We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
St Katharine's Way, London E1W 1LD England
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Agoda.com
$117
View deal
Trip.com$145
travelup.com$211
FindHotel$117
ZenHotels.com$158
Etrip$117
Destinia.com$138
View all 19 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (5208)
Room & Suite (2316)
Dining (190)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Read more
Updated 06/16/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from The Tower Hotel
Updated 06/16/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#430 of 1,198 hotels in London
Location
4.7
Cleanliness
4.2
Service
4.1
Value
3.8
Travelers' Choice
The Tower Hotel is nestled between the River Thames, St Katharine Docks and alongside the World Heritage Site, the Tower of London, boasting unparalleled views of the iconic Tower Bridge. Our location and excellent choice of transport connections put you at the centre of this vibrant city, making it quick, convenient and most importantly, easy to experience the very best of what London has to offer.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid private parking on-site
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Car hire
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
24-hour security
Parking
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Special diet menus
Taxi service
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Harbor View
Bay View
Languages Spoken
English, French, German, Polish
11905Reviews258Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 5,020
  • 3,959
  • 1,705
  • 740
  • 486
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Mr_F999 wrote a review Yesterday
York, United Kingdom79 contributions83 helpful votes
First of all, in my humble opinion this hotel is located in the best place possible if you are a tourist in London. You are sat on the edge of the River Thames and just a 2 minute walk from Tower Bridge, Tower of London, St. Katherine’s Dock (Marina) with its Bars & Restaurants, and many more attractions. Just 10 minutes walk to the jetty to catch the Uber Clipper boat which is great for accessing other sites along the Thames. I stayed in this Hotel 15 years ago, and knowing it’s perfect location I chose to use it again. Sadly, little has changed in those 15 years, as the rooms in the hotel are looking a little dated these days. Perhaps they are refurbishing it, but sadly it hadn’t reached the 8th floor if they are! I also sadly had a bit of an issue with check-in which I really wouldn’t want anyone else to suffer. There is nothing worse than being confronted by a ‘young’ deputy/duty manager in front of other guests about a problem you have, and he’s trying to make you out to be a liar (or an idiot) when you know you are not. Very distasteful indeed. Let me explain what happened…… We first of all arrived a little early than the check-in time of 3pm, so we didn’t expect our rooms to be ready (2 x Twin). We were pleasantly surprised that one was ready, so we could at least drop our bags. The lady receptionist was extremely polite and professional, and apologised that the other room wasn’t ready, but assured us it would be ready for 3pm, which was fine by us. We went up to our room to leave our bags, only to find out that the Air Conditioning wasn’t working, on one of the hottest days of the year! I went back down to reception, and saw a different receptionist (gentleman), who reassured me that he would put a request on their system for an engineer to check why it wasn’t working. I asked, if he couldn’t fix it, would we still get rooms close to each other, as my family were staying with me on this trip. He assured me that having an adjacent room wouldn’t be a problem, as they had plenty of availability. We then left the hotel for a few hours, then on our return we went to reception to check in the other room. We then went upstairs only to find out that our first room still had no working air conditioning. I went back to reception to ask why? I was then told by yet another receptionist that the previous receptionist I saw earlier in the day hadn’t requested an engineer at all, but he would request one now!! As you can imagine, I wasn’t too impressed by this, so I asked if we could be moved rooms, only to be told that they had no available rooms near each other! Priceless! I suggested he may wish to get the Manager for me to speak with, when he miraculously found a vacant room on the same floor. Not near, but in the same floor. Do you know when you feel you are being lied to…….? I thanked him for at least sorting it, then made my way to the room. Then, as I got out of the lift at floor 8 my phone ‘pinged’ and it was my bank notifying me of a bank transaction of £240.00 from the Tower Hotel. This was a pre-paid room that they already took the money from me the week before for two rooms for three days. Now, I’d just been billed for another room for one night! I immediately went down to see the same receptionist and showed him the transaction from my bank. He initially denied it was his fault. After I showed him the pre-paid transactions he then apologised, and said it was his error, and I should get the money back in 2-3 days!! As I’m an ex Area Manager for a High Street Bank, I’m pretty savvy on how bank transactions work, so I asked to speak with a Manager of the hotel. This is where it went downhill. The ‘young’ (by my standards) Manager appeared and immediately told me I was mistaken, as he’d checked the system and they hadn’t transacted £240.00 to come from my account. I showed him the transaction on my Internet Banking (Identified as Tower Hotel), and the previously paid amounts, and he still arrogantly stood there and said I was wrong, and that £240.00 transaction wasn’t done by them :-0. I was flabbergasted that he was treating my like the fool ‘he’ obviously was. Then…….it dawned on him, as he changed a whiter shade of pale, that the receptionist had just swapped our room numbers. He then quickly dashed back in his cupboard to confirm what I presumed had happened. He returned all smiles to advise that he’d worked out what had happened, and indeed I had been billed £240.00 in error, but I it should go back in my account within 2-3 days!! I explained that he can simply reverse the transaction, and after a bit of reluctance he did. I asked for a copy of the reversal which he then begrudgingly provided. I then asked for an apology from the manager, and the receptionist which they duly provided. The point I am trying to make here is that as a guest you are meant to be treated with courtesy and respect, not to be embarrassed in front of other guests, especially when it is their staffs fault. A large proportion of the fee hotel guest pay is for the service after all. If guests just wanted a room for the night, they would book an Airbnb! Other guests that witnessed the debacle at reception did approach me later, and expressed how shocking the managers conduct was. Yes, it wasn’t just me he embarrassed himself in front of! Moving onto other aspects of the hotel……. The breakfast was superb and well worth paying for. There was a good selection for most peoples tastes, and the full English breakfast was cooked to perfection. They even prepared Gluten Free Bread which was extremely well received by my wife, and a nice touch! The staff in the restaurant were all very pleasant and it was well organised. Some of the lifts were out of service while we were there, so it did make for longer wait times on a morning. Not the end of the world, and I’m sure it was due to routine maintenance, and I’d rather they do that than get stuck in one!! The rooms were cleaned within an inch of their life, so certainly no complaints there. The rooms are looking a bit dated though as I wrote earlier. The rooms all seem to have a nice view though, so I wouldn’t worry where they put you. Some overlook Tower Bridge, and some St Katherine’s Dock which is also very nice. Ours sadly didn’t have a working mini bar/fridge though which would have been nice as the weather was rather hot when we stayed. The Concierge was very helpful on the occasions when I used them, and the ability to store bags once we checked out was a huge bonus. They didn’t charge for this service which some hotels do, so that’s worth knowing. So, the big question….. would we stay here again? I think my wife and children would, but I think I would need a little persuading. Such a shame really, as they do so many things so well at this hotel, but embarrassing customers isn’t a badge a hotel should be aiming for!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled on business
Room Tip: The Concierge will store your bags, which is excellent if your flight isn’t until later in the...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Bechir Messaoud, General Manager at The Tower Hotel
Responded yesterday
Dear Guest Thank you for your review. I was pleased that you enjoyed the location and you found the team on concierge helpful. I do apologise however for the issues you encountered with reception. From my investigation it would appear your card was charged a preauthorisation fee so you could have credit during the visit. This is standard practice across the hotel industry although at the The Tower we do allow guests to opt out of this facility. I do therefore apologise that this was not properly explained at the time and for the inconvenience this caused. Thank you again for the balanced feedback. Best wishes Bechir
Read more
Mrs B wrote a review Yesterday
Cardiff, United Kingdom61 contributions56 helpful votes
+1
Nice location, clean hotel, few quibbles We’d booked a 2 night family room inc breakfast with a no cancellation policy which saved me £200. We arrived over an hour before checking in on the off chance the room may be ready after travelling all morning Onkar on reception said no not ready but please use concierge to stow luggage which was great meant we could have an explore without lugging our case around. Came back over hour half later to a busy queue of people booking in & again called forward after a 15 min wait by Onkar he remembered everything checked us in with humour & off we went a great chap with a sense of humour thank you. We stayed in 201 which overlooked St Katherine’s Dock a nice quiet room with a lovely view. Arrived to find a lovely bottle of wine, & other branded refreshments which was a lovely gesture for hubbie birthday. Found the TV didn’t want to work kept crashing & switching off so we gave up and the sockets weren’t working properly on the back board where the tv was. No mini fridge. The ventilation wasn’t too bad considering reading other reviews it was adequate for the time we were in room. Windows let in some nice air to happy with that. The Mira shower didn’t want to turn down from super hot so I used the bath tap shower which worked lovely. Breakfast day 1 was ok although service slow on serving hot food & not quite enough fruit choice. Day 2 was awful they were so busy just manic in there we avoided the hot food due to queue & stuck with toast but our little one struggled as she likes fruit not much choice left day 2 & we had to ask for coffee. To be honest avoid breakfast if you can Wetherspoon is just on corner of Tower Hill, Tesco is at the side of the hotel on ground floor, Costa coffee is also on ground floor & st Katherine’s dock has various eatery’s open. The room was spotless though which is great & the staff work hard to retain this. Had fresh water left for us after a busy day sight seeing but you really do need to get the fridges back working in each room even to just chill water on a hot day. The room was nicely laid out, plenty of storage space, quality hair dryer, fresh decor the bathroom needed an update but overall it was a clean room. The lifts were busy but there are service lifts at the back of the others you can use and are directed too on each floor so nothing like the reviews I read previously if you ask staff they will direct you to them
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
Room Tip: Make use of concierge to stow luggage if you arrive early. Avoid breakfast there’s plenty of...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Bechir Messaoud, General Manager at The Tower Hotel
Responded yesterday
Dear Sarah Thank you for your review of the Tower Hotel. I was pleased that overall you had a positive experience and location to your liking. I have taken on board your feedback and apologise for any inconvenience caused. Thank you again for the balanced feedback. Best wishes Bechir
Read more
Karen wrote a review Yesterday
Ashby de la Zouch, United Kingdom2 contributions
Overall, a pleasant hotel set in a lovely location with excellent views of Tower Bridge and beyond. Lovely breakfast. Friendly staff. Would have given 5 stars but our stay was during a heatwave and the room cooling didn't work and no fans or mini fridges provided. Would stay again, but maybe not during a heatwave.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: August 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Bechir Messaoud, General Manager at The Tower Hotel
Responded yesterday
Dear phoebesmum Thank you for your review. I was pleased that you had an enjoyable visit and found the team to be friendly. We would all be delighted to welcome you back soon. I do apologise however for the issues with the fan and the inconveneince this caused. Thank you again for the balanced feedback. Best wishes Bechir
Read more
stevepulley1958 wrote a review Yesterday
1 contribution
If you ever stop at tower hotels book a twin room more room and take a torch wi5h you if you read in bed as these two rooms we had were so tiny only one bedside light fine 8f you watch telly and no fridges 8n rooms
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: August 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Bechir Messaoud, General Manager at The Tower Hotel
Responded yesterday
ear Guest Thank you very much for your review and please accept my sincere apologies for the shortfalls you have experience. I will reached out to you and hope that I will have the opportunity to discuss this experience in more detail. Kind regards Bechir
Read more
Marie B wrote a review Yesterday
Acresford, United Kingdom4 contributions1 helpful vote
Lovely hotel in an amazing location. Unfortunately air con was not working on one of the hottest days and only 1 window would open, came and checked and was sending an engineer. Engineer never arrived, when rang reception they said it was being fixed and would I like a fan. Fan never arrived. Then to top the stifling night off the fire alarm went off at 3.15am, which I appreciate is not the hotels fault but not a great stay.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Bechir Messaoud, General Manager at The Tower Hotel
Responded yesterday
Dear Guest Thank you for your review. I was pleased that you found the hotel to be lovely and enjoyed the location. I do apologise for the issue with the bedroom and the inconvenience caused. Thank you again for the balanced feedback. Best wishes Bechir
Read more
93v9e25gw5 wrote a review Yesterday
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom1 contribution
We booked a 1 night weekday stay at the hotel for a couple a sightseeing activities we had booked. The hotel is easy to get to via tube, taxi or bus, we came in at Euston rail station which was 3 miles away. We used a black cab which was around £22 fare, the tube is cheaper but we visited during a heatwave so decided to go with a taxi for comfort. We arrived early and was able to use the concierge service to store a bags which is great so you don’t have to drag your bag with you. We chose to have a late lunch at the restaurant, Vicinity’s. We order a few dishes from the light bites as we were eating out later, the portions were very generous for light bites and delicious. They were all reasonably priced and what I expected to pay eating at a city hotel. The service was good, are waiter was attentive but gave us plenty of space to enjoy our meal. We then checked in, which was an easy process, again we experienced friendly and helpful service. Our room was on the 10th floor, there are lifts available. The room had an electronic key card entry, on entry had a small entrance with a built in wardrobe and another cupboard that had an iron and ironing board and a safe. Also in this entry way was the door to the bathroom. The bathroom had a shower over bath, toilet and a sink built in and a space for all of your personal items. A big mirror with hood lighting was just above the sink which was great for getting ready, also a magnifying small mirror to the side which folded away on the wall. There was complementary shampoo, shower gel, body cream and soap provided. It is worth noting that the towels provided were fluffy and of a decent sized that fully covered you after a shower. In the main part of the room there was a double bed, bedside table and a desk/ dressing table area. This housed a tea/ coffee station , there is a large flat screen TV which has various freeview channels available and has some entertainment apps installed also. The bed was very comfortable, as were the pillows, the bed was covered with a light quilt which was perfect for a good night sleep. We had a great view over the river and to the bridge which was stunning at night time. The hotel and rooms use an air cooling system and not air conditioning which with the heatwave we arrived in made the hotel cooler but not cold, however the room we stayed in (1009), this system worked out great as it was a small room it did the job it needed. All staff were friendly and helpful, I would stay again
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: August 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Bechir Messaoud, General Manager at The Tower Hotel
Responded yesterday
Dear Guest Thank you for your 5 star review. I was pleased that you had such a positive experience and found the location to be excellent for sightseeing. We would all be delighted to welcome you back soon. Thank you again for the wonderful feedback. Best wishes Bechir
Read more
Margaret wrote a review Yesterday
western australia17 contributions4 helpful votes
There was no aircon, and it was a hot night. No fridge in the room either. Would not stay again, a small fan was brought to the room, this did nothing. Did nothing to fix the problem. We also got woken up by faulty fire alarm.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: August 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Bechir Messaoud, General Manager at The Tower Hotel
Responded yesterday
Dear Guest Thank you very much for your review and please accept my sincere apologies for the shortfalls you have experience. I will reached out to you and hope that I will have the opportunity to discuss this experience in more detail. Kind regards Bechir
Read more
jjryp4et9p wrote a review Aug 13
1 contribution
Good hotel, friendly staff,good breakfast but drinks were expensive and including a 12.5% service charge for drinks is excess and remember it's not obligatory to pay. But it makes it awkward to refuse which is wrong. You should tip for good service . Bringing drinks from the bar to the table does count as such ! I doubt if tips went to staff ...they rarely do for big companies.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: August 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Bechir Messaoud, General Manager at The Tower Hotel
Responded yesterday
Dear Guest Thank you for your review of the Tower Hotel. I was pleased you enjoyed the experience and found the team to be friendly. We all hope to welcome you back soon. Best wishes Bechir
Read more
debm534 wrote a review Aug 13
Leeds, United Kingdom23 contributions7 helpful votes
Ok, not great. Bathroom tiles dirty & small bottle left on the floor. Shower faulty & maintenance had to fix it. View from window good but couldn’t see Tower Bridge as obscured by the rest of the hotel building. 24hr room service didn’t pick up!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Bechir Messaoud, General Manager at The Tower Hotel
Responded yesterday
Dear debm Thank you for the review. I was sorry to read that you were less than satisfied with your experience and the inconvenience this caused. I do hope you may accept this as an isolated experience as we would be delighted to welcome you back soon. Best wishes Bechir
Read more
shazzer5390 wrote a review Aug 13
Littlehampton, United Kingdom3 contributions
Took our grandson for a two night stay in London as a treat. The hotel was very good. Excellent location with good facilities. Helpful staff who sorted the room out to accommodate our grandson and gave us a room with a view as requested. Would like to make a return visit in the future.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: August 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$135 - $231 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
the tower hotel london, the tower london, hotel thistle, london the tower
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandLondon
NUMBER OF ROOMS
801
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Tower Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to The Tower Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Tower of London (0.2 miles), Tower Bridge (0.1 miles), and Ceremony of the Keys (0.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The Tower Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at The Tower Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at The Tower Hotel?
Yes, paid private parking on-site, paid private parking nearby, and paid public parking nearby are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Tower Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Tom Simmons - Tower Bridge, Emilia's Crafted Pasta (St. Katharine Docks), and The Anchor Tap.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Tower Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness center during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Tower Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does The Tower Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at The Tower Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, French, German, and Polish.
Are there any historical sites close to The Tower Hotel?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Churchill War Rooms (2.4 miles), Tower of London (0.2 miles), and Houses of Parliament (2.3 miles).
Does The Tower Hotel have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the harbor view available here.