We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

Mercure London Bloomsbury

#303 of 1,066 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Mercure London Bloomsbury
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,741 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,294: English reviews
Christchurch, New Zealand
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

Close to tube station and situated in nice area. Front desk staff were friendly and helpful, housekeeping supervisor not so much when asked for an additional towel after being given just one for a couple in a double room. The hotel has had a major makeover but it's really a joke in places with such poor workmanship throughout. Given its... More 

Helpful?
Thank RyanNicolle
Notts
Level Contributor
75 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Had a long weekend break so we could visit family in London and on the south coast. Conveniently located on Southampton Row, bus stop right outside the door for getting around London. The room was small and on the first floor over the kitchen, so no view at all. However, the room was clean and adequately furnished, tea/coffee making things... More 

Helpful?
Thank dandjNotts
GregBlack, General Manager at Mercure London Bloomsbury, responded to this review

Dear dandjNotts, thank you for taking time to review your stay with us on Tripadvisor. We are happy to see that you had an overall enjoyable stay and that our location has suited your needs. We also take the opportunity to inform that due to health and safety reasons, toasts are made to order in the kitchen by our waiting... More 

Hastings, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

We stayed at the Mercure for 2 nights for our wedding anniversary. I emailed the hotel prior to staying to request a room with a shower and we were given a beautiful newly refurbished room (005). I had mentioned it was our anniversary break and they gave us complimentary drinks in the bar and left us a card in our... More 

Helpful?
Thank Emma G
GregBlack, General Manager at Mercure London Bloomsbury, responded to this review

Dear Emma G, Thank you for reviewing your stay with us on Tripadvisor. It is great to see that we have made an spectacular job in making your anniversary a memorable date. We will also look into the issue you have raised so we can quickly solve it and make it a one only occurrence. We look forward to welcome... More 

Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Our party were re-booked to this hotel when our original hotel had to close at short notice. The Mercure in Bloomsbury would not have been our choice and there was a mix up with rooms booked when we checked in. However, the staff were very helpful and sorted the problems swiftly. The rooms were rather on the small side but... More 

Helpful?
Thank Peter7777
GregBlack, General Manager at Mercure London Bloomsbury, responded to this review

Dear Peter7777, Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us. We are happy to see that even though you have experienced an issue during your stay, our staff was able to sort it out quickly. We will also pass on you kind comments about breakfast to our kitchen and restaurant which I am sure will be glad to hear.... More 

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
136 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Visited over a two night weekend and the hotel is well sited and good proximity to London transport links. The check in was delayed and we had a somewhat lengthy wait after previous guests had checked out late. A well appointed room but somewhat cramp. Clean and tidy and reasonably decorated. Breakfast was self service and well stocked for all... More 

Helpful?
Thank STEPHEN K
GregBlack, General Manager at Mercure London Bloomsbury, responded to this review

Dear STEPHEN K, Thank you for reviewing your stay with us. We are happy to see that you had an overall enjoyable stay and that our staff has been polite and helpful. We hope to welcome you back soon. Your Team at the Mercure London Bloomsbury. More 

Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

A well located hotel, very clean throughout the building and courteous staff. The first room we were given was quite small with very little natural light but the staff were very happy to move us and the second room was much brighter. The breakfast selction is good and was well stocked throughout the service. There was a power cut on... More 

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank tonyi197
GregBlack, General Manager at Mercure London Bloomsbury, responded to this review

Dear tonyi197, Thank you for taking time to review your stay with us. We are happy to see that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that our location has suited your needs. We sincerely apologize that you have experienced the power cut. This was a situation out of our control which has affected a couple of other businesses... More 

Beerse, Belgium
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel has a most excellent location in the very heart of Bloomsbury. It's only a ten minute walk from St Pancras (Eurostar) & the British Library. The British Museum is behind the corner. Sparkling Bloomsbury is at strolling distance as well as several Stations of the Tube. The hotel has a proper character while at the same time offering... More 

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank guyvanturnhout
GregBlack, General Manager at Mercure London Bloomsbury, responded to this review

Dear guyvanturnhout, Thank you for taking time to review your stay with us. We are pleased to see that our location has suited your needs. Also, we will surely share your kind comments with all our staff as we all strive to deliver a superior customer experience at all times. We look forward to welcome you back. Your Team at... More 

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Reception staff were friendly and helpful and we were lucky to be able to check in early as the room was ready. The rooms were comfortable with all that is required and had asked for a quiet room and received one. The location is a great base to explore London from, within walking distance from main line stations, and most... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen E
GregBlack, General Manager at Mercure London Bloomsbury, responded to this review

Dear Stephen E, Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us on Tripadvisor. It is a great pleasure to see that we have met your expectations and that our staff has once again been helpful. We look forward to welcome you back in the near future. Your Team at the Mercure London Bloomsbury. More 

The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
125 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I chose to stay here due to its location close to King's Cross and its proximity to a tube station. The front desk staff were friendly and efficient. The room was very efficient (i.e. small) but it did have all that I needed - Wi-Fi, hairdryer, kettle, TV and it was clean and comfortable. The air conditioning was appreciated as... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Fiona C
GregBlack, General Manager at Mercure London Bloomsbury, responded to this review

Dear Fiona C, Thank you for taking time to review your stay with us. We are very happy to see that you enjoyed your stay and that we were able to provide you with a hassle free night. We hope to welcome you back soon. Your Team at the Mercure London Bloomsbury. More 

Minehead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Clean and quiet, well situated hotel 5 mins from the British Museum and 20 mins walk from Covent Garden. Great nights sleep. Professional and helpful staff. Bar area is quiet and comfortable with free wifi.

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank AandLUk
GregBlack, General Manager at Mercure London Bloomsbury, responded to this review

Dear AandLUk, Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us. We are glad to see that our location and staff have met your expectations. We will certainly share your kind comments with all our staff. We look forward to welcome you back. Your Team at the Mercure London Bloomsbury. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

582 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (253)
Viewed
Room/Suite (77)
Viewed
Bathroom (26)
Viewed
View from Room (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (18)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
1:30
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (107)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (309)
Viewed
Amenities (8)
Viewed
Large Single or Small Double Room (34)
Viewed
Dining (38)
Viewed
Standard Double Room (36)
Viewed
Standard Single Room (31)
Viewed
Standard Triple Room (43)
Viewed
Standard Twin Room (38)
Viewed
Super King Room (38)
Viewed
The Hotel (43)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Thistle Bloomsbury Park
Thistle Bloomsbury Park
#342 of 1,066 in London
4.0 of 5 stars 845 reviews
Bloomsbury
Grange Beauchamp Hotel
Grange Beauchamp Hotel
#288 of 1,066 in London
4.0 of 5 stars 680 reviews
Bloomsbury
Hotel Russell
Hotel Russell
#427 of 1,066 in London
3.5 of 5 stars 3,836 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley
Bloomsbury
Holiday Inn London Bloomsbury
Bloomsbury
Grange Clarendon Hotel
Grange Clarendon Hotel
#433 of 1,066 in London
4.0 of 5 stars 466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Bloomsbury

Neighborhood Profile
Bloomsbury
Snuggly nestled within Central London is academic and leafy Bloomsbury, an area that boasts walking distance access to many of London's most popular attractions. It is also home to some of Britain's most celebrated museums, including the must-see British Museum. Despite an understandable popularity with students, tourists and day trippers, vast sections of Bloomsbury retain a quiet, residential feel year round and throughout the week.
Explore this neighborhood
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Midtown Brasserie at Mercure Bloomsbury
Midtown Brasserie at Mercure Bloomsbury
Cuisines: British, French, International, European
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Contemporary 4 star boutique style hotel with complimentary WiFi, air conditioning & rainfall showers. Within walking distance of many of London's top attractions British Museum, Covent Garden, Oxford Street & Theatres. In close proximity to Russell Square tube station. Euston mainline station and Kings Cross St Pancras for Eurostar are nearby. Enjoy a bite to eat or a relaxing drink in our recently refurbished restaurant and bar, followed by a stroll in London's fashionable Bloomsbury. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Mercure London Bloomsbury

Address: 130-134 Southampton Row, London WC1B 5AF, England (Formerly Waverley House Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury , Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Price Range: $148 - $291 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure London Bloomsbury 4*
Number of rooms: 109
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Mercure London Bloomsbury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure London Bloomsbury Hotel London
Waverley House Hotel London
Mercure London Bloomsbury England
Hotel Style:
#215 Family Hotel in London
#218 Business Hotel in London
#224 Luxury Hotel in London
#236 Romantic Hotel in London
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay