We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Thistle City Barbican, Shoreditch

#664 of 1,112 Hotels in London
Traveler (803)
Room & Suite (264)
Video (1)

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Within walking distance from Old Street and Barbican tube stations the Thistle City Barbican provides easy access to the whole of London and its many attractions. We have convenient transport links for King's Cross & Liverpool Street National Rail as well as St Pancras International station for Eurostar.Ideally located on the edge of the City of London, with the financial district just minutes away, we are also in a prime location for business travellers. Our dedicated conference facilities with 13 flexible meeting rooms will cater for business meetings, corporate special events, private dining and banquets for up to 170 delegates.Inclusive with your hotel booking you can enjoy the Otium Health & Leisure Club to work out, for a refreshing swim or simply relax and de-stress in the Jacuzzi, Sauna and Steam room. Whether you are here for business or leisure our Otium Health & Leisure Club has all you need to make your experience complete.Thistle City Barbican Hotel features 463 bedrooms including Standard, Deluxe and Family rooms as well as Suites. All of our guestrooms, meeting rooms and public areas are equipped with Free BT Openzone Wi-Fi internet access. For guests travelling to the Hotel by car there are 10 car parking spaces available which are allocated on a first come first serve basis. Alternatively there is a NCP carpark within walking distance.
Read more
Property amenities
Pool
Restaurant
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room service
Bar/Lounge
Spa
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Banquet Room
Breakfast Available
Concierge
Conference Facilities
Dry Cleaning
Heated pool
Indoor pool
Laundry Service
Meeting rooms
Multilingual Staff
Non-smoking hotel
Public Wifi
Sauna
Wheelchair access
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Accessible rooms
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Hotel links
Visit hotel website
Special Offer:Get An Extra 10% Off!
Hotel deals

Location

Full view
100Great for walkers
Grade: 100 out of 100
86Restaurantswithin 0.3 miles
11Attractionswithin 0.3 miles
4,025Reviews
837Photos
28Q+A
100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 662
  • 1,232
  • 1,036
  • 589
  • 508
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More languages
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
A very cheap, cheerful night stay for an event in the nearby area. Staff on front desk aren’t too friendly and I did have to wait a while to check in as two members of staff were serving someone else and discussing. The room was simple but had everything I needed along with
Read more
Response from Chand T, Manager at Thistle City Barbican, Shoreditch
Responded today
Dear Guest Thank you for your review of your stay at Thistle City Barbican. I am happy to read that you enjoyed aspects of your stay with us and that it was fit for the purpose of your stay. I apologise for the check-in issue and I will address this with the team. We do apologise for this and hope you visit again soon. Kind regards Chand Hotel Administrator
Read more
Short stay and business meeting here. Reception staff not engaging or helpful - not rude but did not help or seem interested in what I was asking, such as; where is the meeting room, can someone unlock it, can I check in before the meeting starts etc. Accommodation in the next
Read more
We arrived after 12 hours travelling,, we had reservation,, we wanted some singel rooms, but the man in the reseption was complete idiot, we had agreement with the Hotel , but they ignored everything and wanted double price,, I travel a lot,,,!! Stay away from this bad Hotel
Read more
Response from Chand T, Manager at Thistle City Barbican, Shoreditch
Responded yesterday
Dear karlslet Thank you for your review of your stay at Thistle City Barbican. I am sorry to hear that you had a less than satisfactory experience and apologise for the issue you had. I will investigate what happened with the Front of House team. I am sorry for the distress caused. If you are happy to give the hotel another chance, please contact me and I will handle your booking myself to ensure it goes smoothly. We hope to welcome you back to our hotel in the near future. Kind regards Chand Hotel Administrator chand.tooray@thistle.co.uk
Read more
Used this hotel for a recent business trip and found it done most things right. It was clean and tidy, check-in a little slow (hanging around waiting). Room was small but I suppose that is to be expected for a London hotel. It was a single room. Good price and breakfast was
Read more
Response from Chand T, Manager at Thistle City Barbican, Shoreditch
Responded yesterday
Dear Guest Thank you for your review of your stay at Thistle City Barbican. I am happy to read that you enjoyed aspects of your stay with us and that it was fit for the purpose of your stay. I apologise for the check-in issue and I will address this with the team. We do apologise for this and hope you visit again soon. Kind regards Chand Hotel Administrator
Read more
First I want to say the check in process was really careless, the guy which did the check in answer his mobile phone during my check in, I had to be friendly just to not ruin my friend birthday, which he did not mention at all. I told reservations department to leave a not to
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Response from Chand T, Manager at Thistle City Barbican, Shoreditch
Responded yesterday
Dear Bianca L Thank you for your review of your stay at Thistle City Barbican. I apologise for the inconvenience caused by the mistake at front desk. I have addressed this with the Front of House Manager and appropriate action will be taken. I am sorry for your negative experience and I hope you will visit again in the future so that we can offer you a better stay. Kind regards Chand Hotel Administrator
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravelerRoom & SuiteDining Pool & Beach
Room interior
Tea, coffee and water
room
HABITACION SILENCIOSA CONFORTABLE
bedroom
PreviousNext
12345653
You can definitely leave your bags securely at reception. I’m sure it may be possible to have an earlier check in, ask upon arrival.
0 votes
Dear Katrina I have emailed you privately and informed you that we are happy to process your refund. My apologies for the delay in getting this to you however it is in process. If you have any questions or would like to discuss this further, please email me at the email address I have already emailed you from before. (My apologies, it does not allow me to leave my email address here). Kind regards and best wishes Chand
0 votes
Show all answers
Does this hotel provide a iron and ironing board on request?
One is in the room but if not, ask and they will provide
1 vote
Show all answers
What they said :) Old st is best and goes straight there. Busses run regularly along old st but black cab will cost @£14
0 votes
Show all answers
Really sorry but I have no idea. We only stayed the night. I would imagine that they are free for guests but I’m sure a quick call to reception would answer your question. Regards C
1 vote
Show all answers
PreviousNext
123456
"Check elsewhere before booking here."
"rooms over the road can be noisy"
"Our rooms were located on the main building, I advise to book them as closest to the reception"
"Rooms 1530 or 2427"
"If you are likely to need a wash, go somewhere else."
PreviousNext
12345620
PRICE RANGE
$114 - $262 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
thistle city barbican londonthistle city barbican hotel london
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandLondon
NUMBER OF ROOMS
463
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing