We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

The Melita

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The Melita
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

252 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 158: English reviews
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We booked this hotel for its location about 10 minutes walk from Victoria coach station. We booked a superior 4 bedded room, room 26 which has a double and 2 singles. This is in the basement and is light and spacious for the area. On arrival we were greeted and treated as individuals not just another booking. all the staff... More 

Helpful?
Thank tempo1962
Paris, France
Level Contributor
56 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Quite affordable for London, but the room was very small, and so was the bed, and service was not consistent. Very limited choice for breakfast (you better like full English breakfast or toasts or cornflakes else too bad for you). Cherry on the pudding, we were told that wifi was not included and we had to pay 10 Gbp per... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank D F
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We were stay there 3 nights and was happy with the service.Staff is verypolite, friendly and helpful as we always ask where is the best for dinner around there.We went to Indian and intalian restaurant around there and was delicious.The location is perfect close to Pimlico station and Victoria Coach Station so easy for us but and not noisy during... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Chidchanok S
TheMelitaLondon, Front Office Manager at The Melita, responded to this review

Dear Chidchanok S, Thank you for your kind review, we are very happy to hear that you have enjoyed London and our Hotel. We hope to be able to welcome you again in the future. With kindest regards, Alan @TheMelitaLondon More 

Malmo, Sweden
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2016

This hotel can be recomended if you are just going to sleep, The hotel is located on a side street so you do not hear the traffic so much located near Victoria Station it's has small cramped spaces no elevator, room are ok but small, beds are well used you could feel springs in your back when sleeping. toilet/room was... More 

Helpful?
Thank Patrik_guy
TheMelitaLondon, General Manager at The Melita, responded to this review

Dear Patrik_guy, Thank you for your feedback which is very important for us. As you correctly mention we are near to Victoria Station, in the heart of London, and so space comes at a premium. This is reflected in the price you paid for the room. Of course we have larger rooms available, in a different price bracket. You chose... More 

France
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2016 via mobile

I stayed here for 3 nights with my friends. The hotel was very clean and well polished. No problem with everything tbh except the breakfast in the morning. Dont get me wrong even though they only have few choices on the menu it was not bad but just the problem they dont have enough tables especially for friends or family.... More 

Helpful?
Thank mlevada1
TheMelitaLondon, General Manager at The Melita, responded to this review

Dear mlevada1, Thank you for your feedback which is very important for us. We are pleased that you took note of how "clean and well polished" the hotel was. We are however very disappointed and sincerely apologise for not having enough large tables available for you at breakfast time. We try and encourage larger families and groups to come a... More 

Rome
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2016 via mobile

The location is perfect and the rooms look alright. Sadly it smells terribly of cat urine (I have 2 cats myself I know the smell) in the hallway and on the stairs. The beds definitely needs a change as you can feel the springs and the airflow in the rooms are limited. The receptionists are very friendly and welcoming!

Helpful?
Thank Frederik K
TheMelitaLondon, Front Office Manager at The Melita, responded to this review

Dear Frederik K, Thank you for your feedback which is very important for us. It is very disappointing that we did not meet your expectations, but we found some significant inaccuracies in your and Nicolai K’s review below (since we understand that you were together). We have investigated with our housekeeping team and the smell you are referring to was... More 

Travelers are raving about these London hotels

1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2016 via mobile

Lets start off with the Cons: Awful beds, feels like you're sleeping right on the actual springs Tiny slim rooms Terrible internet, charges you 10 pounds per night, doesn't work half the time No airflow in the rooms, incredibly hot Boring, but free breakfast Smells like cat urine and old sweat in the hallways Not very soundproof rooms, stayed on... More 

Helpful?
Thank Nicolai K
TheMelitaLondon, Front Office Manager at The Melita, responded to this review

Dear Nicolai K, Thank you for your feedback which is very important for us. It is very disappointing that we did not meet your expectations, but we found some significant inaccuracies in your and Frederik K’s review above (since we understand that you were together). Firstly, the beds are only a few months old, and we haven’t had any previous... More 

Genoa, Italy
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2016 via mobile

I come back to The Melita every year and it's good to know that when you arrive to this gorgeous but very noisy and crowded city you have a place and people to rely on. The street is quiet but just 5 min walk from Victoria coach and railway stations, my room was small but comfy with everything I needed.... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank lizzipizzi
TheMelitaLondon, Front Office Manager at The Melita, responded to this review

Dear "lizzipizzi", Thank you very much for your review. We are very glad that you have once again enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you in the future! With kindest regards, Alan @TheMelitaLondon More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2016 via mobile

Just back from three fabulous days in London. We stayed at the Melita hotel which is situated in the lovely Victoria /Pimlico area, about 7 min walk to Victoria station and 4 min to Pimlico station. The staff at the hotel are very welcoming and friendly and kindly offered to mind our bags on the day we checked out. We... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Bratzillas S
TheMelitaLondon, Front Office Manager at The Melita, responded to this review

Dear "Bratzillas", Thank you for your review, we are very happy that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to be able to welcome you again. Best Regards, Alan @TheMelitaLondon More 

cardiff southwales
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2016

Stayed here for a trip to Wimbeldon tennis myself husband and two friends. Excellent location to Victoria stations, Booked a double room which was adequate for our stay clean and had extras in the room. The only negative thing was the rooms where a little hot but fans where provided The staff where extremely friendly and couldn't do enogh you... More 

Helpful?
Thank spillanos
TheMelitaLondon, Front Office Manager at The Melita, responded to this review

Dear Spillanos, Thank you very much for your wonderful review, we are very happy that you have enjoyed your stay with us! We sincerely hope to able to welcome you again! With kindest regards, Alan @TheMelitaLondon More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

90 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (71)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (23)
Viewed
Other (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (19)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Pimlico
Victor Hotel London Victoria
Victor Hotel London Victoria
#556 of 1,070 in London
3.5 of 5 stars 361 reviews
Pimlico
Melbourne House Hotel
Melbourne House Hotel
#475 of 1,070 in London
4.0 of 5 stars 446 reviews
Pimlico
Blades Hotel
Blades Hotel
#282 of 1,070 in London
4.0 of 5 stars 486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pimlico
Lidos Hotel
Lidos Hotel
#373 of 1,070 in London
3.5 of 5 stars 630 reviews
Pimlico
Victoria Inn
Victoria Inn
#605 of 1,070 in London
3.5 of 5 stars 676 reviews
Pimlico
Sidney Hotel London-Victoria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Pimlico

Neighborhood Profile
Pimlico
Time spent in Pimlico is a slower-paced affair than most other Central London neighborhoods. This largely residential area orderly arranged beside the Thames, is a treasure trove of quaint pubs, subtle architectural charms and local boutiques. Here, art lovers thrill at the chance to visit the world class Tate Britain gallery for its collection of British art from the 1500s to the present. For peace and quiet and some downtime spent along the Thames, Pimlico is highly recommended.
Explore this neighborhood
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Melita London is an ideally located Central London hotel , close to all the major tourist attractions, and the financial centre. Nearby Victoria Train, Underground and Bus Stations make everywhere easily accessible. Our location in the heart of central London makes The Melita an ideal place to stay to explore London and the UK . For both business and pleasure The Melita London offers great value for money to fit into your budget whilst still offering outstanding accommodation and facilities. The hotel was founded in 1972 and is still independently owned and managed by members of the same family. It is situated in a period building, dating back to the mid 1850s. Today the building has a delightful blend of traditional features and modern facilities. Exactly what a City centre hotel should be. The service and the setting sets it apart from the chain hotels. The Hotel is independently inspected annually by Visit Britain and has been awarded a Three Star Rating. This is your guarantee of quality. The rooms are newly renovated, so we are sure that we can offer you a pleasant and comfortable stay in London . ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Melita

Address: 35 Charlwood Street, London SW1V 2DU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Pimlico
Price Range: $131 - $204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Melita 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your The Melita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melita Hotel London
The Melita London, England
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay