We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Commodore Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Commodore Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

863 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 608: English reviews
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

Dirty carpets,uncomfortable beds,worn out antique furniture in poor state and certainly needing repair.was possibly once an interesting place but!!!!! Stay away! This cannot possibly allowed to call itself a 4 star ,more like 1 star

Helpful?
1 Thank agro144
Cavan
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Hotel Location was great. I think that is as far as the good points go. Upon arrival we were asked for a £50 payment from our credit card which is supposed to be reimbursed. Never had to do this before except for maybe £1 which I appreciate is to validate my credit card. Still for any couple who may have... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank 2niner

Travelers are raving about these London hotels

Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed here four nights at this hotel, the location was great and the staff helpful though not all had the best English. The room though was a real disappointment. We had been warned the rooms were small so we thought it is what it is but the carpet was patched in the room, the room had a musty smell... More 

Helpful?
Thank Cossie61
Trondheim, Norway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The majority of my and my two travelling companions' four-night stay at the London Commodore was pleasant; the accomodations were fine, the location good, the staff helpful in pre-visit e-mail exchanges and the rates pleasant. Unfortunately, on the morning of our day of departure, a backpack and a satchel, both containing passports and valuables, were stolen from our locked room... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Grevain
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed in the hotel over the bank holiday weekend of August 16. We chose to stay here because of the good location and reasonable prices. Everything went well until we got a bill through our door to let us know that we had been charged £30 for the bed sheets being "damaged". In fact, all that had happened was... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Dale K
Shahn A, General Manager at Commodore Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Dale, Thank you very much for taking the time to share your review with us. I am glad to hear that the location of the hotel was handy for you and that everything went well until you received the charge of £30 for the bed sheets being damaged. I am truly sorry to learn about your experience and any... More 

Trondheim, Norway
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The stay at the hotel was off to a good start, but didn't end as nicely. The Commodore Hotel is charming and cute, and very good connections to both the tube and bus stop - not to mention the short distance to Hyde Park. I now see that there are other reviews describing stolen money and property. I only wish... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Christine B
Shahn A, General Manager at Commodore Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Christine B, Thank you for taking the time to give your feedback regarding your recent experience at the Commodore Hotel London. Firstly, I would like to offer my apologies for the shock you must have experienced at the sight of your handbag missing from the room. Guests security and safety is of utmost importance at the Commodore Hotel and... More 

Derry, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2016

Mid week break with family (2 adults 3 kids) friendly staff, stayed in 2 bedroom apartment, very clean and modern, very close to Hyde park so a short walk to museums on other side of park. Plenty of restaurants, take aways near bye. Only downside is apartment was on top floor with no lift so approx 90 steps - but... More 

Helpful?
Thank meanmachine2016
Shahn A, General Manager at Commodore Hotel, responded to this review

Dear meanmachine2016, Thank you for choosing the Commodore Hotel London and glad you had a pleasant stay with us. We work hard to make our guests happy and appreciate your feedback! Thank you Kind Regards Shahn Aliyar More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2016

Stayed for two nights as a weekend break. Quiet location, close to Hyde Park. Good public transport, ideal for sight seeing. Room was very clean and the bed was huge. Mini fridge and tea making facilities in room. Breakfast was very good and stay was very pleasant.

Helpful?
1 Thank Jon P
Shahn A, General Manager at Commodore Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jon P, Thank you for choosing the Commodore Hotel London and glad you had a pleasant stay with us. We work hard to make our guests happy and appreciate your feedback! Thank you Kind Regards Shahn Aliyar More 

Swindon, England
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2016 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights and for the price I wasn't expecting much...very pleasantly surprised! Lovely quiet room, great shower and the location was brilliant being close to shops, restaurants and bars. Lancaster Gate tube was only a 5 minute walk away and Hyde Park just across the road. Would definitely stay again.

Helpful?
Thank jesshodgson
Shahn A, General Manager at Commodore Hotel, responded to this review

Dear jesshodgson, So glad you had an enjoyable time at Commodore Hotel. We very much appreciate the feedback and we hope to see you again soon. Thank you Kind Regards, Shahn Aliyar More 

Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2016 via mobile

The hotel has very limited facilities, slow check in process. Room was very small, cluttered and in poor repair. Most bulbs gone and no desk lamp. The bulbs were attended to when reported but shouldn't need to report should be monitored by cleaning staff. The fact that there was no TV remote was a further reflection of poor maintenance and... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank ALivesley
Shahn A, General Manager at Commodore Hotel, responded to this review

Dear ALivesley, Thank you for taking the time to give your feedback regarding your recent experience at the Commodore Hotel London. We are sorry you were unhappy. I very well remember this as your request for the bulbs came at a time when I was at the Lobby inspecting its order & tidiness. The moment you left the hotel after... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

303 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (281)
Viewed
Room/Suite (69)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (37)
Viewed
Bathroom (27)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (134)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (22)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Notting Hill
London Premier Notting Hill
London Premier Notting Hill
#376 of 1,072 in London
4.0 of 5 stars 1,270 reviews
Notting Hill
La Suite West - Hyde Park
La Suite West - Hyde Park
#406 of 1,072 in London
4.0 of 5 stars 530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Paddington / Maida Vale
Park Grand Paddington Court
Park Grand Paddington Court
#207 of 1,072 in London
4.5 of 5 stars 525 reviews
Hyde Park Boutique Hotel
#446 of 1,072 in London
4.0 of 5 stars 429 reviews
London Elizabeth Hotel
#516 of 1,072 in London
3.5 of 5 stars 1,291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Center with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Townhouse Hotel situated in quiet Victorian Square, just steps from Hyde Park and five minutes by bus to Oxford street and Marble Arch. Paddington station is a walk away. Commodore is renowned for it's tranquil setting, offering a homely and welcoming atmosphere in the bustling city. Originally, three Victorian Town houses, Commodore is unique in its combination of styles with traditional Victorian romantic elegance coupled with modern interior design. Its quirky charm and great location see customers returning again and again. There is also a small fitness studio. Room service is available 24 hours. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Commodore Hotel

Address: 50 Lancaster Gate | Hyde Park, London W2 3NA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Price Range: $106 - $251 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Commodore Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 82
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Commodore Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Commodore Hotel London, England
Hotel Style:
#378 Luxury Hotel in London
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay