We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
130-134 Southampton Row, London WC1B 5AF England
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
$218
View deal
Free cancellation until 10/20/22
Expedia.com
$219
View deal
Free cancellation until 10/20/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
FindHotel
$196
View deal
Priceline$218
Hotels.com$219
ZenHotels.com$229
View all 18 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (535)
Room & Suite (297)
Dining (78)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Read more
Updated 11/16/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Mercure London Bloomsbury
Updated 11/16/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#602 of 1,195 hotels in London
Location
4.5
Cleanliness
4.4
Service
4.2
Value
3.8
Contemporary 4 star boutique style hotel with complimentary WiFi, air conditioning & rainfall showers. Within walking distance of many of London's top attractions British Museum, Covent Garden, Oxford Street & Theatres. In close proximity to Russell Square tube station. Euston mainline station and Kings Cross St Pancras for Eurostar are nearby.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Taxi service
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Baggage storage
Concierge
24-hour front desk
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Meeting rooms
Non-smoking hotel
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Green
Languages Spoken
English
2773Reviews42Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 865
  • 1,200
  • 449
  • 166
  • 93
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
A E wrote a review Sep 2022
Uppsala County, Sweden318 contributions61 helpful votes
+1
This is the second time I stay at this hotel but next time I will stay somewhere else. First time here I thought I just had bad luck and the hotel had a bad week. Location is good if you need to be in this specific area and the staff is very friendly and helpful. But that is it. There was a strong smell of humidity and mould in the room and corridors + dirt or mould on the ceiling of the bathroom. Breakfast was very basic and not worth the price. Water pressure in shower was bad as well.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Raymond W wrote a review Sep 2022
Norwich, United Kingdom25 contributions10 helpful votes
Easy check in, great room street facing on the third floor, not huge but none are these days, double glazed window with opening light, net curtain with blackout curtain, good quite aircon, very comfortable double bed, bath shower absolutely fine if a bit narrow, serviced daily very clean, stored luggage on checkout to collect later, really good location. reception polite and friendly.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Date of stay: August 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Greg Black, General Manager at Mercure London Bloomsbury
Responded 6 days ago
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay. It is always helpful for the team to read that we did a good Job and we look forward to welcoming you back at some future date. With Kind Regards The Hotel team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ruth wrote a review Aug 2022
Cambridge, United Kingdom66 contributions58 helpful votes
Great location and good air con with a quiet room. Sadly the bathroom really let it down, the shower and tap provided barely a trickle and there were marks on the walls and fittings loose. The beds were fine but very soft. Such a shame as location was wonderful so a little more investment and this would be a much better stay.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Greg Black, General Manager at Mercure London Bloomsbury
Responded Aug 17, 2022
We are sorry to see that we did not manage to fulfil your expectation on your recent stay. The feedback will be looked into and corrective action takes . It is only with receiving such feedback we are able to make the changed. We hope that we may be given another opportunity at some point in the future
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Chris wrote a review Aug 2022
2 contributions1 helpful vote
Arrived at hotel, check-in went fine. Room ok for a 1 night stay, however, bathroom let the side down. Having booked as a couple, there was only 1 set of towels. Also, the shower head fixing was loose so we had to hold the shower head in 1 hand and wash with the other.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Date of stay: August 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Greg Black, General Manager at Mercure London Bloomsbury
Responded Aug 17, 2022
Thank youf ro your feedback. We have checked and as in all room the addition set of towels are stored in the wardrobe. As part of out commitment to reducing water and chemical use as most of the days our room are for single use we only provide one set of towels in the bathroom. I am sorry that this was not advised at check in and i will address this with the reception team. With Kind Regards The Management Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
RustyBreech wrote a review Aug 2022
Dubai, United Arab Emirates38 contributions47 helpful votes
Room was OK but I had to make 3 trips down to reception in the space of an hour, first the kettle didn't work, then there was no milk, then the iron tripped the room electrics. Girl on reception worse than useless, not interested and no help at all. I had to resort to calling the manager (the girl on reception did everything in her power to try and stop me). The manager (Caroline) was fortunately very helpful and professional and had everything sorted quickly but overall the experience was pretty shabby
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Rooms
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Greg Black, General Manager at Mercure London Bloomsbury
Responded 6 days ago
Thank you for posting a review of you stay. We are sorry to see that on this occassion we did not manage to meet your expectationas. We will share your comments with the team so we can look at where we can do better for the future. With Kind regards The Hotel team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
SuffolkCouple2022 wrote a review Aug 2022
1 contribution
The hotel was in a great location, within walking distance of Covent Garden. We were however disappointed with the hotel itself. Having stayed in the Mecure on Southwark Road before (which was excellent) we expected similar. The reception lacked style and feeling, the room was small and tired, the bathroom was very badly designed and uncomfortable. The aircon didn't work - we were provided a fan which was noisy and didn't really help all that much but was appreciated. The breakfast was good but I would prefer filter coffee at the table rather than machine made. Overall we didn't feel we got the same experience as pervious Mecure stays and would not choose this hotel again.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Date of stay: August 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Greg Black, General Manager at Mercure London Bloomsbury
Responded Aug 17, 2022
thank you for taking the time to review the Hotel. We are sorry that we did not meet your expectations on this stay and take your feedback on board. With Kind Regards The Hotel Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Anthony P wrote a review Aug 2022
Geneva, Switzerland110 contributions68 helpful votes
Very good stay. Hotel well situated for railway stations (KX and St. P), underground and lots of restaurants in the vicinity. Room was small but cosy and comfortable, excellent for a solo traveller. I was fully acknowledged as a Platinum ALL member. All staff very friendly. Reception (Magda) very efficient.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Date of stay: August 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Greg Black, General Manager at Mercure London Bloomsbury
Responded 6 days ago
Thank you for recent stay at the Mercure Hotel and for posting such a nice review. It is always noce to read good comments and i know this very much motivates the team tyo de well. We hope we will see you back again. With Kind Regards
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
MJBTyne wrote a review Aug 2022
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom5 contributions3 helpful votes
In order to reach the window I had to climb over the bed as it was very close to a cabinet. The blind was very fancy but failed to keep the light out so if you can't sleep once the sun is up you will have problems. On the front of the building the room was very noisy from traffic and pedestrians, with the window closed. The A/C didn't work so I had to borrow a noisy portable electric fan. At least it drowned out the noises from outside.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Date of stay: July 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Greg Black, General Manager at Mercure London Bloomsbury
Responded Aug 4, 2022
Thank you for your review. I am sorry to see that you were not happy with the size of the room. I am afraid our rooms are of standard rooms size for London Hotels in the area. We do however appreciate your feedback and will tak this on board The Hotel Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ben G wrote a review Aug 2022
Leeds, United Kingdom21 contributions10 helpful votes
Our 'cosy' standard double room was covered in black mould; above the curtain rail, along the wall/ceiling joint, and all over the bathroom. The room is exceptionally small for a standard double and the walls a paper thin. We could confortably hear conversations in adjacent rooms. Other than the mould, the room was clean enough, with all the amenities you would expect from a mid-budget hotel. One disappointment is that, despite putting a note on the booking, no reference was made to the wife's birthday. We weren't after freebies but acknowledgement from the Reception staff may have been nice. We received this little touch everywhere else our bookings were noted.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Rooms
Location
Service
Room Tip: plenty of nicer options in the area.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Greg Black, General Manager at Mercure London Bloomsbury
Responded Aug 4, 2022
Thank you for your feedback. I will share this with our reception team. With Kind Regards
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Dinglejohn wrote a review Jul 2022
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom228 contributions223 helpful votes
This was our 4th stay at this hotel, Stayed here for one night on Saturday 23/07 After leaving my last review in June last year i said the hotel should not be open and raised to the ground. I can say this time we had no issues. Smallest room we have ever stopped in, but it had been recently refurbished, and was clean. Bed was a small double, and it certainly was. Fairly comfy though. Bathrroom small but tidy.Wouldnt want to spend more than a night here, its certainly not cheap for what you get Reception staff were polite on check in. Bar was shut so cant comment on that.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Greg Black, General Manager at Mercure London Bloomsbury
Responded Jul 29, 2022
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay. I am happy to see that we are managing to return to almost normal post covid situation. At this present time our prices are within the local market and as London is busy these will go up as demand increases im afraid
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$192 - $276 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
mercure london bloomsbury hotel london, waverley house hotel london
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Waverley House Hotel
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandLondonBloomsbury / Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
NUMBER OF ROOMS
114
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Mercure London Bloomsbury
Which popular attractions are close to Mercure London Bloomsbury?
Nearby attractions include The British Museum (0.2 miles), THATMuse,Treasure Hunt at the Museum (0.2 miles), and Faulty Towers the Dining Experience (0.1 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Mercure London Bloomsbury?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Mercure London Bloomsbury?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and complimentary tea during their stay.
What are some restaurants close to Mercure London Bloomsbury?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Shell, Pizza Union Holborn, and Pane Cunzato - Pizza & more.
Are any cleaning services offered at Mercure London Bloomsbury?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Mercure London Bloomsbury offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and conference facilities.
Are there any historical sites close to Mercure London Bloomsbury?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Churchill War Rooms (1.3 miles), Tower of London (2.2 miles), and Houses of Parliament (1.5 miles).
Is Mercure London Bloomsbury accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.