord and two metres from a socket. Like I said, far too many little things wrong to be a 5 star establishment. Overall was ok but for 360 pounds a night you are having a laugh.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Natasha Hargan, Owner at St Martins Lane London
Responded Aug 24, 2022
Dear Hootie1233, Thank you for taking the time to post your review, we value your feedback and your comments have been shared with the relevant departments to help ameliorate our services. I am sorry to see that we did not meet your expectation, if we had known about your grievances we would have most certainly made it up to you. It is not our intention for any of our guests to leave anything but satisfied after staying with us. I hope that we will have the opertunity to welcome you back, If you do please contact me directly and I will be sure to look after your booking myself. Kind regards, Natasha and Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$343 - $531 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
st martins lane london hotel london, hotel st martins lane
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandLondonCovent Garden
NUMBER OF ROOMS
204
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about St Martins Lane London
Which popular attractions are close to St Martins Lane London?
Nearby attractions include National Gallery (0.1 miles), Covent Garden (0.2 miles), and Strawberry Tours (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at St Martins Lane London?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at St Martins Lane London?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at St Martins Lane London?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at St Martins Lane London?
Yes, a parking garage, paid public parking on-site, and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to St Martins Lane London?
Conveniently located restaurants include Leicester Square Kitchen, The Wine Place Covent Garden, and Frog By Adam Handling.
Are there opportunities to exercise at St Martins Lane London?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness center, fitness classes, and locker rooms available in the fitness center during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at St Martins Lane London?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does St Martins Lane London offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at St Martins Lane London?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, and Italian.
Are there any historical sites close to St Martins Lane London?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Churchill War Rooms (0.6 miles), Tower of London (2.2 miles), and Houses of Parliament (0.8 miles).