We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveler (534)
Dining (104)
Videos (2)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#205 of 1,131 hotels in London
Location
4.9
Cleanliness
4.8
Service
4.6
Value
4.2
Nestled in the heart of London's historic St. James's district, DUKES London exudes timeless elegance and authentic British charm. Its Victorian exterior is a reminder of an era when royalty, artists, and writers converged in this fashionable neighbourhood. Inside, its elegant rooms and suites seamlessly blend antique furnishings with cutting-edge technology, ensuring a remarkable stay. The Duke of Clarence Suite, with breathtaking views of Green Park, is a must-see highlight. Indulge in culinary delights at the Great British Restaurant (GBR), serving seasonal British cuisine, or visit the iconic DUKES Bar, renowned for crafting the world's most famous Martini. When you're ready to explore, London's top attractions are right at your doorstep. Immerse yourself in the rich history of St. James's, enjoy upscale shopping, visit royal palaces, and embark on guided tours to uncover the stories of British royalty. At DUKES London, we invite you to discover an unforgettable experience.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Valet parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Walking tours
Babysitting
Books, DVDs, music for children
Paid public parking nearby
Wifi
Fitness / spa locker rooms
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast in the room
Kids' meals
Snack bar
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Highchairs available
Airport transportation
Car hire
Taxi service
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Butler service
Doorperson
First aid kit
Umbrella
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Private check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Shoeshine
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Bath / shower
Interconnected rooms available
Room service
Safe
Seating area
Separate living room
Sofa
Telephone
Wardrobe / closet
Bottled water
Iron
Laptop safe
Tile / marble floor
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Refrigerator
Electric kettle
Flatscreen TV
Radio
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
City view
Landmark view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
5.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Classic
Quaint
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish, Arabic and 12 more
4.5
4.5 of 5 bubbles2,158 reviews
Reviews Summary
This summary was created by AI, based on recent reviews.
Powered by AI
DUKES London stands out for its quintessentially British afternoon tea and its prime location, nestled in a serene area yet close to central London's buzz. While guests have called out the hotel for its clean and spacious rooms, some reviewers suggest a need for updates and added luxury touches. The service at DUKES is generally well-regarded for its professionalism, though it's not without occasional lapses. Despite its charming atmosphere and personalized experience, a few travelers question the hotel's value, feeling the cost does not always align with their expectations.
Location
Central
Atmosphere
Charming
Rooms
Dated
Value
Expensive
Cleanliness
Meticulous
Service
Inconsistent
Amenities
Satisfactory
Was this helpful?
Tripadvisor is not responsible for this summary or any opinions in it. Please read full traveler reviews for more details and information.
2,158Reviews16Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 1,558
  • 326
  • 175
  • 66
  • 33
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Craig H wrote a review Apr 11
Denver, Colorado16 contributions7 helpful votes
What can I say, quintessential upper crust British hotel experience. Secluded quiet location, you feel like your entering a secluded hide away. Real special, I have been a patron for over 30 years. And while I sometimes choke on the nightly price, once there it seems worth it. Book the bar in advance and immerse your self in a place Ian Fleming consumed Martinis.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Book the bar at least one during your stay-book early
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Pippa P wrote a review Apr 8
1 contribution
We stayed at Dukes to celebrate our 20th wedding anniversary; what a great choice! The staff were wonderfully attentive, warm and professional. We had complimentary treats in our room - a generous touch. The hotel is beautifully clean, has lovely traditional decor and elegant bedrooms. It has a friendly atmosphere and is conveniently located in the heart of Mayfair. The Dukes Bar is a must with its famous martinis! A heartfelt thank you to all the hotel staff who made our stay so memorable and enjoyable!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
A lot to digest? Read a summary of these reviews, created with our new AI-powered tool.
avatar-image
Kamal T F wrote a review Apr 7
4 contributions
+1
Greeted by the welcoming and contagious smile of Ms. Lucica Rosu, the guest relations manager, we knew our stay is off to an excellent start. Professional and al almost instant service from everyone. Room service, restaurant, concierge, valet, drawing room, you name it. Though the bar personnel could learn a step or two from the rest of the staff.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
suebM1661KA wrote a review Mar 2024
7 contributions2 helpful votes
On arrival the front desk team were amazing we couldn’t fault them. We then had afternoon tea where the service again was great but the sandwiches were a little stale. That evening we had a booking for GBR restaurant after being seated we waited 20 mins to be asked about drinks and the service was rude and we felt completely unwelcome. Then the following morning breakfast was utterly vile, the scrambled eggs were disgusting and tasteless and inedible, no butter with the toast, service is a shambles. Our special night away was completely ruined and we had booked a wonderful suite costing £1040 the room itself was lovely but the stay was ruined.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Don’t bother with the breakfast a complete waste of money
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Lucica Rosu, Guest Services / Front Office at DUKES London
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Sueb, Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay. We apologize for the issues you encountered at GBR restaurant, and the disappointing breakfast experience. We appreciate your comments and will address these concerns with our teams to ensure improvements are made. We regret that your special night away was not up to our usual standards, and we would love the opportunity to make it right. It is our genuine wish to retain you as our guest, and as such we welcome the chance to discuss your comments with you personally. Our Guest Relations team can be reached on guestrelations@dukeshotel.com where we hope to hear from you further, assuring you of our best attention at all times. Kind regards, Lucica Rosu Senior Guest Relations Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Inspire41574375197 wrote a review Mar 2024
4 contributions
Stayed here this week with a group of pals, what a 5☆ experience from we arrived till we left, we arrived early before check in so we left our bags with reception. They asked if they could do anything else to help very friendly, we arrived back before check in and were given the keys to our rooms, each room was different but fabulous, beautifully decorated and with a big window that was easily open for fresh air, some rooms had balconys There was a safe in all of the rooms, bathrooms, toiletries all provided and beautiful. When we came back our room had been represented for us tidied and slippers by bed and complimentary water on bedside table, beds were so comfortable and each room has easily accessible air conditioning Also a fridge in each room containing water and milk and cookies also in room lovely touch. Breakfast and service was absolutely fab the following morning and checkout was a breeze. Fantastic front of house staff and very helpful would highly recommend the DUKES special thanks to Dermot for all he did to make our getaway experience 5☆ experience.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024Trip type: Traveled with friends
Room Tip: Easily accessible from transport we used citymapper app
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Lucica Rosu, Guest Services / Front Office at DUKES London
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Inspire, Thank you for your 5-star review on TripAdvisor. We are delighted that you and your friends had a fantastic experience at DUKES from the moment you arrived until you left. Our reception staff was friendly and helpful, and the rooms were beautifully decorated with comfortable beds and great amenities. You appreciated the little touches like tidying the room, slippers, complimentary water, and cookies. The breakfast and service were fabulous, and Dermot made your getaway special. We appreciate your recommendation and hope to welcome you back in the future. Kind regards, Lucica Rosu Senior Guest Relations Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
alainc-1998-2018 wrote a review Mar 2024
96 contributions59 helpful votes
My wife and I stayed at the DUKES London for 6 nights in March 2024. We had high expectations given the hotel reputation. Unfortunately, these expectations were far from getting met. Let's start with the lobby of the hotel. There is no lounge, just a couple of chair for people waiting for their transportation, right in front of the front desk. There are none of the touches that you would expect from a small boutique luxury hotel: no coffee, tea or water, just some bland apples. The room itself was a described but the bathroom was awkward. There is no outlet in the bathroom for the hairdryer (just for shaver). This means that in order to dry our hair, we had to do it in the room. However, the mirror access was blocked by a couch chair which made the whole experience, well, awkward. The shower water heat control was locked and we felt that the water was not warm enough for our taste. We asked for help from the front desk but nothing was done. The thermostat in the room had a life on its own. Sometimes it would say 21 and the room felt very hot and sometimes it would say 24 and the room felt chilled. We tried to explain this to the front desk and all we got is someone showing up to our room to tell us the push the up and down buttons to change the temperature on the thermostat. Duh! We asked a second time and nothing was done. The restaurant (GBR) where we had breakfast had a staff that ranged from the incompetent to the indifferent. This was truly a very disappointing performance because we expected a small luxury boutique hotel experience. In my opinion that means all the small touches that defines luxury. None of it were present. We felt totally anonymous and ignored the way you would be in a business hotel. This is too bad because we really wanted to love DUKES London. I will definitively not stay at DUKES London in my next trip to London. There are way too many better choices of hotel in this great city!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Lucica Rosu, Guest Services / Front Office at DUKES London
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Alain C, Thank you for sharing your feedback about your recent stay at DUKES London. We sincerely apologize for not meeting your expectations and for any inconvenience caused during your visit. We appreciate your comments regarding the lobby and the lack of amenities, as well as the issues you encountered with the bathroom, room amenities, thermostat, and restaurant service. Your feedback is valuable to us, and we will review these areas to make necessary improvements and ensure a more enjoyable experience for our guests. We regret that we were unable to provide you with the small luxury boutique hotel experience you had hoped for. We understand your disappointment and apologize for falling short of your expectations. Should your future travels bring you back to London, we would appreciate another opportunity to provide you with a more satisfying stay. Please feel free to reach out to our guest relations team at guestrelations@dukeshotel.com if you have any further concerns or if there is anything else we can assist you with. Kind regards, Lucica Rosu Senior Guest Relations Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Julie M wrote a review Mar 2024
Dallas, United States3 contributions1 helpful vote
We dined at the restaurant - great British restaurant - downstairs and Lucas was hands down the best and provided for a great experience! From his service, suggestions and cocktails…would definitely go back just for him! The food was also great!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Lucica Rosu, Guest Services / Front Office at DUKES London
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear Julie, Thank you for your outstanding review. At DUKES LONDON and Great British Restaurant we pride ourselves on delivering the most memorable of experiences to all of our guests, and I am so glad we achieved this during your visit. I will make sure your kind comments regarding the exceptional service are shared with my colleagues, and with Lucas in particular. We look forward to welcoming you back to DUKES LONDON sometime very soon. Kind regards, Lucica Rosu Senior Guest Relations Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
fififoskett wrote a review Feb 2024
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom26 contributions18 helpful votes
Beautiful Champagne Afternoon Tea Completely recommend. A beautiful location, lovely staff and delicious food. Absolutely recommend. In a nice location and easy to find, we were often asked if we wanted a top up of tea and sandwiches, tea yes but we turned extra sandwiches down because we were totally full from the delicious delights we had already eaten.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled with family
Room Tip: Close to St James Palace and Pall Mall - truly recommend.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Lucica Rosu, Guest Services / Front Office at DUKES London
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear Ms Foskett, How wonderful you took the time to share your excellent review with us. We are delighted to read you enjoyed your Afternoon Tea at DUKES LONDON and the luxury ambience. Thank you for your kindest compliment on our team and their excellent service, and especially for recommending us. This is greatly appreciated and we all look forward to giving you a warm welcome back again. Kind regards, Lucica Rosu Senior Guest Relations Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Tricia B wrote a review Feb 2024
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom76 contributions59 helpful votes
Stayed here for two nights as a surprise birthday treat. This hotel is set in a small secluded square just off St James’ so away from all the noise. We were made to feel very welcome when we arrived and our room was also upgraded. The room itself was spotlessly clean and very comfortable, with a kingsize bed and nice en-suite. The view out of the window was nothing special, but you don’t expect great views in central London. However, the big plus was that it was very, very quiet, which meant a peaceful night’s sleep. Another nice unexpected touch was the bottle of bubbly, selection of fruit, and slice of cake left in our room as a birthday treat. The staff were all super friendly, but also very professional, from the front of house staff to the chambermaids. We didn’t eat at the hotel, because we had made reservations for meals at other restaurants, but will definitely do that on our next visit. Yes, we intend to return.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Lucica Rosu, Guest Services / Front Office at DUKES London
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear Tricia, Thank you for your wonderful review and for sharing some of the beautiful images you captured. I am thrilled to read that you truly enjoyed your celebratory stay with us. Sending you belated birthday wishes. Please know that I will happily share your kind words with the entire team. We look forward to welcoming you back to DUKES LONDON sometime very soon. Kind regards, Lucica Rosu Senior Guest Relations Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Phil H wrote a review Dec 2023
2 contributions3 helpful votes
Not what we expected as a leading small hotels of the world. Room was very tired, curtains ripped, scuff marks all over wall, top of head board was filthy, no pictures on the wall, no mini bar or biscuits with drinks machine, air con didn't work and this was supposed to be a superior room! Not what we expected from you, definitely not a patch on the Stafford or even my club that was full and the reason we stayed. Couldn't even get a drink on our first night in the bar and simply turned away by a very rude waiter and we had to go the the American Bar, were we got a drink with a smile and cheaper. Complained at checkout and nothing done or opportunity to make a formal complaint. Room didn't include breakfast and £36 each is steep when you're staying a few nights. Will not return and will always stay at the Stafford as we should have done on this occasion.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Stay sat the Stafford around the corner, far superior rooms, service and bar.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Leandro Alcaraz, Guest Services / Front Office at DUKES London
Responded Dec 23, 2023
Dear Mr PhilhE2783LS, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at DUKES London. I was deeply disappointed to hear there were some elements of your stay that you were not satisfied with. The comfort of our guests is of the utmost importance and your feedback will be shared to investigate and improve what you mentioned, as we are in the process of planning a renovation in our hotel. Our DUKES Bar is very popular and during this busy time of the year it gets booked very quickly, hence why we advise our guests to book a table in advance. Please feel free to reach out to our Guest Relations Team if you wish to discuss this further, on dutymanager@dukeshotelcom I wish you a lovely festive season. Kind regards, Leandro Alcaraz Assistant Front Office Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the London area.
PRICE RANGE
$383 - $626 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
dukes hotel london
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandLondonSt. James's
NUMBER OF ROOMS
87
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

DUKES LONDON - Updated 2024 Prices & Hotel Reviews (England)

Frequently Asked Questions about DUKES London
Which popular attractions are close to DUKES London?
Nearby attractions include London Party Pub Crawl (0.2 miles), May Fair Bar (0.3 miles), and Regent Street (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at DUKES London?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at DUKES London?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at DUKES London?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at DUKES London?
Yes, paid public parking nearby and valet parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to DUKES London?
Conveniently located restaurants include Ormer Mayfair, May Fair Kitchen, and Wiltons.
Are there opportunities to exercise at DUKES London?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness center and locker rooms available in the fitness center during their stay.
Does DUKES London have airport transportation?
Yes, DUKES London offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at DUKES London?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does DUKES London offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at DUKES London?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, German, Italian, Portuguese, and Hindi.