We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Academy

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The Academy
The Academy
Panoramas (8)
View Map
{"widget":{"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

714 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 636: English reviews
Los Angeles
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

My husband and I booked our stay at the Academy through Priceline's express hotel deals. We thought we would be staying at a 4 star hotel, the Academy definitely was not that. The location is okay, not the nicest but convenient enough. The person at the front desk was kind enough to carry our heavy suitcase up the many flights...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank hshin005
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This is a comfortable, convenient and affordable option for a very central location. Rooms have all the necessities and are modern and clean, but quite small (the single room feels more like a glorified closet). Service is good and efficient. Wi-fi was dreadful and had minimal internet connection the entire time. Breakfast seemed typically overpriced.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Miriam B
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We arrived and were welcomed by the staff on reception who were friendly and efficient and checked us in really quickly. We had a cream tea included in our booking and we ate this in the restaurant which is downstairs. The scones were warm and fresh and the choices of tea were very good. We had a full breakfast and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Helen B
Japan
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed 2nd floor with my family Staff are all nice and room clean and ok Poor internet which speed as 30 years ago it was fatal for me Not much privacy The conversation of the next door woke me up in the morning

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank rikutaguchi
Roy B, Manager at The Academy, responded to this review

Thanks you for your review We are pleased to see that your found the cleanliness in our good and that our staff were very helpful. The Company at present is looking into updating our wifi speeds. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed December 5, 2016

We were moved to the hotel as our original hotel was overbooked. We found rooms nice, clean and tasteful. Breakfast was included. But! Although English breakfast is included ( which is £15) if you choose salmon ( £10) you have to pay for it. Also we had included coffee selection. When we asked for capuchino we were not warned that...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tania M
Roy B, Manager at The Academy, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are pleased you enjoyed your room and found it clean and tasteful. We appreciate your comments on not being properly informed regarding the breakfast options including the coffee selection. We have since introduced and updated training program to ensure that this was an isolated incident. We hope that you will choose us again for...

malmo, sweden
Reviewed November 28, 2016

All of the staff were very friendly and helpful throughout my stay. I didn't spend much time at the hotel, and because of that it didn't bother me that my room (#1) didn't have much of a view - ground floor, facing a rather dark and small area. The room my colleague was given (#62) had a nice view of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank coolcat
Roy B, Manager at The Academy, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are pleased that apart from a couple of minor issues that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. We are about to embark on a multi-million pound refurbishment program where these issues will be addressed. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed November 14, 2016 via mobile

We were only staying in London for 2 nights and wanted to be close to St Pancras International and The British Museum. This hotel was perfect for us! The staff were welcoming, friendly and helpful. The hotel has a lovely. Our room was small for 2 females travelling together. The bathroom even smaller. AND it was up 6 or 7...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Vaeda V
Michael H, General Manager at The Academy, responded to this review

Dear Vaeda V Thank you for your positive review of The Academy Hotel. We are all delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you again soon. Kind regards, Michael Hewson General Manager

Durham England
Reviewed November 13, 2016

Obviously the location is great - transport, shops, restaurants etc all nearby and in Fitzrovia, a great part of London The reception staff were welcoming and professional and we enjoyed our stay. Negatives were: >a bit shabby in places. TLC required >abysmal wifi >good full Engilsh brekky but was served on too small and cold plates. Expensive stay at £200...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank lolward
Michael H, General Manager at The Academy, responded to this review

Dear lolward Thank you for your recent positive review of The Academy. We look forward to welcoming you back for a future stay and appreciate your comments. Kind regards, Michael Hewson General Manager

River Vale, NJ
Reviewed November 10, 2016

First, the positive things about The Academy Hotel. This hotel is in a good location, within easy walking distance to several underground stations and attractions. The bed had a very firm and comfortable mattress, and duvet. There was a heated towel rail in the bathroom. Second, the list of negative things is very much longer. Our room was quite small,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank waltlayton
Michael H, General Manager at The Academy, responded to this review

Dear waltlayton Thank you for your recent review of The Academy Hotel, albeit disappointing to learn that we did not meet your expectations. Thank you for your comments in regards to your room, and it's layout. We have a number of different room sizes in the Hotel, and it is regrettable that we did not have the opportunity to change...

Preston, United Kingdom
Reviewed November 8, 2016

Had a fab night away with my partner after booking this hotel on Secret Escapes. Our stay was last year and i have been meaning to write a quick review ever since so here it is. Fifteen min walk from Euston station & then a nice walk into convent garden, so ideally placed. Wonderful junior suite. Very clean & comfortable....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank richard l
Michael H, General Manager at The Academy, responded to this review

Dear Richard l Thank you for your positive review of The Academy Hotel. We are delighted that your stay was enjoyable and that the team looked after you. We hope to see you again very soon. Kind regards, Michael Hewson General Manager

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

331 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (138)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (39)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (13)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
1:39
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (61)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (157)
Viewed
Amenities (7)
Viewed
Double Room (23)
Viewed
Junior Suite (29)
Viewed
Luxury Suite (25)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Single Room (21)
Viewed
The Hotel (15)
Viewed
Twin Room (26)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (36)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
My Bloomsbury
My Bloomsbury
#367 of 1,080 in London
914 reviews
Bloomsbury
Staunton Hotel
Staunton Hotel
#542 of 1,080 in London
331 reviews
Bloomsbury
Grange Clarendon Hotel
Grange Clarendon Hotel
#471 of 1,080 in London
491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Grange Beauchamp Hotel
Grange Beauchamp Hotel
#278 of 1,080 in London
735 reviews
Bloomsbury
Ridgemount Hotel
Ridgemount Hotel
#133 of 1,080 in London
1,124 reviews
Bloomsbury
Gower House Hotel
Gower House Hotel
#648 of 1,080 in London
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Bloomsbury

Neighborhood Profile
Bloomsbury
Snuggly nestled within Central London is academic and leafy Bloomsbury, an area that boasts walking distance access to many of London's most popular attractions. It is also home to some of Britain's most celebrated museums, including the must-see British Museum. Despite an understandable popularity with students, tourists and day trippers, vast sections of Bloomsbury retain a quiet, residential feel year round and throughout the week.
Explore this neighborhood
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Academy is one of London's most charming hotels. Located right in the heart of London's West End, it is just a stone’s throw away from the city's finest shops and restaurants and well located for visiting The British Museum. This four-star boutique hotel, in London's Bloomsbury, is made up of five restored Georgian townhouses with 49 rooms and is a comfortable base from which to explore the sights of our capital. This small, quirky hotel comes complete with a cosy library, beautiful conservatory and homely sitting room. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Academy

Address: 21 Gower Street | Bloomsbury, Fitzrovia, London WC1E 6HG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Price Range: $132 - $273 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Academy 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline and ACCOR so you can book your The Academy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Academy Hotel London
Academy Hotel London
Academy London
The Academy London, England
Hotel Style:
#316 Luxury Hotel in London
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from The Academy staff and other travelers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from The Academy staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“We had room 61 which was a twin on the ground floor, but as the room is double glazed noise is minimal.”
 of 5 bubbles F1097MZhelenb, 2 weeks ago | Read review
“Virginia Woolf suite was nice and surprisingly quiet fronting on Gower Street.”
 of 5 bubbles lolward, Nov 13, 2016 | Read review
“At the back of the building”
 of 5 bubbles P9885TKlorenac, Oct 28, 2016 | Read review
“cannot recommend the rooms but the restaurant for afternoon tea was good”
 of 5 bubbles gokselo2013, Oct 14, 2016 | Read review
“No elevators so request a low floor if stairs are a problem. I requested a courtyard view as I had read they were quieter.”
  • My tiny single room. Bed was comfortable though.
 of 5 bubbles ChristineW975, Oct 11, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay