We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Mercure London Bloomsbury

Show Prices
#312 of 1,078 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Mercure London Bloomsbury
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,870 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,382: English reviews
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The staff in this hotel are appalling. They could barely speak or understand basic English and had no customer service skills whatsoever. The room was small and not cleaned properly. I certainly wouldn't go back. There are much better hotels in the area.

Helpful?
Thank t5haw
Galway, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

My wife and I stayed in the hotel with another couple. This is my 2nd stay in this hotel and I will definitely be back. It's location is brilliant and the rooms are very comfortable. The staff were very helpful

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank briandT3974PG
GregBlack, General Manager at Mercure London Bloomsbury, responded to this review

Dear briandT3974PG, Thank you for your kind comments. We are happy to see that you have fully enjoyed your stay and will share your review with all our staff. We hope to welcome you back soon. Your Team at the Mercure London Bloomsbury. More 

Rayleigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Room felt very cramped and far too small, the Furniture was oversized for such a small space and did not feel like 4 star. The radiator was falling off the wall, furniture was chipped, Shower was mouldy, you could not use the toilet in a sitting position without opening the shower door for legroom, an ironing board was provided but... More 

Helpful?
Thank terry d
GregBlack, General Manager at Mercure London Bloomsbury, responded to this review

Dear terry d, We are sorry to see that you have not enjoyed your stay with us. Please rest assured that we will look into every issue you have raised in order to try and prevent any future occurrences. Your Team at the Mercure London Bloomsbury. More 

Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

A central hotel with good rooms, walking distance to Covent Garden, just by Russel Square. Room had an espresso machine. Good bed and clean bathroom. Was promised a welcome basket, turned out to be a mini-bottle of wine. As there was no glass provided, guests are expected to just drink it straight from the bottle, in their rooms.

Helpful?
Thank Flygtok
GregBlack, General Manager at Mercure London Bloomsbury, responded to this review

Dear Flygtok, Thank you for taking time to review your stay with us. Indeed our location is a big asset when choosing a hotel. It is also nice to see you are satisfied with the room. Extra glasses are provided upon request as we are not sure if our guests will consume the wine or take it away. We hope... More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stayed one night with a business colleague. Convenient location for our meeting and theatre land. Reception were friendly and polite. Rooms were not the biggest but clean and comfortable. Relaxed bar. Excellent breakfast. Not the cheapest of places to stay!

Helpful?
Thank John V
GregBlack, General Manager at Mercure London Bloomsbury, responded to this review

Dear John V, Thank you for taking time to review your stay with us. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and that our staff has been a difference maker. We also take the opportunity to inform that you will always find the cheapest prices available directly on our website. We hope to welcome you back soon. Your... More 

Colorado
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 week ago

Overall a positive experience. We booked a deluxe king accommodation, and were disappointed not to have the Nespresso machine in our room when we arrived. Still, the room was nice and quiet. The shower was a bit awkward and did not have a door (it clearly was converted from what used to be a bathtub). But overall good value -... More 

Helpful?
Thank GiorgosK1122
GregBlack, General Manager at Mercure London Bloomsbury, responded to this review

Dear Giorgos1122, Thank you for taking time to review your recent stay with us on Tripadvisor. We are glad to see that our services have been up to your expectations. Your feedback will be shared with all our staff. We look forward to welcome you back. Your Team at the Mercure London Bloomsbury. More 

Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

My next visit to the Bloomsbury area will likely not be at the Mercure. The room was nice (no window in mine, though) and had been recently renovated. The front desk staff tried to help with the room ventilation that wasn't working but friendliness without any knowledge or ability to get the problem solved doesn't help. The breakfast buffet is... More 

Helpful?
Thank Devron99
GregBlack, General Manager at Mercure London Bloomsbury, responded to this review

Dear Devron99, Thank you for taking time to review your stay with us. We are disappointed to see that we did not meet your expectations. Please be assured that your comment will be shared with the relevant departments and follow up training will be given in order to avoid future occurrences. We still hope to be able to welcome you... More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Service was very efficient , professional and friendly and it helped me to enjoy a great evening thanks especially to Stephan ! The ribeye steack was great ! I will definitely come back if I have the opportunity !

Helpful?
1 Thank JoBeRtO75015
GregBlack, General Manager at Mercure London Bloomsbury, responded to this review

Dear JoBeRtO75015, Thank you for taking time to review our Marco Pierre White New York Italian restaurant. We are glad to see that you have enjoyed your night and that your dinner has been cooked to perfection. We will pass on your kind comments to our staff and to Stefan specially. We look forward to welcome you back. Your Team... More 

Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We have stayed at this hotel before and the service , room and staff were yet again excellent. Our stay was only one night for a London Theatre trip but we can't fault this hotel. Will stay here again

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank 754shirleyp
GregBlack, General Manager at Mercure London Bloomsbury, responded to this review

Dear 754shirleyp, Thank you for taking time to review your stay with us. We are glad to see that our location and services have met your expectations. We look forward to welcome you back. Your Team at the Mercure London Bloomsbury. More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We booked two double rooms to be adjacent and told the hotel we would check in late. We planned to be at the National Hospital for Neurology the next day and needed a good nights rest. Rooms were not adjacent and one was absolutely tiny. The bed could not really fit two adults. Very very disappointing, and churlish attendant.

Helpful?
Thank mm1357
GregBlack, General Manager at Mercure London Bloomsbury, responded to this review

Dear mm1357, Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to hear about your experience with us. As we are unable to guarantee adjacent rooms, we were able to get them on the same floor. Also, due to the layout of our building, the rooms do vary in size. Still, they are all within the Mercure UK standards and have... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

608 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (278)
Viewed
Room/Suite (89)
Viewed
Bathroom (31)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
View from Room (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (18)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
1:30
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (114)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (309)
Viewed
Amenities (8)
Viewed
Large Single or Small Double Room (34)
Viewed
Dining (38)
Viewed
Standard Double Room (36)
Viewed
Standard Single Room (31)
Viewed
Standard Triple Room (43)
Viewed
Standard Twin Room (38)
Viewed
Super King Room (38)
Viewed
The Hotel (43)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (21)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Thistle Bloomsbury Park
Thistle Bloomsbury Park
#383 of 1,078 in London
914 reviews
Bloomsbury
Grange Beauchamp Hotel
Grange Beauchamp Hotel
#272 of 1,078 in London
720 reviews
Bloomsbury
Holiday Inn London Bloomsbury
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley
Bloomsbury
Grange Clarendon Hotel
Grange Clarendon Hotel
#452 of 1,078 in London
485 reviews
Bloomsbury
Morton Hotel
Morton Hotel
#48 of 1,078 in London
307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Bloomsbury

Neighborhood Profile
Bloomsbury
Snuggly nestled within Central London is academic and leafy Bloomsbury, an area that boasts walking distance access to many of London's most popular attractions. It is also home to some of Britain's most celebrated museums, including the must-see British Museum. Despite an understandable popularity with students, tourists and day trippers, vast sections of Bloomsbury retain a quiet, residential feel year round and throughout the week.
Explore this neighborhood
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Contemporary 4 star boutique style hotel with complimentary WiFi, air conditioning & rainfall showers. Within walking distance of many of London's top attractions British Museum, Covent Garden, Oxford Street & Theatres. In close proximity to Russell Square tube station. Euston mainline station and Kings Cross St Pancras for Eurostar are nearby. Enjoy a bite to eat or a relaxing drink in our recently refurbished restaurant and bar, followed by a stroll in London's fashionable Bloomsbury. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Mercure London Bloomsbury

Address: 130 - 134 Southampton Row, London WC1B 5AF, England (Formerly Waverley House Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury , Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Price Range: $147 - $278 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure London Bloomsbury 4*
Number of rooms: 109
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Mercure London Bloomsbury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure London Bloomsbury Hotel London
Waverley House Hotel London
Mercure London Bloomsbury England
Hotel Style:
#214 Family Hotel in London
#217 Business Hotel in London
#226 Luxury Hotel in London
#235 Romantic Hotel in London
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Mercure London Bloomsbury staff and other travelers.
28 questions
Ask a question
Orange County, CA
Los Angeles, California
over a year ago

See all questions (28)

Questions? Get answers from Mercure London Bloomsbury staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Don't choose 115”
  • Cramped room
  • Chipped and scratched furniture not fitting for a 4 Star
  • No space to sit on toilet
  • No space at the end of the bed
  • Radiator falling off wall
 of 5 bubbles terryd605, 5 days ago | Read review
“Room 302 faces a brick wall.”
 of 5 bubbles Flygtok, 5 days ago | Read review
“The rooms on the upper floors will be quieter”
 of 5 bubbles 193nigelm, 3 weeks ago | Read review
“Only stayed a few times but each room was quiet ...”
 of 5 bubbles jphillipsfitness, Oct 22, 2016 | Read review
“If you must stay here, do not stay in room 6.”
 of 5 bubbles RosemarieR616, Oct 16, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay